Customer reviews for Targus Lap Chill Mat - Supports laptops up to 17-inch

Targus Lap Chill Mat - Supports laptops up to 17-inch

Targus Lap Chill Mat - Supports laptops up to 17-inch
4.808 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
4.8
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 23
26 out of 26100%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Targus Lap Chill Mat - Supports laptops up to 17-inch
Review 1 for Targus Lap Chill Mat - Supports laptops up to 17-inch
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TopAgent
(Toronto)
Title:

Fan bearings won't last - noisy after a month

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had this for over a month now and its been working great up until now. It keeps the laptop cool, it's comfortable on your lap, and the fans are very quiet. However, the bearings on the fans have started to rattle and this is a surprise considering it's been only a month of use and was expecting that it should last at least a year. Over a few minutes, the bearing noise does fade away, but I fear one day it'll persist. Other reviewers here have had praise for this product; perhaps I've got a lemon. If you can get this on sale i.e. Dell days, it may still be worth the investment for your laptop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Targus Lap Chill Mat - Supports laptops up to 17-inch
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LenBiz
Title:

Excellent product

PostedJanuary 27, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Perfect for at home use. The bottom of the chill mat is lightly cushioned, so holding it on your lap is easy. I watch movies on my laptop, and it can get quite warm after a while, so the 2 fans keep the laptop from overheating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Targus Lap Chill Mat - Supports laptops up to 17-inch
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:QuietReviewer
(Laval, Quebec, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Flawless up to now

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
Super silent cooling fans
Keeps heat off the quartz counter-top
Gives the laptop a nice working angle
Cons:
None
Pros:laptop home use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Targus Lap Chill Mat - Supports laptops up to 17-inch
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DavexQcx
(St-Constant, Québec, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great product!

PostedSeptember 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is way better than any other cooling support for laptop I looked for in shops. The shape's pretty good, the fans are good. The only cons is that it's a bit heavy but I was not wondering having a light one because of the fans. For the price, it's the best thing you can have!
Pros:home usage
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Targus Lap Chill Mat - Supports laptops up to 17-inch
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sandi99999
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent Chill Pad

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this chill pad as a second spare..when I purchased My Alienware laptop,I am using this particuar item with an old laptop (not Dell) that has a faulty internal fan..this laptop would run for 10min tops...using this Chill pad I can get 6 hrs before laptop over heats..this is amazing,I luv it.
Pros:fb laptop at home
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Targus Lap Chill Mat - Supports laptops up to 17-inch
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hawtxpink
Title:

Great so far

PostedJuly 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought the mat with a high-performance gaming laptop to minimize overheating. I like that the mat is USB powered, so there's no bulky power adapter to lug around. The built in fan is quiet but efficient. The bottom of the mat is comfortable on my lap, and the mat is pretty lightweight, so it's not super heavy on my legs (no one likes to lose circulation in appendages during an intense MMO raid). Only complaint is that it's a little big, so not great on portability, though that seems pretty expected for a mat designed for 17 inch laptops.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Targus Lap Chill Mat - Supports laptops up to 17-inch
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:XScoutZ
(Brandon)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Does it's job

PostedJuly 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Nice sized mat with super-silent dual fans. Keeps my performance XPS 17 nice and cool. Base is lined with quality fabric instead of plastic allowing more comfort on the lap. Another bonus is the adjustable rubber grips which can be moved around if you're using a smaller laptop or an over-sized battery. Although they advertise that it supports 17 inch laptops, it's about 3/4 inch short on the left and right sides. Another con would be the fact that this product is rather hard to clean in the event that there's a buildup of dust.
Pros:cooling, extending hardware lifespan
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Targus Lap Chill Mat - Supports laptops up to 17-inch
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sereta
(Herbert, Saskatchewan)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Luv the Laptop chill mat

PostedJune 8, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased a laptop chill mat for myself and really liked it. I then purchased one for my 84 year old mother. She sits in her chair and is on the laptop quite a bit. She appreciates the chill mat very much. She told me she would get bruises on her legs from her laptop sitting on just her legs and sometimes would get quite warm. She now always uses her chill mat with her new purchase of a dell laptop and think I may be ordering a new laptop for my 90 years young Dad soon. I would recommend Dell to everyone
Pros:home enjoyment
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Targus Lap Chill Mat - Supports laptops up to 17-inch
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MrsSuzyQ
(Ontario)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Better than expected!

