Customer reviews for Windows 7 Professional - Upgrade

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Windows 7 Professional - Upgrade

Windows 7 Professional - Upgrade
3.933 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
3.9
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
13 out of 1587%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Windows 7 Professional - Upgrade
Review 1 for Windows 7 Professional - Upgrade
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:brucemx
Title:

windows 7 upgrade

PostedApril 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
Easy to replace xp. Easy to follow instructions. Created image copy on exernal hard drive then used clean install to remove xp. Copied back image with no problems.
Cons
Takes some time to get used to if long time user of XP. Some functions seem harder to get to. Recommend using tutorial to navigate changes.
Pros:personal and home business
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Windows 7 Professional - Upgrade
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MoneyMetalDonkey
(Lafayette, LA)
Title:

Did the right thing...

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
My laptop came with 7 Home. A few people I work with upgraded to Professional and couldn't stop talking about how much they loved it. I spent the money and did the upgrade and I noticed a difference in how my computer ran instantly. Glad I did it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Windows 7 Professional - Upgrade
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Alexi69
(NY)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Windows 7 Professional

PostedJune 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Excellent!! Looks like Microsoft has a winner!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Windows 7 Professional - Upgrade
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ranger1205
(Davie, FL)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Awesome Operating System

PostedMay 10, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my 2nd purchase of this item. Bought an Inspiron 11Z Laptop in October, 2010 & bougth the Windows 7 Pro Upgrade to upgrade the unit from 7 Home Prem. Upgrade was super simple and the XP Compatibility Mode just completes the whole thing without having to upgrade all my other XP compatible software to accomodate 7. Loved it so much, bought a second copy to upgrade my Vostro 400 running XP Pro. Not thrilled with having to do a "Clean Install" however, if you do a proper backup to an external HD, everything should work like clockwork, shy of having to re-install all your other software. Here's my analogy of all Windows Operating Systems: Windows 3.1 Stunk. Windows 95 was OK. Windows 98 took the best of both those operating systems to create a great OS for it's time. Windows ME was LOUSY. Windows XP took the best of 98 & ME and created another great OS for it's time and is still satisfactory for most people. Windows VISTA was another BOMB. Taking the best parts of both XP and Vista and, ALAS, Windows 7. LOVE IT!!
Pros:business-accounting, personal-photo editing
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Windows 7 Professional - Upgrade
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MGOOD
(Alabama)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Windows 7 Professional - Upgrade

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this product a month ago and love the transition of it from Windows Vista. It was easy and the installation was seemless. I love the way Windows 7 works and would recommend to everyone. Great program!!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Windows 7 Professional - Upgrade
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TerryVS
(NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Windows 7 Upgrade

PostedJanuary 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This works well so far. I would have liked a little more information during the pruchase phase, as I am not sure I needed windows professional.
Also, not much documentation for the upgrade....luckily I am proficient enough that I didn't need it.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Windows 7 Professional - Upgrade
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Gerry2
Title:

A few bumps in the road

PostedDecember 30, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
The intent of this upgrade was to achieve improved performance in graphics tasks and any available improvements in OS efficiency generally. Dell support for this upgrade was not helpful. On the page identified by my service code, there was no selection for Win 7 64-bit, which means that Dell is not providing support for my 2-yr-old machine to use this software. The technical support people did try to help, mainly suggesting where I might find upgraded drivers for my various system components. Win 7 graphics is apparently too much for my external TV tuner, which I'm still trying to get operating (not a Dell item). The OS will probably be OK when the kinks are worked out.
Pros:photo editing, general office tasks, internet searches & transactions
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Windows 7 Professional - Upgrade
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cinhills
(ca)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

windows 7

PostedDecember 16, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
migrating from xp kind of a chore, but now that it is all finished, windows 7 is great, not a big learning curve
Pros:home office/business
0points
12of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Windows 7 Professional - Upgrade
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Skipper4
(Home Office)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

There is a God!

PostedNovember 19, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
My prayers have been answered, VISTA has been slain and the new W7 is everything Microsoft promised. Runs smooth, fast and I have programs that work again!
If you haven't upgraded from XP or VISTA (I used both on several machines) you don't know what you're missing!
+22points
25of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Windows 7 Professional - Upgrade
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:OVB1
(Huntsville, Al)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Windows 7

PostedNovember 19, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I must say that this is a much more stable platform that Vista and XP in many cases. I have used it since its release date and none of my three machines have had any issues or abnormal closing/shutting down problems. I am still learning a few of its changes, but so far, all work well.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Windows 7 Professional - Upgrade
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LongNeck
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Better than Vista

PostedNovember 19, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Upgraded from Vista 64 to Windows 7 Pro 64. The only noticable improvement is Windows 7 does not hang 2-3 times a day like Vista did. No problems during installation. For me it does not boot faster or load/run programs faster. Some programs had to be upgraded to new revs (Nortons)but overall the $200 upgrade was worth it because I don't have to deal with program hangs anymore. At least for now.
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Windows 7 Professional - Upgrade
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Pixar
(Iowa)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Window 7

PostedNovember 16, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Windows 7 Pro runs much better on both our Mini Dells as soon as I got rid of XP Pro. RUNS FANTASTIC
ON 1 GIG of ram! Dumped XP ASAP.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Windows 7 Professional - Upgrade
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:austinnt
(Oregon US)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Better than XP

PostedNovember 15, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Both of the other reviews I saw on this were stupid because they people hadn't even tried the product yet. Well I have, I have a mini 9 which has pretty low specs, and since I've put 7 Pro on it, its ran much smoother and faster than XP did. Seriously its the best OS ive ever used. With only 1gb of memory and a intel atom 1.6ghz processor, it feels comfortably fast even when running photoshop or multiple broswer windows. Dont listen to people who havent used the product, try it yourself!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Windows 7 Professional - Upgrade
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dynastar186
(Houston)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Hard to get excited if you suffered through Vista

PostedOctober 25, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
After spending $300 on engineering to downgrade an expensive new machine with Vista to XP in order to get it to work, it's very hard to consider 7 even if the upgrade were free. There is going to have to be a clear performance track record and broad backward compatibility of drivers, etc. to get me off XP (which is admittedly ancient). The suggestion that it will run on 1MB RAM seems fanciful, I would imagine the optimal/recommended level is several times that.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Finances, professional financial analyst, photoshop / digital photography
-58points
19of 96voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Windows 7 Professional - Upgrade
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MadaboutPrice
(Indianapolis, IN)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

You want how much?

PostedOctober 21, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Vista was such an awful OS that upgrades should be free to Windows 7. I will not spend that amount. Beyond that Windows 7 is a much better OS, except its still a performance hog when comparing to XP.
-3points
63of 129voted this as helpful.