Customer reviews for Dell KB212-B USB 104 Quiet Key Keyboard

Dell KB212-B USB 104 Quiet Key Keyboard

Dell KB212-B USB 104 Quiet Key Keyboard
2.879 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
13
2.9
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 32
14 out of 3342%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell KB212-B USB 104 Quiet Key Keyboard
Review 1 for Dell KB212-B USB 104 Quiet Key Keyboard
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jlcropper
(Russellville, KY 42276, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Does not feel good

PostedNovember 18, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
For the past 2 years I have installed new systems at my location which came with these keyboards. Every person that uses them each day has complained about the overall feel of the keyboard and how they struggle to type on them. Most all of them have begged for their old L100 keyboards back.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell KB212-B USB 104 Quiet Key Keyboard
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:masgrande
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

feet are too small

PostedAugust 22, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The feet are too small so it doesn't elevate enough. I had to tape wood blocks under the front of it to elevate it.
Cons:feet too small
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell KB212-B USB 104 Quiet Key Keyboard
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ibnMuhammad
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

bog-standard keyboard, certainly not quiet!

PostedAugust 13, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Using the Dell KB212-B keyboard right now to write this review.
For such a bog-standard keyboard, it's over-priced and nothing special. Comparing this to even a basic chiclet style keyboard or most (decent) laptop keyboards, this is quite noisy and the keys just don't feel nice to type with, especially if you're a fast typist.
Once you've used a real ergonomically designed and top-of-the-range keyboard like Apple's or their MacBook keyboard, everything else feels pretty rubbish to type with and use.
I also don't understand why there are hardly any modern keyboards with a backlight option??
And why a usb keyboard doesn't provide a basic usb hub functionality to attach a usb memory stick to the keyboard?
Pros:back has rubber pads to stop keyboard sliding, light
Cons:noisy not quiet!, too expensive, caps-lock/num-lock lights are too small
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell KB212-B USB 104 Quiet Key Keyboard
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Hesse
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Dell Keyboard KB212-B

PostedMay 12, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Aside from every other keyboard out there on the market? None.
Cons:
(1) Caps lock glow light is not always correct. Sometimes the glow light is off when the caps lock is actually on and Vice Versa. This is not the first Dell keyboard that I have used with this flaw and I would never personally buy any Dell keyboard because this has been a consistent flaw in a number of your keyboards that I have used. Sadly I do not dictate what my company provides us to work with.
(2) Automatic default is for NumLock to be off; this is a frustrating feature. Every morning when I come into the office I have to remember to turn it back on. I've used many different keyboards through work and school and most default NumLock to on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell KB212-B USB 104 Quiet Key Keyboard
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Zuhair
(Abu Dhabi - United Arab Emirates)
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

KEY BOARD DRIVER NEEDED

PostedApril 3, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am Using windows 7, with keyboard kb 212-b. Uses us standard keyboard layout. But unfortunately. some keys shown in the keyboard, not showing in the document. Example, (1) ? is coming like _, (2) ( is coming like * etc...
How i will get correct driver for the keyboad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell KB212-B USB 104 Quiet Key Keyboard
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CustomerLoyaltyStrained
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Keyboard Not Ergonomically Correct or Durable

PostedMarch 30, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This keyboard will work, but it has several serious problems that make it both irritating and of medium quality regarding durability.
The keyboard spacing is wrong (too far) for right-hand, for touch typing. I have been a touch typist for over 35 years, 97+wpm, 100% accuracy. This is the first keyboard I've ever used (and I've used them all from old Remington typewriters to membrane) where I have to constantly look at the thing to make sure I'm hitting the '=' or the '\' or any other key to the right and up from the right hand.
Cons:key spacing is wrong for right hand, silkscreen of letters wears off/fades quickly, the 'feel' bumps under the index fingers wear down
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell KB212-B USB 104 Quiet Key Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TypingShark
(Winnipeg, MB, Canada)
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Absolute Brilliant Design

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
All I can say is Wow.
Beautiful engineering, excellent design, this keyboard was built for speed.
It's ergonomic design is comfortable on my finger tips and ideal for long typing sessions.
I particularly appreciate the rubberized tips on the rear lift mounts. It eliminates the annoying sliding motion common in most competitor's products.
An A+ in my books and excellent value for the money.
Ain't nobody got time to shop around, and why would you when Dell sells quality products like this.
Pros:design, typing speed, ergonomics
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell KB212-B USB 104 Quiet Key Keyboard
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Claudiu
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Bad keyboard

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
My keyboard dosen`t work numeric taste , i cannot type numbers and symbols from 1 to 0 .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell KB212-B USB 104 Quiet Key Keyboard
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:15YrDellCustomer
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Drops about 20% of key presses

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dell keyboards have always been poor quality compared to IBM or Northgate, but with this keyboard Dell sinks to a new low. This model drops 20% or more of the keypresses. For the faster typists in the office, they have an even worse experience.
Cons:drops key pesses
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell KB212-B USB 104 Quiet Key Keyboard
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dOfManyTrades
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Touchy, need precise and firm key press

