Customer reviews for Dell - ST2420L 24-inch Full HD Widescreen Monitor with LED

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Dell - ST2420L 24-inch Full HD Widescreen Monitor with LED

Dell - ST2420L 24-inch Full HD Widescreen Monitor with LED
4.462 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 312 reviews
5 Stars
205
4 Stars
73
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
7
1 Star
10
4.5
 / 
5
(312 reviews) 293
281 out of 31290%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell - ST2420L 24-inch Full HD Widescreen Monitor with LED
Review 1 for Dell - ST2420L 24-inch Full HD Widescreen Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JohnUSA
(Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Not a good deal, many weak points

PostedSeptember 29, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Reasons why this is not a good deal:
--One year warranty instead of three. A 3-year warranty will cost $49 more. Lousy warranty.
--1080 resolution instead of 1200. Advice to all, a 24 inch monitor must come with 1200, this is a PC monitor and not a TV set.
--Does NOT come with either DVI or HDMI cables. Dell is getting real cheap by providing a ridiculous VGA cable only.
--Response time is only 5ms, should have been faster for a brand new model.
--Pixel Pitch: 0.277mm, should be finer for sharper viewing, this is a new model.
A lot of weak points, so buyer be aware.
+139points
208of 277voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell - ST2420L 24-inch Full HD Widescreen Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:zoonby
Title:

24-inch LED

PostedOctober 7, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
-Got one on sale
-Good price for 24" LED
-Full HD 1920 x 1080 (most of the new Monitors are 16 x 9 not 16 x 10)
-Doesn't come with HDMI cable but not big deal you can get one for just few bucks.
-Response time is 5ms (most of the other brands are the same 5ms too.)
-You get what you pay for. (No complain for the price I paid for.)
Pros:browsing internet, streaming video, word processing
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell - ST2420L 24-inch Full HD Widescreen Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:fishforfun
Title:

led st2420l

PostedOctober 7, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
i ordered this monitor and 3 days later it is here i hooked it up in 5 min. made 0 adjustments and the led is great.i will be back to order from dell again they answer all questions quick and have used tech. support before great customer service not like at&t.ron
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell - ST2420L 24-inch Full HD Widescreen Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Icemanforlife
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Fantastic monitor for price

PostedOctober 13, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
As for this monitor the colors are fantastic and it does have a 5ms speed, but I have yet to notice any lag or ghosting while gaming or watching Blue rays. I held off for a little while before i reviewed this monitor so i could test the junk out of this monitor and i am glad i bought it. It has been able to handle everything i throw at it beautifully and just a blast to have compared to some monitors i have used. The only real cons i have are no biggies to me. First it did not come with a hdmi cable. Big whoop, I got one for 6 bucks at monoprice. Second is that the power button, since it is a touch sensitive one it is not illuminated. This sometimes bugs me at night turning off the monitor and is annoying but really has nothing to do with the performance of the monitor.
As for my set up I am currently running a I7-950 processor on a Asus x-58 sabertooth motherboard. I have a 60Gb OCZ agilty SSD adn terrabyte Sata 6 gb secondary harddrive. Also a XFX 1Gb video, etc.. I run all my games and everything else maxed out no problems on my computer and my PS3 on this and have no problems at all and the lighting and color are just beautiful.
Pros:Gaming, multimedia, ps3, internet, engineering development tools
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell - ST2420L 24-inch Full HD Widescreen Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:FrankRBartlett
(Mountain Home, Idaho)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

ST2420L Review

PostedOctober 28, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been very happy with my new purchase. It has provided additional viewing space anding saves having to expand windows to see the total letter/message. The color is excellent. This is, by far, the best monitor I have ever used - either at home or work.
Pros:personal compute use, web camera viewing, streaming video
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell - ST2420L 24-inch Full HD Widescreen Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Hardw00d
(Ottawa, Ontario, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

good monitor, but a few things to consider

PostedNovember 3, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
the order process was smooth and delivery was on time. Setting up the monitor was easy enough except when i tried to use the HDMI connection with Windows 7 and an ATI Radeon 1250, i got improper scaling. It' an issue with the Video card though and not the monitor. It works great with my XBox 360 over HDMI though. The only issue is that you have to buy the sound bar separately and comparable viewsonic monitors include built in speakers for around the same price. I did buy the sound bar and it installed no prob, but the volume knob is a bit of a pain to access because of the monitors low and nonadjustable height. It also makes the hdmi connection a little tighter to get at, but once connected it seems fine.
The blacks are great on this monitor and colour overall is decent. It's a good monitor for gaming and computing.
Pros:software development, xbox 360 gaming, web browsing
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell - ST2420L 24-inch Full HD Widescreen Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Junglenewbie
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

worked out of box, good job Dell!

