Customer reviews for Dell - Mini-Display Port to VGA Adaptor for Select Dell Inspiron / XPS Laptops

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Dell - Mini-Display Port to VGA Adaptor for Select Dell Inspiron / XPS Laptops

Dell - Mini-Display Port to VGA Adaptor for Select Dell Inspiron / XPS Laptops
4.577 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
4.6
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 22
25 out of 2696%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell - Mini-Display Port to VGA Adaptor for Select Dell Inspiron / XPS Laptops
Review 1 for Dell - Mini-Display Port to VGA Adaptor for Select Dell Inspiron / XPS Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ariel310
Title:

Good product

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this with my new laptop in order to connect it with an external monitor or projector. It worked as it should be. I've been using it for about 2 weeks by now and I didn't find any problem. I like the product so far.
Pros:connecting my laptop to an external monitor
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell - Mini-Display Port to VGA Adaptor for Select Dell Inspiron / XPS Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:msharfman
(purcell ok)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

works as promised

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This simple adapter does exactly what it is supposed to do with no muss or fuss.
Pros:streaming video
+8points
13of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell - Mini-Display Port to VGA Adaptor for Select Dell Inspiron / XPS Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lostnemo
Title:

Got to have

PostedJune 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros: Have to have if you need a VGA port on a XPS 15". Love the Computer but use it with different projects and many do not have a DVI or HDMI. It works as designed with no problems even plug and play. Worth the money.
Cons: extra adapter you have to keep track of plus possibly get damaged when not in use.
Pros:Travel, presentations
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell - Mini-Display Port to VGA Adaptor for Select Dell Inspiron / XPS Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:shankhapurnaadmi
(san francisco)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

necessary item (but why no DVI support?)

PostedMay 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This was a necessary item for me. I have an external monitor and there is no VGA port on the XPS laptop I got. Too bad the thing only does VGA, though, since I have DVI in on my monitor and have to convert it before I can actually use it.
Either way, this is a recommended add to the XPS laptop.
It works great with Ubuntu 12.04 LTS, too.
Pros:business
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell - Mini-Display Port to VGA Adaptor for Select Dell Inspiron / XPS Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Falcon9911
Title:

Does the job

PostedMay 12, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Initially, I was reluctant to purchase a laptop without a VGA out-put port. Then understood the MiniDisplay ports and wouldn't go any other way than the MiniDisplay port. Thought that the adapter I am now reviewing was a bit expensive but the convenience of adding to my order was worth a couple of bucks. Since purchasing, I believe the cost was not so much out of line and actually right there with other third party products. I'm satisfied with the adapter....it does what it is supposed to do. Not really much to review.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell - Mini-Display Port to VGA Adaptor for Select Dell Inspiron / XPS Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jonatdell
Title:

Mini-Display Port to VGA Adaptor for XPS

PostedApril 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
pro: product connected easily and worked as stated on dell.com
con: an extra piece of equipment to remember to pack and carry around.
would suggest this connection adapter be built-in on future design of XPS. It was built-in on the older Inspirons.
Pros:on the job with travel
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell - Mini-Display Port to VGA Adaptor for Select Dell Inspiron / XPS Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jr11
Title:

Works great!

PostedApril 19, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Does exactly what you'd expect it do, and keeps the size of the laptop down. Aesthetically pleasing alongside the XPS13.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell - Mini-Display Port to VGA Adaptor for Select Dell Inspiron / XPS Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Pojito
Title:

Works as describe

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Needed a Mini-Display that works (note the cheap Apple ones do not) for my XPS 15z.
Can now dual screen to desktop monitors.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell - Mini-Display Port to VGA Adaptor for Select Dell Inspiron / XPS Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LtColonel
Title:

Ulltrabook VGA Adapter

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased the XPS13 for a light weight powerhouse to travel with. I have not been disappointed. My work requires that I use a VGA projector and this adaptor has worked flawlessly. Well done.
Pros:business travel
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell - Mini-Display Port to VGA Adaptor for Select Dell Inspiron / XPS Laptops
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hmmphrey
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

wrong cable for Inspiron 14z!

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought a new computer (Inspiron 14z 5423) in summer 2012 that I like very much. One problem - it had no VGA connection for my external big screen monitor. Then I saw this, and it said it worked on Inspirons - great! Except not, because it won't work with MY Inspiron. Sigh. If anyone has thoughts on an adapter which will hook up my Inspiron to a VGA port, I would be much obliged, as I really would prefer not to have to replace a perfectly good monitor, especially since I just wasted money on this incompatible cable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell - Mini-Display Port to VGA Adaptor for Select Dell Inspiron / XPS Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:FASCrat
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Works well

PostedMay 12, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The adapter works well but I wish that I didn't need it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell - Mini-Display Port to VGA Adaptor for Select Dell Inspiron / XPS Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JohnTM
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Monitor simplified

PostedMay 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I wanted to connect my new 14z laptop to my old monitor and a new 23” one, but was concerned it wouldn’t work with the ports on the laptop. I called Dell and on their recommendations purchased this mini DisplayPort which then connects to the old VGA cable. I connected the new monitor to the HDMI port. It was a very simple installation and it all worked as advertised.
Pros:home office, support two monitors
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell - Mini-Display Port to VGA Adaptor for Select Dell Inspiron / XPS Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Chemmom
Title:

It works

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
It's just a cable, so it either works, or it doesn't. In this case, it works fine.
Pros:connects second monitor
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell - Mini-Display Port to VGA Adaptor for Select Dell Inspiron / XPS Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:clickclack
(Auburn, AL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Complete Your Ultrabook

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this adapter with my XPS 12 Convertible Ultrabook. Having a small, lightweight, and powerful computer is great, but you could find yourself borrowing someone else's computer for your presentation at a conference if you don't have this bad boy. Connecting to a projector or external monitor? No problem.
Pros:small, lightweight, high quality output
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell - Mini-Display Port to VGA Adaptor for Select Dell Inspiron / XPS Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ldraley
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Great Attachment

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I use this adapter with my XPS12 to connect to an older Dell 4100MP Projector. We show movies on the outside wall of our house on warm evenings is AZ. It works great.
Pros:small and easy to carry
Cons:none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell - Mini-Display Port to VGA Adaptor for Select Dell Inspiron / XPS Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:schaump
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

works as anticipated

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
this cable simply works. purchased it to connect a new xps 12 with a legacy monitor. functioned perfectly first time we hooked it up
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell - Mini-Display Port to VGA Adaptor for Select Dell Inspiron / XPS Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GaryHolik
Title:

Works Great

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
It does exactly what it is supposed to, and at a reasonable price. It's great to be able to use my XPS with an external monitor.
Pros:home, teach
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell - Mini-Display Port to VGA Adaptor for Select Dell Inspiron / XPS Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sbrown73
Title:

Works Great!

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The VGA adaptor works great with my Inspiron 4z. I am able to use the dual monitor screen function. I have to admit I was very annoyed when I learned after the fact that the laptop did not come with a VGA input. Not sure what's the purpose of not including one except to make make us spend extra money and buy the adaptor :-(
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell - Mini-Display Port to VGA Adaptor for Select Dell Inspiron / XPS Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Happy1234
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Title:

Mini Display

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Works great With my new XPS 17
Pros:at home
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell - Mini-Display Port to VGA Adaptor for Select Dell Inspiron / XPS Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Papu
Title:

Works as Expected

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell XPS 14z does not have a VGA out, and this display adapter is good for connecting to old projectors which have only VGA input
Pros:connecting to dell monitor/projector
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2