Customer reviews for Dell - E-Port Plus Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile M2400/ M4400/ M4500 WorkStations

Dell - E-Port Plus Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile M2400/ M4400/ M4500 WorkStations

Dell - E-Port Plus Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile M2400/ M4400/ M4500 WorkStations
3.833 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
3.8
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
22 out of 2492%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell - E-Port Plus Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile M2400/ M4400/ M4500 WorkStations
Review 1 for Dell - E-Port Plus Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile M2400/ M4400/ M4500 WorkStations
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RubyMtnGIS
(Elko, NV, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Need to connect your laptop to that old plotter or printer?

PostedApril 2, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my first purchase of a docking station for a laptop. I have used them in clients' offices but not in my home office. The convenience of dropping the laptop on to the docking station and having immediate connectivity to the back up hard drives, desktop monitor, key board, mouse, printer, plotter without plugging in half a dozen cords is well worth the price. I picked this version because I can use old parallel and 9 pin serial interfaces for 20 year old devices. I do a lot of "data archaeology" and being able to plug an old tape drives or 5 1/2 floppy drive into the new machine is very handy.
Pros:plenty of "legacy" ports
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell - E-Port Plus Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile M2400/ M4400/ M4500 WorkStations
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jimik3567
(Ridgefield, NJ, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Docking Station for Dell Laptop

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Lots of USB's, and video ports, low profile. Easy to connect, good design
Pros:illuminated button to indicate connect/disconnect
Cons:a little difficult to disconnect the notebook
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell - E-Port Plus Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile M2400/ M4400/ M4500 WorkStations
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:alapotter
(Montgomery, AL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

/Port Plus, 130W Advanced Port Replicator for Latitude E-Family, Customer Kit

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I would recommend this product. Like the capability to use two monitors with a laptop. Built in power and USB ports make it a perfect product for placing the laptop and starting right to work. I would buy this product again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell - E-Port Plus Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile M2400/ M4400/ M4500 WorkStations
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nargg
Title:

Best laptop dock available

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Glad to see Dell still support true laptop docking stations, and not the poor USB only not-quite-so-docking stations (though they still sell those too...) This dock is great for setting up a dual display desk too. Plenty of ports and easy to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell - E-Port Plus Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile M2400/ M4400/ M4500 WorkStations
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:junctionboy87
Title:

just ok

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
cons:
the e port plus meets basic needs that most business users are looking for, but misses ina number of categories. 1. when battery is removed, docking station rocks side to side while typing. usb 2.0 support, 3.usb ports side location is a pain.
pros: legacy support for parellel port, helps business users with needed dongle support
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell - E-Port Plus Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile M2400/ M4400/ M4500 WorkStations
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BartC
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Could easily be better!

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
PROS: The usual advantages of using a dock.
CONS: Misses the mark on several counts:
#1: Since I am often on AC power, I remove the battery from the back of the laptop (E6520). This is a recommenced procedure for long term use on AC. However, the laptop becomes unstable and rocks side to side making it hard to type.
#2: All connections should be out the back. It is just a rats nest having cables also come out the sides of the dock.
#3: There should be more USB ports.
#4: With the E series update Dell missed an opportunity to improve the dock / undock procedure. Other mfgs use a technique where to dock the laptop it is placed on a set of pins, and then a lever is used to pull the laptop into the dock. (The connector being on the back and not the bottom of the laptop.) With the Dell system, one locates the laptop on the pins but then has to push the computer down to engage the connector. Don’t push on the lid or you may crack the screen. Carefully push only on the hinges to dock it.
#5: The undock sticks sometimes
#6: And this last one is important, and not seen in the specs. To quote another review:
"You need to know that the two DVI ports are actually DVI-D and you may need adapters to plug your DVI-I cables (which come with the Dell monitors) into them which apparently Dell doesn't sell. The DVI-I cables have extra pins in them that are not accepted by the DVI-D ports in the port replicator."
This last point is important, and I don't understand how Dell could have missed the mark so badly.
And, a note on one other review: The reviewer slammed the dock for not having USB 3. But there are newer versions that are meant to go with Ivy bridge chips. Try 331-7947 or 331-6304.
Pros:tech writing, it management
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell - E-Port Plus Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile M2400/ M4400/ M4500 WorkStations
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LatitudeAndPrecisionOwner
Title:

No USB2 No HDMI = Wow, less than I need

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
As other reviewers have noted this is a dated product that does not really go with the current lineup of Dell mobile workstations. No USB 3 No HDMI. With this product and new Dell laptop owner should plan on buying adaptors for digital video if open connectivity is needed. No USB 3 speaks for itself. I consider both of these as standard connectors for a docking station.
Pros:engineering, software, any use
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell - E-Port Plus Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile M2400/ M4400/ M4500 WorkStations
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Looftie
(Omaha)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Nice way to add multiple monitors and ext. devices

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I picked up one of these (Dell PN: 430-3114) on ebay for my M6600. I reused the 210W power brick that shipped with my laptop. This device works great if you need the ability to easily add a couple of monitors or external devices. I have a DVI monitor, eSATA Bluray burner, keyboard, mouse, ethernet and stereo receiver (stereo mini plug) attached to mine. It works as advertised.
Pros:computer repair, home use
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell - E-Port Plus Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile M2400/ M4400/ M4500 WorkStations
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Liboria
(West Palm Beach, FL)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

Replicator not doing what I was told it would do

PostedNovember 17, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the replicator because I have an old DOS program that requires a LPT Port. According to all the reviews this gave you a parallel port that you could not get on a new computer. For some reason my program is not communicating to the parallel port on the replicator. I called Dell technical support and he tells me the replicator only copies what is on the laptop so if my computer does not have a parallel port, it cannot copy it. If anyone has any suggestions on how to get my program to "see" the port, I would appreciate your suggestions. I have installed Windows XP Mode in order to install my program. It just will not recogize the port. If the tech is correct, then I wasted my money. But I was assured that the port would work like any parallel port.
-5points
11of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell - E-Port Plus Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile M2400/ M4400/ M4500 WorkStations
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:apatzke
(Vegas)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Worth the purchase...

