Customer reviews for 4TB Gigabit Ethernet ShareSpace Network Attached Storage

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

4TB Gigabit Ethernet ShareSpace Network Attached Storage

4TB Gigabit Ethernet ShareSpace Network Attached Storage
4.545 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
4.5
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
10 out of 1191%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for 4TB Gigabit Ethernet ShareSpace Network Attached Storage
Review 1 for 4TB Gigabit Ethernet ShareSpace Network Attached Storage
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TALANMAN
(Northern MN)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good deal for $, but not fast

PostedJanuary 25, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This product works well for the most part.
RAID configurations for disaster recovery and easy setup.
The biggest downfall I see however is the NIC. It says it will connect to 10/100/1000 speeds, but the max I was able to push/pull was 100M/bit; average transfer rate was around 10M/sec.
If this thing could do even close to 1000Mbit as advertised you would be seeing speeds above 40-50Meg. Shame on you WD! (And Dell for not disclosing this)
Yes, it connects to a Gigabit LAN, but you don't get what you paid for if your seeking fast transfer rates.
All else, its a good NAS. Good for storage with DRO RAID settings. If your not in a hurry and wanting to save a few bucks, then this is your product.
What will really get you wondering is when you register the product. You won't get the normal questions as you would most products. WD will ask you if you are not pleased with the transfer rate of the unit. I find that a bit distrubing.
Pros:picture archive, music sharing, symantec system recovery images
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 4TB Gigabit Ethernet ShareSpace Network Attached Storage
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Prexaspes
(Okinawa, Japan)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Reliable NAS

PostedSeptember 1, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this to stream video to my media player. My Mvix media player was choppy connected via LAN cable and wireless N. It streams flawlessly to my WDLive HD media player. Also, it streams to the player perfectly from a Verbatim USB drive connected to port 3.
The front USB port does automatic backup of a drive connected, but for my purposes it's not fast enough to beat the convenience of just sending the files over the LAN or WLAN. Also, it doesn't give enough positive feedback that your data is actually being backed up, or when it's done.
The front panel indicators are great for monitoring disk condition and activity, but pressing the power button suffers from the same lack of definite indications that something is actually happening. Fortunately it's so stable that I've only needed to power it down before unplugging and moving the unit.
RAID 5 and Western Digital Green drives make this a winner to me. It gets warm, but not hot in a fairly enclosed space.
Once this one fills up, I will be getting another. When something works this well for it's purpose, minor issues are easy to overlook. I'm sure a lot of my success has to do with the NAS being the same maker as my media player, gigabit ethernet and that it's only serving one purpose.
Pros:streaming sd and hd video
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 4TB Gigabit Ethernet ShareSpace Network Attached Storage
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:paulll1
(Tampa)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

No 2008 or 2008R2 Directory Integration

PostedAugust 17, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good unit. Works well. It integrated with Windows 2003 Active Directory Users and Computers. The technical details list CIFS and SMB integration. I created shares and 25+ users authenticated using network credentials.
However, the NAS will not integrate with Windows Active Directory 2008 or 2008R2 per WD support. I found this out after the domain upgrade. It just does not do what I purchased it for.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 4TB Gigabit Ethernet ShareSpace Network Attached Storage
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cbryant
(Philly, PA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Impressive

PostedNovember 16, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Easy to setup - discovery software works great.
I use this drive to backup family photos, movies, music and to backup my portable drives.
I have become more and more impressed with this drive over time. Just recently I purchased a new TV, the TV supports DLNA and sure enough, I can stream movies, music and view my photos directly from the drive - with no setup - it picked up the drive as soon as it was plugged into my network. My PS3 and Xbox connect to the drive and stream content easily over the network - no lag streaming a 1080p movie.
I would like to test out the drive replacement option to see if that works as advertised, but I haven't had a problem with the drives. I would like to replace the 1TB drives with 2TB drives, but haven't tried that yet.
My other option to the drive was to build another PC that would serve as a file share machine on my network - but the power consumption pushed me to buy this NAS drive - it is quiet, cool, and sleeps when not being accessed. I LOVE IT!
Pros:stream video, stream music, share photos, ftp server, backup portable drives
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 4TB Gigabit Ethernet ShareSpace Network Attached Storage
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jcwi65
(Brown Deer Wisconsin)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

