Customer reviews for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240L

Dell 22 Monitor - S2240L

Dell 22 Monitor - S2240L
4.281 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
4.3
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
27 out of 3284%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240L
Review 1 for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240L
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:elkwood
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good monitor

PostedApril 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Our office has about 20 of these monitors now and most people are quite happy, except for those people who have a window behind them causing quite a bit of glare on the screen.
Pros:bright good quality ips level screen, price for features
Cons:no vesa mount compatibility, glare / reflection off of the glossy screen
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Retiredarchitect
(Princeton, NJ, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Very nice monitor

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The images are sharp. Text is easy to read. Color rendering is excellent. The styling of the flat monitor and the stand is great. This monitor is a very good value.
Pros:easy setup
Cons:none
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ralph74
(Pennsylvania, USA)
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Dell s2240l 21.5 Inch Monitor

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is the best monitor I have bought when it comes to the price and the quality of the picture. The display is crystle clear.
Pros:affordable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240L
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Paul14526
(Penfield, NY 14526, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Meets my needs

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This display does everything that I need as a casual PC user. Install with HDMI cable was simple. Image quality and viewing are plenty good enough.
I previously had a display with height adjustment, easy access USB ports and a no glare screen. This display has none of these, but I have found that not to a problem. The basic tilt adjustment is adequate. I use the easy access front USB ports on the new PC. The screen shows some reflections, depending on lighting conditions, but it is not really an issue.
Overall for the price, I am satisfied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SUDDENLINK
(Conroe, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Newbie
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

MY DELL MONITOR

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
THIS MONITOR IS VERY CLEAR AND SIMPLE TO USE.IT HAS AL;L OF THE FEATURES I WANT, DATE AND TIME, ICONS
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BioJester
(Riverside, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Wife loves her x-mas gift

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Got this with a new cpu for wife. She lobes it. Great picture, good size and value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:suec21
(Brighton, IL 62012, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

A W-I-D-E 21.5 inch monitor

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
We moved from a ten year old Dell that we dearly loved to a new one. We can't believe how amazing this new monitor is! Wow!! I wish that we had ordered this sooner. It makes working at the computer so much fun. It has a very clear, BIG screen that is really great to view! You must get this!
Pros:great crisp picture/screen.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240L
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cmark
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

bright, clear. better than expected

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Maybe I've been out of the market for too long, but this monitor is far better than I'd expected, especially as part of a package with the desktop.
However, I'm a bit concerned that my cat will knock it over due to the small foot print of the base. I'm going to tape it down to a chopping board
Pros:good resolution and brightness
Cons:base is too small
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rick65
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

great deal

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this monitor. it has hdmi hook up great display
Pros:great price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240L
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Femina
(Philadelphia, PA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great value

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This monitor is an extremely great value. The graphics are crisp and clean, the set up was super easy, and the multimedia monitoring is an excellent feature that anticipates the medium and adjusts automatically. Well worth the price!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240L
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:aglade
(NJ)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

monitor DOA-- returned for refnd

PostedDecember 27, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Monitor was a Christmas present for our daughters--was DOA out of the box-- returned for refund. Dell quality control seems to be lacking --- bought another brand that works just fine.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Lily22
(Somerville, TN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Great Purchase

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
One of the best monitors I have ever purchased; easy on the eyes.
Pros:price clarity.
Cons:none
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bobby81
(Seattle, WA, USA)
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Finally, a glossy option from Dell.

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Thank you, thank you, thank you, Dell, for finally making a great, glossy iMac display alternative
Are you listening? PLEASE take this glossy display and put it in a case/stand like your new sexy Professional series monitors. I would pay over $200 for one, which is no less than what you ask for both S and P series 22" models.
I use two P-series displays at work and I absolutely love the spinning, super-height adjustable, portrait-optional stands with USB built in. However, I'm SO tired of that fuzzy matte film that you put on almost every model. It makes reading text so exhausting that I finally broke down and got some reading glasses. Yes. It's that bad, Dell. We need to stop modifying our displays by covering them with this wax paper looking junk, and instead take the time to plan out our office space to minimize the reflection. Glossy displays, like Apple has been using on iMacs and Macbooks for years, make text so much sharper than on the matte displays, even with average resolutions. Do it, Dell, and I'll buy 2 for my wife and two for myself in a flash.
Pros:glossy clear mac-style panel., inexpensive
Cons:glossy option still not available on p-series., have to choose between p-series stand or glossy!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240L
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JeanetteJ2
(Aurora, IL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Monitor

