Customer reviews for Hauppauge WinTV HVR-950Q - Digital / analog TV tuner - ATSC, QAM - HDTV - Hi-Speed USB - NTSC

Hauppauge WinTV HVR-950Q - Digital / analog TV tuner - ATSC, QAM - HDTV - Hi-Speed USB - NTSC

Hauppauge WinTV HVR-950Q - Digital / analog TV tuner - ATSC, QAM - HDTV - Hi-Speed USB - NTSC
3.409 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
3.4
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 19
15 out of 2268%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Hauppauge WinTV HVR-950Q - Digital / analog TV tuner - ATSC, QAM - HDTV - Hi-Speed USB - NTSC
Review 1 for Hauppauge WinTV HVR-950Q - Digital / analog TV tuner - ATSC, QAM - HDTV - Hi-Speed USB - NTSC
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AZProgrammer
(Phoenix, AZ, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Product

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
The line between TV and Computer is ever so getting blurred. Yes , we can see episodes on Internet or threw services like Netflix but with this device the Computer becomes a intelligent TV which does sound like an oxymoron. But kidding aside, I now have another DVR with lots of memory. I am still struggling with the included software WIN TV version 7 but it is also compatible with Windows Media Center. But the device works fine and I would recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hauppauge WinTV HVR-950Q - Digital / analog TV tuner - ATSC, QAM - HDTV - Hi-Speed USB - NTSC
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JeffSM
Title:

Great Product

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This tuner was easy to install. I had it pluged in and running in under 10 minutes. I use the DVR to record my favorite Off Air programs. Works great and happy with the purchase.
Pros:rcording live tv, watching broadcast tv
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hauppauge WinTV HVR-950Q - Digital / analog TV tuner - ATSC, QAM - HDTV - Hi-Speed USB - NTSC
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ColleenS
(Central Valley)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Very Happy!!!

PostedJune 30, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I wanted to be able watch AT&T U-Verse at my desk and multi-task while working at my computer! With this product and the the AT&T U-Verse Wireless receiver I was able to do just that! I love it and it is exactly what I wanted!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hauppauge WinTV HVR-950Q - Digital / analog TV tuner - ATSC, QAM - HDTV - Hi-Speed USB - NTSC
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:eddie214
(brockton ma)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

win tv

PostedJune 13, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
SIMPLICITY..there is much more i can say about it!!so easy to use,easy to hook up!works great,was ez to set up.love it!!!
Pros:streaming video, watch tv, record programs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hauppauge WinTV HVR-950Q - Digital / analog TV tuner - ATSC, QAM - HDTV - Hi-Speed USB - NTSC
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RandyG
(Prosser, WA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Win TV

PostedJune 16, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really enjoy being able to record TV Shows that i like to watch to watch them at a time it convenient for me to watch. I now remotely connect to my computer with my iPad and can take the TV with me where ever I go.
Pros:home entertainment, Travel, streaming video
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hauppauge WinTV HVR-950Q - Digital / analog TV tuner - ATSC, QAM - HDTV - Hi-Speed USB - NTSC
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jeanne31
Title:

Nice Product for the money

PostedMay 2, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Hooked it up to my computer, worked fine. Picture could be a little better but it does what I need it to do. I can watch TV and work on my computer at the same time. I don't use it with Media Center, I installed the WinTV software that came with the device.
Pros:watching live tv
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hauppauge WinTV HVR-950Q - Digital / analog TV tuner - ATSC, QAM - HDTV - Hi-Speed USB - NTSC
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:silverhairedfox
(Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Title:

Win TV my humble opinion

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Typical computer product. If it doesn't work keep installing and doing the same settings over and over and eventually it will do the right thing even though you did the same thing you did the other 99 times.
Some of the settings are incomprehensible to me so I just left them on the default.
Once installed it's a great device/program. I save all my shows through the scheduler to the hard drive. I'm still experimenting to see if I can save them straight to a DVD. Space is a concern because an hour show takes all different amounts of space 2GB to 12GB per episode. No clue as to why so different and I'm afraid that a show might run out of space on a DVD.
The tuner scan pulled in more channels than I knew were available here. Unfortunately the numbering is weird i.e. what the heck channel is 2080 ? Still all in all a great device, good picture, works with my HP, Alienware, Gateway and ASUS PCs equally well.
Pros:watch and record tv episodes daily., record automatically through scheduler.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hauppauge WinTV HVR-950Q - Digital / analog TV tuner - ATSC, QAM - HDTV - Hi-Speed USB - NTSC
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BIGDAVE54
(Columbia,South Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

I HAVE HAD A BALL WITH THIS CARD

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am a ham radio operator and have always been fascinated with radio,television,and computers. I bought this card a while back and have been able to get a few premium tv stations as well as loads of extra stations over my basic cable coax from the local tv service. It is unbelievable what actually comes over the coax besides the basic package programs. I have also experimented in my car while waiting for my wife at the hairdressers and drs. office. I have hooked everything from exotic loaded atennas for HDTV to the supplied antenna. I like a $2.50 antenna I bought at a surplus lot the best for my car application.The supplied antenna is sorta wimpy and I don't use the remote at all. I have a Dell Inspiron running Win.Xp. I have downloaded drivers off the co. site and just ran the Media Direct setup...both have worked good in my location. I do live in a state capitol city so there are a lot of tv stations within 10-15 miles.
Pros:traveling, at home
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hauppauge WinTV HVR-950Q - Digital / analog TV tuner - ATSC, QAM - HDTV - Hi-Speed USB - NTSC
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:twinx
(Sylvania, Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great picture