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I cannot recommend this keyboard. I have used over 10+ Dell keyboards. Start getting problem after 1 month. This is the first keyboard model that I have to press keys firmly and precisely all the way down to get the key to be recognized. Other keyboards just require keys to be pressed half way down to be recognized. My problem with having to press the key firmly and precisely all the way down have been reported by other reviewers. Keys will get ignored if not pressed firmly all the way down. Very tiring to type and easy to make typing errors.
Pros:software development
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell KB212-B USB 104 Quiet Key Keyboard
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:VilleFinland
(Jyväsklä, Finland)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Faulty products

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
My University uses a wide range of Dell products and in the library we have eight identical systems, about one year old, with this particular keyboard. I got so annoyed with these keyboards missing out keys (several people reported the same issue on Dell.com) that I actually checked the other systems: Only 1 out of 8 (!!!) works properly!
We have Dell systems at the libary that are ancient, with keyboards already missing the letter prints from usage - these are still working fine.
Pros:university
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell KB212-B USB 104 Quiet Key Keyboard
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Beema
(Rockford, IL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Quiet Key Keyboard

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Using with home computer. No complaints from family on noise level and our computer is in our TV Room.
Pros:at home
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell KB212-B USB 104 Quiet Key Keyboard
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:elbee
Title:

Doesn't stay quiet

PostedDecember 10, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This keyboards started out really quiet - we have some really loud typers in an open environment. We had about a month of quiet with these keyboards but it seems the quiet has worn off and it's just as loud as it was before in our office.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell KB212-B USB 104 Quiet Key Keyboard
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TechComm
(Pennsylvania)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Keyboard to go with laptop at work

PostedNovember 30, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Love the feel and action of the keys, and have no issues with the size of the keyboard.
BUT, the legs allow a tilt of only about 1/8-1/4 inch. I created a couple of leg supports out of tape for them so that my tilt is now about 1/2-3/4 of an inch. The difference is amazing and the result is much sturdier than when I placed a book under the back half of the keyboard. It really seems like Dell went the cheap route on this one.
Pros:technical documentation
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell KB212-B USB 104 Quiet Key Keyboard
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
Title:

not good!

PostedNovember 7, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I find this keyboard noisy and the keys often don't result in anything being typed. I am surprised at the number of very positive reviews for it, personally I have never writen a review before, but the performance of this keyboard has driven me to new lengths! I am shopping for a new one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell KB212-B USB 104 Quiet Key Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AJM11
Title:

Reivew Of KB212-B Keyboard

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Best keyboard I've ever had. Excellent touch, soft and quiet, with low-profile keys that allow fast input. As one who does thousands of keystrokes every day, I constantly try new keyboards. My search has ended with the KB212-B.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell KB212-B USB 104 Quiet Key Keyboard
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ITGuy1520
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Very disapointed, please bring the good stuff back

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
As a network admin for many years I've been fighting for good quality keyboards, mice and monitors. At the end of the day that's what corporate users use most of the day (who cares what processor you have while typing e-mail). And Dell has delivered on all of those. Until now. The new line of keyboards and mice are just substandard in my opinion. For lack of a better word these are "fluffy". You can't really feel that a key or a button has been pressed. The previous keyboard SK-8115 I believe is the part #, is in the totally different class. Too bad. I've been asking our Dell rep to get me those but they don't offer them any more. They do offer similar product with multimedia keys but.... At least Dell's monitors are still good. Sorry Dell but this just bugs me. I don't believe that savings of a few cents on production costs and materials are worth customer's frustration. Please bring the quality back !!!
Pros:hundreds of pcs corporate setting, office shop floor pcs workstations
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell KB212-B USB 104 Quiet Key Keyboard
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Schur
Title:

Stand or Leg

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Everytime I put the legs up and start normally typing the legs fall down. The legs are not placed or designed well and it's frustrating to type.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell KB212-B USB 104 Quiet Key Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CurtisJ
Title:

Extreme quiet for the dollar!

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
After just transitioning from a clunky keyboard, and the chiclet style.. I was looking for a basic keyboard without all the bells and whistles. After using the KB-212 at the office I was hooked!! Everyone else seemed to make lots of noise typing away with larger keys, but this one could not be heard! Great traditional layout. I love the height of the keys, and every keystroke is silent! This product won me over so much. I bought two (in case this one breaks)
Pros:at work, moderate gaming, at home
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell KB212-B USB 104 Quiet Key Keyboard
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EmilStar
Title:

very poor keypress response

PostedJuly 5, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got this keyboard bundled with a new computer.
Frequently when typing, although it feels like a key triggers no letter occurs on the screen. It's a shame that such a nice looking keyboard is so poor quality. Now I have to buy a new one.
Please refrain from buying this keyboard.
Pros:software development, office work
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2