Customer reviews for Belkin 54G Wireless USB Network Adapter (802.11b/g)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Belkin 54G Wireless USB Network Adapter (802.11b/g)

Belkin 54G Wireless USB Network Adapter (802.11b/g)
3.364 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
3.4
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
7 out of 1164%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Belkin 54G Wireless USB Network Adapter (802.11b/g)
Review 1 for Belkin 54G Wireless USB Network Adapter (802.11b/g)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TheArcticRoll
(SE England)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Does what it says on the tin

PostedJune 16, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Read the reviews on here re BT routers, thought I might have some issues. So prepared myself.
Plugged it in, put in the appropriate security and...
it worked. Straight-forward, no hassle. How things should be. Speed is fine - OK I'm only 3 m from router - uptime/conection is solid, It just works.
Why not a 5? Difficult fit into back side USB ports on the Vostro - and beign fat, may restrict access to the port beside it. Would have prefered it supplied with an extension cable and socket /stand.
Pros:browsing
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Belkin 54G Wireless USB Network Adapter (802.11b/g)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ZoeD
(London, United Kingdom)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

GREAT!

PostedMay 19, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was unsure whether the wireless adapter would still work with my computer as it was windows 7 and other reviews have doubted the reliabity of this. However as of yet I have not had a problem. I purchased the item to use with my new computer which is upstairs away from the dsl connection, and the signal is strong. Would highly recommend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Belkin 54G Wireless USB Network Adapter (802.11b/g)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Toddy
Title:

Belkin Wireless usb network adapter

PostedMarch 11, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Brilliantly simple to install on windows 7 - disc in, plug device in, done! Instantly picked up on my wireless router - very strong signal achieved.
Wish all networking devices worked as well and easily as this.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Belkin 54G Wireless USB Network Adapter (802.11b/g)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Choccie
(Staffordshire)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent!

PostedFebruary 15, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Fortunately for me I didn't read the reviews about this product before I purchased it! I have a BT hub and I was connected straight away. It's disappointing that people say bad things about a good product because of there lack of knowledge! This is a very good product, excellent signal strength (better than both my laptops and my BT wireless adapter) and I would recommend it to anyone.
Pros:business
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Belkin 54G Wireless USB Network Adapter (802.11b/g)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EmmaJane1
(Kent)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

No problems

PostedJanuary 25, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am using this with my new Studio XPS 8000 and my BT hub and it works perfectly. Took just a few minutes to set up, signal strength is consistently good and speed is good too, so much so that I haven't really noticed the difference from my previous wired connection. I would estimate that my PC is 4m from my hub.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Belkin 54G Wireless USB Network Adapter (802.11b/g)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Installation 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:grazyna545
(Scotland)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

I hate it

PostedFebruary 26, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:None for BT Hub
Cons:I dont recomended this wirelles for the users of BT home hub.It has a very poor signalaltho it says its up to 15m and we are 5 meters close to the hub.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Belkin 54G Wireless USB Network Adapter (802.11b/g)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Installation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Gladwin
(Letterkenny, Ireland)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Easy in installation and usage

PostedJuly 3, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Only thing i found as -ve is the speed is little less when compared to laptop wireless.
But showing a good connection status.
Pros:Its very easy to install and use this product .
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Belkin 54G Wireless USB Network Adapter (802.11b/g)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MrPatricks
(Midlands)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Great Value for Wireless

PostedMay 29, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:I was VERY scepticle to buying this - on looking at 3 previous reviews - however @ £18 it is the cheapest i found from a reputable source and I have several Belkin Products at home which have been very realiable. I found the product easy to set up (about 5 minutes) and with the tip about BT Hub was up and connected to my hub within 10. Performance is good - currenly about 15 metres away from router and getting a strong signal
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Belkin 54G Wireless USB Network Adapter (802.11b/g)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Installation 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:wremld
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedApril 1, 2007
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product won't connect to BT Hub- very frustrating.
Response from Dell.comBy Reply from BelkinApril 25, 2007
The BT Home Hub is compatible with all wireless adapters supporting 802.11g/b. However - The Hub implements wireless security by default and in order to connect to the hub the Belkin Wireless adapter will have to be configured to match the settings of the Hub.

In order to connect using the Belkin Wireless adapter you need to set your wireless adapter for WEP / 64-bit / Open Authentication / Hexadecimal key.

The exact instructions can be found on the following link -

http://www.belkin.com/uk/support/ar...
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Belkin 54G Wireless USB Network Adapter (802.11b/g)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Installation 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:laurence
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

dont bother

PostedMarch 27, 2007
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:slim attractive cheap
Cons:couldnt install it for ages, when i did it would not work. it is in the list of compatible machines on the dell website (dimension3100) saw another review after i purchased it that said it will not work with bt home hub. i can now vouch for that
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Belkin 54G Wireless USB Network Adapter (802.11b/g)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Installation 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:troger
(lancashire)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

its not as easy as promised

PostedFebruary 21, 2007
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:slim and attractive
Cons:windows does not readily accept the software and it does not connect to a bt home hub .i have tried for three hours and it wont do it ,the signal is poor .the wireless range on my laptop is better
+21points
22of 23voted this as helpful.