Customer reviews for Dell - E-Port Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Precision Mobile WorkStations / Latitude Laptops

Dell - E-Port Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Precision Mobile WorkStations / Latitude Laptops

Dell - E-Port Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Precision Mobile WorkStations / Latitude Laptops
3.842 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
4
3.8
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 37
30 out of 3879%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell - E-Port Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Precision Mobile WorkStations / Latitude Laptops
Review 1 for Dell - E-Port Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Precision Mobile WorkStations / Latitude Laptops
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:planetbrian
Title:

Poor Quality and Warranty

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The power supply died two years after purchase The warranty for a $159 product is only 1 year which is poor.
Do not buy this product unless the warranty is 3 years or more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell - E-Port Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Precision Mobile WorkStations / Latitude Laptops
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sjalsevac
(Toronto)
Title:

Outdated and surprisingly low quality from Dell

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been buying Dell products for many years and at one time the port replicators were sturdy, well built products. But not for the past few years. This one is a notably inferior product and a stark contrast to my Dell Precision quality. Also, I am amazed that it is still being offered only with USB 2 ports. I have found Dell to be consistently frustratingly slow to incorporate the latest technologies into many of its products. The Rim effect could happen to Dell somewhere along the line. That is, taking customer loyalty and high sales for granted.
Pros:website management
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell - E-Port Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Precision Mobile WorkStations / Latitude Laptops
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sammich
Title:

Dell Replicators

PostedAugust 25, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dell products are very good,however, currently none of their replicators (docking stations)have HDMI ports. Hard to believe. Some TV/Monitors like my new Samsung only have HDMI ports now and no longer have "blue" or "white" ports.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell - E-Port Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Precision Mobile WorkStations / Latitude Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GregVSC
Title:

Love this product

PostedJune 13, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The E-Port Replicator is a great addition to my latitude. This makes moving from office to home very simple - just snap in and you're running. All the extra usb port are also a huge benefit.
Pros:selling dog food
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell - E-Port Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Precision Mobile WorkStations / Latitude Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DougRay
(USA)
Title:

Works Great

PostedMay 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
I work in a facility where I have to be mobile. The replicator works great. Everything stays plugged in when I leave and connects seamlessly every time when I get back.
Cons
None
Pros:plcs hmi software
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell - E-Port Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Precision Mobile WorkStations / Latitude Laptops
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SAFnMT
Title:

E-port replicator - It doesn't replicate!

PostedApril 30, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just got a Precision 4600 along with the E-port replicator and monitor stand. Nice looking set up but I'm really disappointed that the replicator doesn't have an HDMI plug. The computer's HDMI plug is on the back side so when it's plugged into the E-port the plug is covered. I'm left with the choices of not using the replicator so I can use HDMI via the computer plug in, or buy an adapter cable, or give up resolution to use VGA. Disappointing at best. I had hoped for form and function. Hopefully the next Precision design will have the HDMI plug on the side or the E-port will truly replicate the ports available on the computer it's replicating. <sigh>
Pros:business use, graphic design
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell - E-Port Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Precision Mobile WorkStations / Latitude Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CorporateDrone
Title:

Does the job...but could be better

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Used with: Latitude E6420
Used for: Office Location/Work
As my company upgraded my old D620 to a new E6420, I also got this docking station. So I am not sure of cost etc.
Feels cheap, but then again...not an issue bc it will never move from my desk for another 3 years until I get upgrade again. However, I feel as though I am going to break the plastic eject button every time when removing.
Supports dual 20" monitors nicely, one connected DVI and the other HDMI. Nice surprise when the docking station came with the HDMI/DVI cable.
Plenty of USB ports...but should be USB 3.0 and not 2.0! That would set this one above the same old "port replicators" they have been pumping out the years.
Does the job, no complaints
Pros:marketing, data analysis, graphic design
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell - E-Port Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Precision Mobile WorkStations / Latitude Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:henry1g
Title:

Nice Product

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been delaying purchasing this port replicator for too long. It is very nice. Works good with my Latitude and definitely helps with my efficiency.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell - E-Port Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Precision Mobile WorkStations / Latitude Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NotWorkyWithVostro3350
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

It Is Not Compatible with Vostro 3350

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased the Simple E-Port Replicator to go with a Vostro 3350. When I received the shipment I discovered the Vostro 3350 does not support any port replicators and so I had to return the Vostro.
The Compatibility List for the Simple E-Port Replicator still shows that it supports a Vostro 3350 but this is *not* correct.
+23points
24of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell - E-Port Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Precision Mobile WorkStations / Latitude Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dowizm
Title:

Beware

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This product does not fit all Latitude laptops. I have a D620. They no longer make them for the D models. They refunded my money with no issues.
+7points
13of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell - E-Port Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Precision Mobile WorkStations / Latitude Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:COjeff
(Denver)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Awesome Product

PostedJune 15, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really like this Replicator. I have one at home and one at work. It makes it such a breeze to dock and go, then undock and go again.
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell - E-Port Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Precision Mobile WorkStations / Latitude Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MarcoPolo
(New York)
Title:

Just works. No extra setup required.

