Customer reviews for E/Port Plus 210W Port Replicator for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations

E/Port Plus 210W Port Replicator for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations

E/Port Plus 210W Port Replicator for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
3.179 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
7
1 Star
4
3.2
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
17 out of 2861%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for E/Port Plus 210W Port Replicator for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Review 1 for E/Port Plus 210W Port Replicator for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ioanm
(Calgary, AB, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

This docking station oferr a lot of options

PostedApril 23, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am talking here about E-Plus 210 Watts docking station.
It is solid made. It has many connections to choose from.
I have two of them. One at work which has only 5 USB 2.0 ports, and the latest one at home with 2 USB 3.0 at the back and 3 USB 2.0 on the side. Home I am using two monitors 19.5" (20") 1920x1080 resolutions, one external keyboard and mouse. Everything work perfect and the laptop never get hot (I am running multiple applications on the same time) just a little bet warm. This is 210 watts. The only negative or "Cons" I have, is why do they keep the PS2 connections for keyboard and mouse instead of using the space for more USB 3.0. I bet that maybe 1 in millions may be still using an old mouse or keyboard to be justified the PS2 connectors. Maybe a USB 3.0 docking station may give me more advantages (USB 3.0, dual video card, sound etc), but I didn't used one to know. And it's cheaper than this docking station (I search that).
I strongly recommend this product to support DELL.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for E/Port Plus 210W Port Replicator for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BSkiles
(Warsaw, IN)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Don't buy for three monitors

PostedDecember 21, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
My purpose was to run two monitors in addition to my Latitude E6430s. It may possibly work, if both monitors have DisplayPorts. But don't buy this if you think you can run two additional monitors by simply plugging them into this docking station. I had one Dell Monitor which had a DVI and a non-dell monitor with a VGA. I used a DisplayPort to VGA adaptor and the DVI/Dell. After two hours of Dell technical support and new drivers installed on my Lattitude, it was determined that if I bought two new Dell DisplayPort monitors ... maybe it would work. It was also determined that my 2013 Latitude could not be upgraded to run three monitors. I'm sending the docking station back.
Pros:5-star if you don't need 3 monitors
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for E/Port Plus 210W Port Replicator for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jim2012
(Georgia)
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Badly needs to be updated

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just want to support other reviewers who point out that this E-Port Plus is badly in need of an update for the decade of 2010. The lack of USB 3.0 ports, HDMI outputs, and true dual link DVI outputs are major limitations. It is totally unacceptable that this product has not been upgraded in such a long time.
However, you can still drive two 30" monitors with this product if you either use DisplayPort compatible monitors (like the Dell U3011) or purchase separate display port to dual link DVI adapters. But it is annoying to have to work with these limitations.
One the plus side, since the E-Port Plus includes a power brick, the cost is actually relatively low, less than $100 if you purchase the 210W model (which includes the 210W power brick that sells for > $100).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for E/Port Plus 210W Port Replicator for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dellcustomer13
Title:

Cheap

PostedJune 16, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dell has really figured out a way to make these cheaper. Hard to get the laptop connected, hard to get it off, just seems cheap. With the old docking station, just press down on the computer a little and it would lock in. Too bad there is no other choice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for E/Port Plus 210W Port Replicator for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AlwaysDell95
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dual Link DVD - Use with Dells 30" Monitors

PostedApril 12, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the first product I have ever spent the time to review in order to save someone else soem frustration.
1. The product is of good quality and works fine as a docking station in general.
2. If you are purchasing for the use of DVI ports which the Precision Laptops (Workstations) do not have then be warned. The station has what apear to be dual link capable connections however they only output single link which is NOT capable of running a 30" monitor at full resolution (Monitor edition that has only a DVI connection made prior to Display Port. Tech support after over an hour of looking at drivers, etc. concluded the docking station did not have enough power to send teh signal and I would require an Active DVI converter for each monitor. Dell sells these also but sales had informed me the station would have done the job alone before purchase.
Pros:software development
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for E/Port Plus 210W Port Replicator for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JMuser
(Denver, CO)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

