Customer reviews for CRT Monitor Stand for Select Dell Latitude E-Family Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations

CRT Monitor Stand for Select Dell Latitude E-Family Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations

CRT Monitor Stand for Select Dell Latitude E-Family Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
3.222 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
3.2
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
12 out of 1867%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for CRT Monitor Stand for Select Dell Latitude E-Family Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Review 1 for CRT Monitor Stand for Select Dell Latitude E-Family Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JWioskowski
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

CRT Monitor Stand for E-Series Laptop

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The E-Series CRT stand replaces the D-Series CRT stand, for those working in tight quarters and/or without an adjustable LCD-panel display.
The "hot" eject button on the front of this stand may be problematic for some (those making contact with the stand while reaching forward for one reason or another), as a simple tap of this button will send a "soft" disconnect signal. [To recover from a "soft" disconnect, simply depress the eject button completely, and then reseat the laptop. A forced shutdown is not necessary.]
The way the E-Series laptop sticks out from the front of the stand, as opposed to being flush like it was with the D-Series, is actually due to the design of the E/Port, not the stand itself.
This product would benefit from a revision or two, but otherwise serves its purpose.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for CRT Monitor Stand for Select Dell Latitude E-Family Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Svlrwrx
Title:

It's a MONITOR STAND

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I don't see how people can give this thing horrible ratings when it functions as designed. It's a CRT monitor stand that we deploy for many office users who want to further eleveate their LCD screen. None of our users have any issues with the power button. Don't like the power button, don't plug the cord into the port replicator. No USB 3.0, it's a STAND....
Compared to the old Latitude CRT stands this is 100x better. Plus compatibility between all Latitudes and Precision Mobile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for CRT Monitor Stand for Select Dell Latitude E-Family Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DataVisual
(USA - GEORGIA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

useable but disappointed

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I must agree with another user comments as terrible design and I am engineer, been using multiple Dell for several generations of laptop(latitude & precision laptop).
E-series monitor stand is terrible design or better stated a much cheaper design than previous series.
Front Release has issues, just barely touch, it will shut down.
No USB 3.0 ports, probably because not all laptops for this stand will have USB 3.0.
If you have multiple laptops with stand and stacked the stands - well dont count on being able to do that very easily as C & D series !
This product needs to be much less in cost.
Maybe Dell will have a deluxe model that replaces this monitor stand.
Pros:software develope, hardware testing, onsite startup
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for CRT Monitor Stand for Select Dell Latitude E-Family Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
Title:

Laptop Sticks out the Front

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Terrible design. Laptop sticks out the front at least 6 inches. In order to use my monitor with a keyboard directly in front of the stand it would be very far away. Sending it back...
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for CRT Monitor Stand for Select Dell Latitude E-Family Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:IvanaBAnonymous
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Bad design

PostedJuly 15, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Maybe I'm too picky because I'm a desing engineer, but...
This thing is a terrible design. The laptop won't release unless you push down on it while ejecting and the release button is so easy to bump I keep shutting it down everytime I adjust my monitor or reach over or around the stand. Does Dell test their products before releasing them???
Who would ever say this thing is ready for production??
oh, now I see why no one is saying anything bad... the Terms & Conditions try to scare you away from doing so.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for CRT Monitor Stand for Select Dell Latitude E-Family Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CPTN
(TN)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

CRT MONITOR STAND

PostedJune 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The stand along with the e-port replicator is a must have for anyone who travels and is continously undocking and docking their laptop. The only suggestion I have would be to combine the two items in the order menu because you need both.
Pros:Travel
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for CRT Monitor Stand for Select Dell Latitude E-Family Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TSRose
(Los Angeles)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Works Well

PostedMay 25, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This stand works well with a Dell 430-3113 port replicator and an E6410 laptop using a 245BW Samsung monitor and Logitech Wave Pro Keyboard/Mouse combo.
This replaces a D-Series monitor stand and port replicator for a D620 laptop.
I find the stand to be of comparable build quality to the D-stand it replaces. The E-stand uses no more desktop real estate than did the D-stand.
It is true that the E6410 extends out from below the shorter shelf than did the D620, however I can place my Logitech Wave Pro keyboard on top of the closed E6410 and actually get the monitor just as close as I could with the D-stand; but I can also place the USB keyboard in front of the laptop and still see the monitor just fine.
Installation was a no brainer, the Windows 7 drivers installed automatically, and the total time to unbox, setup, and begin using the docked laptop was less than 10 min.
Only downside for me is that the Dell 430-3113 replicator does not have a legacy printer port, therefore USB printers or network printers are the only viable option unless you go with the more expensive Dell 330-3114 E-Port Plus replicator.
On the other hand, I find the USB connectors on the 430-3113 easier to access than those of its predecessor.
This setup fully meets the needs of a docked corporate laptop with 24" monitor and a USB keyboard-mouse combo in a Virtual Office setting.
Pros:professional vo
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for CRT Monitor Stand for Select Dell Latitude E-Family Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LowBattery
(Fairfax, VA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Eject button is HIGHLY sensitive

PostedApril 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am overall happy with this product. My only complaint is the extremely sensitive eject button on the right corner of the "shelf".
The good: This is a solid product, I have a very large monitor on my stand and it works great. The docking ports snap firmly into place. The laptop's CD/DVD drives are easily accessible, along with USB ports and other side/front connections on the laptop.
The bad: The slightest touch on the eject button (located on the front right corner of the shelf) and Windows thinks you have "undocked"... your screens go dark, etc. You then have to physically remove the laptop from the dock and then re-dock it to make everything come back.
I have brushed this button with a sheet of paper and it undocks!
The workaround: The stand plugs into your dock. Simply unplug the stand from the dock... This prevents the problem, but also disables the power button on the front of the stand. There is a power button on top of your dock which you can still reach--not difficult by any means.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for CRT Monitor Stand for Select Dell Latitude E-Family Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Glassbj
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

"Please release me, let me go..."

