Customer reviews for Dell - Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module for Inspiron 6400/ 9400/ E1505/ E1705 / Vostro 1015 / XPS M1710 Laptops

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Dell - Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module for Inspiron 6400/ 9400/ E1505/ E1705 / Vostro 1015 / XPS M1710 Laptops

Dell - Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module for Inspiron 6400/ 9400/ E1505/ E1705 / Vostro 1015 / XPS M1710 Laptops
4.731 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
42
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
4.7
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 50
50 out of 5296%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell - Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module for Inspiron 6400/ 9400/ E1505/ E1705 / Vostro 1015 / XPS M1710 Laptops
Review 1 for Dell - Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module for Inspiron 6400/ 9400/ E1505/ E1705 / Vostro 1015 / XPS M1710 Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Truthdtector
(Center Line, MI)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

So easy a ____________ can do it

PostedFebruary 3, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Nice and easy is exactly what I was hoping for and of course thats what it was, plug and play almost no tools needed and it worked as soon as I turned on my machine...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell - Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module for Inspiron 6400/ 9400/ E1505/ E1705 / Vostro 1015 / XPS M1710 Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AliceShrugged
(Bucks County, PA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

This works for Inspiron 1318-124B

PostedMay 21, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
My son installed this bluetooth module into my Inspiron 1318-124B (bought from Best Buy last fall) a few weeks ago. Dell service said this would work on my model, and it did. Thanks Dell. No more need for a plugin workaround.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell - Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module for Inspiron 6400/ 9400/ E1505/ E1705 / Vostro 1015 / XPS M1710 Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KevinS
(Indianapolis, IN)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Easiest hardware I've ever installed

PostedMay 9, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I own an Inspiron E1505 laptop. The bluetooth chip goes in a compartment right inside where the battery is located. The only tool I needed was something "soft" for prying open the panel.
The connector was right there and you could only attach it to the chip one way. The panel to the compartment actually had a molded set of clips to hold the chip after I had the connector attached.
I bought the chip using my service tag. And I downloaded the latest software the same way. Dell couldn't have made getting the hardware and software any easier in my opinion.
I've done work inside both desktops and laptops over the years. This was the easiest hardware installation I have ever done - period.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell - Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module for Inspiron 6400/ 9400/ E1505/ E1705 / Vostro 1015 / XPS M1710 Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WisconsinPE
(Greenfield, WI)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Value - No trouble

PostedApril 1, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I did not use the enclosed disc. I just downloaded the latest software from Dell.
Pros:Very cost effective. I downloaded the latest software from Dell and I was up and running. No need to pay for cables or software to transfer files between my laptop and cell phone.
Cons:Not much. I needed a magnifying glass to see the pins on the connector.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell - Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module for Inspiron 6400/ 9400/ E1505/ E1705 / Vostro 1015 / XPS M1710 Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Installation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sveris
(Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Good Value - Works Okay So Far

PostedMarch 6, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
All in all, if you can get this card to work for one or two functions, it's worth having it for your notebook.
Pros:With the Dell Wireless 355 Bluetooth Card, it was very easy to install the card itself. And, easy to load operating softwareI from the included CD. I have only used it to send notebook audio to a Motorola Bluetooth single earbud headset, and it works okay.
Cons:Set-up of the various functions is partly automatic and partly manual. For me, it was not easy to get my headset to work. I still do not understand the difference between the Audio Gateway function and the Headset function. I called Dell Tech Support, and the representative tried to help. They were only partially successful, although there was a language barrier and I'm not sure they really understood my issues [or how to make the card perform].
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell - Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module for Inspiron 6400/ 9400/ E1505/ E1705 / Vostro 1015 / XPS M1710 Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:snoylt
(Stonington, Me)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dell Internal Bluetooth 355 module

PostedOctober 6, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:A very useful unadvertised device, that runs my Bluetooth mouse and printer without wires.
Cons:None I know of.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell - Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module for Inspiron 6400/ 9400/ E1505/ E1705 / Vostro 1015 / XPS M1710 Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ronycyks
(Iowa City, IA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Works Great with my XPS m1330!!!

PostedJune 16, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:This product was very easy to install (intallation guide in the user manual) and worked just as expected. I plugged it in and ran the disk that came with it. Thats it. everything works well. Good product, and will recommend it for use with XPS m1330.
Cons:None
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell - Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module for Inspiron 6400/ 9400/ E1505/ E1705 / Vostro 1015 / XPS M1710 Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Installation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Chistoph
Title:

Great Prodcut to add to my Inspiron E1505

PostedJune 9, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Very easy to install and setup. Added Bluetooth to my laptop with very little effort. Works Great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell - Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module for Inspiron 6400/ 9400/ E1505/ E1705 / Vostro 1015 / XPS M1710 Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Zantac
(Franklin, TN)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Bluetooth upgrade

PostedMay 12, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Software takes a while to install and setup all the bluetooth options, but once setup all runs very well.
Pros:Very easy to install. Well worth it upgrade for your Dell laptop.
Cons:None
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell - Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module for Inspiron 6400/ 9400/ E1505/ E1705 / Vostro 1015 / XPS M1710 Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PiggyBankInc
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Works great!

