Customer reviews for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L

Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L

Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
4.022 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
5
1 Star
4
4
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
34 out of 4674%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Review 1 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Loui
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Solid display, but with flaws

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The monitor presents a very sharp display, and is of a useful size for me to sit comfortably at a keyboard pulled out from the desk and still view everything on screen easily.
My only complaint is that there are several small "chips" in the display itself, most noticeably a ring-shaped distortion near the bottom that can be easily felt with your finger. These distortions are virtually invisible most of the time (only apparent when looking directly at them against a completely white backdrop), but still - they should not be there.
Pros:high-quality display., useful size screen.
Cons:distortions on surface.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EddieW
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Excellent Monitor

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Exceptional Monitor with a very crisp picture and colors are outstanding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:nl327
(Houston, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Amazing Monitor!

PostedJune 20, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this monitor for my Alienware X51. Very clear and high def picture from this monitor. Compatible with an HDMI and a sleek and modern look to it. Really happy about this purchase and couldn't ask more from a monitor.
FYI: There is no service tag on the back of my label. Looked for bout 20 minutes and gave up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mark2519
(Athens, GA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great monitor!

PostedJune 18, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Nice clean design with a beautiful picture. True life colors pop off the screen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Felicia15
(Atlanta, Ga)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Perfect

PostedJune 11, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Awesome monitor. Clear, crisp visuals. Makes gaming even more enjoyable!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:YannickC
(Montreal, QC, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Get the extended warranty, you'll need it!!!!!!

PostedJune 2, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm a dell fanatic, they make amazing products! I own dell switches, laptop and desktops. All of which work flawlessly! I just can't understand why dell would put their name on this average product, to put it nicely!
I bought 2 XPS systems which came with this screens on 2013-01-23. I had to return one of the screens a few months after purchase because it had a row of about 4 pixel wide completely dead.
This is the kicker, when dell sent me the replacement screen I had a little fun, and compared all three screens, dual screen setup. I couldn't find two screens out of the three that had the same height (off by mm but still off) or displayed identical colors temperature, think quality control folks, someone was probably sleeping on the jobs!
Obviously I return the screen with the Dell pixels, and now another one bits the dust!
I did expect them to last more then 1 year! This is by my standards unacceptable and I must admit I am really disappointed to see dells logo on this beautiful but completely unreliable product.
Now that my monitor is out of warranty, it will probably cost more to have it fixed then to buy a new one! In my experience and opinion this monitor is a bad buy!
All and all, I might just be very very unlucky and have gotten the only 2 rotten monitors that Dell ever made! However, If I were you I would move on to the next monitor, or take that extended warranty! You'll probably will need it...
Pros:they look great!
Cons:reliability
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:FloridaRalph
(Florida, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

It is what I expected.

PostedMay 28, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Good picture. Crisp sharp bright images. Does the job I was looking for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RonnyG
(Tucson, AZ)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

S2440

PostedMay 21, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am impressed! Exactly as advertised - a VERY wide viewing angle. Easy to read, brilliant colors, bright and evenly lit across the entire display.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:UncleSteve
(OH)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

This is an awesome monitor

PostedMay 7, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
It's a great size for a desk top computer. The monitor is crystal clear. All the icons seem to pop! My son who installed my new system and monitor wants to get one of these displays.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CDF1
(Walker, LA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Monitor

PostedMay 1, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Love this monitor! It has great clarity and is perfect for those of us that like multiple applications on one screen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jewell44
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Very nice monitor

PostedApril 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
One of the features I like about this monitor is that it doesn't have a frame around the glass. It literally is smooth from edge to edge, making cleaning it so easy, and leaving no dust in the corners.
I actually just found out today that you can adjust the angle of the monitor...NICE! I would recommend this monitor to everyone. It's basic, but sometimes that is nicer than having to worry about all the extras.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dj1111
(Toronto, on)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

S2440L - no what you want

PostedMarch 15, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was trying to get a 3rd screen for my ATI 6900, so I could use EyeFinity and play my game on a 3 screen setup. It turns out that connecting the video card to this screen requires an additional expensive adapter ($100). An active mini-displayport to HDMI.
I ended up using this device elsewhere in the house.
Pros:cost, good all around device
Cons:flexibility, no vesa connection, no dell service tag could be located
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mango
(Alberta, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Beautiful hard glass display

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is an excellent and one of the very few hard glass monitors on the market...and it's even relatively inexpensive. From the front, it looks like a smaller version of the Fruit Theatre Monitor (can't directly mention competitors' names). Colours are great, text is sharp, and the OSD is very capable (and easy to use) if you want to change things from the defaults. The only downside is the lack of a VESA mount. It would be great to see a 2560x1440 version of this monitor, priced higher (and built better) than the no-name junk on eBay, but priced lower than the Fruit Theatre Monitor - perhaps in the $500-$600 range. (The S2740L is 1920x1080.)
Pros:beautiful colours, sharp text, tempered glass, withstands errant toddlers
Cons:no vesa mount can't be turned vertically, it's not 2560x1440
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:thunderstruck90
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Stunning picture quality

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm absolutely amazed at the viewing angles and picture quality from this monitor. It even has an audio out jack on the back so I can hook up my speakers.
Older pictures I have seem to come to life again. Color is very accurate. I didn't even have to calibrate the monitor. It works straight out of the box.
Edge to edge glass is a bonus as well as I prefer glossy screens.
Power consumption is only 18 watts too.
I can't think of any cons to having this monitor, except I wish it didn't use an external power brick.
Pros:excellent colour, edge to edge glass, good viewing angles, audio out jack, low power consumption
Cons:external power brick adds to clutter
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WVRick
(West Virginia)
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

My first touch screen

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Excellent screen. Great resolution. Touch screen very responsive.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cer526
(Maryland, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good value

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This monitor is a very good value. It is not top of line but provides the most bang for the buck. I like it and it is working great--after 2 months so far.
Pros:price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AlonYa
(NY)
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great screen

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought on line after viewing it on best buy store. At dell.com the price was 10$ cheaper and the shipping was free so why bother carrying it from the store...
Plugged it in and love it ever since. great resolution. great view range.
The only cons i might have would be the "mirror" fact. because it's not Matt if your screen is located close to direct sun light you're in a bit of a situation.
Great value for money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Penchy
(NJ)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Awesome

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this monitor! It has a high tech, elegant look. The size is perfect for me. It has HD quality resolution, the colors are vibrant and my eyes do not feel as tired after I started using it
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sparkydog
(Willmar, MN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Nice Monitor

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great clear picture, went from a 19 in to this 24 in and wow what a difference.
Cons:reflection on bright days
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pdig
(Roswell, Ga)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

24" Monitor

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought the monitor with my new XPS8700. It is glossy and there is a lot of light in my office, but that hasn't been an issue due to the way it is positioned. The colors are fabulous. I have it set up with a 2nd 23" monitor and together they make an efficient and enjoyable work station.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3