Customer reviews for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand

Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
4.745 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 106 reviews
5 Stars
90
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
4.7
 / 
5
(106 reviews) 103
99 out of 10693%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Review 1 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CatLady999
(Michigan)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Classic aspect ratio

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
In this wide-screen world, it is hard to find the classic aspect ratio.
This is a great monitor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Alas
Title:

Be Sure to Get the Extended Warranty

PostedApril 29, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This monitor has a potential structure flaw. I've had it for three and a half years and had yet to have a problem with it. But last night I walked in to find the metal support pieces holding the monitor to the stand had snapped, dropping my monitor onto my keyboard. Of course since it's 6 months past my warranty expired Dell cannot help replace any parts citing pieces tend to wear down over time.
It's metal. And it snapped. The monitor still works thankfully, but now I'm looking for a new way to keep my monitor upright.
Pros:digital arts
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JJFresh
Title:

Awesome but not for the price

PostedApril 14, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a fantastic monitor but if you pay for it new from dell you're a fool. Buy it used from amazon, ebay, or craigslist for around 100. These monitors keep on kicking so there's no need to buy it new. I have three monitors I got used for less than 300 total and they're all in perfect condition. As far as quality though, really sharp, great viewing angles, great response time, no dead pixels on any of my monitors, just all around great monitors. No complaints except the new price.
Pros:software development, multimedia, Gaming
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:fhaddad78
Title:

Excellent monitors, however, they are NOT IPS.

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I ordered two Dell Ultrasharp 2007FP monitors to replace two LG 23" widescreen displays because they were too wide and it wasn't ergonomic. Side by side the monitors look great. Some manual color calibration through the onscreen display was necessary in order to get the colors to match. They are well built quality monitors and I am very happy with them. One note to keep in mind: The VESA mounting holes are recessed in about a 1/4" so that when you are using the included monitor stand it attaches flush to the back of the monitor. This may cause a problem if you are wall mounting the monitors and your mounting bracket is not perfectly square. The CotyTech dual monitor wall mount I am using had that problem. I had to buy longer screws and make some plastic spacers so I could attach these monitors to the wall mount. Also, I'm not sure, but Dell's website is not consistent with the specs listed for these monitors. Some areas of the website claim the monitors are IPS panels and other parts claim they are TFT. I can confirm these are not IPS panels. The sales reps at Dell also state they are IPS panels. See these links: http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/productdetail.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=dhs&cs=19&sku=320-4687&~ck=baynoteSearch&baynote_bnrank=0&baynote_irrank=0 and http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/productdetail.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=soho&cs=ussoho1&sku=320-4687
Pros:software development
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NileshR12
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Seems Expensive, But TOTALLY WORTH IT!!!

PostedDecember 10, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This monitor is AWESOME!!!! I loved this monitor when I had it with my Dell XPS 410 computer!!!! I wanna get it again!!! It seems expensive, but it's TOTALLY WORTH IT!!!! SO if u're thinking about getting a new monitor, go to dell.com & look for this one!!!!!!!
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kujaw
Title:

Fantastic Monitor !!!

PostedJuly 20, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been looking for a non wide screen monitor for a long time. This is one of the few 4:3 aspect ratio monitors available, which is essential for more traditional applications that are typically distorted or shown only with black bars on wide screen monitors. This monitor is very unique in that it also features a UXGA resolution, whereas almost all competing 4:3 monitors only are available in SXGA (lower resolution). The OSD menu is great, and the monitor remembers VGA timing info, so manual readjustment is not necessary when switching resolutions. I was also impressed with the packaging, and the picture in picture with S video input is also a plus.
Pros:software development
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:wdcraftr
(Tucson, Az)
Title:

20" 2007FP

PostedJuly 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Picture blows me away! With the 4:3 aspect ratio, I get almost twice as much vertical picture as my 15" laptop widescreen..What a great help when looking at charts, lists, web pages,etc. My camera shoots in 4:3 screen size, and it just fits inside the full screen. What a pleasure to see my pics on this screen with it's supurb color, and clarity..I use my computer all day watching stock charts, reading news, emails, etc. No eye fatigue with this screen. I paired this with a new XPS 7100, 6 core, computer, and just love it..If you don't need to do intense gaming, but want a great monitor, this is worth the extra bucks!
Pros:multiple applications, web surfing email news., photo editing
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Backbutton
(Connecticut)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

The Only Large 4:3 Monitor Available besides EIZO

PostedMay 21, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had this monitor a few years, got it for the 4:3 1600 x 1200 resolution, which I prefer--this is the only on the market besides EIZO with a 21 inch which costs more than twice as much. I first got this as a backup to my Samsung 204B's just in case they broke. Buy one if you want to get a 4:3 1600 x 1200 monitor. These dimensions are preferable for spreadsheeting, programming, writing and reading--basic business uses, The widescreen is for gaming and whatever else. I recently bought the UltraSharp 2410--because it had 1920 x 1200 resolution--it is vertical resolution I need. I will retire this from daily use soon--not because I don't like it but to preserve it in case Dell stops making it--that's how much I like it. I "retired" my 2 Samsung 204B's as daily users just to preserve them too--since MTBF were creeping up--and they cannot be replaced. No need to go through all this trouble if only Monitor mfg's would keep making the 4:3 aspect ratio monitors--but they don't so got to grab as available. I would love to get the EIZO 21 inch, but it is not affordable or practical for me at this time, since I am not a graphics designer--AND THIS MONITOR IS PRACTICAL AND MORE THAN GOOD ENOUGH.
Pros:spreadsheet, programming, database, professional writing, emailing, daily use
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ComputerMike
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

