Customer reviews for Dell 23 Monitor - S2340L

Dell 23 Monitor - S2340L

Dell 23 Monitor - S2340L
4.218 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
4.2
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 55
47 out of 5585%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell 23 Monitor - S2340L
Review 1 for Dell 23 Monitor - S2340L
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:FrankVan
(Vancouver, BC, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Good cost-effective monitor works with Mac too

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am using a pair of S2340L monitors with a 2011 Apple Mac Mini. One of the monitors is driven direct from an HDMI port and the other uses a Mini DisplayPort-to-HDMI adapter to connect to the Thunderbolt connector.
I also considered the Dell U2412M which is better quality and has additional features but I decided the extras were not really necessary for me. The S2340L does everything I need, most importantly it has excellent sharpness and colour at an attractive price level.
Pros:
- very good colour quality, possibly because the screen has minimal or no anti-reflection coatings
- colour quality similar to recent Mac displays
- glossy screen not a problem in my controlled environment
- displayed material also looks good when viewed from the sides and above
- good size, low power requirements
- several menu adjustments for sharpness, brightness, colour etc
- HDMI cable is IMO preferable to older bulky DVI cables and connectors
- monitor could be used as a TV, with HDMI from source device
- monitor is fairly resistant to wobble from work surface vibration
- a fairly good looking and unobtrusive monitor
Cons:
- my 2 monitors have slightly different colour quality which was a problem at first. Fortunately I was able to adjust them with a rough visual calibration to get colour profiles that give a very close match.
- menu buttons are small and require high force to operate
- glossy screen could be a problem in a bright room
- "IPS Glow" reduces contrast of some dark material, such as movie outer space scenes
- only HDMI and VGA input connectors (HDMI is OK for me)
- HDMI cable could be more securely fastened at the back of the monitor to prevent falling out, but no problem yet
- monitor uses a small (4x2x1") external AC power supply
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell 23 Monitor - S2340L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jay2341ca
(Victoria, BC, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

dell s2340L

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have 2 of these monitors they r really good i love it for online gaming
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell 23 Monitor - S2340L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JohnFourtyTwo
(Norfolk, VA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Dell S2340L

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
When I replaced my old XP desktop from a former leader in the PC business, I needed a new monitor also since the old one was an old CRT that hummed very loud and the lines would skew sometimes.
This new monitor is great and is like having a miniature 8-foot/96-inch flatscreen TV on my desk! It's HUGE! The picture is absolutely flawless. Whether I'm working on letters, spreadsheets, presentations, or just watching videos or surfing the internet, I'm not disappointed. Too bad I don't have the same setup at work.
I noticed when I turned it off after setting it up with the desktop there were a couple white spots in the middle of the screen. I thought they were screen damage but since it was late at night I just put it off until the next day. Fortunately it turned out to be condensation from going from riding around in a very hot delivery truck all to coming inside my much more comfortable and cooler home that somehow condensation got underneath the screen. Fortunately though the next day it was gone, so no issues.
Too bad it didn't come with a webcam because I really don't like the idea of clamping on an aftermarket product which doesn't match. I understand the reason why desktop monitors don't come with webcams anymore but I'm quite sure had you offered it as a home/personal option you would still make sales without having to appease the business customers and personal home use customers with the same product.
Normally I don't rate anything this high but since this more than exceeded my expectations and needs, I don't have a problem giving this 5 stars. Plus this isn't my first Dell purchase this year and I haven't been disappointed with any of them, I've actually been quite impressed.
Pros:very affordable, huge screen, very small footprint
Cons:none to mention
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell 23 Monitor - S2340L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ron1050
(reading, MA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Bright, clear images

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
It works well and the price was right. Good value for a monitor
Pros:bright, clear
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell 23 Monitor - S2340L
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bobby55
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

23" monitor versus 24"

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The overall monitor is good, although since I buy a lot of monitors and computers I would seriously recommend spending the extra money for the 24". I went from a 20" square monitor at the house to this 23" and wish that I had spent the extra money for the 24" as the 20" appears larger then the 23" monitor. I use 24" monitors at work and they are almost 20% larger format then the 23" just purchased.
Pros:small size
Cons:size
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell 23 Monitor - S2340L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Chris62
(San Clemente, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Glad I picked this monitor

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This monitor has a beautiful picture. I am very happy with my purchase.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell 23 Monitor - S2340L
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MikeDA
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

