Customer reviews for Dell - E190S 19-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Dell - E190S 19-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor

Dell - E190S 19-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor
4.56 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
4.6
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
24 out of 2596%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell - E190S 19-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Review 1 for Dell - E190S 19-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MonicaD
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

E190S review

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Clear and sharp text on a nice 1280x1024 resolution monitor, also like the 4:3 ratio for Office productivity.
It is really an entry monitor with good value over performance and Energy star that is light on environment.
Pros:office productivity
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell - E190S 19-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Grandma9
(Indiana)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedSeptember 8, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
The monitor arrived in good shape and was easy to assemble. It has good resolution on the screen.
Pros:home office and personal use
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell - E190S 19-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Valleyboyjohn
(Guelph, ON, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Flat monitors

PostedAugust 4, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Going from a bulky 16" tube to this 19" lcd is amazing. I can even fit my montor and tower in the same space or less. And it's so light you don't need the swivel base as on the older monitor. Really pleased with it.
Pros:personal email surfing streaming
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell - E190S 19-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hvyusr
(Rockville, MD)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great monitor, Best choice for the price

PostedApril 30, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Unless you want super resolutions, this monitor is one of the best in the market. Compared to some wide screens, this monitor displays full 1024 vertical lines. Great for office, great for home. No complaint what so ever.
Pros:software development, video display, web browsing, ms word / excel etc
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell - E190S 19-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:noxvet
(TX)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Nothing fancy

PostedFebruary 12, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Absolutely no frills here. I plugged it into the computer and it worked instantly. Very lightweight, the only assembly was snapping a stand into the back. I didn't even install the driver until a few weeks ago for the heck of it. It's still at version 1.0 and nothing new online for it.
I got this as an unexpected Christmas gift. I definitely would have ordered it on my own, if I wasn't lazy enough to upgrade from my old trusty yet cumbersome CRT.
It's the baseline, so the maximum resolution is 1280 by 1024 pixels, which is absolutely fine if you're not a professional computer artist.
It automatically re-adjusts during each resolution change or when ever it turns on from being off. This is a little bit annoying but only takes a couple seconds.
Unfortunately I got a defected one, and is showing signs on some internal over-heating on the monitor's chip set (not my PC's chip set or my graphics card, I've tested the variables) so I've got several funky inverted color stripes running down the beautiful display.
Thank heavens for the 3-year warranty or I wouldn't have even considered this monitor in the first place.
The monitor is not great, and lacks any advanced functionality that differentiates it from any other monitor display. You have Positioning, image, and color settings and that's it. I don't think it is anything above a rating of fair or even average.
All the other reviewers gave it more than 3 or 4 stars because it exceeded their expectations and when they received their monitor, it actually worked and displayed a bright and fairly sharp image, which I'll admit was competitive to my CRT, and I honestly haven't plugged in my old CRT since I've been using this LCD one, even with the issue it's having with it's display right now. :)
It's a good inexpensive monitor worth every dollar, I'd say. Fair.
Pros:graphic design, web design, word processing, video gaming
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell - E190S 19-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:thumper1955
(Trona,ca)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

great

PostedFebruary 11, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This monitor color and viewing was a very good upgrade from my other monitor i had. Am glad i bought it.
Pros:home
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell - E190S 19-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BeltServicing
(Southern Maryland)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

I Can Finally See

PostedJanuary 20, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was so tired of having to wait for my monitor to boot up. I really wasn't sure if I had monitor problems or CPU. After switching out with another monitor - I logged on to Dell and decided that this was the monitor for me. Great decision!
Pros:personal use
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell - E190S 19-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Carlitosway714
(Arlington Heights, IL)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very Good Monitor

PostedJanuary 16, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Simple set-up with easy to follow instructions. Monitor worked on power up with the old display drivers which were already installed on my computer from a Dell CRT monitor it replaced. Instructions said if it works then new drivers do not have to be installed. I wonder if the new drivers would be better though...probably so. I will install new display drivers someday as monitor came with new driver CD. Default color seems washed out compared to old 17" CRT that I used to use (maybe caused by using the old drivers). However, I haven't played around with any settings yet.
At high recommended resolution (1280x1024) text was very poor and of course very small. I use 1152x1024 and everything is pretty good but still not as good definition as the old CRT I previously used. I heard CRT's have better definition and I guess that's true. Professionals and engineers who work with CAD (computer aided design) programs usually only work with CRT's for this reason.
I get more on the screen now moving from the old 17" CRT to 19" flat panel even when not using the max resolution. It looks much better overall, saves space and is easy to clean around. Furthermore, it saves a lot more energy.
Pros:home office, e-mail, ms office suite
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell - E190S 19-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Joesant
(Illinois)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedDecember 11, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Does the exact job it's designed for. I know the movement is toward widescreens but I hope they continue to manufacture the 4:3 models.
Pros:home office, streaming videio, photos
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell - E190S 19-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rawb35
(Madison, Wisconsin)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Great Choice

