Customer reviews for HD PVR High Definition Video Recorder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

HD PVR High Definition Video Recorder

HD PVR High Definition Video Recorder
4.667 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
4.7
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 7
9 out of 9100%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for HD PVR High Definition Video Recorder
Review 1 for HD PVR High Definition Video Recorder
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:eross41967
(North Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great product

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Got this for my teenage son and he loves it, pretty easy to set up
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HD PVR High Definition Video Recorder
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LittleMike
Title:

Works As Advertised Out Of The Box

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
My highest compliments are reserved for hardware that works first time out of the box, no muss, no fuss, no excuses. That was my experience here, after acquiring this device to replace a FireWire device I used with an XP computer I no longer have. USB is the only input I have now.
It is July 2012 and my new computer is Win7 x64 but only USB.
My HD PVR revision is F1 on the hardware. I have the latest drivers and software available to date. No problems with installation, no problems with the drivers.
YMMV, but I'm very happy with this purchase.
Cheers
Pros:personal videos, professional video digitizing
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HD PVR High Definition Video Recorder
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sam600sx
(WI)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Good PVR Solution

PostedOctober 7, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Picture and audio are very good on this product. Setup for this product in Win 7 MCE is not for the novice. I took 1\2 a star off for it not being natively compatible with MCE whether it be win 7 or Vista. I also took off another 1\2 star for having to purchase a third paty app. to make it compatible with Win MCE. Had to do alot of reading to get it working. Overall though I am happy with my purchase.
Pros:htpc media center
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HD PVR High Definition Video Recorder
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:OdinzDisciple
(San Mateo)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Hauppage!! A GAMERS REVIEW!!!

PostedMay 18, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I personally cannot tell you how well this device records actual tv but I have recorded from DVD's off of it for audio insertion.I use the Hauppage to record me playing call of duty 4-World At War and gears of war2 and Halo 2+3..THIS IS AWESOME FOR THAT!!! I get to keep my TV set in 1080i or 720p and it records in those resolutions WONDERFULLY!!!!! I would recommend this product to anyone with a fancy for recording games or video editing..A GREAT BUY..you COULD get a Black Magic Intensity Pro which is a PCI insterted INTERNAL capture card (the hauppage is external) but you would need to install it, and it only works with HDMI (that I know of) the HAUPPAGE works with standard component cables which you loop through the box into your TV. The included cables it has are EXCELLENT quality component cables. The only downfall to this machine (for me) is that the machine must be turned ON for me to play my games! Hope you liked this review and I hope it helps you get what you need!
Pros:vide capture
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HD PVR High Definition Video Recorder
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KShots
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Incredible bang-for-the-buck

PostedApril 2, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Talking with the developer of the linux module for the device, only Hauppauge can resolve the audio sync issue via a firmware update. From what I've gathered, this is not a problem with most people using other STBs.
Pros:* real-time x264 encoding of a 1080i signal * Works with linux * Functions under mythtv-0.22 (trunk svn)
Cons:* Has audio synchronization issues with Samsung STB boxes * Linux support is still at an "alpha" level - it will "disappear" every once in a while, requiring a reset on the box and a restart of the mythtv backend
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HD PVR High Definition Video Recorder
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Instigater
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great hardware for HD record, software needs work

PostedApril 1, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
For capturing HD video, this is the best, or one of the best devices out right now. Look for it to be on sale in the $160-$180 range.
You do need a decent processor to transcode from the HD to regular DVD format, and even then it takes a bit of time.
Pros:Great HD recording picture quality from the component inputs. Hardware based compression reduces PC CPU use and bus bandwidth during recording.
Cons:Software for editing is not precise in setting trim points and chapter locations. User interface for editing requires much more time and effort than other products. Does burn AVCHD DVDs and regular DVDs, though. Must edit and re-author for each type, however, if you want both from the same footage.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HD PVR High Definition Video Recorder
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MCLBoulder
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

HD Recordings!

PostedMarch 9, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Easy setup/install: I have used Hauppauge PVR150 for years with great success. The HD PVR was the easiest to install and get running since it is an external box. It will record in HD when the source is HD: It recognizes the source definition and records in that resoulution. It does not upscale standard definition sources.
+13points
19of 25voted this as helpful.
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Ratings-only reviews for HD PVR High Definition Video Recorder
Overall Rating 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product