XPS 8700 and 23" Monitor Package

PostedJuly 2, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I love the large screen. I can view two documents at once.
However, the XPS 8700 with i7 processor and 8G of RAM is not working out well for me. My 8 year old Dell laptop is faster! I bought a new PC with hopes of greater speed and improved muti-tasking, very disappointed!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell 23 Monitor - S2340L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cwhite
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Happy in Mississippi

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a wonderful product. Had some reservation about purchasing because I had not study the product. However, with the assistance of a Dell representative who steering me into making this decision, I can only say, that I'm glad I listen."
Pros:crystal clear viewing screen
Cons:none had for 4 weeks now
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell 23 Monitor - S2340L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TDell
(Coral Springs, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

The elegant S2340L 23" monitor

PostedJune 18, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The elegant S2340L 23" monitor offers ultra-wide viewing, a virtually border-less screen and our Image Enhance feature. This is a class A product. You won't be disappointed when buying....
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell 23 Monitor - S2340L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:carmennooch
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

wowdisplay

PostedJune 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
great size, crisp display, vibrant colors , my only issue is I bought a hdmi cable to go with this and my desktop (xps8700) is not allowing me to use it matched to this monitor...I have to check out the issue with Dell support
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell 23 Monitor - S2340L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Radioage
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Dell 23 Monitor - S2340L

PostedJune 4, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great monitor for everyday use at home or in the office. Excellent clarity and sharpness and good for HD video. When you don't need a touch monitor but want the best for your money, I would recommend this monitor.
Pros:great hd resolution, value for price, attractive style
Cons:non touch, not anti-reflective
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell 23 Monitor - S2340L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DellUser64
(Perris, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Big and Bright

PostedMay 1, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This screen is a replacement for one that went out. This is a much larger screen than I'm use too. Also really, really bright. I am very happy with my purchase from Dell. Would purchase again.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell 23 Monitor - S2340L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ronald14
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Nice clear display

PostedMay 1, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Just bought this monitor about a month ago and the display is quite clear and fits our needs.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell 23 Monitor - S2340L
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bruce133
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Reliability is bad.

PostedApril 21, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Monitor came with inspiron computer ordered from dell in Oct. 2012. Enjoyed monitor for 1 yr. 5 mo. (5 mo. after warranty expired). Monitor began to flicker over Easter weekend, 2014, and screen turned to thin lines and bars of color. Sometimes when it is first turned on the screen is ok but then flickers to the lines and bars shortly. Called dell support to see if it would be feasible to send in for repair and was told that dell does not repair monitors. I am very disappointed with the reliability of this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell 23 Monitor - S2340L
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Louise58
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

This product has the clarity as advertised

PostedApril 3, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The monitor is good value for money. The clarity is sharp. Bought as a gift and it was well received.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell 23 Monitor - S2340L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:clifford8505
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

awesome picture at a great price

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am and have always been satisfied with dell products. this monitor is great for what I do which is everyday IT work, word processing spread sheets, and web development. my old Frankenstein system had finally outlived its life. the upgrade was much needed and is much appreciated. very good quality picture with very little frame.
Pros:great picture quality, very small frame, sturdy, well balanced
Cons:none
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell 23 Monitor - S2340L
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Roonie1
(Fort Worth)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

New Dell

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I like my new Dell, but I would LOVE it if it came with a written manual. Does Dell need to save that money> I want my manual.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell 23 Monitor - S2340L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Joyce56
(ms)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

This monitor is awesome!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This monitor is large, great screen shots, and very clear screen shots. I would definitely recommend this size to anyone looking to upgrade what they currently are using.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell 23 Monitor - S2340L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kooch362
(Wexford, PA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very Nice Monitor

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had this Monitor for about 3 weeks and really like it. At first it was different getting adjusted to the intensity of the brightness. I played around with the adjustments and got it to where I like it.
The only disapointment was the size of the screen. It is advertised as a 23" moniter but in reality the screen is only 21" straight across. If you measure it Diagonally from corner to corner it is 23". That is my mistake for not understanding how moniter sizes are determined.
Overall I would recommend this monitor the colors and clarity are fantastic.
Pros:colors & clarity
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell 23 Monitor - S2340L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cNick2
(Washington, DC Metro Area)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

The Best Dell Monitor Got Better!

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is one of the best monitors one can have. Rich colors and stunning picture. It occupies the same desk area as my former 20" Dell. Hardly a frame and all screen. Buttons on the side are a great idea. Dell should be admired for keeping up with the times and beautiful designs.
Pros:everything
Cons:none
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3