Customer reviews for Dell 90-Watt Auto-Air DC Adapter for Select Dell Systems

Dell 90-Watt Auto-Air DC Adapter for Select Dell Systems

Dell 90-Watt Auto-Air DC Adapter for Select Dell Systems
3.767 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
3.8
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 24
23 out of 3077%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell 90-Watt Auto-Air DC Adapter for Select Dell Systems
Review 1 for Dell 90-Watt Auto-Air DC Adapter for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BigTem
(Highland Lakes Area, Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

This product works like it is supposed to work.

PostedJune 25, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This DC power source was great helping entertain our granddaughters on a long trip with DVD/BluRay movies. It was a must have, along with a new battery.
Pros:compact convenient
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell 90-Watt Auto-Air DC Adapter for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Curtbrash
(Napa, Ca.)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Cap will break off in normal use.

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this a couple of years ago and shortly thereafter the cap started coming off. At first I could just snap it back on. Then I would reinforce it with clear tape.
This week, we took a road trip and wanted to use our Dell Laptop in the car. I was not able to keep the cap on long enough to use our laptop.
I tried unsuccessfully to locate the manufacturer "Computer Solution Tech" to see about replacement parts, but they are just a distributor reseller. Buyer Beware!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell 90-Watt Auto-Air DC Adapter for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:trout211
(Idaho, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

IT WILL BREAK - Still a great adapter with simple fix

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I doubted the reviews before ordering but it was only a matter of time and the tip broke off. I called Dell as it was within the 1 year warranty and imagine my surprise that the "accidental damage" was my fault and not within the manufactures warranty. I contacted the Better Business Bureau with a formal complaint and Dell was eager to send a replacement adapter.
The adaper works great and if you spend much time on the road is a must have. Dell just needs to make a better product. My 2012 truck doesn't even have a cigerette lighter, it is a POWER ADAPTER meant to plug devices into. There are millions of aftermarket devices designed to plug into these receptacles that do not break with normal use.
Read jbrosecity's reveiw. Seems like a simple work around to plug the Dell adapter into a quality adapter and not worry about breakage. Too bad Dell doesn't just use a quality plug.....
Pros:great for vehicle use
Cons:it will break
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell 90-Watt Auto-Air DC Adapter for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JohnG3
(Orlando, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Flawed Design

PostedNovember 23, 2012
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
A very simple and compact 90-W adapter not requiring a "brick" in the cord. Over the course of a year I purchased ten of these for my company.
But there is a problem. Rather than a solid casing, the tip on the 12-V end is a separate plastic piece that is easily broken away from the body, and cannot be reassembled. The tip broke off the first of these just one month after purchase. At this point now the tips have broken off nine of the ten. The tip on the tenth one melted and is also unusable.
And I'm not alone. One third of the reviews here so far mention the same problem. My guess is the other reviews were written before their tips broke off.
Pros:business
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell 90-Watt Auto-Air DC Adapter for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jbrosecity
Title:

solution for breaking tip?

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just bought it so the jury is still out as to durability, but it certainly seems work right... I plugged it into my car adapter outlet and then into my new Vostro laptop and presto, it goes from battery to charging. That is of course what I was after. But after reading all the comment about how the tip is garabage and breaks up, I decided to purchase an inexpensive little extension from the auto parts store. see "12 Volt Single to Double Receptacle" on amazon and keep the dell plugged into that and use that to plug and unplug from the car.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell 90-Watt Auto-Air DC Adapter for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tgRealTime
(Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

tip broken

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good size, weight, and length of cord. Problem was after only 3 (albeit long trip) uses, the tip broke off. I read through other comments about this product, and it seems that I will need to purchase some super glue, which is disappointing after spending $100.
Pros:Travel
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell 90-Watt Auto-Air DC Adapter for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:birdman85
Title:

Broken Tip

PostedAugust 1, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had this adapter for 7 months. Only removed it from my truck a handful of times. Tip broke off inside power outlet. Dell says accidental breakage is not covered.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell 90-Watt Auto-Air DC Adapter for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ronc994
(Alliston ON)
Title:

not worth it

PostedJuly 14, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Blows a fuse every time I use it. I read others that had no problem, but mine will not last 2 seconds.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell 90-Watt Auto-Air DC Adapter for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Stefansdad
(Yorktown Virginia)
Title:

Finally got the ability to be more mobile

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had my 17in Inspiron laptop for a couple of years and my battery got a memory and wouldn't hold a good charge. I needed to have my computer with me at my customers homes and decided it was time to get the mobile ability to charge on the go. Very Happy with the entire set-up.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell 90-Watt Auto-Air DC Adapter for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BusynNH
(Manchester, NH)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Just what I needed

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Basic Adapter for use in my car or in air. Haven't used it for any length of time yet, so I don't know how long this will stand up, but I'm a fan so far.
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell 90-Watt Auto-Air DC Adapter for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Snooze101
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Broken End

PostedDecember 12, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
They last about 3months with everyday use, then the end breaks off and if not carfull can short out the outlet. I had my first one replaced, then the second one I fished the peices out of the outlet and super glued the end back to plug. Will see how long it last with this repair.
Pros:Travel
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell 90-Watt Auto-Air DC Adapter for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CemeteryLady

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Does exactly what I wanted.
Pros:in the car
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell 90-Watt Auto-Air DC Adapter for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KimStew
(Kalamazoo, MI)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Got it fast, works super good!

PostedNovember 3, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Received the 90 Watt Auto-Air DC Adapter with in 2 days of ordering and it works super great. No electric connection problems like typically experience with some cell phone adapters. Great product to get power on the go!
Pros:travel and off-site work
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell 90-Watt Auto-Air DC Adapter for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tlw302
Title:

poor engineering/assembly

PostedOctober 27, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have purchased 2 of these in the last 6 months. The 1st one came apart after less than 6 months, the 2nd one lasted less than 30 days. The tip of the cigarette lighter adapter comes off while un plugging and blows the fuse to the outlet when the now loose metal tip shorts it out. Save your money and purchase somewhere else.
Pros:travel/auto
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell 90-Watt Auto-Air DC Adapter for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CPCP
Title:

Tip Broke off

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great product. But, the adapter is such a tight fit in the power outlet that pulling it out is difficult. You have to pull it straight out. If you dont the tip will break off and it did.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell 90-Watt Auto-Air DC Adapter for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Hydrox
Title:

Great but...

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great little adapter since it doesn't have a brick to worry about but the end cap on the adapter is not all that great and has pulled off the end and lodged in my power port. It's plastic so no damage to my vehicle but I am having to exchange it.
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell 90-Watt Auto-Air DC Adapter for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Fungus
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

90-Watt Auto-Air DC Adapter for Dell Laptops

PostedJuly 3, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Awesome product !
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell 90-Watt Auto-Air DC Adapter for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SJean
Title:

travel accessorie

PostedJune 10, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
the car adaptor works great, the mini mouse is 'ok' Works best on a flat surface which isn't easy in a car. small mouse that is lost in the larger hand.
Pros:Travel
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell 90-Watt Auto-Air DC Adapter for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AlwaysDell
(US)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedJune 8, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I ordered this because the battery in my laptop seems to get low very quickly. I simply plug the device into my car lighter and I am able to work outside of the office. My husband works as a consultant and asked me to order one for him.
+1point
7of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell 90-Watt Auto-Air DC Adapter for Select Dell Systems
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jarhead6870
(texas)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

90-Watt Auto-Air DC Adapter for Select Dell Inspir

PostedJune 8, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
it does just as it says it does
Pros:in my car to power my inspiron 17.3
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2