Customer reviews for Dell 1 GB Certified Replacement Memory Module for Select Dell Systems

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Dell 1 GB Certified Replacement Memory Module for Select Dell Systems

Dell 1 GB Certified Replacement Memory Module for Select Dell Systems
4.923 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
4.9
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 25
26 out of 26100%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell 1 GB Certified Replacement Memory Module for Select Dell Systems
Review 1 for Dell 1 GB Certified Replacement Memory Module for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CoolRanch
Title:

If all else fails, read the instructions

PostedMay 30, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pro's: Good Clear Instructions, Easy BIOS Update, Simple Installation, Incredible Improvement in Performance.
Con's: The physical installation may require a bit more force that you would think - have confidence - its a Dell - just push till it clicks.
Before buying the 2 each of "1 GB Dell Certified Replacement Memory Module", I read through many of the reviews and realized that some customers had experienced problems because they did not read and follow the simple instructions.
When my modules arrived, I first followed the instructions to upgrade the BIOS. I then shut off the labtop, removed the memory slot cover, removed the old single 512MB module and inserted the two new modules, closed the cover, and started up the labtop.
The initiation phase of the start-up now takes a fraction of the time it used to require.
I work with photo editing and often need to work on a large number of 25MB RAW Format files. Before, I had to limit each folder to about 12 pictures - now I can handle much more than 100 at a time - and each "action" is lightening fast.
Pros:photo editing in canon digital professional
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell 1 GB Certified Replacement Memory Module for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Greta11
(Dallas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Works!

PostedJanuary 15, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this product for my Dell Inspiron 8600 that was too slow and could not handle new programs. I purchased the 1GB card and followed the instructions on Youtube to install the card. Noticed a signifantly faster operation immediately. I wish now that I had purchased the 2GB instead (max allowed).
Pros:personal surfing
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell 1 GB Certified Replacement Memory Module for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BookerT1
(Have De Grace MD)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

1 GB Certified Memory

PostedJanuary 5, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Memory installation went well and 1GB memory has boost the prerfromace of the labtop.
Pros:home use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell 1 GB Certified Replacement Memory Module for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:FVieux
(Haiti)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Newbie

PostedMay 15, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
My wife and I enjoy our Inspiron, and have been using it since March 2004. It is the only computer that would ever use. We use it prmarly to download video and audio files. We take it everywhere and enjoy the content of those files any time.
Pros:streaming video
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell 1 GB Certified Replacement Memory Module for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anewbie
(LA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

Good decision buy

PostedApril 20, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I know very little about computers. Installation of the memory card is very simple. I noticed the difference in performance right away. It feels as if I have opened to the door to new features on my laptop. I now can enjoy things that was impossible or took a very long time to do, such as downloads, updates, streaming on the internet and there are less stalls with my programs. I wish I would have upgraded my memory sooner. Definite recommend.
Pros:streaming video
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell 1 GB Certified Replacement Memory Module for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JTLJR
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

1 G X 2 MEMORY FOR 8600 INSPIRON

PostedApril 2, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
ORDER EASY,DELIVERY ON TIME, EASY TO INSTALL
AND WORKS GREAT. UPGRADE WELL WORTH THE TIME AND MONEY
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell 1 GB Certified Replacement Memory Module for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SeaDaddy
(Abingdon, Maryland)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Memory Upgrade on old Dell Laptop

PostedDecember 24, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have a 6 year old Dell Inspiron 8600 Laptop. It came with 256 MB of RAM and I upgraded at the time to 512 MB. Today, you need a lot more RAM to run certain programs and access the Internet. So, I checked to see what the maximum RAM was for this Laptop. It turns out that I could go to 2GB. So, I ordered two 1GB memory modules and installed them. What a difference in performance! I'm very pleased.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell 1 GB Certified Replacement Memory Module for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:stuffynose73
(Michigan)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Computer Reborn

PostedDecember 13, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Upgrading the memory in my Inspiron laptop brought new life to an overwhelmed system. Virus software, firewalls and other utlity software was gobbling up SDRAM memory. Upgrading the memory gave my computer room to move. Startup is fast again and multitasking is again an option. It was the trick! Installation was simple. It was however necessary to upgrade the BIOS driver (because the computer would not resume from standby mode) but Dell Support link identified the symptom and got me through the process of upgrading the driver.
Pros:home office
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell 1 GB Certified Replacement Memory Module for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gpopham
(Crestview Hills, Kentucky)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

1 GB Module for Dell Inspiron 8600 Laptop

PostedOctober 14, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
The 1 GB module increased the speed of computer by allowing more RAM memory. The module was easy to install and the on-line instruction simple to follow. Again very happy with Dell products.
Pros:increase speed of computer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell 1 GB Certified Replacement Memory Module for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:vbob
(Cincinnati)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Laptop Memory Upgrade

PostedOctober 8, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Upgraded memory from 1GB to 2GB on Inspiron 8600. Considerable reduction in HD usage, while increase in speed in many applications. Well worth the cost.
I have read many other reviews detailing installation and startup problems but the many memory and other upgrades I have done using Dell products have resulted in No problems. Perhaps reading the included instructions and watching the reviews helps.
Excellent Product
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Finances, internet, freelance computer work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell 1 GB Certified Replacement Memory Module for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:go2girl
(Florida, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Why didn't I think of this before ?

