Customer reviews for WinTV-HVR-2250 PCIe Dual TV Tuner

WinTV-HVR-2250 PCIe Dual TV Tuner

WinTV-HVR-2250 PCIe Dual TV Tuner
3 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
3
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
4 out of 850%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for WinTV-HVR-2250 PCIe Dual TV Tuner
Review 1 for WinTV-HVR-2250 PCIe Dual TV Tuner
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kscarroll54
(USA)
Title:

Does what i need it to do

PostedJune 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Installed easily and software walks you through the process.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for WinTV-HVR-2250 PCIe Dual TV Tuner
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dajacks
Title:

My Struggle

PostedMay 13, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pro's
Still working on finding a Pro
Con's
It should be much easier to do this
I have been trying to make this work for about a month now, and I have decided to let it set for the moment.I have a personal measurement with technology that if I can't take it out of the box and understand it then start using it within 20 minutes I am better off putting it back in the box and returning it. Since that is not going to happen with this piece of "technology" I will do my best to make a go of it. The struggle comes from
1. instructions are woefully short on details, hard to know what your doing correctly
2. Not clear exactly what channels you will get ( hey I'm not a cable tv expert )
3. irritating amount of extra wires that make everything look clunky an "McGivered" together. This is not what a computer in the 21st century should look like to record cable tv.
Window Media and WinTV program are designed for a computer wonk not a guy who just wants a program recorded.
Wait until something else comes along even if it did work this is cheesy
Pros:home
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for WinTV-HVR-2250 PCIe Dual TV Tuner
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ssmith29
(USA TEXAS)
Title:

HVR-2250 Tuner

PostedApril 17, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This tuner is the best I can now record 2 shows at once with my pc or watch a show while one is recording the only complaint I have is that it was on back order for so long but now it is in and it's GREAT....It was easy to install and a breeze to set up...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for WinTV-HVR-2250 PCIe Dual TV Tuner
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HaroldG
(Central Ohio)
Title:

Tuner quit working 2 hours after installation

PostedMarch 23, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed the tuner and set it up using Windows Media Center. I was able to pull basic Time Warner Cable channels by connecting the coax directly to the tuner. Within 2 hours the tuner card quit working. At 5:50 PM I called Hauppauge! tech support. The gentleman gave me a couple of things to try and told me to call back after completing them. The first thing that he asked me to do was to install WinTV from the install disks. I loaded the disk and the WinTV program is not included on the disk as he stated. I would have to pay $10.00 to get the program. I called tech support back at 6:05pm and received a recording that Tech support was closed.
One last comment. One of the pictures that dell has on the website shows a media blaster cable that hooks to your cable or satellite box. It does not come with this product. You will want to also look at a remote control also if you are using Media Center.
Pros:record tv, internet tv
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for WinTV-HVR-2250 PCIe Dual TV Tuner
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kinghank
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedNovember 10, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
the strat up disk is a 2.3f not the 6.0 that is lested on the othere stors info and the installation guide is all about the 6.0 disk that you will have to buy from then at Happpauge!to use the other setting on it..
Pros:only can use it for tv but can use it on the qam, or vidio
-16points
0of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for WinTV-HVR-2250 PCIe Dual TV Tuner
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:patchsassy
(Browns Mills,NJ)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Needs software

PostedMay 4, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm using this tuner card on an XPS 8300 with Windows 7 X64. Because I have dishnetwork and am using TV2 output(channel 73), windows media center would not work since it won't search up to channel 73. I have since installed WinTV 7 and now it works. For the price, this tuner card should come bundled with the software.
Pros:home computer
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for WinTV-HVR-2250 PCIe Dual TV Tuner
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hbraun
(NYC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Will not work

PostedOctober 20, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed the tuner, loaded the software and can not get it to work.
Will call customer service next
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for WinTV-HVR-2250 PCIe Dual TV Tuner
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HyperZ
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent w/ Windows 7 x64 and Media Center

PostedNovember 12, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Using this with Time Warner cable for my HTPC. Running Windows 7 Ultra x64 with Media Center and everything is almost flawless. I do notice a rare artifact grain here and there but much less than what I see from the DVR boxes sent out by cable companies.
This does not have an antenna, so if you are used to your tv pulling OTA HD, you'll want to pick up an external antenna for this.
+24points
27of 30voted this as helpful.