PostedJune 22, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Does what it's supposed to painlessly expands my e6410. I own two.
Pros:technical publication
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell - E-Port Plus Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile M2400/ M4400/ M4500 WorkStations
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jiedeng
Title:

gateway of legacy ports and latest notebooks

PostedMay 28, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This replicator gives me parallel port and serial port back in latest notebook computers. I can not find these features from other manufacturers.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell - E-Port Plus Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile M2400/ M4400/ M4500 WorkStations
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Hoderbob
Title:

Works well and serves out needs with one caveat

PostedMay 11, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This has been a good solution for us except for one issue. We have legacy flat panel monitors with no DVI (analog only). The docking station only has a single VGA connection, but two DVI ports. We were unable to give the user dual displays because of the single VGA port.
-8points
8of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell - E-Port Plus Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile M2400/ M4400/ M4500 WorkStations
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Victor2000
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

work great for the Application

PostedMay 5, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Work just fine for what it is used for.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell - E-Port Plus Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile M2400/ M4400/ M4500 WorkStations
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JeffGoodall
(Sarasota, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Replicator/Doesnt charge notebook

PostedMarch 16, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
works fantastic with the two 22" monitors but it doesnt charge the notebook battery while docked. I guess i have to connect the 130w power supply that comes with it to the notebook and the rest of the replicator runs without being powered.
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell - E-Port Plus Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile M2400/ M4400/ M4500 WorkStations
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:davenport
(Redondo Beach, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Needs a cooling fan installed in the base.

PostedMarch 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Dell E-Series is amazing because we can dock two 2560x1600 monitors via DisplayPort (not dual-link DVI) to any of the compatible laptops. Being able to dock the two monitors to my field laptop is really the only reason I'm not using Apple.
The major design flaw of this product is that there needs to be a fan installed in the base to cool the bottom of the laptop. I have remedied this problem by setting the dock on a USB powered laptop cooler which stops the laptop cooling fans from going to high-speed.
The other major oversight of this product is that the max resolution of a 30" dual-link monitor is 1280x800. You have to buy DisplayPort monitors to run at 2560x1600.
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell - E-Port Plus Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile M2400/ M4400/ M4500 WorkStations
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Soyoung
(Palo Alto, CA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Product!

PostedMarch 2, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I think this docking station has user-freindly design. When I purchased it, I felt a little bit bad that I had to buy a new docking station for my new Dell notebook. However, now I am happy to have it since I have two crisp monitors at work thanks to the two digital display ports on the back!
Pros:work
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell - E-Port Plus Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile M2400/ M4400/ M4500 WorkStations
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dwork
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great for Dual Monitors

PostedMarch 11, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I use this with two Dell 30" 3008WFP monitors using both display ports at 2560 by 1600. I havent had any problems and find it to be a great setup with my M2400.
+27points
29of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell - E-Port Plus Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile M2400/ M4400/ M4500 WorkStations
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mdwla
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Product / Know the Limitation

PostedJanuary 29, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
This is a great product, durable and a huge time saver for someone who is on the road or works between multiple offices. It is durable and has sufficient expansion slots for all of your peripherals.
Cons
Know the limitations of this item. One of the applications we purchased this for was to run two external 22" monitors via the DVI connectors in addition to the laptop screen. Although there is expansion for this a single video card won't handle it. If you want to run three monitors you will need a second video card. We found a good external USB 2.0 DVI option for this but did not expect to need it.
+47points
48of 49voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell - E-Port Plus Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile M2400/ M4400/ M4500 WorkStations
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DarrinL
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Convenient - I bought 2!

PostedOctober 21, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very convenient. I love the fact I just show up and dock the devise. One major issues is that I purchased 2 22" dell monitors and had a heck of a time configuring the resolution of one of the monitors plugged into the back port (DVI) of the dock. I ultimately had to reduce the colors to 16 and then all resolutions worked and went fine - but this took about 4 hours of trial and error... Would be good in advance to know of limitations... Overall I love docking stations and this one has ALL the ports I could every need including external eSATA!
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell - E-Port Plus Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Latitude Laptops / Precision Mobile M2400/ M4400/ M4500 WorkStations
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AlixS
(Nashville, TN)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

E-Port Plus Replicator

PostedMay 20, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Hmm. Pros. I have two docking stations - one in the office and one at home - and couldn't live without them. I work on the road, at home, and in the office, so a laptop is my only practical solution. The docking station makes my life a LOT easier.
Cons. Not enough USB ports (since it's so small). And, the release sticks a bit.
Good product though. It works with my KPMV adaptor at home, so I can use two laptops with one set of peripherals. One keyboard, mouse, monitor, and printer without the agony of hooking and unhooking or the vagaries of wireless.
Pros:Travel, Presentation, work
+25points
26of 27voted this as helpful.
1 2