Customer reviews for Windows 7 Home Premium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Windows 7 Home Premium

Windows 7 Home Premium
4.412 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
4.4
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 31
30 out of 3488%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Windows 7 Home Premium
Review 1 for Windows 7 Home Premium
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:maldelus
(Charlotte Hall, MD)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Vista x64 to Windows 7

PostedJune 29, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Since Microsoft support for Vista was going to go away. I upgraded my system to Windows 7 on a new hard drive. After a minor hiccup, I was up and running. The only dislike I have is having to go through a litany of selections to save images on to the same internal or external drive but with a different folder in the desired location.
Pros:video, images, music, searching
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Windows 7 Home Premium
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ladygem
Title:

I love this product.

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is the first time I have used Windows 7 and it is a great improvement over Windows Vista. I wish I had upgraded my old computer with Vista sooner. The operating system is easy to use. I love the folder set up, etc.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Windows 7 Home Premium
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gumbeedog
(Indianapolis, IN)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

This is what Vista should have been!

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Windows 7 is so easy to use compared to Vista...what was Microsoft thinking?
Pros:home computing
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Windows 7 Home Premium
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mom5gma3
(home)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Newbie

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was having trouble with xp and upgraded to windows 7. pictures are great, download is fast.
Pros:lots of games, mail
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Windows 7 Home Premium
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sdrobbins
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great operating system

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Much better than Vista.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Windows 7 Home Premium
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:markjmal
(Rochester, NY)
Title:

Windows Redeemed

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
After the less than stellar performance of Vista, Microsoft gets back on track with Windows 7. I needed full version (not OEM or upgrade) to do a dual install on my son's Mac Mini using Boot Camp. Works like a charm. He already has a Dell laptop using Windows 7. He finds himself using Windows as much as Mac OS X on his Mini.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Windows 7 Home Premium
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PeteNYRock
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Windows 7

PostedAugust 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is way better than Vista.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Windows 7 Home Premium
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MikeCo
(Chicago, IL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great upgrade

PostedJune 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very easy to use and a huge step up from Vista.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Windows 7 Home Premium
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Vestella
(Lebanon, Tn.)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Home premium 7 1 lincense 3 comp.

PostedMay 25, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I recently ordered the home premium 7 for 3 different computers with 1 license because of just what it is you can upgrade up to 3 different computers with 1 validation license and enjoy the benifits of 7. I like the shortcut keys so easier then hitting back space back arrow or home etc... the only down fall is that the web site out there haven't caught up with the technology and you still have to use compatible view with the internet,
windows it self is great much cleaner looking desk top faster running start up defender and your sperate anti-virus program don't fight with each other(lol) programs can be set to run in earlier windows settings no such luck with vista in all 7 is a better os then vista ever will be on its best day. I recommend the premioum with the 3 because everyone now a days has family who has more than one computer per household big savings when it comes to that, :)
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Windows 7 Home Premium
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ralva
(San Antonio, Tx)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Gr8 move from win98 to win7

PostedOctober 10, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I already have 2-xp based pcs, my 3rd was a dino-98, did i really need to spend another 184? Not, really, but I am glad I did. Boot up sequence and internet ready on my old compaq/hp d530 w/1mb ram
is quite a surprise and IMPRESSIVE. The only drawback is some drivers fr video cards have to be downloaded from websites
instead of from cd-roms currently on the market.
Pros:internet tv media casual hobby
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Windows 7 Home Premium
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TonyR1
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

If you really need to, buy it.

PostedSeptember 28, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been working with Windows for over 13 years now. The newest release to follow up the ultimate dissapointment of Vista (IMO the Windows ME of this generation) is a good compensation, but not the best. Windows still has a long way to go as far as a more secure OS. Gaming in Windows 7 is the only thing that is the high point of the entire OS. I used and tested Windows 7 RC and it was impressive with games, but other than that not much improvements have been made in my opinion. If you are doing some high end computing, you may want to pick this up. If its for everyday surfing, word processing, email and things to that nature you may want to search for a different OS (Yes they are out there).
Pros:Gaming
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Windows 7 Home Premium
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JD96
(Knoxville, TN)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

easy use and simpler

PostedSeptember 6, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
installing was easy on new harddrive but on an upgrade give at least 6 hours of on and off attention. New feture make it easier to know which page your on and with one click go to it.
Pros:home
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Windows 7 Home Premium
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:golkab
(Mich)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Win 7

PostedSeptember 2, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have Win 7 Ult. on my Laptop and love, so I had to have it on my desktop and purchased Win 7 H.P
and it is great. All the features,speed,and the ease of use. I did however need some help to uninstall Vista for a clean install for Win 7. It would have been nice if Dell would have offered some free help, but got online help from Microsoft and every thing works great.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Windows 7 Home Premium
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rock2
(Philadelphia suburbs)
Title:

Attractive OS with problems

PostedAugust 18, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I like the many features of Windows 7 Home Premium. However I find it locks up a lot when used with IE8 and Outlook 2007 open. No help so far from Microsoft and no resolution of problem.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Windows 7 Home Premium
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Redatari
(Central -Wisconsin USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Windows 7 Home Edition

PostedAugust 4, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm extremely happy with the ease of the instalation of this product as well as the versitility and again the ease of its' use. Well done to Microsoft for sticking with it and for producing Windows 7 .
Pros:home use for the entire family
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Windows 7 Home Premium
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sagittariun
(Barstow, CA)
Title:

Upgraded Windows Vista

PostedAugust 4, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
This OS made a huge improvement on my wife's computer. I highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Windows 7 Home Premium
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LThib
(South Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Finally!

PostedJuly 7, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Windows 7 is so, so much better. Yes, all the rhetoric is true: Microsoft finally got it right. Hopefully, they will keep to this road for many years to come.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Windows 7 Home Premium
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BobM2009
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Windows 7 custom install

PostedJune 25, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
A recent purchase of the complete software, not an upgrade since I wanted to go from Vista 32 bit to Windows 7 64-bit, required a full version of the software. The price, at $150.00, while less than the normal price of $199.00 was found to be nearly $50.00 more than an recognizavble site several days later and it did not charge for shipping. It was still a fair price.
The installation when well after fully reading the custom install instructions found at MS. Please read them to the end. while they stress that you must load your original programs after a clean custom install, it does stress until the end of the four page instructions, that you have to Easy Transfer and activate the transfer PRIOR to re-installing your programs. If you don't follow that step, you can start over with a clean custom install and a full Easy Transfer. The three stars rating is related to the price discovery, shipping, etc. went well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Windows 7 Home Premium
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Beavertail
(Fayetteville, AR)
Title:

Pricey OS

PostedJune 13, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I think Windows 7 is a decent operating system. But then I liked Vista, too. The improvements that have gone into 7 are welcome, but they'd be a lot more welcome at about half the price! Overall, I am pleased with Windows 7 Home Premium. The Media Center software seems to have really come of age in this edition. I'd recommend this software very highly if the excessive price weren't such a hurdle to clear.
Pros:home computing, entertainment
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Windows 7 Home Premium
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Don120
(Ragley, LA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Vista problem resolved

PostedJune 3, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Loading Windows 7 resolved all of the Windows Vista problems. This was a very expensive fix for problems that Microsoft should have resolved before Windows Vista was released. I feel that the Vista users who were forced to upgrade to Windows 7 are due compensation from Microsoft.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
1 2