Customer reviews for Dell - Audio Station for Dell Inspiron 1090 (DUO) Laptop

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Dell - Audio Station for Dell Inspiron 1090 (DUO) Laptop

Dell - Audio Station for Dell Inspiron 1090 (DUO) Laptop
4.091 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
4.1
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 55
50 out of 5591%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell - Audio Station for Dell Inspiron 1090 (DUO) Laptop
Review 1 for Dell - Audio Station for Dell Inspiron 1090 (DUO) Laptop
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:enray501
Title:

Ethernet Connection drops out

PostedAugust 7, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased three of these to image duos for math classes. The audio quality is without a dought amazing, something to expect from JBL. The USB ports and the power adapter make this thing very convenient and streamline the use of your duo, but don't plan on counting on the ethernet adapter. It goes out whenever it wants to and may come back in fifteen mins, it may come back in a month. I can't find any information on the web about what to do with this problem and since they quit making the duo I doubt anything will be done to fix it. But other than that an awesome product.
Im giving it a 2 because the only reason we purchased them was for the ethernet port and they failed to serve their purpose.
Pros:playing music, using network resources... when it will let me
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell - Audio Station for Dell Inspiron 1090 (DUO) Laptop
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cycosarge
Title:

Great addition to the Duo!

PostedMay 10, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is great! I have had my Dell Duo for a while now, but now that I have the base, it makes everything so much simpler and easier. Everything hooks into the base like a keyboard and mouse and has a place for an SD card. The speakers work exceptionally well and when you want to travel, you don't have to unhook anything, just grab it and go.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell - Audio Station for Dell Inspiron 1090 (DUO) Laptop
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KCee
(Mobile Alabama)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

A Perfect Must Have Accessory

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The product Duo Audio Station is the perfect accessory for Inspiron. It give a place to charge our Duos and acts as a stand while watching movies. It has great JBL speakers which have great stereo sound quality. It has extra UBS ports for hooking up other accessories. It sports a SD card slot which should have been on Duo itself. My family owns 2 Dell Duos and 2 Audio Stations we could not live without. Thanks Dell !!
Pros:at home watching movies, to access google docs for my business, listening to music, video conferencing for my business
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell - Audio Station for Dell Inspiron 1090 (DUO) Laptop
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Philster
Title:

It's excellent! Except...

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros: The JBL speakers are great, nice sound quality, even at a relatively high volume. The Inspiron Duo fits in snugly and all the ports are instantly available. It's space-saving as well, fits at the back of my desk at work just like it was made to be there.
Cons: Only one in my opinion. I'd just like to see the usb ports on the sides rather than the back. I use the Duo ports for the wireless mouse and tethering. So it makes it necessary to keep it further from the wall, having to reach over the Duo (Or turn it around) to plug in and remove thumb drives, which, as a tech I use extensively.
Pros:in tablet mode for tech support, tethering during commute/support, watching movies in commute
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell - Audio Station for Dell Inspiron 1090 (DUO) Laptop
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lerofon
Title:

Good sound

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this audio station to improve my Duo Convertible sound quality. It definitively worked. I enjoy the movies and songs much more. It really does what they advertised.
Pros: improves the quality of sound. It small and stylish.
Cons: None so far.
Pros:entertainment, college, work
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell - Audio Station for Dell Inspiron 1090 (DUO) Laptop
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NDBulldog
Title:

It does what it says it will do

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The product does what it says it will do. I like it as I use an external keyboard and mouse and it keeps it charged and at a level that is usable.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell - Audio Station for Dell Inspiron 1090 (DUO) Laptop
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:OldDriver
(Home)
Title:

Perfect Addison

PostedSeptember 25, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Dell JBL dock for the Inspiron Duo is the perfect add on for the duo. The sound is a marked upgrade for what's on the duo itself. Dock makes viewing movies really good. The addisonal usb,card slot and hard line connection round out the duo nicely. The only thing I would have like to have seen is a vga/digital out to external connection. But it maybe that the duo just isn't quite beefy enough to handle that. With the dock my Duo now is almost good enogh to replace my 15" Dell Inspiron that I use on the road and makes the near perfect back up for it if it were to have a problem. If you are buying the Duo get the dock. I don't think you'd be sorry you did.
Pros:travel streaming movies alarm clock
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell - Audio Station for Dell Inspiron 1090 (DUO) Laptop
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DaleKH
(London Ontario Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good value

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The product works as advertised. The sound quality is much better than the PC speakers. The audio station is the perfect accessory for traveling with the Dell Duo..
The only criticism is that the power adapter is not interchangeable with the power adapter for the laptop. To simplify travel one power adapter would have been a nice touch.
Pros:Travel, training
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell - Audio Station for Dell Inspiron 1090 (DUO) Laptop
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Timmc2010
(Anchorage, Alaska)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Nice Combination

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this dock to sit on my desk at work, it works very well with the Duo and the sound is awesome compared to the internal speakers on the Duo. Highly recommend this dock.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell - Audio Station for Dell Inspiron 1090 (DUO) Laptop
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MyLastDell00
Title:

Save your money...