There ARE WIN 7 drivers

PostedFebruary 17, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
many people have complained that there are no Win 7 drivers for this display. that is not true. I just got a refurb from Dell financial services on ebay and after connecting it to my computer it immediately found the monitor, installed the proper driver and set the resolution to 1600 by 1200.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:iyermish
(Philadelphia, PA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

NO WINDOWS 7 DRIVERS

PostedSeptember 1, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had this monitor for several years and it was wonderful as the second monitor to a 2407FP with matching resolutions. The 2407FP at 1920x1200 and the 2007FP at 1600x1200. It was a perfect setup for doing heavy graphics work in Photoshop ... until ... I upgraded to a Dell XPS 435T which came with Vista (with 7 auto-grade). At that time I was able to install a driver for the 2007FP at the full 1600x1200 resolution. When I UPGRADED to Windows 7 it was able to use the driver and it worked great until I had a major crash and had to reinstall Windows 7 and found there was no driver that did the trick. At this point, it's pretty useless and out of proportion at 1280x720 the maximum it will let me use it.
Pros:photography
-9points
11of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:iGanja
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Older technology - for a very good reason

PostedAugust 23, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
First thing you ask yourself is, "Why is Dell still selling this old monitor, five years after it was introduced, and why is it so expensive compared to newer, bigger ones?"
Some reviewers have noted that this monitor is rather outdated from a pure feature perspective, but the reason I bought this particular model, and continue to whenever I buy a new monitor, is simple. Large monitors today are often marketed to gamers who have a distinct desire for super-fast refresh rates. Notice this monitor's refresh rate is very old school. However, what most people do not realize is that to get a 2ms refresh rate, you need to sacrifice somewhere else if you want to keep the price reasonable. Where these "gaming" monitors cut is in the color representation. Although every one states they support 16.7 million colors, the fact is you are only getting 18-bit color. Notice, this is one of the only monitors sold by Dell that states in the tech specs that it supports 24-bit color. This make perfect sense, once you realize 18-bit color is really only 262 thousand colors, it can be "refreshed" a whole lot faster! What most monitors do is "simulate" 24-bit color by using multiple pixels to display a "true" color that this monitor does with just one. You can see this process in action very easily by simply changing/increasing your viewing angle on your monitor and watching the color shades change. This is done ever so discreetly, and is not widely advertised. Just because a monitor states it supports 16.7 million colors does not mean it can actually display them without fooling you.
So, the reason to buy this monitor is fairly clear, no pun intended. You get 24-bit color representation, and for those of us doing graphic design, where a color needs to be spot on correct, there is no 18-bit panel that can come anywhere near this panel in doing that.
If you need exact color, this is the only monitor at this price to consider, and yes, it is more expensive than others at this size or even bigger, but now you know why. If you are a gamer, move along, this is not the droid, er monitor you are looking for.
Pros:graphic design
+69points
70of 71voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RadXGe
(Montreal)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good monitor but outdated features

PostedMarch 11, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I own two 2007FPb A05 revision monitors, the first one uses Samsung's S-PVA panel and the other one uses LG's IPS panel.
The 2007FP was released a few years ago and the features are outdated. The displayport input is missing and DVI does not carry HDCP.
After calibration (65K, REC 709), the greyscale and the primaries/secondaries colors are surprisingly accurate.
There is no contrast and gamma controls in the monitor OSD but they can be adjusted trough the ATI video card drivers.
Both screens are free of defective pixels and input lag is acceptable.
The stand allows height adjustment which is important for comfort purposes.
Another positive feature is the picture size adjustment for non native resolutions.
The S-PVA unit shows better uniformity than the IPS but this issue may not be related to the panel technology being used.
The IPS unit shows a more constant gray scale and colors are slightly more accurate than its PVA brother.
In short, the 2007FP is still a good monitor if you do not mind the outdated features.
In my opinion, the 2007FP makes the perfect sidekick monitor.
Calibration settings (65K, Gamma target of 2.3)
- IPS Unit
Brightness: 15
Custom RGB: 96 100 98
ATI Drivers Gamma: 0.90
- S-PVA Unit
Brightness: 15
Custom RGB: 91 97 90
ATI Drivers Gamma: 0.85
Note: Add 0.05 to current gamma adjustment in order to achieve the more common Gamma target of 2.2.
Pros:work, gamin
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jbosmaus
(Massachusetts)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent solution