PostedJune 2, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pro:
- single power source. Power the E-port and charge laptop at the same time. Less wires.
(main reason of getting this product)
- allow you to use the laptop with the lid closed.
(another main reason of getting this product)
- nice graphic output and fast performance.
- no waiting time for un-docking the laptop.
- can use it to extend your display. Use laptop screen and external monitor for dual-monitors task.
Suggestion:
- the look has not been changed for years. It does not look pretty when sitting next to my shinny new E6510.
- add support of USB3
- why not remove the express PCMCI slot from my laptop (who is using it today?) and put the slot on the E-Port? It will allow E-port to expend the functions.
Pros:working at multiple locations
+24points
29of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell - E-Port Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Precision Mobile WorkStations / Latitude Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DellBusinessUser
Title:

E-Port Replicator

PostedMay 19, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Easy to use, Easy to setup. Does exactly what I wanted it for.
I do have to agree with earlier reviews. The cost is high.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell - E-Port Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Precision Mobile WorkStations / Latitude Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DiannaS
(Oklahoma City, OK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great product

PostedMay 18, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This was to replace my docking station for my old laptop, very easy to use. Just plug in dock and go.
Pros:office
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell - E-Port Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Precision Mobile WorkStations / Latitude Laptops
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DanCinChi
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Still an issue after all these years

PostedApril 22, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Via corporate mandate, I have been a Dell user for over 10 years now (on my fourth Latitude now), and I've always had issues being able to dock and undock the laptop. After all this time, I would think that Dell and the premier operating system manufacturers would be pretty much in lock step as far as development goes. So, I find it hard to believe that on my new E6510, that I still have to reboot it to get the screen to work after undocking. It is very frustrating. Maybe that is why Dell calls it a port replicator instead of a docking station.
Maybe the next gen will get it right.
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell - E-Port Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Precision Mobile WorkStations / Latitude Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cellqueen
(WA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Works As Needed

PostedApril 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I previously had a different Dell laptop for work and when our lease roll came about my company opted to not supply an additonal docking station for my home office. I ended up purchasing the duplicate set-up, stand and replicatior, that I have in my work office. My only two complaints that I have about this new docking station are 1. I have to set the "Num Lock" to on every time I dock my laptop. Yes it is a little thing but one that is ever so annoying. 2. Occasionally I must move from my office to a conference room and this computer/docking station does not allow me to undock and then redock later without having to shut down and restart my whole computer. For as much as this replicator costs you would think that this feature would be included.
Pros:work ~ both home and corp office
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell - E-Port Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Precision Mobile WorkStations / Latitude Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:greenday25
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Perfect fit

PostedMarch 2, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Perfect fit to our E series laptops. The end-user was very satisfied.
Pros:Travel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell - E-Port Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Precision Mobile WorkStations / Latitude Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SHNOOL
(Upper Mt. Bethel, PA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Simple/Cheap port replicator, always out of stock.

PostedFebruary 9, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great port replicator, if all you need are fixed ports for USB mouse/keyboard/network, and DVI(s) monitor. These are repeatedly out of stock, because that fits MOST of us. The larger legacy port replicator is nice, but pricey for stuff we don't need.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell - E-Port Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Precision Mobile WorkStations / Latitude Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Philipnj
Title:

More than a replicator, supports HDMI with audio

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have owned E-port for one year and a half. Yet until recently I have discovered it supports HDMI with audio (great for using your HDTV as a display). I tried to hook up my E5500 with my 73" 1080p TV using the dual link DVI port on E-port. I heard I need a separate analog audio cable for sound when using DVI. But when I connected E-port with a DVI to HDMI adapter and a HDMI cable, my laptop actually recognized the port as HDMI port, and sent both digital video and digital audio signal via DVI port. Although I have no GPU but an old generation CPU (core 2 duo P8800), I played 1080p video files on my 1080p TV with no hassle.
Pros:office applications, streaming video
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell - E-Port Replicator with 130-Watt Power Adapter Cord for Select Dell Precision Mobile WorkStations / Latitude Laptops
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bill411
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

does not support laptops that it claims to

PostedFebruary 4, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Got this replicator for a latitude e6500. The replicator has two problems, both of which render it useless:
1) It fails to reliably lock the laptop to itself.
2) It does not provide adequate power to the laptop, slowing the processor to a GLACIAL CRAWL.
I see in the other reviews I'm not the only one who's encountered these problems. Disgusted that Dell is selling this thing claiming that it will work with laptops that clearly have more stringent requirements.
+7points
14of 21voted this as helpful.
1 2