Customer reviews for DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless Gigabit Router 

DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless Gigabit Router 

DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless Gigabit Router 
4.71 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 62 reviews
5 Stars
50
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
4.7
 / 
5
(62 reviews) 57
57 out of 6292%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless Gigabit Router 
Review 1 for DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless Gigabit Router 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sheron
Title:

Works great

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
We use it for a variety of wireless products and it has treated us great so far. No complaints! Works well in a 3,000 plus sq. ft. House
Pros:everything
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless Gigabit Router 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mikesstudio
(Cedarville, AR)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

My New D-Link Dir-655 Very Cool

PostedMay 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Right out of the box the looks were amazing. The easiest set-up ever. I was up and running in under 5 minutes. And not only is the wi-fi cool, but I have my voip phone plugged into it, and my dish tv. I love it. MG
Pros:magic jack phone, wi-fi through-out home, streaming vedio
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless Gigabit Router 
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EastBankMan
(East Bank, WV)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Not Reliable

PostedMay 13, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The router works great, when it works. I have to reboot it atleast once daily. DLink is no help. I went online and many other people have the same issue as I am. All they are told "it is the settings". Well what settings are left to change? I have turned stuff on, off, changed settings, returned to default and still the same problem. I would really like to find a cure cause I really do like this router, just tired of losing wireless connection for no reason.
Pros:home use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless Gigabit Router 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Oiprac
(Bay Area, CA)
Title:

Great Single-Band N Router!

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros: simple installation; disc included provided latest firmware update. Signal strength using N is strongest I've used; signal is strong through 4 walls roughly within 150ft. Browser setup is easy to use (if you know what you're doing). Gigabit LAN is much faster than a my previous 100MB capped router (granted the computer is 10/100/1000MB).
Cons: SharePort media needs to be installed on all PCs in order to access the connected USB peripheral (be it a flash drive or printer).
One note also, I haven't had to restart the router since I've had it, which is over a month now, which is great! No issues whatsoever. The blue led lights are very bright, can either be a pro/con to whomever but I personally think they're awesome although they're just cosmetic. So far, out of four previous wireless routers, this has been THE BEST. And it's my first gigabit router and there's no going back!
Pros:Gaming, web browsing
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless Gigabit Router 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Phoenix152
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Has given me no problems

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The router has given me no problems since installing it unlike router used to use.I highly recommend this router, it works excellent throughout house, and is more inexpensive than other brands on the market that perform same functions.
Pros:streaming videos
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless Gigabit Router 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:canderson1
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very easy and highly recommended wireless router

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This wireless router was very easy to setup and install. Did not have any problems syncing to laptop and printer. Would recommend purchase.
Pros:home office, printer, Gaming
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless Gigabit Router 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mountaindew117
(eaton ohio)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

excellent product

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
i was told that this was the best router to buy for a gamer. i play alot of online games for the xbox 360 and computer. havent had any problems with slowing down or not able to access the online multiplayer network. also havent had a problem of having multipule systems running off of one router. the most i have had running at once off this one router was 5 xbox 360's, 2 computers, and 3 cell phones with out any problem. i highly recommend this product if you are a gamer or are online alot.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless Gigabit Router 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MartinV
Title:

Excellent Router

PostedNovember 3, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
Easy to setup.
Works well right out of the box.
No hassle.
Cons
I'll let you know when I find one.
Review
I bought this router (the first time) right after my old WRT54G died, and after setting it up, I felt like beating myself up for waiting so long. I had my eye on it for a while, and finally decided to give it a go (had no choice at the time really). Overall, I couldn't ask for anything more out of my home networks router.
I like it so much that a few months later, I ended up buying this same router for a friends birthday present. He hasn't had one complaint about it yet, either.
Pros:streaming video, computer gaming, whole home internet, connecting dvr's
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless Gigabit Router 
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Adkmike
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Not the best!

