Customer reviews for Dell - UltraSharp U2311H 23-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Display

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Dell - UltraSharp U2311H 23-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Display

Dell - UltraSharp U2311H 23-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Display
4.761 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 134 reviews
5 Stars
106
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
4.8
 / 
5
(134 reviews) 129
131 out of 13498%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell - UltraSharp U2311H 23-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Display
Review 21 for Dell - UltraSharp U2311H 23-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Display
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Susan11
Title:

DELL U2311H 23IN Flat Panel Monitor

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I checked the Consumer Reports website before purchasing a new monitor, and they highly recommended the DELL U2311H 23IN Flat Panel Display. Because of that, and because of Dell's reputation, I purchased the monitor online, and received it several days later. It was easy to install, is compatible with my existing computer components, and looks great! I've had no problems at all with it, and am very happy about the purchase i made. Keep up the good work, Dell!
Pros:work and personal usage
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Dell - UltraSharp U2311H 23-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Display
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cheezhead
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

great monitor

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
great clarity and definition. my old monitor is an ultra sharp 19". I now run them in tandem. I have XP media center and can run this and also be on the net at the same time. the 23" is great for multiple picture in picture screens.
Cons
the only negative is on setup is the need to reset
the display settings for the wide screen format, which was not in the setup instructions.
another awesome product that I have purchsed from Dell.
Pros:streaming video, dvd"s, tv monitor, internet sports
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Dell - UltraSharp U2311H 23-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Display
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PacoLoco
Title:

Great Monitor and Great Stand

PostedJuly 1, 2011
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
This monitor is excellent. It has a perfect picture and has absolutely no glare because of the 3m mat finish. The stand it comes on is easily adjusted for height, angle, and tilt. Probably the best monitor stand that I have ever had. Ability to plug in multiple USB devices directly into monitor is a big plus. If you’re scared to shell out a few extra dollars to get this monitor - don’t be. It is well worth the bump in cost from the other monitors.
Pros:software development, photo, video, Gaming
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Dell - UltraSharp U2311H 23-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Display
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KayteP
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Very happy

PostedJune 24, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this monitor for photo editing after looking at a number of options. I'm very happy with the picture quality and have recommended it to others.
Pros:photo editing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Dell - UltraSharp U2311H 23-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Display
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HeavenNJ
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

This is a excellent product

PostedJune 21, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I recently bought this U2311H monitor because I have been used to U2211H before I came to USA. So I got this one since it's a excellent monitor.
Prof:
1. The adjustable stand is what I want most, portrait view by 90 degrees rotation is great for PDF reading and picture drawing.
2. It has a great qualities in the color and viewable angle, great for video.
However,the 23 inch wide screen is to large for PDF reading by portrait, making you heads up and down.
Whatever, it's a great monitor for daily office and home use.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Dell - UltraSharp U2311H 23-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Display
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ODETEX
Title:

Best Ever

PostedJune 19, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just got monitors for my Triplehead2Go, and it is great. I got four total monitors and its great. Quality, colors, stand, everything is great! Buy you will no regret it! I bought 3 and they work great! It is so easy to use, worth the money. I do school work, play call of duty on them, and light video editing, I love that I can turn the screen Vertical for long documents.
Odessa, Texas
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Dell - UltraSharp U2311H 23-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Display
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:meinster
(Whitehorse, Yukon)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Incredible Monitors

PostedJune 16, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought two of these monitors when they were on sale, and I regret not getting the third one. I use them both for PP using Lightroom and the color are simply incredible. I only had to do some slight calibration to get the colours just perfect. The images are crisp and colour reproduction is incredible. I have played Crysis and you really do not notice any ghosting (unless you are SOOO picky that you are purposely looking for it. Video editing and playback is also excellent. These monitors are worth every penny.
Pros:photoediting, Video Editing
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Dell - UltraSharp U2311H 23-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Display
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MattEH
Title:

Quality Monitor

PostedJune 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Amazing Monitor. I'm very happy with both the quality and the price of this monitor. Brilliant colors and amazing video quality.
Highly recommend for some one who is on the fence about this item. You won't go wrong.
Pros:games, autocad/revit, video, graphics - photoshop/3ds max
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Dell - UltraSharp U2311H 23-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Display
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:IslandUser
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Absolutely Wonderful

PostedJune 8, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Simply plug-and-play with Windows 7, no need to install anything from the included CD. The panel design is elegant, and the IPS display itself is beautiful beyond words.
I have a three-year-old desktop system that still works fine. When I purchased the Dell U2311H, I also decided to upgrade to a graphics card that supports DVI. The U2311H changes the visual experience significantly! Dell should offer specials on this panel regularly so that more users can enjoy such enhanced experience.
By the way, the first time you access the U2311H controls, you must press the button right above the power button for about 10 seconds until the unlock icon appears on the screen.
Pros:media development, software development, web browsing, movie watching
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Dell - UltraSharp U2311H 23-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Display
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BrianEP
(Duncansville , PA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Almost too wide

PostedJune 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
It may be Almost too wide, but it really isn't. It is really pretty sweet and I have no complaints at all. The only trick with setting it up was picking the right resolution, which for me is 1280x1024, that way I get all size and a NICE vivid picture. Thanks to Consumer Reports who rated it #1 and Thanks Dell.
Pros:surfing e-mail and gaming
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Dell - UltraSharp U2311H 23-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Display
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Merlin333
(Arizona)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent for the price