PostedNovember 7, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
the Screen Looks Gorgeous
Brighter than my 23 inch Dell LCD (Dell S2309W)
Design is slick!
Due to the LED, it's considerably thinner than my 23 inch Dell LCD monitor.
Nice UI control with good lay out no problem at all!
promte delivery standard shipping with 7 days.
Good Customer service, mine was ordered at price 219CAD, latter the price dropped to 199, so I called the customer support and was able to get extra 20 dollar refunded. very happy!
Pros:Gaming, hd movie
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell - ST2420L 24-inch Full HD Widescreen Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JeannieC
(Huntsville)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Nice monitor

PostedNovember 10, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great monitor at a great price
Pros:watchign video, normal computer use
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell - ST2420L 24-inch Full HD Widescreen Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BobCanada
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Bought of Bunch of ST2420's and now this one

PostedNovember 12, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I find the screen display is not as nice as the ST2420... is it me or anyone else? I bought several 2420's they were so cheap, now even cheaper. I wanted LED... I don't think the LED is better, nor as good. Maybe it was just my set up? The whites were not as white it seemed.
-8points
2of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell - ST2420L 24-inch Full HD Widescreen Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Archy
(Home)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great monitor for the price

PostedNovember 24, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got this monitor cause it was 30% off but was really terrified of how it might turn out cause of the reviews. After getting it and using it, I find it pretty good. Some cons I would address are...
No DVI or HDMI cables provided - This part was really cheap on Dell's part.
1080p solution instead of 1200 - I don't find anything really wrong with this considering the price of the monitor.
Low max Brightness - I'm running this monitor had 45 brightness and I find it good enough for gaming and movies already, don't see why people need it ridiculously bright.
5ms response time - Doubt a 3ms response time difference compared to other monitors is even noticeable
Unadjustable height - This could get annoying with a low table.
Overall, you really do get what you pay for.
Pros:Gaming, work, movies, browsing, ps3
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell - ST2420L 24-inch Full HD Widescreen Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Seree
(Bangkok, Thailand)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Awesome monitor!

PostedNovember 25, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Just pick it up from store last week and I found it is *Awesome*.
I'm currently using BenQ T2200HD at my office and I found Dell ST2420L is brighter and sharper.
Happy with it. :)
Pros:software development, web browsing, web design
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell - ST2420L 24-inch Full HD Widescreen Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MasterMorris
(Moncton, NB)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Warning: Poor Picture Quality

PostedNovember 26, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dell ST2420L 24" W Full HD Monitor with LED review:
Extremely choppy and very grainy in picture quality.
Screen if not looked at dead center will turn black if looked at from a slight angle.
Heat activated buttons do not light up and are unable to be seen at night.
No DVI or HDMI cable.
5ms response time causes moving images to look like you’re seeing triple.
1080 resolution, not 1200 causes images to be pixilated and grainy.
0.277mm pixel pitch, not 0.249mm makes viewing hard on the eyes.
LED is very dim and grainy even when brightness and contrast are set to 100%, to compare my older 2001 model year LCD is brighter and clearer.
Flathead screwdriver required for assembly and an additional tool is required to trigger the spring lock if taking the monitor stand back off of the monitor in order to put it back in its box.
Dell’s PayPal API missed my business address and instead put my PO Box causing me to have to pick up my own package at the shipping depot.
Warranty replacement is a refurbished monitor, not new.
I have requested a RMA (return merchandise authorization) because this monitor is unusable to me and waited a week before the driver finally picked up the monitor.
It was very difficult to understand the India call center reps even when listening to them very carefully.
Unfortunately this monitor seems to be much cheaper than generations past, not what I would have expected from Dell in years past.
These comments are screened by Dell employees, my first review was rejected which makes me wonder how many more bad reviews were rejected?
Pros:software development, graphic design, video production, web design
+60points
79of 98voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell - ST2420L 24-inch Full HD Widescreen Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DHUTCH1980
(Charlotte, NC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

EXCEEDS EXPECTATIONS

PostedNovember 27, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased three of these monitors on sale for one-eighty each. At this price, there is no better value currently on the market. Though this monitor does not have the resolution of the Ultra Sharp, most users will not have an appreciation for the difference. Using three of these (side by side), my productivity has dramatically improved. Be sure to check for any coupon codes on the website before purchase.
Pros:streaming video, Video Editing, security camera monioring, financial modeling and analysis
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell - ST2420L 24-inch Full HD Widescreen Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jeremymichael27
(Cornell, WI)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good Monitor

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This monitor is soooo much better then my 19 inch I had. Also for 199 u can't beat it....
Pros:just for the internet
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell - ST2420L 24-inch Full HD Widescreen Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DrXtreme
Title:

Worst Monitor in class

PostedDecember 1, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have others that are less cost, other makers, at least two orders of magnitude better display quality not to mention they all arrived in working order.
Like others said, the controls do not light up so you cannot see them, Extremely dim, grainy, ghosty images. Worthless for Multimedia viewing as I planned. Videos are jerky. Spend more on higher end or buy another maker if Dell can't fix these.
I am returning it as it was broken on delivery. Menu controls don't work. I will have them send me equivalent to the old 24 in Ultra Sharp series or refund my money.
Pros:multimedia viewing, web development, photo editing, video compositing
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell - ST2420L 24-inch Full HD Widescreen Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:homeandwork
Title:

disappointed

PostedDecember 2, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
The 2420L replaced the 2410. I ordered the 2410 3 months ago, and now I ordered the 2420L because 2410 is no longer available. I'm trying to do dual monitor, but sadly, the 2410 and 2420L are slightly different. If you want dual monitor, order 2 monitors that are exactly the same and at the same time. Then you won't be disappointed.
The 2420L is not as good as the 2410. The 2410 had vibrant colors and was beautifu. For some reason, the 2420L gives off a slightly different color. It appears more bluish and less yellow. (whites are still white). I tried adjusting the Red, Green, Blue settings, to try to match both monitors but this doesn't work because the whites would be off. So it's kind of strange looking at two monitors side by side and each is slightly different in color. For the 2420L, the blacks are not very dark. They look like dark grey in a lit environment. You know, like when you walk into a pitch black room and a TV is on with a black blank screen but still glowing. Except this is noticable in a well lit room because the black is not dark enough. With discount, it's the cheapest 24" monitor from Dell, but this replacement was a disappointment compared to the 2410.
Pros:work, photo editing, home
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell - ST2420L 24-inch Full HD Widescreen Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ST2420L
(MO)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Viewing area

PostedDecember 2, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this size monitor to replace a 21 1/2" one I used. I thought I would be able to view more area of two programs I use at the same time. Not so. The 24" is bigger but so are the programs and Icons. The resoulution is set at it's highest but I still have the same areas of the two programs I work with covered by one another. I may as well stayed with the 21 1/2" monitor.
This is the only time I have been disappointed by a Dell product & I have had quite a few.
Pros:at home
-57points
10of 77voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell - ST2420L 24-inch Full HD Widescreen Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KeithReviewed
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Reviewed ST2420L

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I realize to some people it’s a sport to whine about every thing. I’m not going to pan this monitor, and here why - It’s all perspective…
Overall, I would buy this again. Price performance wise, it’s hard to beat. I wish I had a monitor this good at work.
So, after running and owning PCs since the mid 80s, I’ve paid lots more money for a large monitor. My first good 17” monitor cost $1700 but it was the bomb for it’s day in 1990.
Nowadays, instead of buying the most expensive PC, I’ve taken a slant that the lowest cost unit with an Intel processor is fine for home use. So, my current setup is a $500 4GB Ram Inspiron 5600 slim with 2 hard drives, DVD writer, Windows7 Home Premium. Since buying it, I’ve upgraded my Video Card to an $75 aftermarket ATI Radeon 5400HD card because I planned to use 2 wide screen monitors.
Until this, I used a 22” Acer flat panel LCD monitor I had which didn’t have HDMI. I wanted a monitor I could use to watch TV on in my office occasionally using the HDMI setup. So I waited until the sales were coming for monitors in November. I bought my 2420L LED model on the Black Friday special for $180. I’ve had it running a few days now.
So far, it’s everything Dell advertised it was. With my card, running full 1080P HDMI mode for Windows7 it’s crystal clear. My Radeon card allows all kinds of tweaks to make video, YouTube and stuff look better.
For settings on the Monitor, I’m using 65 on Brightness and Contrast. Mode selection is Video, Preset Mode is Movie, Hue 49, Saturation 41. I changed the on screen menus so I can easily toggle between HDMI and PC, it takes about 4 strokes to toggle.
Here's a setup TIP: I hooked the audio out from the monitor up to my PC’s microphone in line on the PC. What happens when you toggle to HDTV is the audio goes into the PC’s speakers to watch TV. When you switch back to VGA, the TV audio turns off. Seems simple right?
Corner to corner, it’s a very sharp monitor. You will have to spend some time adjusting it to your room and preferences. For me, that took about an hour to get it where I wanted it after set it up but I’m picky. Watching HDTV looks great to my eyes. I try to find faults, but I can’t. My other TV is a 42” Vizio with 240hz refresh rate and it’s stunning and for 24” screen. This LED monitor is all I could want. The truth is, only 60% of the programming on Time Warner is true HD anyway!
It’s not heavy, you can easily move it around. My out of the box experience was good, it’s not rocket science to setup. The only drag is the amount of plastic stuck to it to protect the shiny black surface from scratching, it takes about 5 minutes of careful peeling to get it all unwrapped.
Pros:web surfing, ms office 2010, photo editing, watching hdtv
+50points
52of 54voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell - ST2420L 24-inch Full HD Widescreen Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Yianni
Title:

Excellent Value

PostedDecember 8, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros. Cost, Value. Dell reputation.
My wife liked it so much, it's now in the guest room being used as our HDTV hooked up on cable.
Now I'll have to buy another one for my MacBook.
Cons
I'm old school. I don't like the "touch sensor" controls
Pros:tv monitor, computer monitor
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell - ST2420L 24-inch Full HD Widescreen Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Poks
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good screen for work but not for multimedia

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
For 180$ (203$ with quebec and federal taxes) this is a pretty good screen for what I do with it, i.e. programming, checking my emails and office work.
If you want to watch movies on it, the refresh rate is clearly shown on the screen as there are horizontal lines that happear when there is a fast movements.
Otherwise, the contrast is good and it's a good looking screen
Pros:office, programming
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15