PostedApril 7, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
When my Latitude E-family monitor stand was new, and for the first several months, pressing the eject/release button (just to the right of the power button) would only partially release the laptop. I had to lift up one corner (or similar manipulation) to complete the disengagement. It's working OK now, but the initial experience was quite annoying.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for CRT Monitor Stand for Select Dell Latitude E-Family Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:networkjoe
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Be Careful

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Device works well enough, but there must be some engineering flaw in the undock/eject button. That button is SOOOOOO sensitive. I have users that barely touch it (don't even realize it as they brush against it reaching for something) - which undocks the computer. At that time, either the screen goes black or mouse/keyboard no longer work.
I have to make sure to tell my users when I give them their hardware to stay away from that button.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for CRT Monitor Stand for Select Dell Latitude E-Family Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:senatorii
Title:

Ok, but ...

PostedJanuary 25, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
It is ok, not as sturdy as older stands from Dell. I agree that the stand should have been made with a deeper top. There is no reason that it shouldn't cover the entire laptop. I am concerned by the last poster, however, about incompatibility with Win 7. What is the issue? Thanks.
Pros:everything
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for CRT Monitor Stand for Select Dell Latitude E-Family Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tkc2
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Latitude stand is just OK.

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Its design is fine with me. I have no problem the way it is seated. My issue is the undocking feature does not work with this and the e-port plus system, with Win7.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for CRT Monitor Stand for Select Dell Latitude E-Family Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bruski
(Portland, OR)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good but older D version monitor stand was better!

PostedOctober 18, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just purchased a new E series laptop and docking station and while everything connects just fine to the monitor stand the cons are that the top of the stand is about half as deep as the previous D series version stand so there isn't as good over the top protecton and place to set things besides just the monitor. Also, it seems more angled where the laptop lays (not sure why it needs to be angled?) This is really your only option if you want a monitor stand with a power button on the front so I'd still recommend getting the stand but Dell if you are reading this please design future monitor stands like the older D series where the top covers the entire laptop and the angle is more flat where the laptop lays. Unfortunately, you can't use the older D series monitor stand with the E series dock :(
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for CRT Monitor Stand for Select Dell Latitude E-Family Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:willisB
Title:

great product

PostedOctober 14, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
product works great, easy to set up, good design
The only minor issue that it is little difficlt to get your computer in the right position to dock
This product is superior to two other non dell docking products I have owned.
I would purchase again
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for CRT Monitor Stand for Select Dell Latitude E-Family Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:fairwinds
(Maryland)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Works for its intended purpose

PostedOctober 13, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
There seems to be some contrasting reviews on here. First off, as another reviewer pointed out, there may be issues with the CD drive coming out. This is only if you have a front-loading CD drive. However, I am not familiar (off-hand) with any dell laptops with this design.
I do note that my laptop sticks out the front of the stand, which can be annoying, but that is necessary because of the size of the docking station (and possibly laptop) and to give a bit of room at the back to protect the cables. Nevertheless, the total footprint of laptop + monitor is smaller than it would have been.
Bear in mind that the monitor is higher up and further away, due to a combination of the stand height and laptop overhang (plus your keyboard), so you may not want to have a tiny screen to look at. I prefer at least 22" for use on a monitor stand. After all, with a monitor stand, you can have your laptop and monitor on the other side of the desk, freeing up room for any paperwork or gaming peripherals in front of you.
Pros:software development
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for CRT Monitor Stand for Select Dell Latitude E-Family Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:there
(Portland, OR)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Monitor Stand for Latitude E Family Laptops

PostedApril 15, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have the old stand for the D Latitude Laptop and I figured that this would be very similar and well designed... NOT. I am very disappointed in the design. The laptop sits way out in front and cannot slide in under the Monitor tray like the old stand can so when you use a keyboard it is not very ergonomic and also takes up a lot of valuable desk top real estate. I would not waste my money on this stand.
+25points
28of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for CRT Monitor Stand for Select Dell Latitude E-Family Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kawika477
(Sacramento, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Works perfectly

PostedJanuary 12, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
"jawarner" obviously doesn't know what he's talking about. The stand works perfectly and the cd/dvd drive ejects without problems (think about it people...the stand is above the table!). The only way it wouldn't work is if you turned the whole stand sideways, but what moron would do that?!?
-2points
12of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for CRT Monitor Stand for Select Dell Latitude E-Family Laptops / Precision Mobile WorkStations
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jawarner
Title:

Flaw in design

PostedJuly 27, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
I love the stand with ONE EXCEPTION: When the docking station is locked into the stand and you attach your laptop to the docking station, you CAN'T open the CD/DVD drive. This is because the stand causes the laptop to sit at a slant and when you try to open the CD/DVD drive, it trys to eject on a slant causing the bottom of the tray to hit the tabletop before opening. Therefore,you must remove the laptop from the stand and set it on a flat surface (tabletop) in order to open the drive.
+68points
95of 122voted this as helpful.