Customer reviews for Dell Getting Started Computer Setup with Data Transfer (In-Home)

Dell Getting Started Computer Setup with Data Transfer (In-Home)

Dell Getting Started Computer Setup with Data Transfer (In-Home)
3.5 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
3.5
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 11
7 out of 1258%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell Getting Started Computer Setup with Data Transfer (In-Home)
Review 1 for Dell Getting Started Computer Setup with Data Transfer (In-Home)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sgodbois
(Sierra Vista, AZ)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedJune 6, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
The In-Home System Setup with Data Transfer was great. Within 3 hours the monitor, hard drive, printer, scanner were completely set up and working. The only glich I had was with Windows 7 (a bit confusing). But,that had nothing to do with the 2 Techs who set up the new computer. They did however briefly run thru Win 7 and the entire set up. Great job. Pleasant, fast, effecient and friendly. Would highly recommend the In-Home set up and especially the 2 techs in Phoenix who traveled 2 hrs to our home. Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell Getting Started Computer Setup with Data Transfer (In-Home)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:McBits
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

file transfer

PostedOctober 15, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I explained exactly what type of old computer I had, and wanted to have my pictures transferred to my new dell. Apparently my computer was made so long ago that this tech was unable to figure out how to do it. He told me to go to Staples or Radio shack with my old cpu and ask them to put the pictures on a cd. This was unreasonable, since I don't drive. My son-in-law, who is a Cooper Union graduate was able to transfer everything for me, for free, no cds either. This only took a bit of time, I can't believe that the tech that was sent to me couldn't do that.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell Getting Started Computer Setup with Data Transfer (In-Home)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BIGMAC65
(FULLERTON cA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Guy was great

PostedJune 18, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
The guy was very good quick set-up and transfered all my data for me. plus showed me something that I didn't knwo about my new computer and vista. it was worth the $200
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Video Editing, Music & Movies, Finances, Presentation
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell Getting Started Computer Setup with Data Transfer (In-Home)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:blackjax
(San Jose, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedMay 18, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Technician spent three hours setting up equipment and data transfer. Overcame several problems created by way previous system was set up.
I was and am completely satisfied with the service.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Finances
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell Getting Started Computer Setup with Data Transfer (In-Home)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Paris
(Columbia, MD)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

Most excellant

PostedMarch 28, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:The technician was efficient, friendly and really very helpful in answering my questions and the installation. He tranferred my data from my old computer to my new Dell, installed all of my new software and linked my new computer with my new printer in a matter of a few hours. OUTSTANDING!!!! I'm a novice with computers so I can't tell you how much I appreciated having someone come into my home and install all of my new purchases and have them all up and running so I could begin my new classes online.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell Getting Started Computer Setup with Data Transfer (In-Home)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EdBearr
(Petersburg, VA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Email

PostedFebruary 21, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Cons:Installer failed get email address(es) set up correctly and was unable to correct it over the phone.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell Getting Started Computer Setup with Data Transfer (In-Home)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:exbam
Title:

Setup not worth the price

PostedFebruary 19, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
All-in-all, I paid $229 for one quick, sloppy hour of work.
Pros:Nice not to have to attach all the wires myself
Cons:They transfer ONE application and all data. I needed it the other way around. I had a USB hub; new computer has plenty of ports, but he didn't bother to move them. Didn't look for new drivers (one was there in Vista). Couldn't get online because of USB cable; needed Ethernet cable, but he didn't mention that. Also, they don't erase your old computer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell Getting Started Computer Setup with Data Transfer (In-Home)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Heuvel

PostedFebruary 2, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:Tech was a nice guy and seemed to know what he was doing.
Cons:For the price the amount of the data transfer was not a value for the money. The basic 3g of data to be transfered will only get you started.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell Getting Started Computer Setup with Data Transfer (In-Home)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Reallyunhappy

PostedJanuary 12, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:It is amazing that you should time your most recent attempt to relieve me of more of my hard earned money. I have just spent most of my afternoon trying unsucccessfuly to install software on this remarkable new system with little to no success. My e-mails are intercepted with the message that this system no longerm supports thee-mail system I have been usibng for the last ten years. all that seems to happen is tat this company and its vendors want more of my money while at the same time telling me that the system is now to complicated for a simpilton like me to understand. Spend the money on the improvements and let the fat guy get another gig on TV, I've heard all the propaganda I need. Nice talking with you, but from now on, i'll use rocks mand smkoe signals;
Cons:ll
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell Getting Started Computer Setup with Data Transfer (In-Home)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Christdi

PostedJanuary 6, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:Technician was pleasant and made sure everything was working before he left
Cons:Could have done more data transfer. Did not know how to turn on new speakers. he thought they were defective. I was left to call Dell service.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell Getting Started Computer Setup with Data Transfer (In-Home)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:djklaugh
(Oregon)
Title:

In-Home System Setup with Data Transfer

PostedJanuary 5, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:Convenient, easy to arrange. Previous experience with this Dell service were great so I did not hesitate to sign up for it again.
Cons:So far, after over 8 hours spread over 4 weeks, my lap top still will not connect to the internet. While the tech is a nice young man he seems to be floundering trying to figure out the problem. I am quite frustrated with this. Several times - today for example - he did not show up when he said he would (once was during a snow storm so I will excuse that - but he did not call to say he could not get to my house).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Ratings-only reviews for Dell Getting Started Computer Setup with Data Transfer (In-Home)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product