Customer reviews for Alienware TactX Keyboard

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Alienware TactX Keyboard

Alienware TactX Keyboard
4.381 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 126 reviews
5 Stars
88
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
5
1 Star
9
4.4
 / 
5
(126 reviews) 122
110 out of 12687%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Review 1 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Motosie
(Colorado USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent Gaming Keyboard

PostedDecember 8, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
Customizable Color in 2 zones(Key, Media Keys)
Programmable Macro Buttons(3 settings)
Quiet Keys
Windows Key Lock(An actual Switch that lights up)
Chord Tracks under Keyboard
Excellent software for Lighting
W,A,S,D keys marked
...I really like this keyboard, its very well designed for gaming. Past keyboards were extra wide w/ macro buttons which made it hard to place comfortably on a desk or in a keyboard tray. The keys have a quiet ambiance about them but still manage to deliver a satisfying press. The keys feels solid like I could pound them in intense gaming. Also to be noted that this keyboard accepts multiple keys pressed at same time up to 7 Keys. The software is very good, I can create custom lighting and change them very quickly via system tray icon. Windows lock key is excellent for gaming, noted on this windows key lock, it has a physical switch and an LED light up.
Cons
Plugs into 2 USB inputs.(Lighted Support)
Flimsy support under Media Keys
...Buyer to be aware, this keyboard uses 2 USB inputs. I really think Alienware should have told the consumer about this, its not a problem for me but may be a problem for others. Although this keyboard is not made of cheap plastic, there seems to be no support underneath the media keys. Every key on this keyboard feels very solid but the media key are supported by the frame of they keyboard, resulting in a very minor flex in the media keys use.
Other Thoughts
...With this keyboard using 2 USB inputs, I would have really like to see USB inputs built into the keyboard. I request a dimmer switch for LED keys, for movies etc. Alienware symbol looks sweet. Character map on keys looks sweet.
Previous Keyboards: Saitek Eclipse I & II, Logitech G15, G19.
+69points
70of 71voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:psiguy
(lenexa, ks)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

very nice gaming keyboard

PostedFebruary 16, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
let me start off by saying that i replaced my old logitech g15 gaming keyboard with this one and have been quite happy with the purchase.
the things i like about this keyboard include the solid build contruction (very sturdy, keystrokes feel firm and responsive), the quality lighting (i game in the dark), the ease of using all the features (from the alienfx program that allows you to change the color of the keyboard lighting, to the macro keys when i play world of warcraft), the excellent position of the media player buttons at the top, and of course, how nice it looks with the rest of my alienware system.
i only have two minor things i do not care for with this keyboard. these two things are the reason i did not give this keyboard 5 stars (like i normally do for all alienware products). first, i do not know what kind of coating they put on the keys, but it not only shows all of your fingerprints, but it seems to want to absorb/store the grease off the tips of your fingers. the weird thing is that i never eat when i use my computer. i even tried washing my hands before using my computer and natural grease from my hands still finds it's way onto the keys of this keyboard. i have been cleaning the keys off almost daily with a damp paper towel just to be able to stand looking at it. i might be too picky, but i noticed this never happened with my old logitech g15 keyboard. as for my second issue, i did not like seeing the need to use two usb ports to connect this keyboard. it's not that i didn't have them to spare, but others might not. just something to keep in mind when considering purchasing this keyboard.
in conclusion, this is a very nice keyboard with few to no drawbacks, and would make a nice addition to anyone's gaming pc.
Pros:Gaming, music
+40points
43of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Synapse
(Chicago)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Alienware Keyboard - gaming use

PostedApril 15, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Since I love the Alienware line, I of course had to purchase the keyboard.
First off, it's a good thing to know, as stated by another reviewer, that 2 USB's are used for this keyboard. Now days, it doesn't seem to affect too many machines since they have a ton of USB ports anyway.
The feel and use of this keyboard is just awesome. I've used keyboards for gaming including the G11, Saitek Cyborg, Z-Board, Saitek (2nd edition), Microsoft Elite Gaming. I am one that doesn't like the raised keys much. I was debating between the Razor Lycosa and the Alienware TactX.
I was able to open a box at Best Buy and feel the keys and the movement of the Razor. I was pretty close to getting it, when I read another review of the keyboard stating that the covering that is on the keys wears off and then falls in-between the keys and then some stop responding.
The keys on the Alienware are not quite as raised as the G11 or other gaming keyboards, and the feel is a non-slip sort of feel- minus the peeling of the material on them.
What's cool (bling wise) is the lighting and the Alienware hieroglyphs on some of the keys. It gives the feeling of having alien technology.
All in all, I would have to say that I am more than pleased and satisfied with my purchase.
Pros:gaming - fps, daily use
+27points
27of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CHurlburt
Title:

