Customer reviews for Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Upgrade Package

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Upgrade Package

Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Upgrade Package
4.508 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 130 reviews
5 Stars
93
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
1
1 Star
6
4.5
 / 
5
(130 reviews) 123
120 out of 13092%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Upgrade Package
Review 1 for Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Upgrade Package
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:calmeida
(West Columbia, SC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Definitely beats 2008/Vista!

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Microsoft has definitely impressed me with this release of Windows. Over the years I've been a unix specialist who prided himself on CLI expertise. Throughout all my experience one thing has been constant and that is I've always used Windows. I ran Vista for over 5 years because my E520 came preinstalled with it. I recently went to Windows 7 because I know the beneifits from my experience dealing with 7/2008 R2 at work. I'd definitely recommend Windows 7 to anyone!
Pros:web development, graphics design, video/audio editing, regular home use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Upgrade Package
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rgrathay
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent

PostedJune 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I thougt that Windows 7 upgrade would be a difficult task, but NO. Very smooth transition and has made this Laptop (Inspiron 1720) a real pleasure for daily use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Upgrade Package
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jay33
(Oklahoma)
Title:

Best Windows Edition

PostedJune 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this edition to upgrade my last PC to Windows 7. Windows 7 has never let me down and this edition continues the tradtion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Upgrade Package
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Andyman64
(Hanover Park, Il.)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Piece of cake

PostedMay 24, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
First I upgraded my own E1705 and it worked out so sweet I bought a second and did my girl friends and it also worked out great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Upgrade Package
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Merch
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Finally bought Windows 7

PostedMarch 1, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was a long time user of Windows XP, Vista didn't sell me at all and I went back to it, but since my PC is primarily a gaming rig I was slowly being left behind with the DirectX support I was limited to. Finally I took a chance and bought Windows 7 with holiday money and I am glad I did. At first it took a little getting used to, but once I got my bearings the amount of user related input you can put into it is great. I'd recommend it for anyone thinking about upgrading. It's easy to use, and they are very serious with the smaller, optional updates that come out on a regular, almost daily basis.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Upgrade Package
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:adla
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great all around!

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This product was easy to purchase. It was delivered quickly and was easy to load. I love using the new operating system because it is so much faster than my old one.
Pros:home use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Upgrade Package
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WillTX
(Austin, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Finally Upgraded

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
My upgrade went smoothly and I am enjoying Windows 7. Glad I did. Goodbye Vista. Product was here in no time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Upgrade Package
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GMC262
Title:

Worth The Investment

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have to concur with most of the reviews I've read on the topic: Windows 7 is a much smoother and intuitive os than Vista. Even with Windows 8 perhaps a few months away, the money spent upgrading to Windows 7 in the interim was well worth it. It moves significantly faster without the crashes and incompatibility issues I encountered with Vista. Installation was without a hitch. I wish I had upgraded sooner.
Pros:writing, photo editing and storage, web surfing, watching video
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Upgrade Package
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jmjked
Title:

Best Upgrade Yet

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I went from Vista premium to windows 7 home, the upgrade went smoothly however took a VERY long time due to the fact I have MANY graphics files on my harddrive in which it had to copy over with the upgrade. It was well worth the time though, my system is twice as fast now and navigating is so much easier. User friendly!!
Pros:operating system
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Upgrade Package
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gfrye96
(Advance, NC)
Title:

Poor Service

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am Having problems loading the software on my computer, called Microsoft for help and they hung up on me.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Upgrade Package
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:stachay
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great upgrade

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Much easier to use then Vista. Still working out some kinks, but am overall very happy with this purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Upgrade Package
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Gezzy
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Windows 7 ROcks

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Everything is a lot faster spite having an older system. In short, Windows 7 is a Great improvement to its predecessor.
Pros:personal, business, study
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Upgrade Package
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RToo
Title:

TGIAOD - Thank God it's Available on Dell.com

PostedJuly 17, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Husband has been using Vista on a non Dell purchase, crashing all kinds of programs, one problem after another...not able to record commercials or his radio show. Asked him how I could help as his computer is how he makes a living.
I have purchased 2 desktops and 2 laptops from dell in the past 10 years (and a TV) and have always trusted what operating system was offered. Luckily I have 2 computers running on Windows 7 and when I went on Dell to try to see if we could upgrade and fix all these issues, they had exactly what I needed to get him back on track and with Dell's lightning fast delivery (as always) I knew I would have no problem getting delivery quickly. Not one issue, smooth install and performance! Thanks!
Pros:to record radio show, to record commercials, to mix music
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Upgrade Package
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Txjetmech
(Burkburnett, Texas)
Title:

Nice upgrade

PostedJuly 7, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really enjoy the upgrade to Windows 7. I have a laptop that already has windows 7 so I knew what to expect. I think working with this program is much more user friendly than Vista.
Pros:presonal use, photo and video creation, paying bills
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Upgrade Package
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:teya
(texas)
Title:

bye xp

PostedJune 23, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Never thought I would give up xp, but overall I am happy with most of the changes
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Upgrade Package
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mark18
(Central Pennsylvania)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

Windows 7 Upgrade

PostedJune 18, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This upgrade was much easier than the instructions led me to believe it would be. It took less time and much less attention on my part. I am very happy with the results.
Pros:home networking
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Upgrade Package
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PopBear
(Pine Bush, NY)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Mostly an improvement

PostedJune 16, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pretty easy upgrading from Vista to 7 but be warned of a few things. If you are upgrading from XP, you will need to save ALL of your programs in order to do the upgrade, then add your programs back in. You don't know that until youy read the instructions. I didn't have to do this going from Vista to 7. I found a few of my programs were not compatible with 7. 7 is MUCH better than Vista.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Upgrade Package
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Annieanise
Title:

Windows 7

PostedJune 15, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Windows 7 loads fast and I have experienced fewer snags when browsing the internet. This is a product that I would definitely recommend to another person. In fact, I have recommended it to several people already.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Upgrade Package
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TheBear218
(Home)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Great for networking

PostedMay 15, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Setting a home network is a snap
Pros:home networking
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Upgrade Package
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:robert2211
(Houston, TX)
Title:

Warning Upgrading to Windows 7 Voids Warrantee

PostedMay 13, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I upgraded from Vista to Windows 7 after purchasing Windows 7 from Dell and paying to have Dell Support help me with the install. Afterward, I had a software problem and was told by Dell Support that upgrading to Windows 7 from the computer's original operating system voided my warrantee and I would now have to use fee based Solutions Station. Dell does not mention that BEFORE you upgrade. Windows 7 is very good, but wait until your Dell software warrantee runs out to upgrade.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7