Customer reviews for Alienware TactX Keyboard

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Alienware TactX Keyboard

Alienware TactX Keyboard
4.381 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 126 reviews
5 Stars
88
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
5
1 Star
9
4.4
 / 
5
(126 reviews) 122
110 out of 12687%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Review 1 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mikekro
(Montreal, QC, Canada)
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great keyboard but you are out of luck if you lose the install cd

PostedOctober 8, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I love the keyboard but if you loss the install CD it will be next to impossible to get the software that allows you to setup the macros or change the color of the keyboard.
After numerous searches on the Dell Support site and asking the support forum I have managed to get the driver for the macros but I am still trying to find the software for the color control.
The lack of support has made sure I never buy an alienware computer.
Pros:great keyboard
Cons:horrible support site
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Richard12345
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Alienware TactX Keyboard

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had this keyboard for three years and it still works flawlessly.
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 4, 2013
Hey Richard12345,

Great to hear everything is still working out well for you.

Continue to enjoy! JGB
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pakok17
(Quebec, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

just wow *-*

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
amazing keyboard i have hesitate to change my old logitech g110 but I not regret my purchase it is super comfortable and very beautiful :)
Pros:all :)
Cons:can't change de color by the keyboard like my g110
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Pocatello, ID, USA)
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Works Great!

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This keyboard works great and has never had any problems whatsoever since I bought it in May of 2012. The space bar works great too! In fact, I hit the spacebar in several different spots, it works fine. The thin metal bars under various keys don't do anything, why they are there...
Pros:the keyboard is well made, it's had no problems, i can game in the dark, it's cheap compared to other keyboards
Cons:n/a
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:charles2943
(Virginia)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

alienware keyboard

PostedJune 22, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
great product , great for halo and iracing... and everyday computing.. never had a problem with it, and its about 3 years old never skips a beat.. would buy again if this one ever wears out..
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Phaewryn
(Vermont)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Great keyboard for hard pounding internet rants!

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
First off, it should be noted that I am often asked to type quieter at the library. I type HARD. This keyboard has held up to several years of hardcore POUNDING, with only a small spot on the right end of the space bar wearing off the black (which is easily covered with a dab of black nail polish). I have had absolutely NO problems with it ever missing a keystroke, ever, and I definitely do NOT hit it in the center, since my wear obviously is on the right side. I spilled about 5 ounces of green smoothie in it over a year ago, took the keys off, cleaned it out, never a single issue. I recently took it apart again to clean out cat hair and food debris, and had so much alcohol in it that when I tilted it on the side, it poured out the seam on the side... once it dried, it still performed flawlessly! This keyboard has that hard, tactile, loud chunk chunk chunk super-solid click sound when I type, that satisfies my need to take all my aggression out in text when trolling the internet. No complaints at all about this wonderful product that has held up several years of solid abuse. Maybe people who type lighter are having issues, but for people who type "loud", I solidly recommend this keyboard. Also, I have a home-built computer, and the color program works fine with my system, not sure what the guy that says it only works with alienware systems is doing wrong, maybe he neglected to install the software from the cd that comes with the keyboard?
Pros:great tactile feedback, durable and takes a pounding, can be cleaned, media keys work with winamp
Cons:rather bulky
+29points
33of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:danbalthaser
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

The best worst keyboard ever!

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This keyboard was amazing in every way except for one minor (and by that I mean major) flaw. You have the hit the center of the space bar. If you hit below the center (even if you fully press it in as hard as you can) it won't register that you hit space. That happens to be where my thumb naturally fell so I had a terrible time trying to hit the key. After about a week or two I adapted but it still wasn't nearly as satisfying as the Razor Blackwidow that I was trying to replace so I returned it and ordered that instead.
Pros:more features that you could ask for
Cons:the space bar is useless for me
-24points
10of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:coldnate
Title:

Great functionality, okay feel.

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
This keyboard is next to perfect. It looks gorgeous, and I love the AlienFX capabilities. I often change the colors and change my desktop backgrounds to match. The keys feel good - not too tall, not too stiff, kind of a soft feel as you push them. It works well with my 100+wpm typing speed, and the crisp, sharp edges of the keys make them easy to find by touch while gaming. Also, the windows-button-disable-switch is AMAZING, and I wish I had it when I was gaming competitively.
The only real problem that I have with this keyboard is how the buttons sound. They were very squeaky out of the box, and are still pretty embarrassingly loud. I've had it for a couple of weeks now, and can only hope the squeaks go away over time. This is the sole reason I didn't give this keyboard 5/5.
Pros:Gaming, everyday use
+4points
12of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Cryobolt
Title:

Tactx Keyboard

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The keyboard works very well. If I remember correctly, it is just a remodeled Logitech keyboard with the Alienware touch. One thing to note is that it isn't a traditional mechanical keyboard.
Pros:Gaming, daily use
+17points
34of 51voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sagittariun
(Barstow, CA)
Title:

Waste of money

PostedDecember 13, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was the biggest waste of money for a gaming keyboard ever. You practically have to beat the space bar to get it to register. It was so bad I called and received a replacement only to find it was the same. Don't waste your money for the pretty colors. If you want a good gaming keyboard, get a Logitech.
Pros:Gaming
-33points
59of 151voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MisleadBuyer
(AdRaGoN1@)
Title:

two-zone lighting

PostedDecember 5, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Nice looking keyboard, I like the feel, and is quiet
Cons: the two-zone lighting will not work unless you have a Alienware system, and this was not made clear in the ad
The one default color looks good, but as with other back lit keyboards, the backlighting shows under the gaps under the keys, this a bit annoying as that light is so much brighter than the keys themselves as it almost drowns out the keys in dim lighting
A better guide geared at real beginners that have never worked with macros or scripts before, after all beginners are getting this keyboard for that edge
The two-zone lighting was the main reason I bought it, and to find I can't use that feature. Really! Dell has to lock out what I would call the main selling feature the one thing that made it different from all the rest just because I didn't buy my desk top system from them.
Why not build a keyboard with the light system that you could use with non Dell computers? There be a lot of people buying one, I would have(and thought I had)
It does light up and I can live with the blue color lighting, but I did want the options to change colors and intensity
Pros:gen home use games surfing
-2points
50of 102voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Not working!!!

PostedNovember 19, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the KG900 Alienware keyboard on 12/08/2011. The keyboard stopped working after 6 months of light use. Not even a scratch on it yet, and the thing will only light up....
+9points
53of 97voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Araiza818
Title:

Alienware TactX Keyboard NOT like Alienware laptop

PostedOctober 27, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased an Alienware M14X Laptop and fell in love with the keyboard. I wanted the same experience with my desktop, so I went ahead and purchased this one. IT'S NOT THE SAME FEEL. The buttons are tinier, key presses are loud and clunky, and the keys are a lot closer together. It's pretty much just a regular keyboard that lights up with a few programmable buttons. It's super massive, taking up a lot of desk space. Not worth anything over $50. The keyboard doesn't support the multi-color setup like the laptops do either. You can set up the media control area of the keyboard into 1 solid color of your choice and the standard key area into the same or a different color, but the same color across. You don't get the rubber feel across the entire keyboard either. I would've wanted this specifically around the palm rest area. Cool keyboard if you're like 12 or this is your first keyboard. NOT the quality keyboard you would expect for $80+.
Pros:software development/coding, gaming (rpg rts and fps), school work (essays note taking)
+19points
53of 87voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mariakathy
(northern va)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

cords dont like em

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
If I was a gamer I thin I would appreciate it more however Im very ocd about how neat and nice my desk is and with the mous and keyboard it was tons of clutter im sure for whats its built for its very good. owner alienware x51 and m14x
Pros:dont returned
-143points
16of 175voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MominImran
Title:

Awesome!!!!

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This Is The Best Keyboard On Planet Earth. This Is Even Better Than Razer BlackWidow Ultimate :D!!!!
Pros:Gaming, development, surfing the web
+26points
73of 120voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tehROD
Title:

Needs Work

PostedAugust 21, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
If alienware is going to be overpriced they need to compete with razor products. If only the alienware keyboard was machanical and had something more than lightup effects :/
Pros:Gaming
+11points
39of 67voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:odischeese
Title:

lighting

PostedAugust 9, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
pros: 20 different colors lighting fx! nice black rubber finsh on the keys
cons: not a mechanical keyboard like what razor has really wish it was though
Pros:gaming in the dark
+35points
45of 55voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:darthweezy
Title:

Alienware TactX Goes Well With My M18x!

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this keyboard to be able to plug my laptop into my home theatre system and have remote keyboard access via USB. I love Alienware products so it is great to have Alienware quality while playing PC games on my 120" screen!
Pros: Great Alienware design, great response time, love the light-up keys.
Cons: There is a plastic wrist attachment that doesn't like to stay on too much- no big deal though. I would like to have seen more light customization to match the one on my M18x- again, not a big deal.
Pros:home theatre gaming!
+30points
38of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dase
Title:

Great for gaming in a dark room.

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The lighted feature is amazing. The wrist support really helps with fatigue. Great accessory for the gaming setup!
Pros:Gaming
+19points
22of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Alienware TactX Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Danie
(Kansas City MO)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Awesome Keyboard for my Alienware Laptop

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this keyboard after reading other reviews so I can play WoW on my tv using my laptop. This is one great keyboard! Ease of installation, keybindings for all my characters and yes, even just typing. Have no hesitation about buying this! Its a great value and a wonderful quality keyboard.
Pros:world of warcraft
+15points
20of 25voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7