Top notch accessory

PostedNovember 10, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
1. It is actually cheaper to order this from Dell than it is to buy it on Ebay by at least $50. So, congratulations to Dell for getting the pricing right.
2. The lighting is, as always, fantastic. Love it. Good design, good, consistent LED lights, and a nice choice of colors.
3. The key travel is very nice--steep compared to other keyboards. It reminds me of the old IBM keyboards from the mid-80's. Nice response, nice spring action, and an above average throw distance. For $100, you can't beat it.
Cons:
1. It takes 2 USB ports (1 for the keyboard, 1 for the lighting), but if you are connecting to a computer made in the past five years that shouldn't be a problem.
2. The extendable feet on the bottom of the keyboard are short--really short. I would like it more if I could elevate the keyboard a little higher.
All in all, though, a quality product, and a great value for $100. Highly recommended.
Pros:document generation
+29points
30of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Guyoutput
(Plantagenet, Ontario, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Alienware TactX Keyboard Video Review

PostedSeptember 24, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great keyboard, highly recommended.
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kulahan
Title:

Requires an Alienware Computer

PostedJune 22, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
First, I'll start with the Pros.
This keyboard looks very nice, and the keys are exceptionally comfortable to type on. They're not particularly loud, and they're very smooth to press down, though there's a definitive, satisfying click that you feel with each key-press. I do like this keyboard quite a bit. Had it worked, I would have -loved- this. The ability to write entire scripts is easy to do and is handled well by the Alienware Keyboard CI program exceptionally well.
Now the cons.
When I received this product, I unboxed it, plugged it in, and began using it immediately. I installed the software that came with it, which allowed me to handle scripts and such. Unfortunately, the software had no support for changing the colors on the keyboard. Apparently you need a program called "Command Center" for that. I went to Dell.com to download the program, and discovered something very frustrating - the program ONLY works if you own an Alienware computer. If you don't own one, this product WILL. NOT. WORK.
Then again, why trust me? Maybe I just installed it improperly, or I'm too dumb to find the correct version? I figured that might be possible, so I called Dell Customer Support. After transferring me 4-5 times, they FINALLY got me to someone who could help me. I described my problem to her, and she immediately transferred me to the "Advanced Technical Support" division. I explained my problem to him, as well. His answer? "Well you don't have an Alienware computer, so I dunno. It probably isn't possible, but go download the drivers for the Aurora and try that. If it doesn't work, I guess you might as well return it". Did a tech-support guy just tell me to return his product because he wasn't really sure how to fix it? I am extremely frustrated.
I thought I'd give Dell a try, and I got burned for it, I guess.
In short: If you own an Alienware desktop or Laptop, and want an awesome keyboard, try this - I'm sure their support for you will be better. If you own anything else, you're playing russian roulette if you purchase this keyboard.
Pros:Gaming, software development
+34points
41of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Phaewryn
(Vermont)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Great keyboard for hard pounding internet rants!

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
First off, it should be noted that I am often asked to type quieter at the library. I type HARD. This keyboard has held up to several years of hardcore POUNDING, with only a small spot on the right end of the space bar wearing off the black (which is easily covered with a dab of black nail polish). I have had absolutely NO problems with it ever missing a keystroke, ever, and I definitely do NOT hit it in the center, since my wear obviously is on the right side. I spilled about 5 ounces of green smoothie in it over a year ago, took the keys off, cleaned it out, never a single issue. I recently took it apart again to clean out cat hair and food debris, and had so much alcohol in it that when I tilted it on the side, it poured out the seam on the side... once it dried, it still performed flawlessly! This keyboard has that hard, tactile, loud chunk chunk chunk super-solid click sound when I type, that satisfies my need to take all my aggression out in text when trolling the internet. No complaints at all about this wonderful product that has held up several years of solid abuse. Maybe people who type lighter are having issues, but for people who type "loud", I solidly recommend this keyboard. Also, I have a home-built computer, and the color program works fine with my system, not sure what the guy that says it only works with alienware systems is doing wrong, maybe he neglected to install the software from the cd that comes with the keyboard?
Pros:great tactile feedback, durable and takes a pounding, can be cleaned, media keys work with winamp
Cons:rather bulky
+29points
33of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:odischeese
Title:

lighting

PostedAugust 9, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
pros: 20 different colors lighting fx! nice black rubber finsh on the keys
cons: not a mechanical keyboard like what razor has really wish it was though
Pros:gaming in the dark
+35points
45of 55voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:darthweezy
Title:

Alienware TactX Goes Well With My M18x!

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this keyboard to be able to plug my laptop into my home theatre system and have remote keyboard access via USB. I love Alienware products so it is great to have Alienware quality while playing PC games on my 120" screen!
Pros: Great Alienware design, great response time, love the light-up keys.
Cons: There is a plastic wrist attachment that doesn't like to stay on too much- no big deal though. I would like to have seen more light customization to match the one on my M18x- again, not a big deal.
Pros:home theatre gaming!
+30points
38of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DaveH85304
(Phoenix)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

After looking at all the others, I bought this one

PostedMarch 9, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I wanted this keyboard for the asthetics more than anything else, and this is the only one that had the full spectrum of backlighting.
I find the keyboard a pleasure to type on. The keys feel great, not stiff at all. The input is very responsive. I could comment about the responsiveness of the "Shift" keys in particular. I have found it exceedingly difficult to capitalize characters, but this might just fall back to the ease of keying that I wasn't used to. It has 3 tiers of 6 macro keys with an on-board programming function, although the comprehensive software suite does allow you to edit each keystroke in a macro, so it is perhaps more useful if you want to see your keystrokes, and review them thoroughly. I have also recently found useful the Window Key switch, which disables the Windows flag key. It can be used any time, is a physical switch, not just a button, but is intended for use during games, so one doesn't minimize the game accidentally while using CTRL or ALT key combinations.
The media keys are very stiff, however. They have to be pressed hard to get a response from them, more so than should be necessary. On that note, I find the overall feel of the keyboard to be meaty and healthy, built to take the abuse a gamer would dish out...not that I would abuse this keyboard.
All that being said, I have a quibble with this device. It is engineered to use (2) USB ports. I gather one is for the keyboard, and the other is for the color selection device, but I could be wrong about that. Also, I was disappointed at the color functions available through the software. There are only 2 customizable zones on a full-size desktop keyboard. Alienware packed more keyboard color functions into their laptops, a more compact space. Those have 5 zones, I believe. The only color functions available here are to select the color for a specific event/program. There is no "flash," "pulse," or "morph" functions available for this device. I strongly believe that the keyboard itself could be EASILY divided into 5 zones, plus the media keys, and certainly could have included more color functions. And with regard to color, I found that the White color doesn't quite look true white, as I thought it should.
Also, there are several keyboards in this price-range that include a USB built into the unit. Wouldn't be a bad idea considering that this thing takes 2 USB ports. It's not that big of a deal, but just a thought for development.
But overall, a real pleasure to use, flows nicely, adds a nice touch.
Pros:productivity, Gaming, graphics
+20points
22of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dase
Title:

Great for gaming in a dark room.

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The lighted feature is amazing. The wrist support really helps with fatigue. Great accessory for the gaming setup!
Pros:Gaming
+19points
22of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GHunter
(Aurora, CO)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great gaming keyboard

PostedMay 24, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Excellent keyboard to support MMORPG games or similar experiences. The key function works well and is responsive without ghosting and the layout is functional. I'm not nimble enought o use the additional gaming keys on the left side effectively (yet, but I'm working on it) so I can't really say how well those work, but even just using the basic keys and number pad, I find this to be quite functional. As a regular keyboard, it works fine - I've been using a laptop for so long that it feels a bit...odd? Big? But it is easy to get a feel for and comfortable to use witht he built-in wrist rest. I would like to see it able to stand up a bit higher and increase the angle slightly.
Pros:Gaming, general typing
+18points
20of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NephewOfCain
Title:

Illuminated keyboard

PostedJune 13, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I spent a long time looking for a full sized illuminated keyboard before I found this one. I was looking to replace an older wireless keyboard for my desktop and remembered how much I liked my old Alienware laptop's illuminated keyboard.
This keyboard is essentially the same thing but for a desktop. The keys are slightly rubberize and it has a very hefty and solid feel. The light effects are bright and exactly what I was looking for. It's also, as I said, full sized and not cramped or prone to ghosting. It also has a gaming switch, which is very nice.
Some things to note, however, would be that the keyboard illumination is LED meaning the "white" is slightly blueish, as LEDs tend to be. The illumination is also controlled only by software: there is no button, switch, or key on the keyboard to turn on or off the lights. This is also not a low profile keyboard. The extra function keys on the side took some getting used to, but it is possible to bind them to the keys they are right next to, thus giving your keyboard 2 or 3 "esc" keys.
I've been using the keyboard for a few weeks and it's given me no problems and operated as expected.
Pros:Gaming, everyday typing
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Owendg
Title:

AWESOME

PostedMay 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I think the keyboard is really Awesome. My family get upset when watching TV or a movie at night and i need to have a light on to see the keyboard. now with this one that lights up in almost any color I want I could not ask for more.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CA870621345
(Dallas, TX)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Awesome

PostedOctober 29, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love playing with the lights off. But sometimes i couldn't see the keys if i was playing a game in a dark background(EVE). But this keyboard changed that completely. It's not too bright, it's not too dark, It's just right. Plus i change the light to match my cpu! XD a great buy.
Pros:Gaming
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Garst
(Momence, IL)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Keyboard

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pro:
The keyboard responds great, backlight is good and ideal for low light environments so you can see where keys are, and I love having different color schemes based on which program I'm currently using.
Con:
I wish I could have the default lighting scheme as off so that I do not have to do anything to turn off the backlighting and I wish that the macro keys could function as regualar keys. I would find that more useful than writing macros to get them to function how I want them to.
I love the keyboard and would give it a perfect rating if Dell fixes my two complaints in a software/driver update.
Pros:Gaming, web browsing
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sdfliusdarkspear
(ontario canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

great kayboard

PostedJune 28, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This keyboard is great. it looks cool and the glowing on it is amazing. the keys feel really good and are made of a very smooth plastic, like the plastic on a razer mouse or palm rest on an n52te speedpad.the macro keys are great and the software for them lets me do just about anything i want with them. wether it's opening up and internet page or typing in passwords for me, they'll do just about everything. the automatic color switching that comes with the software is very cool and handy for just showing off. the media controls work just fine and really help when playing and listening to music at the same time. the 2 usb ports required arent too much of a problem as there are usb hubs for things that dont need powered usb 2.0 ports. this keyboard looks great with a Belkin N52TE speedpad and Razer Imperator mouse.
Pros:Gaming, general usage
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Eshjee
(South Carolina, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent keyboard

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Alienware TactX keyboard overall is awesome, very comfortable and the keys respond excellently whether in normal use or gaming. I ordered this keyboard because I wanted a backlit keyboard and my previous lit keyboard, the key faces wore off a bit too fast for my liking.
The media keys are a little difficult to actually press (and respond) correctly and I do wish the lighting was brighter on the keys themselves. Another minor issue is within the Alienware TactX Keyboard CI software itself, the current profile seems to automatically load the first "game" on default, which will make the 6 macro keys on the left often load the incorrect functions you may choose for default usage.
Overall, however, I do love and recommend this excellent keyboard for anyone wishing to compliment their Alienware computer.
Pros:Gaming, typical computer use (home internet etc)
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:storm013
Title:

TactX Keyboard

PostedJune 3, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a 4.5 the backlighting is great, the keys are solid but soft, the only thing that keeps it from being a 5 is that it takes 2 of your USB ports to run.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Danie
(Kansas City MO)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Awesome Keyboard for my Alienware Laptop

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this keyboard after reading other reviews so I can play WoW on my tv using my laptop. This is one great keyboard! Ease of installation, keybindings for all my characters and yes, even just typing. Have no hesitation about buying this! Its a great value and a wonderful quality keyboard.
Pros:world of warcraft
+15points
20of 25voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7