Customer reviews for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L

Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L

Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
3.861 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
4
3.9
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
25 out of 3669%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Review 1 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jewell44
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Very nice monitor

PostedApril 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
One of the features I like about this monitor is that it doesn't have a frame around the glass. It literally is smooth from edge to edge, making cleaning it so easy, and leaving no dust in the corners.
I actually just found out today that you can adjust the angle of the monitor...NICE! I would recommend this monitor to everyone. It's basic, but sometimes that is nicer than having to worry about all the extras.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dj1111
(Toronto, on)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

S2440L - no what you want

PostedMarch 15, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was trying to get a 3rd screen for my ATI 6900, so I could use EyeFinity and play my game on a 3 screen setup. It turns out that connecting the video card to this screen requires an additional expensive adapter ($100). An active mini-displayport to HDMI.
I ended up using this device elsewhere in the house.
Pros:cost, good all around device
Cons:flexibility, no vesa connection, no dell service tag could be located
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mango
(Alberta, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Beautiful hard glass display

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is an excellent and one of the very few hard glass monitors on the market...and it's even relatively inexpensive. From the front, it looks like a smaller version of the Fruit Theatre Monitor (can't directly mention competitors' names). Colours are great, text is sharp, and the OSD is very capable (and easy to use) if you want to change things from the defaults. The only downside is the lack of a VESA mount. It would be great to see a 2560x1440 version of this monitor, priced higher (and built better) than the no-name junk on eBay, but priced lower than the Fruit Theatre Monitor - perhaps in the $500-$600 range. (The S2740L is 1920x1080.)
Pros:beautiful colours, sharp text, tempered glass, withstands errant toddlers
Cons:no vesa mount can't be turned vertically, it's not 2560x1440
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:thunderstruck90
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Stunning picture quality

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm absolutely amazed at the viewing angles and picture quality from this monitor. It even has an audio out jack on the back so I can hook up my speakers.
Older pictures I have seem to come to life again. Color is very accurate. I didn't even have to calibrate the monitor. It works straight out of the box.
Edge to edge glass is a bonus as well as I prefer glossy screens.
Power consumption is only 18 watts too.
I can't think of any cons to having this monitor, except I wish it didn't use an external power brick.
Pros:excellent colour, edge to edge glass, good viewing angles, audio out jack, low power consumption
Cons:external power brick adds to clutter
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WVRick
(West Virginia)
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

My first touch screen

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Excellent screen. Great resolution. Touch screen very responsive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cer526
(Maryland, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good value

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This monitor is a very good value. It is not top of line but provides the most bang for the buck. I like it and it is working great--after 2 months so far.
Pros:price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AlonYa
(NY)
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great screen

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought on line after viewing it on best buy store. At dell.com the price was 10$ cheaper and the shipping was free so why bother carrying it from the store...
Plugged it in and love it ever since. great resolution. great view range.
The only cons i might have would be the "mirror" fact. because it's not Matt if your screen is located close to direct sun light you're in a bit of a situation.
Great value for money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Penchy
(NJ)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Awesome

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this monitor! It has a high tech, elegant look. The size is perfect for me. It has HD quality resolution, the colors are vibrant and my eyes do not feel as tired after I started using it
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sparkydog
(Willmar, MN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Nice Monitor

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great clear picture, went from a 19 in to this 24 in and wow what a difference.
Cons:reflection on bright days
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pdig
(Roswell, Ga)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

24" Monitor

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought the monitor with my new XPS8700. It is glossy and there is a lot of light in my office, but that hasn't been an issue due to the way it is positioned. The colors are fabulous. I have it set up with a 2nd 23" monitor and together they make an efficient and enjoyable work station.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nick1185
(Tennessee, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very satisfied customer looking for a few minor tweaks

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had two of these monitors set up for about a month now. Collectively, they are great units! Extremely clean, minimalistic feel with a great look. I have yet to have any problems with the inputs not being detected and the come on and off with the computer.
My only minor complaint is it does not include a HDMI cable and the VGA cable is a a hair short and required an extension. Unless you have your CPU immediately under your monitor, plan to purchase an extension or longer cable. For the price, I would have like to have seen a 6 ft HDMI cable included as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TheOtherGuy
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Amazing Product

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this together with the XPS 8700 and it's fantastic. The picture quality is super clear and crisp. The super glossy monitor comes with both a HDMI and VGA inputs, which is great is you want to plug it into a laptop or gaming system. Overall this product is simply amazing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:phaz
(Wilmington, DE, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Nice display but not 24 inch

PostedDecember 2, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This monitor has a nice color display but on my display the picture doesn't fill the entire screen. Aside from the black border, there is one inch of unused space around the display. This one inch space is there regardless of whether I'm web browsing, playing a game or watching a dvd..it's always there. I measured the distance corner to corner diagonally..22 inches...PH
Nice picture
Nice 22 inch picture
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 12, 2013
Hey Phaz,

Thanks for choosing the Dell S2440L. It sounds like you simply need to adjust the screen size to fill your screen. This is easy to do with the monitor's On-Screen menu and settings. Checkout the link below for the manual and instructions on how to expand the display to it's edges.

http://dell.to/1hPd2Li

Thanks for sharing your review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rutgers21
(Piscataway, NJ)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Dust between the screen/glass and the display

