Customer reviews for Streak Accessories: Streak Tablet Car Docking Kit (Cradle, Dash Mount, Adapter, 30pin/USB Cable) only compatible with streak 5

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Streak Accessories: Streak Tablet Car Docking Kit (Cradle, Dash Mount, Adapter, 30pin/USB Cable) only compatible with streak 5

Streak Accessories: Streak Tablet Car Docking Kit (Cradle, Dash Mount, Adapter, 30pin/USB Cable) only compatible with streak 5
3.454 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
3.5
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
8 out of 1173%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Streak Accessories: Streak Tablet Car Docking Kit (Cradle, Dash Mount, Adapter, 30pin/USB Cable) only compatible with streak 5
Review 1 for Streak Accessories: Streak Tablet Car Docking Kit (Cradle, Dash Mount, Adapter, 30pin/USB Cable) only compatible with streak 5
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jaanos
(Surrey, UK)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nice for driving around with your Streak

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The holder is very firm, although it can wobble a bit occasionally on rough roads, it doesn't feel like it's ever going to give up. It's still quite easy to remove though. The cradle itself is padded with rubber inside at the right places to ensure your device won't get scratches, but - being firm as well - it means you can't use it with any protector cases either.
I used it only on the windscreen, but there's a separate pad to stick it somewhere else more accessible. The suction pad is very strong, it has a lever to ensure it stays attached, and a switch to unlock it - but even after unlocking, you'll still need to use the rubber flap to loosen it.
As the USB cable is separate, even if you leave everything in place, you still need two steps to get going - plug in the Streak to the charger, then carefully push it into the cradle. If you removed the holder, unplugged the adapter, or if you need to fiddle with audio cables, perhaps a protector, then it starts to get awkward.
The back of the device is almost completely covered in the cradle, except for a hole exposing part of the speaker, so there's no chance to use those apps that use the back camera while driving. The top of the device is accessible though, so there's no problem connecting to the line out if necessary.
Pros:
- Very firm grip and quite stable
- Long and easy to position arm
- Long enough, and separately usable USB charger
Cons:
- Separately usable USB charger, so you need to fiddle with it separately
- The car adapter is a bit long, and could have the output in a right angle.
- If you have any protector case, you'll need to remove it before using the cradle
- No hole for the camera
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Streak Accessories: Streak Tablet Car Docking Kit (Cradle, Dash Mount, Adapter, 30pin/USB Cable) only compatible with streak 5
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MarktheMacGuy
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedMay 4, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I would not have purchased the car dock at its original price (I considered the initial cost too high plus its difficult to gauge quality, functionality and value online and I wanted to find the alternatives) but I eventually decided to order one. Despite begrudging any form of expenditure for accessories I can report that after some minor adjustments it does the job well and its highly unlikely that I will change it.
I understand the complaints about price, but then again as an ex iPhone user I am also well aware of the prices charged for certain accessories. If you need a quality item, then expect to pay for it. I am happy with the mounting device (it virtually glued to the window), the arm is flexible but firm and the cradle easy to use; the only downside is that you need to remove the device from any cover or case but I reckon thats a gripe that every manufacturer is aware of and finds difficult to avoid.
I did notice some vibration on certain roads which was annoying, but repositioned the dock to rest on the dash (it has rubber edges).. You forget how much you move in a car when it hits a bump, but this solved the problem.
Overall.. one of the better accessories I have invested in for several years. Time will tell as to durability etc., but so far so good.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Streak Accessories: Streak Tablet Car Docking Kit (Cradle, Dash Mount, Adapter, 30pin/USB Cable) only compatible with streak 5
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dan4096
(Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Cannot order!

PostedApril 6, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've watched a YouTube review on this product, and I do want it, but when I fill in the order form, it keeps telling me to enter my postal code when I already have done.
I live in Australia, so if it's a problem on the European site, please make this product available on Dell Australia, thank you.
Also, seems a bit pricey.
Pros:personal
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Streak Accessories: Streak Tablet Car Docking Kit (Cradle, Dash Mount, Adapter, 30pin/USB Cable) only compatible with streak 5
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:scott13
(Edinburgh)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Looks great but a bit shaky

PostedNovember 17, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have only used the car mount a couple of times and it looks great up on the window. When the phone is mounted on it, it looks like a small TV on my window. I do find it a bit shaky though and not sure if I can tighten it any more as it is pretty tight. It is useful for the sat nav but almost impossible to read things while moving. I would recommend it as it looks great and the phone fits in perfectly with padded sides to save scratching.
Pros:driving
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Streak Accessories: Streak Tablet Car Docking Kit (Cradle, Dash Mount, Adapter, 30pin/USB Cable) only compatible with streak 5
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ScottishWildcat
(Inverness, Scotland)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Streak Tablet Car Docking Kit

