Customer reviews for Dell USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station

Dell USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station

Dell USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
2.405 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
21
2.4
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
18 out of 4243%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Review 1 for Dell USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TargusBad
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Garbage

PostedApril 3, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This thing is absolute trash. Do not buy it. I spent half a day wrestling with this thing trying to get it installed. I called both Targus and Dell support (I was trying to use it with a new xps laptop) and it simply does not work. Windows only recognizes it as a USB hub... the network, display, and audio do not work. Save yourself the trouble and look for alternate solutions. This is not only a waste of money but worse a waste of time and source of frustration.
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bdg144
(Los Angeles, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Doesn't even charge the laptop

PostedAugust 22, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I use this dock with my XPS15. My main issue with it is that it does not even charge the laptop connected to it. I took it for granted that any dock would charge the computer attached to it. So you need to plug in the dock to power anything plugged into it AND you need to plug in your laptop. So now there are 2x as many cables connecting to things, and I still need to plug/unplug my laptop from multiple places when I want to grab and go.
Pros:lots of usb ports
Cons:does not power laptop, only 1 hdmi, short usb cable to connect laptop
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:j987
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

This product is junk

PostedApril 12, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is very unstable. Sometimes it actually works. Unfortunately that is rare. The whole point of having a docking station is to not have repeatedly connect/disconnect all of your devices. Additionally video over DisplayLink is poor if you are looking for high resolution. Definately not for video or gaming.
I have attempted all driver updates with no change in performance.
As I write this Dell no longer appears to offer this item for sale. I wonder why?
Pros:absolutely none
Cons:poor video via displaylink, connection to usb speakers random, usb hard drive does not alway show up
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HoustonITGuy
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Works Fine If....

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
We were hooking up one external monitor (1920x1200) and seeing major performance issues. It would take 26-30 seconds for typed text to show up, horrible refresh rates, and high CPU usage. The product was completely unusable. So, we did quite a bit of troubleshooting and found that there are two simple steps to get rid off all of the performance issues listed here.
First, update the displaylink firmware.
Second and most important, turn ON windows aero effects. Aero effects are run by the GPU whereas the "classic" theme is run by the CPU. As soon as we turned on aero effects, all performance issues vanished. We are now running two 24" (1920x1200) monitors on an XPS13 with no issues at all.
Hope this helps.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Durgesh
(Alpharetta, GA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Absolutely Terrible. Total Waste of money

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the most awful product from Dell. It has following problems:
1) Does not work on all operating systems. Only works on Windows 7, not even on windows 8 (in spite of downloading drivers for win 8). Can't even think of using it with Ubuntu.
2) Since i bought this, i never got audio working. I am using Dell XPS 15 and when used with i can hear the sound from laptop and nothing in the headphone.
3) Whenever laptop goes in standby mode, like you are away for lunch of something, it does not detect the network connection when woken up from sleep. I suspected laptop first, but laptop detects when directly connected to laptop. Every time i have to restart my machine. So i play some music on mute in media player so laptop does not go on standby.
4) Not all USB ports work for keyboard. I am not sure if this is with my device or others, but for me only 1 USB port works for keyboard. But after so many problems, this is very minor issue.
5) Pathetic Support from Dell. Dell itself does not support this device. I reached out to Dell support service and their response was to try some other docking station and they cannot help me out further.
Response from Dell:
Thank you for replying. I appreciate your patience and cooperation.
Durgesh, I really apologize, being from core Dell technical support team we can help you with troubleshooting system.
As you feel issue is with docking station, you can try another docking station or contact vendor of docking station who can help you with this product.
As issue is caused after updates, we will recommend you to perform system restore and check if issue is resolved.
It is valid troubleshooting step which might resolve the issue.
I would strong recommend buyers NOT TO BUY this device.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:OnceAMatrixMan
(NYC)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Terrible