PostedJune 14, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
We installed the HVR-950Q on friday night to be ready for World Cup on Saturday. After installing and taking the 30 minutes to auto-scan for channels I tuned in to a few local stations. To my surprise they showed up in HD without a decoder from the cable company. Changing channels is a bit tedious using the on-screen options but the reception is well worth it. I would highly recommend this product.
Pros:live tv
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hauppauge WinTV HVR-950Q - Digital / analog TV tuner - ATSC, QAM - HDTV - Hi-Speed USB - NTSC
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:brouikri
Title:

Win TV-HVR is not what I expected

PostedJune 2, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Loaded this product on my new computer and wow, not what I expected! I get a total of 12 channels and most are not in the English language. Item also get very hot when it is plugged into the computer which concerns me if left plugged in for a long period of time. Love Dell just not this item!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hauppauge WinTV HVR-950Q - Digital / analog TV tuner - ATSC, QAM - HDTV - Hi-Speed USB - NTSC
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RickeyB
(Houston TX)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Do comparisons

PostedFebruary 25, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wasn't really impressed with the product. I was able to get some channels but not the ones I watch. I installed it on Windows 7 on a desktop. The picture was below par. I guess the conditions have to be "perfect" (as to "normal") to receive accpetable performance.
Pros:streaming video
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hauppauge WinTV HVR-950Q - Digital / analog TV tuner - ATSC, QAM - HDTV - Hi-Speed USB - NTSC
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LSWO2009
(Chicago)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Win TV Recorder working well

PostedSeptember 2, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I recommend this product. I had no difficulty picking up Television stations. I am pleased with this product.
Pros:casual viewing of tv, recording
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hauppauge WinTV HVR-950Q - Digital / analog TV tuner - ATSC, QAM - HDTV - Hi-Speed USB - NTSC
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DellProductReview
Title:

Worst electronic product I have ever seen.

PostedAugust 4, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your time exploring this TV Tuner.
-52points
14of 80voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hauppauge WinTV HVR-950Q - Digital / analog TV tuner - ATSC, QAM - HDTV - Hi-Speed USB - NTSC
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JFrench
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

This Product Doesn't Work

PostedJuly 22, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was fairly excited to try this new product and I am fairly proficient with technology. So, I was pretty frustrated to find that once I hooked it up properly and followed all directions that the accompanying software simply doesnt display any TV stations. And that is after I waited about an hour for it to find 76 TV stations. Also, no tech support phone number comes with the product for help in this instance.
+42points
43of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hauppauge WinTV HVR-950Q - Digital / analog TV tuner - ATSC, QAM - HDTV - Hi-Speed USB - NTSC
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JustANormalGuy
(Stuart, Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good Value

PostedApril 22, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Works as advertised. Good Picture. Perfect for the price. Picks up a lot of channels with the enclosed antenna. And I easily program to record shows while I am away from the hotel room.
Cons:The USB stick gets very warm if used for a while. When you go to a new location, you have to rescan all the available channels that takes 10-12 minutes. (It is the first thing I now do when I get into a hotel/motel room is usually done by the time I get out of the bathroom.) The remote is easily lost it is so small and is hard to used with my big fingers. Finally, it requires a good processor and memory. Not for those entry-level laptops.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hauppauge WinTV HVR-950Q - Digital / analog TV tuner - ATSC, QAM - HDTV - Hi-Speed USB - NTSC
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:abooley
Title:

Tv Time

PostedApril 22, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
If I had tried it first I would not have bought it. It is easier to go to network sites to watch the programs.
Pros:The software installed and functioned ok. Hardware plugs in ok. It did find a couple of channels on the initial scan.
Cons:The software is cumbersome to navigate. Hardware is small to connect a coax cable to. Performance is on the low end of the scale.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hauppauge WinTV HVR-950Q - Digital / analog TV tuner - ATSC, QAM - HDTV - Hi-Speed USB - NTSC
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:geralda
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

great tuner for PC

PostedMarch 11, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
the price is really good for this, and I can use it on my desktop and my laptop when I travel.
Pros:works right away with Win Vista, and also on my Win XP media Center.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hauppauge WinTV HVR-950Q - Digital / analog TV tuner - ATSC, QAM - HDTV - Hi-Speed USB - NTSC
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Beffect
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Does what it is supposed to

PostedMarch 9, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Works as advertised. It can be a little flaky but that could be just because it is a usb device.
Pros:Works well with most media center programs. I have used it with GBPVR, Windows Media Center, SageTV and Beyond TV.
Cons:Since this is a USB stick, it needs a reasonable computer for processing. It gets a bit hot to the touch after using it for a while. The included remote is pretty much useless.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hauppauge WinTV HVR-950Q - Digital / analog TV tuner - ATSC, QAM - HDTV - Hi-Speed USB - NTSC
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:notv
(La)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Doesn't Work

PostedAugust 14, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons:First of all , my shipment was delayed for a week. I got the product; it installed fine, despite an outdated user interface. Plug in a cable connection and try to d the most basic function this product is capable of-get some analog cable channels. It found some, but I couldn't watch them for some reason. I tried rescanning, and guess what! You have to delete your entire database each time. This time, it found no channels. This product is pitifully designed. It can't do the most basic of functions, much less do anything advanced.
+51points
68of 85voted this as helpful.
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Ratings-only reviews for Hauppauge WinTV HVR-950Q - Digital / analog TV tuner - ATSC, QAM - HDTV - Hi-Speed USB - NTSC
Overall Rating 
2.3 / 5
2.3 / 5
2 out of 3 recommend this product