PostedApril 21, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Easily installed, if you have experience handling delicate parts and have the patience to place it in it's dedicated space. Works fantastic with all my peripherals and various brand name accessories.
Cons:Nothing to report
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell - Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module for Inspiron 6400/ 9400/ E1505/ E1705 / Vostro 1015 / XPS M1710 Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Troy, MI)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Amazingly small

PostedMarch 24, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
If you're buying a new laptop, have dell install it for you
Pros:-Installation documentation was available online -I had it installed and was using it in about 20 minutes
Cons:-VERY small, I had some difficulty with my big fingers
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell - Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module for Inspiron 6400/ 9400/ E1505/ E1705 / Vostro 1015 / XPS M1710 Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Installation 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:blutoof
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Wireless 355

PostedFebruary 16, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Easy to install and sets up with plug-n-play ease. Interface is easy to use for a first time bluetooth user.
Cons:Does not automatically detect each time a bluetooth mouse is switched on... must be connected manually.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell - Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module for Inspiron 6400/ 9400/ E1505/ E1705 / Vostro 1015 / XPS M1710 Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ultimasphynx
(houston, texas)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

great product

PostedFebruary 12, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
my E1705 laptop is 2 years old so i was worried if this one would work but it all worked out fine.
Pros:-this product worked flawlessly on first boot up. -the cd wasnt even needed for the drivers on my dell laptop.
Cons:none
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell - Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module for Inspiron 6400/ 9400/ E1505/ E1705 / Vostro 1015 / XPS M1710 Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sammy1980
Title:

Bluetooth accessory

PostedJanuary 21, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Has excellent performance..
Cons:a bit difficult to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell - Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module for Inspiron 6400/ 9400/ E1505/ E1705 / Vostro 1015 / XPS M1710 Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mebebill
(nebraska)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

355 bluetooth module

PostedJanuary 7, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell offers 2 different b/t modules for my laptop (an Inspiron 1505n w/linux pre-installed). This one cost $20 or so, while the other one is, IIRC, $60. Much better deal. I don't know if the more expensive module does more or what, but for what I'm doing (keyboard & mouse) it works like a champ. If someone asked me to recommend a b/t module, and their computer could use this one, I'd recommend it.
It took some tweaking of various config files to get the b/t to work right. I don't know if the correct tweaks would have automagically been made if the module had been installed the last time I installed Kubuntu, but I guess I'll find out the next time I get bored and reinstall.
Pros:Installation was about as easy as it gets: remove the battery, pop off the cover at the end of the battery bay, snap the module to the back of the cover, plug it in, put the cover back on and put the battery back in. It took longer to shut the laptop down & restart it than it did to install the module. This laptop was a custom build (but aren't they all?) and to have b/t installed at build time would have cost $50, IIRC. I also very much like being able to use my b/t keyboard & mouse w/out having to plug in the dongle.
Cons:I had some trouble getting the system to maintain or automatically re-establish connection from sleep, but I think I've got it licked now. It's a linux laptop, so it takes some configuration tweaks. I think I've got it figured out now. Other than that, I have no problems or complaints with this item.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell - Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module for Inspiron 6400/ 9400/ E1505/ E1705 / Vostro 1015 / XPS M1710 Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bjudd8

PostedDecember 24, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:easy install and works great
Cons:Installed with Windows drivers as well as driver that came on CD, but seems to work fine
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell - Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module for Inspiron 6400/ 9400/ E1505/ E1705 / Vostro 1015 / XPS M1710 Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Lonereviewer
(NJ)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Great for phone camera downloads

PostedDecember 17, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Arrived with lightning speed. I intalled it in minutes and was downloading photos from my cell phone in no time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell - Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module for Inspiron 6400/ 9400/ E1505/ E1705 / Vostro 1015 / XPS M1710 Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bcooper
(Cicero, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Bluetooth Chip

PostedNovember 7, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
This product should be built into any motherboard produced.
Pros:Easy to install. Worth installing so you can use wireless products. No wires! Easy to install new devices. Works with a Bluetooth headset,
Cons:No installation instructions included with part.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell - Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module for Inspiron 6400/ 9400/ E1505/ E1705 / Vostro 1015 / XPS M1710 Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jack5on
(Brooklyn, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Nice easy full funtionality

PostedSeptember 18, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:works with inspiron 1521 Easy install, good product I recomend for every ppl and the price u can beat and the ship. I order at 11:40pm and i recived next day 10AM
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell - Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module for Inspiron 6400/ 9400/ E1505/ E1705 / Vostro 1015 / XPS M1710 Laptops
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Vistauser
(denver)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Does not support A2DP

PostedSeptember 1, 2007
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:works with my phone but...
Cons:It does not support A2DP bluetooth for portable headsets. This is a VISTA issue, but Dell does not explain the drawbacks.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3