PostedMarch 1, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Targus and Dell should just issue everyone that bought these a refund. All 3 we have do not work for more than as day, and when they are not working you lose internet, the second monitor, and all USB connections. Garbage. An updated version from another vendor work perfectly.
Pros:nothing!
Cons:everything
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DocJBS
(Chicago, IL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Does NOT charge computer

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The station works fine but the whole reason I bought it was so everything would be together making it easy to drop in on my desk and grab when I leave. Frankly it is an tangle of wires. I have to plug the computer in and the USB from the station. So I have to have a plug for the station and for the laptop. Not intuitively thought out.
Pros:sufficient ports
Cons:doesn't charge laptop
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:APH1
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Junk

PostedMay 19, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ditto every bad thing said about this unit. It is so inconsistent and undependable that it is not worth more than $1 for scrap.
Pros:none
Cons:it does not work reliably
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TimC63
(Atlanta, GA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Sketchy operation

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have deployed a few dozen of these and have yet to hear a kind word about them from our users.
Video output via the DVI or the HDMI has a very poor refresh rate and the stop and go movement of the mouse sometimes feels like I am learning to drive a stick shift again.
Sometimes the dock will loose connection and the display will flash off, network will disconnect and the mouse/keyboard will not work. You blink and it is back up again and then it does it again and every few seconds it does it again. And this continues for 3-10 minutes. It may not do it again for days but it will be back and no amount of updated drivers seem to be able to stop it.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SDSavvy
(KS)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Adds convenience, but is lacking

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
It is convenient to be able to connect the dual external monitors, ethernet, and speakers with one simple USB connection. However, the USB conection is a bit unsightly sticking out the
side, and the dock does not charge the computer so that is an added connection which means if you desire to set up multiple locations, you may need to buy extra chargers as well as the extra dock units. Also, the USB cable that comes with the dock is fairly short and on mine, it connects to the dock very loosely. The monitor recognition when docking and un-docking has been flawless, however I have not been able to determine how to get the computer to automatically recognize the dock spears when docked so I have to manually change the speaker settings each time I dock/undock the laptop (not sure if that is a driver issue or not). All in all, I think this unit is a bit overpriced.
Pros:provides for dual external monitors
Cons:does not charge the laptop
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:C0D3Name
(HI)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Must Have for xps 12/13 Ultrabooks

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overall Rating: Positive but with drawbacks in performance/features. Namely, no charge option through dock, intermittently drops and reestablishes connection. This is utilizing the supplied docking drivers.
Still, this is a must have component if you are looking to utilize multiple video outs, LAN, or extra peripherals beyond the provided 2 USB ports.
I purchased 2 units to provide complete plug and play for use both at work and at home, both experience the above issues.
.
Pros:up to 3 monitors (2 external + laptop display) sim, plenty of usb ports including 2 extra usb 3, provides all necessary connections (ethernet usb, comes with adapters allowing support for multiple
Cons:no charge option through dock must connect laptop, dock intermittently loses connection, must wait 5-15 seconds for reconnection
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:niwred
(Switzerland)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Limited display resolution, not suitable for workstation class machine (m3800)

PostedDecember 16, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Be warned that the display link does not work with large displays such as the Dell 3008WFP. So you end up with the Display port cable and the power cable (since it cannot charge your system either). Might be OK for a consumer device but definitely not to comfortably plug your mobile workstation in.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GregWestlund
(US)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

XPS 18

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
After working through a few minor driver issues this word great for making the XPS 18 a desktop product. Only issue is the touch screen doesn't work while connected, as it always assigns the second monitor as the touch screen. I've read this is a windows 8 issue, but a con, none the less. Would rate Excellent if touch worked when connected and would have come with the current drivers to avoid install issues.
Pros:makes the xps18 a desktop computer
Cons:can't use the touch features while connected.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rekraus
(Savannah, GA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

