Customer reviews for Dell - E170S 17-inch Black Flat Panel LCD Monitor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Dell - E170S 17-inch Black Flat Panel LCD Monitor

Dell - E170S 17-inch Black Flat Panel LCD Monitor
5 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
5
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 11
12 out of 12100%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell - E170S 17-inch Black Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Review 1 for Dell - E170S 17-inch Black Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jstevenson
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

Great monitor

PostedAugust 11, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Love this monitor. Great picture quality and fits perfectly on our computer desk. Our old monitor had a slightly blurry look when hooked up to our brand new desktop, so we had to upgrade. This was the only monitor that wasn't HD and "stretched out" it is perfect-we really enjoy the clear picture.
Pros:general home use
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell - E170S 17-inch Black Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:crimefoto
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent monitor

PostedFebruary 18, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this monitor to "upgrade" my several years old Inspiron 3000. Did not want a wide-screen, and this fit the bill. Excellent color right out of the box...plug and play. Good choice if you are looking for a conventional format monitor.
+22points
24of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell - E170S 17-inch Black Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:scottbsooner
(Home office)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Monitor!

PostedJanuary 24, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
Great monitor for someone that doesn't want a large widescreen or hard to move 19in. model.
Cons:
Only negative I can give is that you need a DVI converter if you don't have VGA out.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell - E170S 17-inch Black Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:inkblot
(Cornville, Arizona)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Superb Service

PostedJanuary 21, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Glad to find a monitor that was not a widescreen but disappointed that I would not get it for close to a week.
But much to my surprise and delight it arrived in just two days! Thank you to everyone.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell - E170S 17-inch Black Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bozotheclown
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

4 by 3

PostedOctober 22, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Surprisingly good display. I was concerned the lack of DVI output would affect display quality but it looks good to me. It looks as good as the display on my Vostro laptop. I tried a Samsung 20" wide screen but didn't like the dimensions. I don't watch movies so the 16x9 screen and higher resolution didn't make sense to me. I like the 4:3 display with my spreadsheets and web browser. I got it for $130 and considering I paid $800 12 years ago for the excellent Sony 17" CRT that just died on me I'm pretty satisfied.
Pros:Finances, business, web
+21points
24of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell - E170S 17-inch Black Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JimLavers
(West Coast Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great for Marine Mapping Applications

PostedOctober 21, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Used as a navigation monitor on a sailboat. 12V power is always a problem and this definitely uses less than any monitors used previously. Very clear screen presenting easy to read aids to navigation etc. Not required to be used?--- turn off and when needed flashes up in a very short time.
So far no groundings!
Pros:marine navigation aid
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell - E170S 17-inch Black Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BrendaS
(Cornwall NY)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Love this monitor!

PostedOctober 21, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
The size is becoming obsolete, but its the perfect dimensions for an office setting where space is tight! It doesn't "stretch" certain pages or graphics because it isn't a wide screen, its closer to a square. I would replace all our monitors with this one. It feels bigger than its dimensions. Has great clarity. Love it!
Pros:Finances, business
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell - E170S 17-inch Black Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PatDowd
(Las Vegas, NV)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

What a difference a flat screen makes!

PostedOctober 7, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm extremely pleased with the Dell flat screen monitor. The colors and clarity are awesome! I also like the fact that I can adjust the angle much easier than my old monitor. Ease of installation was also a factor in my satisfaction. I highly recommend Dell products.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Finances, on-line purchases, internet games
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell - E170S 17-inch Black Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jemcauley
(Massachusetts)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Great value!

PostedSeptember 23, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I needed a space saver monitor at a reasonable price. This one is it. Good display, easy to install. No hassles. Connected it to my existing Dell Dimension PC which is about 7 years old.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell - E170S 17-inch Black Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mallybuttons
(New York City)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Monitor

PostedAugust 11, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very happy with the size, shape, and overall look of this monitor. The screen looks great and it's definitely a big improvement from the little screen on my old laptop. Good purchase! :)
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell - E170S 17-inch Black Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DannyKitty
(Wisconsin, United States)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Thank goodness Dell still sells monitors like this

PostedAugust 10, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
This monitor is great, especially since it uses the older (and more useful) 4:3 aspect ratio. This monitor is bright and the colors look great, and the picture is really sharp. Non-native resolutions look surprisingly good on here too. I also bought the matching SoundBar and it sounds great.
Pros:
- Image update speed is really fast, so games play well on here.
- Colors are bright
- Picture is really sharp
- Full-screen videos look great on here, even HD ones (letterboxing doesn't bother me)
- Not a widescreen--great if you do more than just watch movies on your computer
Cons:
- Too bright for me by default. Had to turn the brightness down to the lowest setting.
- Does not have a SoundBar power connector, but the SoundBar comes with its own power supply, so this isn't an issue.
- Height is not adjustable
Overall, this monitor is a great buy, especially if you're on a quest to find something other than a widescreen. The price is right too.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, internet & e-mail, word processing, games
+40points
40of 40voted this as helpful.
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Ratings-only reviews for Dell - E170S 17-inch Black Flat Panel LCD Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product