PostedJuly 20, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this wireless router as an upgrade for my wireless G router. It was for a summer residence, so I didn't install it right away. It was easy to install. It worked for about 2 weeks and then died. That was past the 30 day return period. Now I have to deal with the D-Link warranty. It wasn't Dell's fault. I most likely won't try getting anything other than computers from Dell again though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless Gigabit Router 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rwb21
(Utah)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Easy to set up and use

PostedJune 24, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This was one of the easiest and least painful hardware installs I've had for a router. The system basically did everything for me. Download and upload speeds are much faster than my old Belkin wireless N router, and much easier to deal with. Just plug it in, click, and go.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless Gigabit Router 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Danie
(Kansas City MO)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Great Router for Simple Minds Like Mine!

PostedMay 4, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got this router because both my son and I are online gamers. We both were competing for bandwidth on a router that frankly in its time was awesome, but after several years really needed to be replaced. I ordered this one because of the reviews and knowing that if I didn't like it Dell would let me send it back. This router was sooooo easy to install and I did not need an IT degree to actually make it work! To me that is worth all of the tea in China.
Don't be afraid to order this one, its great.
Pros:home use
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless Gigabit Router 
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:frmc
(Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Easy install -- low signal strength within home

PostedMarch 22, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I replaced a Linksys WRTG54G router with this in order to support a new Blu Ray player for Netflix downloads, improved speeds and greater network WPA security in my home and home office.--I believe there is a noticeable improvement in throughput. Biggest install issue was getting the SSID loaded into my HP wireless printer--HP's online support is pretty marginal at best.
However, I must note that I experienced the same weak signal issues others have mentioned on the main floor of my home (from my basement office) even though the throughput remains good. Nothing but drywall, glass and stucco between the router on a (max) 30 foot distance. I don't know if this is because of the "N" technology or not--but 3 bars is the best I have seen--typically 2 bars.
If there is a setting change I can make to strengthen the signal I would be interested.
Pros:home network
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless Gigabit Router 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DAYKNIGHT
(Lakeside, Texas)
Title:

DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless Gigabit Router

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
THIS ROUTER IS SUPER FAST AND A VERY EASY SETUP AT A VERY GOOD PRICE! IF YOUR LOOKING FOR RELIABILITY LOOK NO FURTHER!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless Gigabit Router 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SCBrian
(South Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

DIR-655 Xtreme N wireless Giga bit router

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This router is so heads and tails above and beyond the linksys, I have fought for over a year to make my linksys work, and this router just hooks up and connects, with NO problems.
Pros:home network
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless Gigabit Router 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cagandcjs
(MN)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedMay 21, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:home network
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless Gigabit Router 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GamerInTexas
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great router

PostedMay 5, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have used Linksys, Belkin, and Netgear and this is one of the easiest and quickest to set up.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless Gigabit Router 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:5000SteveK
(Southern Maryland, US)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

DLink DIR-655 Works Great Out Of The Box!

PostedFebruary 11, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this router from Dell.com after reading the other positive reviews. I needed something that would give me significantly better wifi range as well as 1000T Ethernet to take advantage of some recent computer upgrades (also Dell). I also wanted 802.11n wifi for the future. This router worked fine, although I had an initial problem with the unit resetting every 15-30 seconds. After some help from DLink's technical support, we identified my older DSL modem as the problem. Once the modem was replaced and the new one was bridged to the router, performance has been flawless. I would highly recommend this unit as a solid replacement or upgrade that installs easily, has good technical support, and great wired and wifi performance. The price is hard to beat too.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless Gigabit Router 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dBManTom
(Memphis, TN)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Router

PostedJanuary 20, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I add this router when Comcast boosted my cable modem speed. Works great through out the whole house (about 1800sf, single story), easy setup.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless Gigabit Router 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rdlesit
(At home)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

New Router

PostedJanuary 13, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great router so far, it has worked better than others in the past. Very pleased with D-Link DIR-655.
Pros:at home for wireless network, hook up game consoles to network, printer hook up
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless Gigabit Router 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ChrisWigginton
(Colorado Springs, Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Looks Cool, Works Well

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Works like it should. Easy to setup. Attractive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3