PostedNovember 11, 2013
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would NOT recommend this monitor to anybody.
I bought one in September, 12, and today before turned it on, I realized some dust between the screen and the display.
I tried to remove all the dust of the screen, but it is impossible to reach out that one, unless there is a way to remove the glass/screen.
It is very annoying and I regret buying this monitor and now the computer too. I've had another Dell monitor for more than 8 years, it is incredible how the quality of them are terrible now.
I hope this review help others to avoid having a monitor that now has several points of "dust" in the left side. I put one picture here, I hope you can get the gist of the problem.
I've tried to find the service tag, but I couldn't find it. I only found for the computer. The monitor service tag must be hidden somewhere, the back of it is all in Chinese, I can not read Chinese (unfortunately).
Pros:price
Cons:quality, it looks like a mirror
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 13, 2013
Hi Rutgers21,

I am sorry to hear about your concerns with this monitor. A 24" monitor will not have a service tag on it. Please reach out to our DellCares team, they can get your information and help you out.

• Dell Community Forums:
http://dell.to/1aKOVrb
• Facebook Support:
http://dell.to/147YZ7w
• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/1beHgBz

-SaraT
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jeff0658
(Sarnia ON Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

DELL S2440L great value

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this Monitor from Dell a couple of weeks ago, it took a bit to get shipped but once arrived I was really pleased. The LED screen really picks up the vibrant details of 1080p images. I have a bunch of nature desktop backgrounds and it looks amazing, almost better than real life. The colours are very strong, crisp and clear.
As for the assembly I think a child could do it, it's that easy, the menu was okay to navigate through, it was pretty generic, when it come to selecting colour, brightness, sharpness and so forth(could be a little tedious to some).
My only complaint would be the stand is a little flimsy and not well designed, could of made it a little more sturdy when adjusting the angle.
Pros:vivid colour, clear and crisp picture, 1080p, easy assembly, led backlit, vga and hdmi input, edge to edge glass
Cons:flimsy stand, lengthy shipping arrived 4 days after desktop
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:j2013
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent monitor

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great monitor. Ordered it from Coscto. Got it in 4 days. Plugged it in, turned it on and away I went. Very nice graphics. Easy to read fine print. Nice footprint. Would recommend...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:anotherdell
(Atlanta, GA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Display

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I recently purchased this monitor to pair with my XPS laptop and am very happy with the purchase! Although the monitor only has tilt it looks very good and the picture quality is excellent. HDMI and Vga inputs ensure that my home and work laptops can hookup and the style looks at home in my modern decor. The edge to edge glass is a nice touch.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Wmbill
(Maine)
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very Disappointed

PostedAugust 15, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really like the looks of this monitor and I can work with the glare, but the color accuracy is really quite bad. The amber renderings are particularly awful. Some shades of yellow look almost florescent, like a yellow highlighter and very unnatural. Blond hair, flesh, and light to medium brown tones tend to have a green ting to them, and the greens tend to be too yellow. I haven't been able to correct this with the on-board custom color settings or the video card's calibration utility. I have the XPS 12 which I think has very good color accuracy and looking at them side by side, this monitor's yellows look awful! I think it's probably because this doesn't use an IPS panel, but instead uses a cheap AV panel. I'd gladly pay more for a 24" IPS panel with edge to edge glass but I don't see any offerings like this from DEll. I guess I'll have to look elsewhere.
Pros:beautiful looking, nice edge to edge glass
Cons:poor color acuracy, heavy glare
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 19, 2013
Hello Wmbill,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Dell - S2440L. If you have not already tried them, make sure to adjust the display settings in the OSD. There you can change brightness and maybe get those colors under control. I have taken the liberty of including a link to the manual below. Under Operating the Monitor, you will find step by step instructions.

http://dell.to/14upGVf

If you need further assistance, reach out to our Dellcares team online.

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)

Hope that helps!

+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ColbyC
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Disappointing

PostedJuly 14, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I originally got this monitor to replace a very old 17" one that was beginning to fail. I really wanted to like this monitor but, out of the box, it leaned approximately 1-1.2cm to the left. There was no way of adjusting this, as the stand does not allow the LCD to rotate. I attempted to contact Dell support regarding the issue but, I became very frustrated when they would not even connect me to a live service representative without getting a tag number, which I could not find. I don't believe Dell's consumer grade monitors have service tags.
I ended up returning this monitor and getting a 23" Dell Ultrasharp, which I like a lot better. For text, the Ultrasharp is a lot better but, I feel that the colors really "popped" a lot better on the S2440L's glossy display. Glass is a lot easier to clean and is more durable than the matte plastic finish on the Ultrasharp, in my experience.
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewJuly 17, 2013
Hello ColbyC,

Thank you for sharing your experience with your Dell - S2440L. I can understand your frustration with the automated service, it can be confusing at times. If you have any issues you cannot resolve through the automated service, or have issues reaching out to a live person, try our Dellcares Team. They are ready and waiting to assist. Additionally, your service tag should be on a label behind the monitor. (next to a barcode) They can direct you to it's location.

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)

Thank you for continueing to choose Dell!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell 24 Monitor - S2440L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Don55
(Pittsburgh PA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Make some adjustments

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Use the directions on the cd. Make some adjustments. This Monitor is outstanding.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2