If your monitors have VGI cords get one DVI and one HDMI adapter

PostedJune 30, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm not going to lie, due to all the bad reviews I was a little scared to buy this. However, it was the only one I saw on Dell's Website that was compatible with an Inspirion Laptop. This thing works great. I have the USB adapter for my wireless keyboard and mouse plugged into it an Ethernet cable so I will be wired to my home network, and I have my iPhone charging cable plugged into it. I also have a 1TB external HD plug into it as well so I don't have to store everything on my laptop HD. Everything works as advertised. ITunes will automatically open and connect to my iPhone when I plug it in to the charging cable. I keep my wireless adapter disabled and just use the wired network.
The only things keeping me from giving it a 5 are the fact that the cord that plugs into your laptop is pretty short, it doesn't have two HDMI ports and the software for the monitors.
I figured out a way to set everything up so it would work, but I wish I could have a 3 or 4 foot USB cable that plugged into the laptop so I could get the dock and all my other cable off the desk. However, the USB cable is only about 18 inches long so I had to tie up all the excess cords behind my monitors. If it were made so that both ends of that cord were USB or if they sold longer cords for it then it would be better. I also don't like the video software that came with it. Trying to use it to set up the monitors is worthless. I just used the settings in windows and that worked fine. I also with it had two HDMI ports instead of one HDMI and one DVI.
Pros:works as advertised, only one cord to plug into my laptop, the ability to plug in ethernnet, can plug in wireless adapter
Cons:length of cord to laptop, video monitor software, only one hdmi port
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cgt333
(New York, NY)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Works just fine

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have a Dell XPS 12, which has no ethernet port, no optical drive, no VGA monitor port, and only 2 USB Drives. It's running Windows 8. Really needed a good docking station to get all this functionality. I initially bought a Kennsington docking station, but the drivers would not work. Dell recommended this to me and I got it two weeks ago. Its been working fine. I have only needed to restart it once, when I shut it down plugged in. When my laptop is on and I plug it in it just works. I had a hard time installing drivers over the internet (no optical drive, remember) but I called Dell and they took care of me. No complaints at all.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TreeAlaska
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Don't Buy

PostedOctober 30, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have two of these and both don't work. They will work for about 3-10 minutes and then the monitor freezes and I have to unplug the docking station and plug it back in. Since this happens every 3-10 minutes, it becomes very frustrating. I don't recommend it.
Pros:none
Cons:doesn't work.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sheen224
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Be Warned About Network Cable

PostedJune 10, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Ok, so I'm not sure why this did not occur to us before but here it is.
We have an XPS 12, the new convertable Win8 with NO hardwired connection. Just the wireless NIC. This dock will NOT let you plug in an ethernet cable and give the laptop an IP address.
!!!!THIS IS ONLY FOR LAPTOPS THAT HAVE HARD WIRED NIC'S ALREADY!!!!
Everything else works beautifully.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RAD122
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Disapointed - thought is was a true docking station with power to laptop

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was told this was a true docking station which I took as other docking stations I had for my previous laptops, to power my laptop. unfortunately, when I'm connected to the docking station, you have to have power to the dock and power to your laptop - bunch of wires going everywhere. If your looking for a compact, all in one dock, this isn't for you.
Pros:costs a lot
Cons:tons of wires
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KACFP
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Frustrating Product

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Set it up as instructed, downloaded updated Displaylink software. Only some ports worked (keyboard mouse), dual monitor and external speaker were showing attached and functioning, but didn't function. Found some thread online that had a link to a fix. Worked great for about a month. Windows did an update this week and lost all functions but the keyboard and mouse. Wish I could refind that fix! I rely on dual monitors way too much to have it work sometimes and not others. I can't recommend this product because it isn't reliable and takes too much time to fix.
Cons:unreliable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rick777
(Indianapolis, IN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Never Has worked

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The worst devise I have ever bought from Dell. I purchased this and an XPS15 at the same time. To get the multiple monitor portion to work you have to uninstall the displaylink software and then reinstall it every time you turn the computer on. Most times it works but 20% of the time that does not even work. It is certainly not a plug and play devise and the Ethernet portion does not work either so you have to plus that directly into your laptop. When you ask tech support they say you must talk to Displaylink, very frustrating.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3