docking station dissappointment

PostedMarch 26, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
VERY disspapointed Dell does not have the forethought in keepinig up on docking stations. I treid to hook up (2)32" monitors to my M6600 and found out only old trechnology DVI and Displayport's were available. Most affordable monitors at costco and other non-Dell stores have HDMI, RGB and VGA as their inputs. Dell must want to keep a captive market for their own monitors by not offering HDMI. The last Samsung I looked at for a PC monitor also only had VGA and HDMI. Plenty of firepower in the M6600 box but not much in something the docking station, no USB 3's, no dual HDMI's. Apple wouldn't have missed this as a complement (a well equipped diocking station)to a high powered machine like the M6600.
Pros:more efficient work place device
-2points
6of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for E/Port Plus 210W Port Replicator for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CarlB
Title:

Major roadblock

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like other reviewers, I replaced a desktop with an M4600 workstation, chosing that model partly because it has USB3 and eSATA capability. I also bought a Drobo S drive array stocked with 5-3T WD green drives that worked perfectly on my XPS 410.
I can't really find words to describe my irritation when I hooked up this expensive port replicator and discovered the eSATA and USB limitations. My workflow now includes shutting down the drobo and unplugging the USB3 from the side of the computer every time I shut it down and switch to my office laptop, an e6420.
I really feel Dell let me down on this one, and certainly didn't let me know the port limitations before purchase. The specs should include a warning when Dell is selling products that essentially disable the capabilities of the workstations.
Other than that, it works well.
Pros:graphic design, video production, xaml software ui design
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for E/Port Plus 210W Port Replicator for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LatitudeAndPrecisionOwner
Title:

No USB2 No HDMI = Wow, less than I need

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
As other reviewers have noted this is a dated product that does not really go with the current lineup of Dell mobile workstations. No USB 3 No HDMI. With this product and new Dell laptop owner should plan on buying adaptors for digital video if open connectivity is needed. No USB 3 speaks for itself. I consider both of these as standard connectors for a docking station.
Pros:engineering, software, any use
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for E/Port Plus 210W Port Replicator for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DanishSLB
(Houston, TX)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

E-Port Replicator - archaic in 2012

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Has eSata port
Cons: Has eSata port only ... I have a M6600 and M4600 - both have USB3.0 but the port replicator doesnt support it. I cannot understand how Dell is still selling this product. The battery has changed between the M4500 and M4600 but the replicator remains the same.
I agree with other customers on the DP port and video resoultion issues.
Pros:sw development, business applications
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for E/Port Plus 210W Port Replicator for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:STP1210
(Atlanta, GA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great buy!

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Docking station was easy to order once I knew what I needed...quick delivery and very easy setup. Was so easy, I had to get another one!!
Pros:dell laptop for office
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for E/Port Plus 210W Port Replicator for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:johnsoneric
(Michigan)
Title:

Terribly dated product

PostedNovember 18, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
After a great deal of research I decided to convert to a mobile workstation instead of constantly syncing between my desktop and XPS laptop. I purchased the M6600 mobile workstation and this e-port replicator plus because it would support two monitors – and had the DisplayPort (DP) cable option. First problem: when I received the replicator I was shocked to find it had no USB 3 ports, having only one eSata port for “high-speed” data transfer. eSata is 2004 technology; 300 Mbytes/s verses 5 Gbits/s!!!! Second problem: I later purchased two UltraSharp U2212HM monitors with DP inputs. The DP transfer from the port replicator would intermittently change my resolution from 1920x1080 to 800x600. It would also switch the monitor positions. DVI connections work fine, but are stiff and awkward. Dell tech support advises this is a known problem. Dell needs to upgrade this E-Port to a replicator that has current technology!!! DP connections have been available for several years – and USB 3 isn’t all that new. This is a very weak link in an otherwise powerful system.
Pros:image processing
+19points
23of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for E/Port Plus 210W Port Replicator for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NeoCowboy
Title:

Works great with 1 catch

PostedNovember 11, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
PROs: This is everything I want from a docking station. I have one and work and one at home I have the same mouse keyboard, 3D Mouse in both places. I have 2 20" monitors at home and 2x24" monitors at work and it is great to not have to mess with wires every time I take my laptop home.
Cons:
HEAT! My laptops is actually a mobile workstation and I use it like a works station, M6500 with FX3800 video card & 8GB RAM for CAD, FEA and rendering. I can't verify if heat is the issue but if I am doing heavy work on the computer for a while or sometimes leave it overnight to crunch some numbers and it can freeze up. With this docking station there is no way to use a cooling pad under the laptop. Dell offers a riser stand which I had high hopes for but that actually make it worse by insetting the docking station in a larger housing and restricting air flow more. If Dell could add some fans to this or have a cooling pad that this would integrate with I think it would take care of this problem.
Pros:engineering
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for E/Port Plus 210W Port Replicator for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ITHelpdesk007
Title:

Great item until the power brick dies.

PostedAugust 29, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great device until the power brick dies on you. Just called Dell to try and get a new (key word here) and was directed to the refreb department for a replacement one. I was informed that I couldn't get a new power brick from Dell for the Dell docking station... something seems odd there.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for E/Port Plus 210W Port Replicator for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sscott
(Fort Smith)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good replicator

PostedMay 11, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This product works exactly the way it should. Very helpful for multiple monitors
Pros:work computer
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for E/Port Plus 210W Port Replicator for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:User99
Title:

Nice to attach external monitors

PostedMay 2, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This enables me to attach external larger monitors, keyboard, mouse and external hard drives to my Precision Mobile Workstation M6500 system. The docking station also seems to be compatible with other systems such as Latitude E6500.
Pros:home use
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for E/Port Plus 210W Port Replicator for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:adamPPW
(portland)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dont plan on using DVI ports

PostedMarch 10, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
i have a M6500, the DVI ports do not function, i had a dell service tech out and he replaced the mother board and dock and still they dont work, it works fine on the Display ports but not DVI. i had to buy a DVI to Display port adapter.
Pros:cad design
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for E/Port Plus 210W Port Replicator for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:wolfegang
(Huntsville AL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

BE WARNED! Precision mobile workstations!!!

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you try and use this EPort Plus with your Precision workstation, you will get a warning before booting about "this is an underpowered adapter, performance will downclock based on power available, battery will charge slower...". Basically, this port replicator comes with a 130w power adapter. Your precision requires a 210w. That's 80w difference. Mine has a very high performance graphics card which requires extra power as well as the i7core. If I swap and use my 210 for the dock, everything is fine, but again, then the dock adapter in my laptop says "under power adapter detected...". I am on the phone now to try have them send me a new power adapter (210w) for this dock. They are infact replacing the power supply for me though, but I have gold support... not sure if they would do this for regular support or not. if you want this dock with yoru precision , recommend ordering by phone so there is no confusion and that you get the 210w power brick with this device. Other than that, the dock is nice, not cheap like others have stated and works well.
Pros:buisness, software dev, Travel
+40points
45of 50voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for E/Port Plus 210W Port Replicator for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kzooG
(Michigan)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Doesn what it is supposed to.

PostedSeptember 3, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Received nice product, works well but feels like the materials/design is lacking a little bit. Could be more stable/robust.
Pros:cad design
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for E/Port Plus 210W Port Replicator for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:technologies480
(Arizona)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Recommend

PostedFebruary 11, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just ran into some recent trouble and I think I'm going to contact Dell. I have had this docking station for about a year and it has worked well. I did run into the problem of not being able to boot up while being docked in. You just need to change you BIOS start up to start off the hard drive; for some reason Dell does not have that as the first option. The problem I just ran into is when I dock my machine (M4400) all my CPUs max out to 100% and when I undock it the CPUs fall to idle state. Im not sure what's up there. My work has 4 of these replicators and we haven't had any problems.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for E/Port Plus 210W Port Replicator for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dsgn2mfg
(Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Title:

Port Replicator

PostedOctober 26, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
To big and clunky. With cables it extend the depth of my laptop 8 inches and uses extra desk space. The clunky is because the plastic mechanism is cheesy and sound like something is breaking every time I the the laptop out of the docking adapter. I would only recommend this unit if you have to have the DVI-D connections otherwise because of its size I'd connect directly to my laptop.
Pros:cad workstation
+11points
18of 25voted this as helpful.
1 2