PostedJune 3, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought two of these and mounted them on a vertical stand, giving me essentially a 1920x2160 monitor (about 33" equivalent diagonal) for just a little more than the price of the 24" UltraSharp (when it's not on sale). After a few days I hardly notice the blank space between the two monitors.
I tried using the two monitors side-by-side in Portrait mode, but I wasn't satisfied - there is a loss of image quality compared to normal (landscape) mode, especially noticeable for text. So then I popped for the vertical stand, and I'm happy with the result. I adjusted the stand so that each monitor is slightly tilted vertically, so that the center of each monitor is perpendicular to my line of sight.
I do think the IPS image quality is unquestionably superior to the cheaper monitors.
Pros:software development, video, general office work
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Dell - UltraSharp U2311H 23-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Display
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ezarowny
(West Lafayette, IN)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Above and Beyond My Expectations

PostedJune 3, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was looking for an IPS monitor and a friend pointed me to this monitor. Up until owning this I had been using a 15" MacBook Pro as my primary computer and display. I built a new desktop to go along with this monitor and I was straight up blown away by the performance of this monitor.
The color reproduction, contrast and overall utility are outstanding. It has multiple input types including display-port; which I am currently using. It doesn't hurt to have a USB hub built into the monitor either. However, even better than that is the adjustability. The stock base provides swivel, tilt, rotation and height adjustment to let you bring the monitor to the perfect position.
I only wish that the monitor let the operating system know it had been rotated by updating its EDID but that's a minor issue at this price point.
Overall this is easily the best IPS monitor for your money.
Pros:software development, Gaming, web development
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Dell - UltraSharp U2311H 23-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Display
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Wilford
(Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

UltraSharp U2311H 23-Inch Widescreen

PostedJune 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Excellent monitor with nice features including built-in power supply. Works flawlessly. Nice amount of "real-estate" for a general purpose home monitor. Easy to set up and plenty of connection options. Excellent shipping/delivery from Dell.
Pros:home use; general purpose
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Dell - UltraSharp U2311H 23-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Display
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Omega79
Title:

Great monitor

PostedJune 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This monitor has a excellent picture, color an clarity is fabulous.
Pros:Gaming
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Dell - UltraSharp U2311H 23-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Display
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Chuck3
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Perfect monitor

PostedJune 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have only been using my U2311H monitor for a few weeks now but I am very pleased with the performance. The colors look much sharper than my old Dell 2005FPW monitor. The price was about half as much to boot. I would recommend this monitor to anyone looking for a great value on a great monitor.
Pros:steaming video, photo editing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Dell - UltraSharp U2311H 23-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Display
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kester71
(Santa Cruz CA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Awesome Monitor!

PostedJune 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
I bought this to replace my 5 year old Samsung flat panel. I thought that thing would last forever, but it finally kicked it. I was very uneasy about buying another monitor due to many conflicting reviews on many other comparable products. Then one day I stumbled on the DELL U2311H. It runs all my games and videos perfect and sharply. The angle and height adjustment is awesome
Cons
Only thing wrong is that I didn't find it sooner.
Pros:gaming (fps wow etc..), movies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Dell - UltraSharp U2311H 23-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Display
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hclegg
Title:

excellent monitor

PostedMay 28, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
this monitor has exceeeded my expectations. Its got great color reproduction and viewing angles and is a good deal compaired to 24 inch and above ipa monitors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Dell - UltraSharp U2311H 23-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Display
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:photoedit
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Nice monitor for the price.

PostedMay 25, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Good color out of the box, easy set up, need to adjust brightness down quite a bit from factory settings. Only gave 4 stars because it is e-ips so not wide gamut or 8 bit. Decent value for the money if bought with discount. Stand is very solid.
Pros:photo editing
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Dell - UltraSharp U2311H 23-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Display
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ryhkar
(California, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent Monitor

PostedMay 23, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
It’s been years since I had to purchase a monitor, but when my Samsung started to flicker until it warmed up, I knew it was time to upgrade. I did my research by asking searching the web and asking co-workers what they used and liked. This monitor came up with tons positive results and recommendations on the web, and a few people I work with have IPS monitors from Dell and love them. In the end it came down to this monitor or an LG, so I decided to go with the Dell.
So far, I am loving it! The picture quality is excellent, the controls to adjust the picture are straight forward and easy to use, the stand is sturdy with the ability to adjust the height. You can even pivot the monitor without moving the base itself. I didn’t have to do any adjustments to the colors either. I was able to use it out of the box. The only reservation I had prior to buying it was the monitor doesn’t have an HDMI port, however since I don’t plan to hook a cable box to it, and have a Creative Labs sound card with surround sound, I knew I wasn’t going to miss it. So far, all my PC games are looking great. I haven’t seen any refresh issues, tearing, bleeding, etc.
Side note – 1 dead pixel and Dell will replace it, and it’s a multi-year warranty. You can’t beat it!
Pros:Gaming, multimedia
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Dell - UltraSharp U2311H 23-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Display
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MattyD
(Alliston Ontario)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good all around monitor

PostedMay 19, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this monitor to replace my 5-year-old IPS panel Viewsonic 20.5" monitor as it had died. Lucky for me it was on sale for a great price, the same almost as a comparable LCD.
Coming from an IPS monitor and having been disappointed with LCD's I had high standards. I was happy to see that the color and blacks were as good as my old panel though I have to tweak settings to get the same colors etc. I have played some games on it with no detectable ghosting though I found on my old monitor it was only an issue in dark areas, something I have yet to really try with the new one.
The stand and USB connections are extremely nice and really add to the monitors appeal. The on-screen menus work well. I plugged it in and really didn’t need to change anything, I made a few tweaks to the saturation levels but could live with the stock settings fine.
The only "negative" would be that coming from a 20.5" to a 23" I would have thought it would be bigger. It is in fact only a hair taller but a good deal wider. It made sense after thinking about the resolutions of the two but it is something to note (1680 x 1050 vs 1920 x 1080, only 30 pixels higher but almost 300 wider).
Pros:home pc, photo editing, Gaming
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
  1 2 3 4 5 ... 7