Customer reviews for USB 2.0 External Slim Multi-Format 8X DVD Writer with Software

USB 2.0 External Slim Multi-Format 8X DVD Writer with Software

USB 2.0 External Slim Multi-Format 8X DVD Writer with Software
3.1 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
3.1
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 8
6 out of 1060%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for USB 2.0 External Slim Multi-Format 8X DVD Writer with Software
Review 1 for USB 2.0 External Slim Multi-Format 8X DVD Writer with Software
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BRS007
(Ontario)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

DVD Software

PostedSeptember 12, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hardware looks good and tested out well in plug and play mode.
However, the Nero software included in the package is terrible. It took forever to load (well over 40 minutes) - it adversely impacted the operation of Windows Internet Explorer in some situations. Worst of all I cannot remove the Nero software using Windows add remove software in control panel. It apparently does not have an add remove function included in the package either.
This is a BIG demotivating factor!!
Pros:creating videos with adobe pro
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for USB 2.0 External Slim Multi-Format 8X DVD Writer with Software
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cynis
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Works Fine.

PostedAugust 18, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got this on the 48 hour sale for $39. For that price it works exactly as I want it to. For all of you having trouble with the Nero software you received, you don't have to use that. There are free lighter alternatives such as InfraRecorder that I use which in my opinion is better than nero.
Burns a CD at 24x
Bruns a dvd at 2.0-7.0x, I'm not complaining. As long as it does the dob. No bugs.
My only complaint is that the drive doesn't shut without being exactly aligned so you can't be in a rush.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for USB 2.0 External Slim Multi-Format 8X DVD Writer with Software
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NoNeroHere
(Calgary)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nero software wants me to pay to use it

PostedJune 23, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
installed Nero 9 that came with the DVD player/writer. After installing, Nero wanted me to pay a fee to use it. Uninstalled.
Pros:burn small news video dvd's
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for USB 2.0 External Slim Multi-Format 8X DVD Writer with Software
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BBQG
Title:

LG drive inside, the least drive i want

PostedMay 4, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
1. LG drive inside - in three i saw at least three LG DVD drive failed.
2. Not mini USB connector, the connect is a bigger B_type
3. no ac adaptor supplied
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for USB 2.0 External Slim Multi-Format 8X DVD Writer with Software
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DVDshrink
Title:

Work ok if you installed Nero 9

PostedJanuary 14, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
The DVD writing won't work on old software like Nero 6 and others. Once you installed Nero 9, things seems working fine but very slow. So far, I can only get 2X writing speed. 4X and 8X will kill the disc :-(
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for USB 2.0 External Slim Multi-Format 8X DVD Writer with Software
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Task514
(Montreal)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Looks cheap, but it is actually a Sony quality!

PostedJanuary 13, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Aluratek brand looks like it is cheaply made... but the actual drive housed inside is a Sony. Recongnized in my computer as "Optiarc DVD RW AD-7580A"
Suits my needs perfectly... a DVD drive for my driveless netbook.
Also priced perfectly at 50$ when I bought it.
Pros:software installs, boot from cd, burn cd/dvd
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for USB 2.0 External Slim Multi-Format 8X DVD Writer with Software
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Chris53
(Welland Ontario)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Works great

PostedJanuary 13, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Nice portable addition to my netbook.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for USB 2.0 External Slim Multi-Format 8X DVD Writer with Software
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Minoltaman
(Brockville)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Little Device

PostedJanuary 8, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This device is simple to connect
Silent while running.
The only negative I have is that Dell double shipped this to me early December, returned duplicate immediately and have yet to see a refund of same from the original double charge.
Pros:to install software watch movies
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Ratings-only reviews for USB 2.0 External Slim Multi-Format 8X DVD Writer with Software
Overall Rating 
2.5 / 5
2.5 / 5
1 out of 2 recommend this product