PostedApril 18, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got this on sale several months ago and am very pleased with it. Its comfortable, quiet and my 17" laptop stays on it like it is glued even though my laptop is slightly bigger than it.It also stays nicely on my lap! My laptop is significantly less hot. It works great. My DH wants one now that he tried it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Targus Lap Chill Mat - Supports laptops up to 17-inch
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hitchy
Title:

works good

PostedApril 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
good product at a good price ,shipping was quicker than expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Targus Lap Chill Mat - Supports laptops up to 17-inch
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:scamatorie
(Laval)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Excellent idea!

PostedApril 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Given the problem the laptops have with the heating of the source, which can bring the burning of it, this is an excellent item that stops my laptop from turning off.
The position is very comfortable for hands in any position you might want to stay.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Targus Lap Chill Mat - Supports laptops up to 17-inch
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Parthi

PostedDecember 29, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:browsing, photo and video editing
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Targus Lap Chill Mat - Supports laptops up to 17-inch
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Scan51
Title:

Great buy

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Got the unit on sale!! Great buy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Targus Lap Chill Mat - Supports laptops up to 17-inch
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rhomboid
(Toronto)
Title:

Nice product, if it's on sale...

PostedDecember 22, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this laptop pad/mat, during the "Days of Deals". The "Chill Mat" is quiet, sturdy, and keeps my 15.4" Dell Studio Laptop cooled. It's great for support, while using my laptop in bed...watching movies.
Cheers!
Pros:to support the laptop on my lap
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Targus Lap Chill Mat - Supports laptops up to 17-inch
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RSKA
(Ca;gary, Alberta)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good buy when on sale

PostedSeptember 5, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros: Raised profile, smooth and rubbery feel to the pad, two fans.
Cons: No separate power switch (so make sure your usb port is not always supplying power to the unit which may result in the unit failing over time), some notebooks (smaller and larger screen sizes) do not always sit well notebook tends to slightly bounce when typing (due also to the fact that the unit has a triangle shape with nothing in betweene the top and the bottom half).
Conclusion: Good buy when on sale.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Targus Lap Chill Mat - Supports laptops up to 17-inch
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Glencroft
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Targus Chill Mat

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Excellent product. Fan runs extremely quiet and really does cool! Fits up to 17" laptop with non-slip grip. Light and portable. Would highly recommend.
Pros:home, Travel
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Targus Lap Chill Mat - Supports laptops up to 17-inch
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dddgirl
(Langley BC)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Love it

PostedAugust 19, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this mat. It's quiet, lightweight, soft and comfortable. I forget it's even there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Targus Lap Chill Mat - Supports laptops up to 17-inch
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Chantale
(La Romana, Dom. Rep.)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Cool down!!!

PostedJuly 22, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this product to cool down my portable computer which is located in the Dominican Republic. Believe me it works! Previous to using it my 2yr old portable would freeze and reboot when it got too hot unless I can a fan on it. But now, it works great, and the unit is really quiet!
Pros:internet facebook
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Targus Lap Chill Mat - Supports laptops up to 17-inch
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Muntz
(Waterloo, Ontario)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent

PostedJune 23, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Does an outstanding job cooling the laptop. VERY quiet!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Targus Lap Chill Mat - Supports laptops up to 17-inch
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:xpsjo
(canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedMay 22, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
very good. the quality is superb. you wouldn't notice if the fan is on because it is so quiet.
keeps my laptop cool. i just dont know how long will it last.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2