PostedJuly 18, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this unit along with the Duo laptop. First let me say the system build looks good. However that's where the good ends for me. I got a bad unit from the start. Attached the Duo and got static/noise in the audio. Volume control worked, just more noise. Updated all drivers, ran system check on Duo, still noisy. Conclusion- Bad Dock/and/or Bad Duo. I guess if you get a good unit then all is well. I returned the unit after determining it was defective and was told that there was a 15% restocking fee that I would be charged. Needless to say I won't be buying any more Dell systems.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell - Audio Station for Dell Inspiron 1090 (DUO) Laptop
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:iversonmatthew
(Rosemount, MN)
Title:

I like the duo but hate the dock

PostedJune 26, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
The dock isn't very loud and mine freezes up constantly. Finding help for it is a joke. I don't recomend the dock unless you like to throw money away.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell - Audio Station for Dell Inspiron 1090 (DUO) Laptop
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:miker2150
(texas)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

works as advertised

PostedJune 22, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
great sound, perfect for the duo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell - Audio Station for Dell Inspiron 1090 (DUO) Laptop
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JWyatt1
(Fort Myers, Fl)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

JBL Audio Station rocks

PostedJune 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Perfect for small spaces and also for those who can't stand looking at wires across a room to charge your device.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell - Audio Station for Dell Inspiron 1090 (DUO) Laptop
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ddproxy
(Oklahoma)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Awesome device

PostedMay 25, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Perfectly compliments the tablet, much better sound than stock, easy to use and good viewing for what I use it for.
Pros:music station, watch online video
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell - Audio Station for Dell Inspiron 1090 (DUO) Laptop
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TTodd
(Austin, TX)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedMay 5, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great product!! Works as advertised!!
Pros:Travel
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell - Audio Station for Dell Inspiron 1090 (DUO) Laptop
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:no16smomd
(Ripley, OH)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Add On

PostedMay 4, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I absolutely love the audio station. It allows me to watch movies or listen to music with the best quality. I don't know what I would do without it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell - Audio Station for Dell Inspiron 1090 (DUO) Laptop
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Arts08
Title:

Krispy-Klear sound

PostedApril 28, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Received everything a day earlier than initially expected which ia ALWAYS nice. The sounds and versatility of the Audio Station surpassed my expectations. Leaving the Inspiron Duo(tablet mode) on the audio station with it's clear HD screen is awesome for watching online TV/movies.
Pros:Travel, streaming video, video chat
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell - Audio Station for Dell Inspiron 1090 (DUO) Laptop
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BRC123
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Definitely buy with the Dell Inspiron Duo!

PostedApril 21, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was happy that I bought the JBL speakers to go along with my duo. The duo has decent speakers on it but when I want to listen to music or watch a video, I love having the speakers! Definitely worth the money! (plus it lets you plug in an Ethernet cable into it and that has come in handy for me) A great buy!
Pros:watching movies, listening to music
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell - Audio Station for Dell Inspiron 1090 (DUO) Laptop
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:4Nanner4
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Title:

What we were looking for, but could be better

PostedApril 21, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is the only docking station available for the Inspiron Duo, so we didn't have any other options. That being the said, it does what it advertises - charges, plays w/ good sound quality and has external ports. As for the rest - the design is a little lacking. When plugged in, the unit has to sit pretty far out from the wall because the plug-in isn't flush with the back. It would also have been nice for the charger to double as a charger for the Inspiron Duo when it is in netbook mode. Otherwise we are happy with the product. We love our Duo, and this compliments it well enough.
Pros:home use, music
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell - Audio Station for Dell Inspiron 1090 (DUO) Laptop
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mrflinner
Title:

Dock for Duo

PostedApril 20, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great addition for the price! Makes everything easier--expands the capabilities of this souped up netbook. Love the sound quality and the ease of docking. Wish it had a vga or better yet dvi or hdmi, but that's just gravy. Love the dock apps too. Would recommend getting with your duo.
Pros:personal
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3