Customer reviews for Logitech Illuminated Keyboard - K740

Logitech Illuminated Keyboard - K740

Logitech Illuminated Keyboard - K740
4.258 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 62 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
4.3
 / 
5
(62 reviews) 61
50 out of 6281%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Logitech Illuminated Keyboard - K740
Review 21 for Logitech Illuminated Keyboard - K740
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rdh3474
(St. Louis Missouri)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Logitech Keyboard

PostedJanuary 9, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This keyboard is really cool. I love the illumination. Overall this keyboard is light and thin and I was concerned that it might be flimsy or have a bad feel but I was thankfully mistaken. I also had reservations about going back to a wired keyboard but it has not been an issue yet.
I would recommend this keyboard to anyone who, like me, needs to watch their fingers when they type.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Logitech Illuminated Keyboard - K740
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dmac49

PostedJanuary 3, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
The worst 79 dollars I have ever spent on Logitech. I have have wonderful results from the numerous other Logi products but this one failed to preform. It increased my boot time by over 4 minutes. The F keys would not let me access the BIOS and Logitech support was non existent.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Logitech Illuminated Keyboard - K740
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SpudVT
(Vermont)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Awesome Keyboard!

PostedDecember 30, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this keyboard based on the fact that is has lighted keys but the feel is simply incredible too. I originally thought I would be bothered by the fact that it wasn't wireless but my keyboard never leaves my desk anyway. Imagine the batteries you would go through if it was wireless!
I highly recommend this keyboard!
Pros:work, personal use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Logitech Illuminated Keyboard - K740
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:StevenJ
(SE Pennsylvania)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Logitec Illuminated Keyboard Dell #:A2136825

PostedDecember 17, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
The keyboard has a good response rate and "feel".
It is substantial and the illumination through the keys works very well.
The software and programable keys are a nice addition and all has worked well but is not an essential in the current office application.
I have purchased three of these since buying the fisrt one from Dell on line.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Logitech Illuminated Keyboard - K740
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TimothyJSeppala
(Michigan)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert

PostedDecember 16, 2009
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this keyboard to replace the pack-in one that came with my new Studio desktop. I love the feel of the keys, especially the spacebar and other secondary keys, they're curved and have a bit firmer push to them, so you know when you've hit one instead of a letter or number key.
I also love that when you hit the Caps Lock button a message shows up on screen telling you so.
After downloading a patch all of the special function keys of the keyboard (eject, play, pause, e-mail, etc..) work great with Windows 7.
The backlight works well too, with three levels of lighting. THe lowest level looks like it is barely on, and illuminates the keys to the point of them looking painted on, which is what I use the most. You can even turn the backlighting completely off.
The product description says its great for using at night, and while that may be true I don't because of the eyestrain associated with a bright monitor in a dark room.
I bought this product sight unseen and I was incredibly pleased when it arrived and I started using it. The keys feel similar to my old Dell laptop (exactly what I wanted) and even a bit better, as the keystroke depth is deeper.
I don't know how it works for gaming because I'm not a PC gamer, but I am a freelance journalist. The keyboard is fast, smooth, and extremely comfortable even for long sessions.
Unless you need a wireless keyboard to sit on your coffee table, buy this board.
Pros:professional writing, web surfing
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Logitech Illuminated Keyboard - K740
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JonHartman
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Sleek, functional, and at a decent price

PostedDecember 4, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
After I bought a Latitude E6500, I finally realized how awesome backlit keyboards are. You no longer require any sort of light for seldom-used characters, and there's no vertical finger travel required to type on this keyboard. I owned one for about six months and started recommending it at work. It is now a part of our base PC configuration standard.
Like any change, using this keyboard will take a slight amount of getting used to, but nothing like what ergonomic keyboards require.
Despite what a previous reviewer said, I've had no issues entering the BIOS with this keyboard on my custom-built PC.
Pros:home, work
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Logitech Illuminated Keyboard - K740
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Goody28
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Keyboard!

PostedDecember 2, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this keyboard! It is really thin, the keys have an outstanding feel to them and the backlighting is great in low/no light working areas. The illumination is adjustable by pressing a button.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Logitech Illuminated Keyboard - K740
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dellm60
(Larchmont, NY)
Title:

Not Working in Bios, Increased boot time

PostedNovember 28, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
1) Doesn't work well with my studio xps 435. Cant go into BIOS with this keyboard.
2) Increased boot time significantly (3-4 minutes as supposed to 30-40 seconds with my old keyboard)
Dell shouldnt have this keyboard up on the website.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Logitech Illuminated Keyboard - K740
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lindajancik
(Cleveland Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Illuminated PC keyboard USB

PostedOctober 21, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
the lighted keyboard has changed my life. I work as a medical transcriptionist and have a black keyboard drawer surrounded by a black desk. If there was not excellent lighting i could not even see the keys. My speed has increased also as it has a very smooth quick type.
Pros:work as a production transcriptionist
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Logitech Illuminated Keyboard - K740
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Win4me4U
(Texas)
Title:

illuminated keyboard

PostedOctober 7, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
This Illuminated keyboard is the greatest! Not only is it user friendly to connect but now I can see when the light is dim, or dark!
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Finances, researching
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Logitech Illuminated Keyboard - K740
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tomsna
(TX)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Does not work well with intel core is processor