PostedOctober 5, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Received my 2 sticks quickly, viewed the on-line video instructions, and installed them in about 3 minutes.
My machine is like new! This upgrade from 512 MB to 2 GB made an amazing difference. Before, all my automatically updating programs were battling for memory at start-up; booting took about 15-20 minutes. Now they are all playing happily together again.
I should have thought about doing this years ago! In future purchases, I will always opt for the maximum memory available.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Finances, web surfing, Gaming, shopping, research, investments, bill paying
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell 1 GB Certified Replacement Memory Module for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CyclingGooseMan
(Washington, MI)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Easy to Install But No Instructions

PostedSeptember 21, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
The modules were easy to install once I figured out where to install them. My order did not come with any installation instructions though I ordered them from a listing of accessories specifically for my model of notebook. I had to search the Dell site for technical information on where the modules install in my Inspiron 8600. After that it was very quick and easy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell 1 GB Certified Replacement Memory Module for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:FMLimbeck
(Grand Rapids, Michign)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

They all work flawlessly

PostedAugust 19, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
I have purchased numerous Dell products including 2 computers, a oolor laser printer, a projector, and numerous parts to keep my first Dell laptop running all the way through undergrad and graduate schools. That first Dell laptop, an Inspiron 8600, is still running strong, but has reached its expansion limit. The memory and HD are maxed out!. That is the only reason for purchasing a second laptop that has greater memory and HD capabilities.
My trusty Dell 8600, however, was used for many grad school presentations where failure was not an option! I could go on and on, but the bottom line is when it comes to computers, buy Dell!
Cons: None
Pros:bsit and mba/tm courses, it professional
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell 1 GB Certified Replacement Memory Module for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:curtbake0
Title:

ram upgrade

PostedMay 19, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
easy to install worked out good
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Music & Movies, surfing the web
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell 1 GB Certified Replacement Memory Module for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:slicky1
(Kentucky)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Upgrades

PostedApril 30, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
For those who have invested in the top of the line laptops like mine It is great to have upgrades available still but It would be much better if the options were maintained longer since I am willing to keep This perfectly good laptop for as long as It performs at par with current standards even if it is 5 years old! please keep parts available!
Pros:There is definitely an advantage to upgrading your DELL PC instead of buying a new leptop of another brand. DELL products are reliable and even if I have had this laptop for 5 years now I am still able to find upgrades online! Awesome! and I am able to use this PC on anything that the newer computers can do today!
Cons:It would come out cheaper if you get the Ttop of the line PC from the start even if they are expensive since they will be usable over 5 years down the line anyway. Also It is always a good Idea to "maximize" as much of the specs of your PC from the initial purchase if you can since the parts are much cheaper with the initial system purchase.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell 1 GB Certified Replacement Memory Module for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pathy
(Boston)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Should have done it sooner

PostedApril 1, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:A snap to install. Greatly improved performance of laptop. Much better alternative than buying a new laptop!!
Cons:Thought 1GB was a little pricey. I also bought additional RAM for my PC and it was much cheaper.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell 1 GB Certified Replacement Memory Module for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Weekapaug
Title:

What a difference!

PostedMarch 4, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:I installed 2 of these to upgrade from 512K, it is like a new machine. Don't buy a new computer, just upgrade your ram! Installation was sooooo easy.....
Cons:None at all
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell 1 GB Certified Replacement Memory Module for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:momcanfixit
(Summerville, SC)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

great help

PostedJanuary 4, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
This module was so easy to install, a child could do it!
Pros:made internet surfing MUCH faster
Cons:Still slow on startup, but that may be another issue
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell 1 GB Certified Replacement Memory Module for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sdain31y
(Savannah, GA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Faster & Better

PostedSeptember 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I spent the extra to order the memory from Dell to maintain continuity, if I had problems with my laptop in the future. Not sure why I didn't order it sooner. I'm ordering another module to bring my laptop to 2 GB.
Pros:Easy to install, laptop works faster & better now.
Cons:None, except the cost.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell 1 GB Certified Replacement Memory Module for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:biggermomma
(North Aurora, IL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Good Product - Backed by Warranty

PostedFebruary 24, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Greatly enhanced my computer's performance; I should have added this a years ago. Easy installation. When one of the modules didn't work, I received a replacement immediately after confirming with Dell tech service, so the performance is backed as well. By upping my computer's RAM to the maximum allowed, I greatly enhanced my computer's performance and productivity.
Cons:It took me several days to confirm that one of the two 1GB modules I ordered wasn't working as my computer was out of warranty. Still, the situation worked itself out and I am very pleased with my computer's performance.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2