PostedDecember 3, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
PROS
My old Gateway flat panel monitor finally gave up the ghost after six years. My son loaned me a 13 inch monitor. This caused problems with my 74 year old eyes. I knew I wanted a flat panel monitor, but because of space restrictions I could not use a widescreen monitor, plus I don't like the widescreen monitors. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE this monitor. It is just the right size and the view is fantastic. I chose this particular monitor partly because it has a power button on the front. This way I can leave the computer on all of the time, but not be bothered by the light of the monitor at night. I have several ebooks that I read with Adobe Reader and everything is just the correct size and easy read. I also use an intergrated database with over 3500 records and this is easy to read. The colors and resolution are excellent. I was able to set this up with very little effort. First I inserted the CD and read all the information. Then I followed the instructions. EASY!
CONS
Absolutely none!
If you are looking for a great monitor that is clear and easy on the eyes, then this may be the choise for you too. I spend about four hours a day using the computer. PLUS the price is right.
Pros:general internet surfing, working on database, shopping, reading on adobe reader, word processing, quicken
+32points
33of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell - E190S 19-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MyDisplayName44
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Disappointing

PostedNovember 20, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
The only part of purchasing this that was totally satisfying was the shipping - well packaged and fairly quick.
And the overall appearance is nice and low key for my tastes. However...
Primary problem is medium and smaller font's are poor and hard to read (tried ClearType tuning nine-ways to Sunday).
Doesn't have any standardized color temperature settings. All adjustments have to be done manually. Hard to find a setting that is ideal. My eyes are tired and I've gotten headaches.
Menu usage is about average (I guess nobody has figured out how to do this well).
Monitor sits too low for me (3 1/4 clearance, bottom of screen a smidge less than 4 inches from surface.
Is pretty secure from tipping over, but monitor moves too easily and the standard Dell stand (the V legs) get in the way of my keyboard and allow the base to be moved too easily.
Matte surface of screen is not as invisible as other monitors I've used.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell - E190S 19-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:flatscrene
(Redding california)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

monitor

PostedNovember 13, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
the flat screne is a room saver and the larger size helps visually
Pros:computer
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell - E190S 19-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Crzycritter
(Nocona TX)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Great Monitor for the buck!

PostedNovember 11, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
This one replaces the BenQ that went out. Bright and colors are perfect! Nice 19 inch Monitor
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell - E190S 19-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sealover
(east coast)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

great monitor

PostedNovember 5, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have always used dell monitors..My last two flat screens lasted more than eight years and I still have one in daily use that is that old...My new monitor is even better than my old ones...much clearer...better resolution by far..
Pros:daily for work and pleasure
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell - E190S 19-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TB0601
Title:

A great monitor....

PostedOctober 14, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
It seems to be getting more difficult these days to find products that are not in the wide screen format. I needed a new monitor to replace my old CRT model, and this was the perfect choice. It arrived in a timely manner and was well packed. I set it up in a matter of minutes, and was immediately delighted with the vibrant color and images. It takes up very little space, so it is the perfect monitor for smaller desk sizes. I am very pleased with my purchase and would recommend this product to anyone looking for a reasonably priced, quality monitor.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Finances, internet, ms office
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell - E190S 19-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HomeOfficeUser101
(Home Office)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

E190S 19-inch Black Flat Panel LCD Monitor

PostedOctober 12, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I would highly recommend this monitor for home office use. I use this additional monitor to extend my display, so my desktop spans two screens. You can drag applications from one screen to another and reference two documents without having to minimize an application to view another doc. You can't beat the price and quality as well as the promptness of delivery.
Pros:home office
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell - E190S 19-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sam
Title:

E190S 19-inch Black Flat Panel LCD Monitor E190S 1

PostedSeptember 11, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this monitor for my wife. She loves it! It is just the right size and has an awsome presentation. I will buy a second for me and a third one for my mom.
Pros:Gaming, surfing, ms office products
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell - E190S 19-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jeff1B1
(Calgary, Alberta)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good Monitor at a Good Price

PostedAugust 12, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I already had a good Dell 19" monitor with my Dell PC. I bought this monitor to double my desktop working space with a 2nd 19" monitor. I was teetering on the edge of deciding whether or not to spend the money on a 2nd monitor. Then Dell put the E190S on Sale at $100 off list price..... well, that tipped the scale for me. I bought it a month ago and am satisfied with it's performance.
However, there is one problem. It developed one bad pixel after a few days. Most of the time I don't notice the bad pixel.... and considering the great deal I got on it, I'm not complaining.
Pros:Finances, home office, stock trading
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell - E190S 19-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:nickelson
Title:

excellent item

PostedAugust 12, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
the colour is excellent and the screen is wide and you will love this item, i recommend it for everyone who wants to improve his pc.
excellent for internet lovers
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Finances
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell - E190S 19-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:manchine
(NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Get it...you'll like it

PostedAugust 9, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
You will not be disappointed. I stepped up from the 17" flat panel that came with the computer three years ago. I had no problems with the that one, just interested in a bigger picture. This one is the from the same series and when I saw the price I got it for there was no reason to say no. It's like getting a big screen tv- you don't know what your missing until you have it and then you can't go back. I've noticed subtle shadings that weren't there on the smaller screen and the display is vibrant. The fact that it uses less energy and is "greener" than the old one only adds to the value. Don't wait too long to get it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2