PostedOctober 6, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
There are known issues causing this keyboard to lock up your pc for 2 min on Intel Core i7-920 (and other i7 versions) processors every time you boot up. That would have been nice to know when I was configuring my dell and this was listed as a recomended option. This is really frustrating, as the keyboard is otherwise the coolest keyboard I have used....
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Logitech Illuminated Keyboard - K740
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mickey44
(Oregon)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

LOGITECH KEY BOARD

PostedOctober 6, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love my new Keyboard. Feels good. Very light.Love the preprogramed buttons. Room around edges which makess it is to pick up with out touching buttons.
Pros:Connecting with Friends
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Logitech Illuminated Keyboard - K740
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:linksys202
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Can't believe how great it is!

PostedSeptember 17, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had read other reviews but I am totally amazed at how soft the key strokes are. The lighting is PERFECT. Exactly what I needed at night. I can now see my keyboard and nobody can hear me typing away. So thin too.
LOVE IT!!!
Pros:Connecting with Friends
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Logitech Illuminated Keyboard - K740
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:txrob65
(Lubbock, Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Wow!

PostedAugust 1, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this for the illumination which is great, but it is even better than espected! The four levels of illumination including off are great for late night computing. The keys are smooth as silk and the spacing makes typing a breeze. But what really caught me off guard was the thiness of this keyboard! I have never seen anything like it, yet it is as sturdy as any. The programmable function keys are a major plus too. Even if illumination is not your main goal, I would still recommend this key board to anyone. It is pricy, I got mine for much less, but if you can find it on sale, snatch it up quick!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Logitech Illuminated Keyboard - K740
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bford64
(Wichita)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Two Thumbs Up

PostedJuly 22, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Just received this keyboard today. I haven't had much time to use it but I can tell you that straight out of the box this thing has quality written all over it. I am very pleased with the construction. It is thin so it doesn't stick up off the desk like a traditional keyboard. That should be a plus for any carpel tunnel sufferers. I absolutely love the softkeys. If you like the feel of laptop keys but with the width of a desktop keyboard then you'll be happy with this. The back lite feature is great as well. Especially if you work in a low lit area. It also has shortcut keys with each F key. These are programmable to your preferences after you load the "Set Point" disk that is provided. This is a multimedia keyboard as well with volume, next, previous keys. Don't let the price tag scare you away. This is worth every penny. IMHO.
Good job Logitech.
Pros:quality construction. well built.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Logitech Illuminated Keyboard - K740
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dpr1
(canton)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

great for night working

PostedJuly 15, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is exactly what I wanted.It is very nice and has 3 levels of brightness.
Pros:Finances
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Logitech Illuminated Keyboard - K740
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Gremmy62
(Pennsylvania)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Logitech Illuminated USB PC Keyboard

PostedJune 17, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
This keyboard is a great chioce! The keys are lighted very well, and the brightness is adjustable. The keystroke also has a soft touch to the keys, very nice. This keboard is worth every penny!
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Video Editing, Travel, Gaming, Music & Movies
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Logitech Illuminated Keyboard - K740
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bpkilgore
(Shadyside, OH)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Keyboard

PostedMay 6, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have several things from Logitech, and all seem to be very well made, and have given me no problems at all. Quaility products, all of them.
Pros:The Keystrokes are very smooth and you can just feel and see the quality that was put into this keyboard. The lettering is crisp and clear. Installation is a breeze, truly plug and play. This is a very nice product that is replacing another keyboard from Logitech, the Laser 3200, which is another great product, it just isn't backlit.
Cons:None except that it isn't cordless too.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Logitech Illuminated Keyboard - K740
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ReviewerX
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Good Basic Illuminated Keyboard

PostedMay 5, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
The keyboard does feel like a typical laptop keyboard with the added benefit of a full number pad. I like the feel of a traditional "clicky" keyboard, but I'll take the clean white illumination through the keys in the standard layout over the colored lights and extra buttons I'd never use on the gaming keyboards. It'd be nice if it was wireless, though.
Pros:The characters on the keys are laser etched, so only the letters, numbers, and symbols illuminate, not the whole key. Lighting is controlled by a key in the upper right corner of the keyboard and changes from 100% brightness to 50% to 25% to off with each press. Volume control keys are conveniently located at the top right corner of the keyboard, just to the left of the light control button. The special function keys can be changed from their default function with the included software.
Cons:The function keys only illuminate the special function symbol, not "F1", "F2", etc. The same is true for the print screen and pause/break keys. The caps lock, scroll lock, and num lock indicator lights are very small and on the bottom right corner of the keyboard. A better location would have been anywhere on the top of the keyboard, where they wouldn't be covered by hands or wrists while typing. The wrist rest cannot be removed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Logitech Illuminated Keyboard - K740
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Cesar23
(miami, fl)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Best keyboard period!

PostedMay 2, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
As soon as you open the box, you can smell the quality of this keyboard. Makes typing so much confortable its not even funny. The illumination is just incredible. very fancy keyboard!
Pros:love it!
Cons:none so far!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
  1 2 3