PostedFebruary 27, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought the 2007FP monitor 2 months ago and I'm very pleased with it. Both visually and ergonomically it's a great performer.
Aside from the expected features of an LCD screen (sharpness, lack of flicker) this one has some nice features that you don't always get with a low-cost screen:
- good brightness
- matte-finish, anti-glare screen, not one of those awful shiny ones
- matte black bezel is visually unobtrusive; it's also thin, which maximizes the space efficiency
- stand adjusts for both tilt and height, and is mechanically stable without being bulky
- stand lets the screen rotate to a 1200x1600 "portrait" mode that is great for text editing. (This will be usable only if your video driver offers screen rotation, but most do.)
- integrated USB hub gives you 4 ports right on your desktop without adding clutter - I didn't think I'd use this but have found it super convenient for plugging in a thumb drive.
I also prefer the 4:3 aspect ratio over the now-common widescreen formats; that was actually the most important feature for me, but your preference might differ.
A few of the reviewers seem to feel that the price for this screen is high, but look around for another 20", 1600x1200 screen at this price point - and good luck to you. HP has one, but its stand doesn't adjust for height and its bezel is silver.
There are a few really minor things that I'd change for an absolutely perfect product:
- the input source is indicated by a lit-up number on the bottom bezel; this is unnecessary and slightly distracting at first.
- as a consequence of the rotation feature, the monitor is very slightly off level in the "landscape" position. (The right side is about 3 mm lower than the left.) This might be peculiar to my unit. In any case, it's something you can adapt to pretty quickly.
- I wish the DVI cable were about 2 feet longer; my computer is under my desk and I had to reposition it to make the cable reach, but now the front of the computer is hard to reach.
I'd call this screen a great value, except that phrase often suggests a product with some missing features. In reality this has everything you need. It's not flashy but it's totally solid - which describes my experience with most Dell products, actually. Good work, Dell.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:joze2do
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Not the Usual Junk

PostedFebruary 20, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Don't be fooled by all the low-price monitors on the market today. This one has the quality manufacturers are capable of delivering, but seldom do. Great image quality, interpolation at non-native resolution, and viewing angle whether horizontal or vertical.
I was fortunate to receive the S-IPS version. Can't say if the other type is as good. That's the one drawback - Dell has you gamble on which model you actually end up with.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GIMyers
(Hay River, NT)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Unbelieveable graphics

PostedJanuary 14, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
We use these monitors at work & I really found the quality quite good. I decide to buy one for home. I play a bit of video games & I found the color & overall quality so much better then my old monitor. Seeing how well they lasted at work, was another consideration as the company I work for has purchased hundreds of them.
Pros:home use
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:heleno
(Ware, Massachusetts)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Absolute perfection !

PostedOctober 30, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
This monitor is simply stunning; clearly the best flat panel I've ever owned. Colors are super vibrant and text is razor sharp. My usage is normal web surfing and occasional photo editing. Editing is such a pleasure for me now with this monitor. And of course my 54 year old eyes appreciate the superb quality of this flat panel.
When I ordered it about a few months ago I didn't know at the time that there seems to be two versions of this panel. I think one is called a "TN" panel which some say is a quite good panel, and the other one is a superior quality S-IPS panel which luckily is the one that I recieved. That is easily verified with the last letter in the serial number being an "L".
I'm not too good with technical jargon as many folks here are, so about all I can add to the great reviews here is that I am so pleased with this monitor. I'll agree with all the other good reviews for it. I highly recommend this panel and if you are thinking about ordering one then I'd order it soon while these superior S-IPS panels are still available.
Pros:web surfing, photo editing
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:crowoman
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

awesome monitor

PostedOctober 21, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
This monitor is awesome. Just the right size and pixel ratio. I had recently purchased a wide-screen monitor thinking that was what I need for my web design business and ended up sending that one back. This one was very easy to set up, has various height and position adjustments to suit every taste and application, and the image clarity is fantastic.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AustinTom
(Austin, Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Great Monitor

PostedOctober 1, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was looking to upgrade from an older 19" monitor. This monitor has the S-IPS panel which offers great display quality and is well worth the price for use in the office. This is one of the few 4:3 ratio monitors still on the market. If you are looking for a high qualiy non-widescreen monitor at a fair price the 2007FP is the one to get.
Pros:business use, web design, graphic design
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SoCalDude
(So. Cal.)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Monitor !

PostedAugust 19, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
This Monitor is great. Using as 2nd display with laptop. Plenty of real estate for multiple apps and windows open. Highly recommended, especially at the discounted price I got it for.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:robnichols
(Allen, MD)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

I've just bought another of these.

PostedAugust 18, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had one of these monitors for about since Christmas 2006, and recently thought I'd upgrade to something "bigger newer better" so I tried a couple of the new 24 HD widescreens, including the new LED.
There is no upgrade for this outstanding 20" Dell without spending a LOT of money. I ended up sending back the snazzy new 24 LED monitor and ordering another one of these 2007FP's, to be sure and have a spare.
This monitor is that good. Sharp. Bright. Vibrant deep colors. If like me you also prefer the taller screen height of the older 4:3 aspect ratio, you can't beat this monitor.
If I had some more money lying around I'd buy another one of these while they're still available new. The list price is $379 and you get what you pay for.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6