PostedOctober 20, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Excellent build quality, holds the Streak very firmly and allows access to all the features without getting in the way. Best car holder kit I have used. Liking the dual fixing method(Sticky disc and suction) without this I would have needed to stick this to the window.
Only drawback is a major one - Why no AV out cable to connect to the car sound system...guys you missed a trick with this one as I will not be purchasing the home kit just for the cable!! - would have been a 5 star if not for this
Pros:navigation, streaming video, Travel, music, errr..to make phone calls??
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Streak Accessories: Streak Tablet Car Docking Kit (Cradle, Dash Mount, Adapter, 30pin/USB Cable) only compatible with streak 5
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:samdaman
(Harrow)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dell streak carholder

PostedOctober 14, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Delivery was a aproblem it was supposed to come between 9am to 6pm. Ups couldnt first find it but eventually when i said return it back to dell they managed to find it and deliver it by 10pm.
the wire is too short for me specially when ill be using it mostly in my van across Europe. for the amount they charge i am sure they could supply half a meter extra so then i can place it in my legal view limits.
lets hope it works according to what others say
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Streak Accessories: Streak Tablet Car Docking Kit (Cradle, Dash Mount, Adapter, 30pin/USB Cable) only compatible with streak 5
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Toadoftoadhall
Title:

Terrible item and service

PostedOctober 8, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was bought to partner my recently acquired Dell Streak,
Firstly, the delivery was fraught. The parcel was forbidden to be left with a neighbour as I was always at work. This then took a further 10 days to change, very frustrating.
Secondly, The arm holding the Streak wobbles about so much when driving, it is impossible to read the screen! I have tried this in several vehicles including a Rolls-Royce...
Next, the connecting cable and car charger were missing from the box! When I complained to the nice lady who was 'shadowing' my delivery gave me a premium rate number to complain (always busy!) and amazingly, Dell being a computer company, I cannot send in my complaints / requests via e-mail!!
I am a very unsatisfied customer with no assistance with this item and terrible comms... What do I do next apart from toss this in the bin?...
Over to you Dell...
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Streak Accessories: Streak Tablet Car Docking Kit (Cradle, Dash Mount, Adapter, 30pin/USB Cable) only compatible with streak 5
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lohr500
(Yorkshire)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dell Streak car Docking Kit

PostedOctober 7, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought as a bundle with my Streak, so didn't pay the full price. As a stand alone purchase it seems too expensive. It works well though although the lead could do with being a bit longer to make routing from the cigar socket to the mount easier.
Very strong suction mount that stays put. As a bonus, the lead also doubles up as a regular USB connection lead which is handy for charging from a PC if you don't have the mains charger with you.
The Streak works well as a sat-nav, but a shame I can't get the sat-nav voice to port through Bluetooth to my in car parrot. On calls it works fine so the connection is working.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Streak Accessories: Streak Tablet Car Docking Kit (Cradle, Dash Mount, Adapter, 30pin/USB Cable) only compatible with streak 5
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ChristopherCox
(London)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dell Streak Car Kit

PostedSeptember 1, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Car kit is an excellent product now that the price is realistic, and I received it by a very fast delivery process.
The Dell Streak is the ultimate in multifunctional pocket device; the car kit enhances the experience and extends its use beyond belief as a navigational tool.
After many failed attempts to find a cheaper universal solution for my in car needs, Dell have up come trumps with the price drop, worth every penny.
This product (CH320) gives the best of all worlds, and gives me another good reason to recommend the Streak as the only device you need to carry around and have your finger on the pulse of your business.
Pros:travel planning and navigation, never missing that e-mail, staying in touch, staying on top
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Streak Accessories: Streak Tablet Car Docking Kit (Cradle, Dash Mount, Adapter, 30pin/USB Cable) only compatible with streak 5
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mozbo
Title:

Expensive but Top Quality

PostedJuly 21, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
If you wish to use your Dell Streak as a Sat Nav, then this car docking kit is essential.
I was initially put off by the price which was over £60, but then it was reduced to around £54. This is still expensive, but when the kit arrived I was very pleased with the quality.
The kit arrives in a nice box and is assembled in a couple of seconds. The sucker to attach to the windscreen is very strong and the whole kit is very well made and of a very high quality. It holds the Dell Streak perfectly and there's soft rubber inserts to stop your Streak getting scratched.
The actual kit is well worth 5 stars, I've only knocked 1 star off as really, I think it should be priced around the £40 mark.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Streak Accessories: Streak Tablet Car Docking Kit (Cradle, Dash Mount, Adapter, 30pin/USB Cable) only compatible with streak 5
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:robfaz
Title:

what a crazy price

PostedJune 23, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
The phone is excellent. But why are the accessories so expensive? This car holder/charger is way out of what I would expect to pay for whay0t is effectively a holder with a screen attachment. A universal holder with a usb car charger would be like third of the price. Please re assess the pricing again.
+170points
172of 174voted this as helpful.