Customer reviews for Targus XL City Gear Messenger Carrycase - Compatible with up to 44cm (17.3'') Laptops

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Targus XL City Gear Messenger Carrycase - Compatible with up to 44cm (17.3'') Laptops

Targus XL City Gear Messenger Carrycase - Compatible with up to 44cm (17.3'') Laptops
3.111 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
3.1
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 8
5 out of 956%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Targus XL City Gear Messenger Carrycase - Compatible with up to 44cm (17.3'') Laptops
Review 1 for Targus XL City Gear Messenger Carrycase - Compatible with up to 44cm (17.3'') Laptops
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:2Disapointed
(Sheffield)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Size Does Matter

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The case itself is of good quality and was selected as an option for my new laptop (Dell XPS17 L702X with 17.3). The laptop only just squeezed in to the case with the battery uppermost. It is a push to get in and difficult to get it out. The laptop is an incredibly tight fit, for my laptop, it was useless not capable of holding all 17.3" laptops.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Targus XL City Gear Messenger Carrycase - Compatible with up to 44cm (17.3'') Laptops
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:colonelmaw
Title:

Targus XL case is not XL

PostedDecember 30, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ordered this as suitable for XPS17 Laptop - which is a chunky and great laptop but this Targus case, is some 4cm smaller than advertised! It is only 40cm wide, not 44cm as advertised, so a real struggle to get the XPS 17 in and then not in the fully padded section. I would say this case is only suitable for laptops up to 15" and should not be advertised as an accessory for the 17" range of Dells. (Sent back and to be fair to Dell, received an immediate refund).
Pros:share trading
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Targus XL City Gear Messenger Carrycase - Compatible with up to 44cm (17.3'') Laptops
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jimhastobeover4letters
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

My XPS17 with extended battery did not fit this

PostedNovember 20, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
The case itself is of good quality. I've got a previous Targus case that looks almost new after 4 years. Sadly, my new laptop (Dell XPS17 L702X with 17.3 inch screen as stated to be compatible) only just squeezed in to the case, so there was no way I was going to use it for daily commute. It was a push to get in and I was afraid that pulling it out would mean a sudden rush and dropping it. Whether it was the larger battery, or just that it is an incredibly tight fit, I don;t know, but for me for my laptop, it was useless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Targus XL City Gear Messenger Carrycase - Compatible with up to 44cm (17.3'') Laptops
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:J4BP
Title:

Targus XL City Gear Messenger Carrycase

PostedFebruary 25, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Practical enough but with a couple of design defects:
Firstly the carry strap attachment points and plastic connectors can rotate meaning that the strap doesn't sit correctly. Live-able with but annoying.
Secondly the plastic locking device case flap (that covers all the internals) doesn't adjust well (it slips although I doubt it would come undone) and when carrying the case by the handle you don't feel confident about how secure the case is.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Targus XL City Gear Messenger Carrycase - Compatible with up to 44cm (17.3'') Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JetEngineer
(International)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Big laptop bag

PostedJuly 2, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought a 17 in laptop for travel abroad and I needed a big bag. This is a big bag but comfortably less than hand luggage parameters. I'm very pleased with it
Pros,
Excellent value for money.
Good sturdy construction.
Snug fit for laptop.
Well padded.
Lots of pockets for accessories.
Cons,
Drinks bottle holder (who's used that?).
No mobile phone strap pouch (as shown on photo).
Pros:air travel
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Targus XL City Gear Messenger Carrycase - Compatible with up to 44cm (17.3'') Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NickWill
(Potters Bar)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

XL City Gear Messenger Notebook Case

PostedJune 2, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very light, capacious, plenty of compartments for accessories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Targus XL City Gear Messenger Carrycase - Compatible with up to 44cm (17.3'') Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Wigan
(Wigan)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Just champion, made for the job

PostedMarch 22, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
As the title says, the bag is just champion, holds all you NEED and a little more with plenty room.
As the light from Brum said, it is very light, surprisingly so for the size.
My ideal bag would be this but crushproof.
kev
Pros:for administering web sites and server, recently found i can use skyplayer and watch skysp, web design (though not that good), small business use
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Targus XL City Gear Messenger Carrycase - Compatible with up to 44cm (17.3'') Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Craighockley
(Birmingham)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

XL City notebook case

PostedFebruary 17, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
The bag is nice and light, This makes a big difference when you are carrying a 17" laptop and other files. It also has alot of different storage pockets for all the other junk that i normally carry about.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Ratings-only reviews for Targus XL City Gear Messenger Carrycase - Compatible with up to 44cm (17.3'') Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product