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very vivid colors with a beautiful screen view. It is very glossy; if that bothers you another monitor might be best. The base/stand is not as sturdy as I would like, but it seems to be doing the job. I especially like the HDMI port on this monitor because I wanted to experiment with a dual monitor set-up. Works perfectly with my other Dell monitor. Can't be happier especially since I was able to snag this model as a "refurbished" buy in the outlet store.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240L
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:FangT
(Chapel Hill, NC, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Good quality monitor, but slightly overpriced for its features and size.

PostedAugust 30, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
The S2240L has a nice solid design with minimal bezel and a simple stand. It's also great since it has a 3.5mm audio jack, so there's no need to run an aux cable from my laptop anymore. The glossy display makes the picture look great, but the colors are very slightly washed out compared to my other monitors - even after tweaking the colors and contrast.
There is no VESA mount (as expected on a consumer model) but you can still mount it with a VESA mount adapter.
My only complaint is the design and placement of the ports on the monitor. They are pointed downwards, which is nice, but the designers did not leave enough vertical space. When I plug in my HDMI cable, the bottom part of the plug is literally scratching the monitor.
Overall, it's a good monitor, but it is slightly overpriced for consumer 21.5inch.
Pros:3.5mm headphone jack, clear display
Cons:the ports on the back are cramped, buttons feel cheap
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240L
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:moosepickle
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Average

PostedAugust 20, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
No vesa mount so you can't use it in portrait mode.
Only 1080 vertical, normal for consumer use but not professional.
Overpriced for an average consumer display.
Cons:no vesa mount, only 1080 vertical
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 22, 2013
Hello moosepickle,

Thanks for taking time to post your opinions of this monitor. I am a bit confused since you call it a consumer class monitor (which it is, denoted by "S") but critique it for not having professional level specs like 1080+ resolution and VESA compatibility. Our professional lineup of monitors are denoted by "P" or "U" in their model names. Since you are looking for a professional model, I recommend the UltraSharp U2212HM. It has a beautiful IPS panel, VESA mount, fully adjustable into portrait mode and more!

http://dell.to/176owmR

Hope this helps!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kaelan
(North Dakota)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great monitor, so sharp.

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This monitor really performs well with hdmi. If you are looking to use vga, this monitor wont be ultra sharp. Vga just doesn't perform that way. I used this monitor for a main display (with an older dell monitor as secondary) on a Dell tower I purchased a few months back. I used the vga port originally, with lackluster results. The hdmi is amazing. Make sure your video settings are at optimal (something like 1920x1080) and you will be amazed. Razor sharp text and graphics, crisp video, you name it. Glossy screen makes images look even sharper and more vivid than a matte screen. I might just have to buy a second one to use as my secondary monitor!
Pros:ultra sharp hdmi, slim design, bright backlight, sturdy stand, crisp images, great color rendition
Cons:power adapter instead of power cord
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240L
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Pahan
(Durban, South Africa)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Dell S2240L monitor

PostedJune 12, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am using the Dell S2240L display for my Mac Mini latest model however the quality of the text is poor. Text is fuzzy and I cannot seem to get this right. Please let me know what the correct set up and connectors is for the Mac Mini.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240L
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Stryker9995
(Kentucky, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Worked good, started messing up.

PostedMay 18, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Its a great affordable monitor, im just here to ask why a game started bleeding through my monitor. It seemed to work good but when i started playing, i exited and some parts of the HUD were still there and glitching.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240L
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:David33275
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Glare screen

PostedApril 19, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
The monitor looks great, new design. but the screen glare,like mirror. I always see my self when I use it even the light is dark.
and if the stand can high adjustable , it will be better.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsApril 23, 2013
Hello David33275,

Thank you for providing your feedback. We take these reviews seriously and appreciate learning what features our customers like and what they would like to see in the future, such as an adjustable stand. With glare/anti-glare screens, there is some level of personal preference. Anti-glare screen often do not offer as rich of a color experience. Depending on the main use of your monitor, will affect is anti-glare is right for you.

-SaraT
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2