Customer reviews for 160GB SATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive 8MB 7200RPM 3.5IN Caviar Blue

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

160GB SATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive 8MB 7200RPM 3.5IN Caviar Blue

160GB SATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive 8MB 7200RPM 3.5IN Caviar Blue
3.941 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
3.9
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 16
14 out of 1782%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for 160GB SATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive 8MB 7200RPM 3.5IN Caviar Blue
Review 1 for 160GB SATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive 8MB 7200RPM 3.5IN Caviar Blue
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Craemac
Title:

Where's the Data Cable

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Installed easily...except for the fact that I don't have a data cable and have been unable to find one that will fit and let me close the cover of my box....really, really irritating...
Pros:personal use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 160GB SATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive 8MB 7200RPM 3.5IN Caviar Blue
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Augustos
(newport news)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

A waste of time and money!

PostedOctober 5, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
After 3 months my new hard drive crashed. And Dell would not replace it beacause the 3 month warranty had just expired. It took over a week to setup because Windows was preloaded on the 1st drive that crashed after 6 years. So I had to wait for Dell to send me the software. Tech Support has gone from bad to worse. I will never buy a product from Dell again....
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 160GB SATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive 8MB 7200RPM 3.5IN Caviar Blue
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MikeOc
(Placerville, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Easy replacement

PostedJune 16, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I replaced the 40 Gig drive with the above and everything worked perfectly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 160GB SATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive 8MB 7200RPM 3.5IN Caviar Blue
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lazulifawn
(alabama)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Fast curteous service

PostedMay 11, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Needed this piece asap and it came as it is my only source of income (my puter) and it arrived to save the day.
Pros:only store
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 160GB SATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive 8MB 7200RPM 3.5IN Caviar Blue
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TimMcL
(CT)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good Replacement Drive

PostedApril 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Had a customer whose hd failed and bought this as replacement. Have always found WD hd's the most reliable and feel comfortable leaving our client in their hands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 160GB SATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive 8MB 7200RPM 3.5IN Caviar Blue
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:amethystrain
(North Idaho)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Replacement Drive

PostedMarch 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
My son inherited an older computer and about a month ago his drive crashed. I replaced the drive with this one and now the computer is up and running great! My son is pleased at the speed that his "new" computer now boots! Easy Install.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 160GB SATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive 8MB 7200RPM 3.5IN Caviar Blue
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JimC10
(US)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Raid1 disk repeated failures

PostedFebruary 11, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
This hard drive was purchased to replace a drive that failed in a Dell / Intel RAID1 disk array. This drive was a good price but I could find no help on Dell.com on how to replace the failed RAID drive. I figured that out by trial and error, then this replacement drive failed in less than one month. Next, I could find nothing on Dell.com about replacement parts warranty so I returned the drive to WD. After installing the 2nd WD replacement drive today I started getting disk "dirty" messages from Windows at boot but the disk error checking utility always runs clean [as did the Dell / SMART / Intel utilities on both the old drives until the drives completely failed].
Note I DO have the recent Intel Disk array software update applied.
If this drive fails I will try a non-WD drive.
If that does not work it is new PC time [guess what brand I will NOT be buying?].
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 160GB SATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive 8MB 7200RPM 3.5IN Caviar Blue
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Funster
(California)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Raid Hard Drive Failure

PostedNovember 17, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Using Raid instant backup which requires two hard drives that match. Dell helped with selection and replacing failed drive worked quickly and without any problems. Great system as this is the second time a drive has failed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 160GB SATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive 8MB 7200RPM 3.5IN Caviar Blue
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ron44
Title:

Support is Marginal

PostedAugust 18, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
The drive works fine. But when I ordered it I asked Dell for detailed instruction and the rep assured me that I would receive the instructions. When the drive came there were no instructions at all. I am not a computer tech. I didn't even know that a SATA data cable was required. Thanks to the internet I figured that out and bought one and installed the drive. But I didn't know how to configure the drive. I made numerous attempts with Dell to get this figured out and they were no help whatsoever. Finally a computer guy my wife knows configured the drive in a few short minutes. I am done with Dell. If they can't sell you something every time you contact them then they don't give a rat's fanny. The rep who sold me the drive was completely deceptive about support.
Pros:home computer
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 160GB SATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive 8MB 7200RPM 3.5IN Caviar Blue
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:emcca7849
(Dallas, Tx area)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

160GB WD Hard Drive

PostedJuly 8, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
Speedy delivery
Product as discribed
Cons
None
Absolutely no problems. I am running XP Home version SP3 and Ubuntu 10.04 (separate partitions duel boot) on a Dell Inspiron 530. I have found no issues. Disk is very quiet.
Pros:home use retired hobbyist
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 160GB SATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive 8MB 7200RPM 3.5IN Caviar Blue
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CavidC
Title:

Better than expected response

PostedMay 20, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell's response to my order was faster than than promised. The part was installed and worked perfectly.
Pros:repair of dell computer
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 160GB SATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive 8MB 7200RPM 3.5IN Caviar Blue
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Albert4569
(Vista, CA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Very good hard drive!

PostedNovember 19, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros: I've been using this hard drive for about 2 or 3 months and I haven't had any problems since I got it. It is very quite and somewhat fast based on my own needs and requirements.
Cons: I don't have one yet.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 160GB SATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive 8MB 7200RPM 3.5IN Caviar Blue
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sawdust33
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Works Great

PostedNovember 6, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
HD died and put this in my second machine reloaded everything and it works great. I have have had absolutly no problems at all with this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 160GB SATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive 8MB 7200RPM 3.5IN Caviar Blue
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jen808
(Hawaii)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Product

PostedOctober 28, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Easy to install. Works perfectly! It's like having a new computer! Love it!
Pros:work
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 160GB SATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive 8MB 7200RPM 3.5IN Caviar Blue
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ronjhall
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

No documentation

PostedSeptember 3, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
While the HDD works great. It came with no documentation. After some digging on Dell site. I was able to find necessary info to get everything running.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, backup drive.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 160GB SATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive 8MB 7200RPM 3.5IN Caviar Blue
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kreativeone
(San Antonio, Republic of Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent value for the price

PostedAugust 19, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I needed to upgrade 3 systems and these drives were a perfect fit for my Optiplex 620s. The Dell site price was the best anywhere so it was an easy choice. The drives were shipped and arrived before the "your product was shipped" email came into my inbox, exceeding my expectations! Excellent product, service and delivery!
Pros:multiple operating system testing, train others on system maintenance and upgrade
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Ratings-only reviews for 160GB SATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive 8MB 7200RPM 3.5IN Caviar Blue
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product