The Perfect LIttle Storage Unit

PostedNovember 5, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I needed a system in place that would eliminate the worry of a catastrophic failure. My old system was an Iomega NAS and a USB external HDD. When the Iomega failed, the external USB HDD was not enough. I purchased this due to its capacity and the RAID 5 configuration. If a disk fails I can replace it and the others rebuild it. Plus this unit is compact unlike building a RAID 5 NAS from scratch. The backup software that comes with it is not that great. I use SyncBack with this NAS. Highly Recommended!!
Pros:to backup all my family data etc.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 4TB Gigabit Ethernet ShareSpace Network Attached Storage
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Robs1
(San Diego Ca.)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Fast NAS unit with fairly good feature set

PostedJune 24, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've used most of the low end consumer Network Attached Storage units available and although this is easily the most expensive of them it's far below the enterprise units above it in price and also far above most consumer class units in performance.
Using an application called netpersec data transfer benchmarking utility; I measured transfers over 100MB sustained! Most of these units seem to only provide somewhere between 5-30 MBs. This thing is fast and more stable than anything I've seen thus far in this price range!
Pros: Fast, stable and mostly full featured.
Cons: Scarce documentation and the built-in backup only runs manually and only backs up one internal share to one external drive. That's not adequate for me so I have to use another PC mapped to the USB drive attached to the WD NAS.
If WD puts a multi-folder timed backup in the next update I'll be in NAS heaven with this unit and all the other units I've sold over the years will be replaced soon, with this one.
Pros:medical systems data sharing
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 4TB Gigabit Ethernet ShareSpace Network Attached Storage
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compatibility 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Q5632
(Banana Belt of Iowa)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent Excellent Value

PostedMay 6, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I would recommend this drive to anyone that needs network storage. And who doesn't?
Pros:I read a lot of reviews and customer opinions everywhere. You just never know who to believe. When the drive went on sale for $549 it became a no-brainer. Set up was fairly easy and the drive was recognized by our macs and our lone PC with no problems or issues. Speed is not an issue. Maybe it is if you are slammin' video edits. If you are, you should be using esata drives anyway. This is an excellent value. Watch for the sale. And don't think twice when you order it. If you need the storage now, buy it and don't look back.
Cons:Setting up the drive for SMB was something new to me. Took a little trial and error. The real issue is value. There isn't enough wrong with this drive to write a "real" negative comment.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 4TB Gigabit Ethernet ShareSpace Network Attached Storage
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Compatibility 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HawkeyeNH
(New Hampshire)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Super Value, Flexible Configurations

PostedApril 13, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:I run an appraisal company and am obligated to keep copies of my files for five years. This system automatically backs-up each file as it is saved. If I have a server crash, since the data is on the network, I can just switch to a different PC and keep working.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 4TB Gigabit Ethernet ShareSpace Network Attached Storage
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Compatibility 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BTechConsulting
(Phila, PA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

flexible, reasonably priced

PostedApril 10, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Ignore the insert that says it does no work with Linux. It's not well documented, but once I realized NFS is not turned on by default, and enabled it through the web-based menu, it mounted over the network to my CentOS 5.2 server without a hitch.
Pros:Works great for both my Linux server and Vista. From out of the box to completely configured less than an hour.
Cons:Instructions confusing for anything other than Windows. NFS protocol not enabled by default. Need to play with transfer settings to get best performance using NFS/Linux.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 4TB Gigabit Ethernet ShareSpace Network Attached Storage
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compatibility 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LHCBoy
(Milwaukee, WI)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nice easy NAS

PostedMarch 26, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great little NAS for a home environment where you just want to plug the box in and go on with life. The geeks out there will probably be happier building a linux solution. I just wanted a place to share files and save backups from each box on my home network with RAID 5 protection.
Pros:- Ready out of the box - Installation couldn't be easier - Really quiet
Cons:- It was a little slow to discover initially - It's a little slow in terms of performance
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 4TB Gigabit Ethernet ShareSpace Network Attached Storage
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compatibility 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tncompguy
(Franklin, TN)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Absolutely Great Product

PostedMarch 9, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Like I said, a little pricey compared to the other similar products but you get what you pay for I guess.
Pros:Took it out of the box, turned it on, plugged it into the network, started loading files to it. Just that easy. No hiccups, gotchas, problems, at least not yet. All the PCs, notebooks, saw it and most have had access to it now. Have not tried the remote access feature yet but based on experience so far, don't expect any problems there either.
Cons:Little pricey compared to some of the others but very solid and seems to be be put together very well.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.