Customer reviews for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand

Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
4.745 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 106 reviews
5 Stars
90
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
4.7
 / 
5
(106 reviews) 103
99 out of 10693%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Review 1 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Alas
Title:

Be Sure to Get the Extended Warranty

PostedApril 29, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This monitor has a potential structure flaw. I've had it for three and a half years and had yet to have a problem with it. But last night I walked in to find the metal support pieces holding the monitor to the stand had snapped, dropping my monitor onto my keyboard. Of course since it's 6 months past my warranty expired Dell cannot help replace any parts citing pieces tend to wear down over time.
It's metal. And it snapped. The monitor still works thankfully, but now I'm looking for a new way to keep my monitor upright.
Pros:digital arts
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Image Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:englishphilosophermathema
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Bad coating causes diffraction

PostedOctober 2, 2007
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you want a nice smooth image, do not buy any new Dell monitors because all the one's I have seen in the last six months have this irritating coating applied to the surface of the screen.
Pros:This monitor, like every other Dell monitor, features a slick and solid design and provides USB ports on the side which I think is the most compelling reason to get a Dell display.
Cons:The image quality is not good and absolutely irritates me. I have two of these at work and after 4 months with these monitors I still cannot stand looking at them. I think that the underlying cause of the bad image quality is some sort of protective coating that is applied to the screen which diffracts the EM waves. On close inspection, there are uneven areas on the screen, some lighter and some darker, presumably because the coating is not applied evenly. Another peculiarity you will notice close up are these semi-transparent diagonal hashes, which cause noticeable diffraction and make is very hard to focus your eyes on the screen.
+15points
20of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Image Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WOODY
(CONNECTICUT)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Big Screen, terrible Image quality, DONT BUY IT!

PostedNovember 12, 2006
No, I do not recommend this product.
-32points
3of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:iyermish
(Philadelphia, PA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

NO WINDOWS 7 DRIVERS

PostedSeptember 1, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had this monitor for several years and it was wonderful as the second monitor to a 2407FP with matching resolutions. The 2407FP at 1920x1200 and the 2007FP at 1600x1200. It was a perfect setup for doing heavy graphics work in Photoshop ... until ... I upgraded to a Dell XPS 435T which came with Vista (with 7 auto-grade). At that time I was able to install a driver for the 2007FP at the full 1600x1200 resolution. When I UPGRADED to Windows 7 it was able to use the driver and it worked great until I had a major crash and had to reinstall Windows 7 and found there was no driver that did the trick. At this point, it's pretty useless and out of proportion at 1280x720 the maximum it will let me use it.
Pros:photography
-9points
11of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hogmaster
(Chicagoland)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert

PostedMay 14, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overall, a very good monitor. But beware, there are two different monitor types sold under the same model number, and you have no control over which you get.
I bought 2 monitors, about two weeks apart. I want to use them side-by-side in a dual-monitor configuration, but the color (especially) white is very different between the two. It is extremely annoying, at best. The problem is that Dell sells two different monitors under the same model: IPS and PVA versions. They look very different, color-wise. Look at other sites - this is a well documented problem with this monitor. Other than this, I would give the monitor 5 stars.
+20points
21of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Image Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bydlo23
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Less than I expected

PostedFebruary 20, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
I chose this monitor because I read that it came with either an S-IPS or an S-PVA panel, both of which are somewhat difficult to find, especially for a reasonable price.
After receiving mine, I have to wonder if I am reviewing the same monitor as everyone else here. Purchased Feb 2009, the model # on the monitor is 2007FPb.
The viewing angles are consistent with TN panels nowadays, so I have to wonder if revision b of this monitor uses a cheaper panel. It certainly does not compare to my other monitor, which has a PVA panel. This is definitely a disappointment.
IMO unless you have a particular reason for wanting 1600x1200 your money would be better spent on a cheap 24" with 1920x1200.
Pros:-1600x1200 resolution is very nice -Price recently lowered - USB ports (if that matters, doesn't to me) -As with all Dell UltraSharps, the stand is very nice
Cons:-Dead pixel (bummer) -Viewing angles worse than expected -Not wild about the anti-glare coating
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Image Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DellUser1952
(Farmington, KY)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Known Issue With Monitor

PostedJanuary 18, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
It is incredible that an over $400.00 monitor does have the issue with tape as mentioned. Evidently, the hardware was not tested well during its development since, as also indicated on the Dell forum, the issue may develop even after a couple of weeks of operating time. The one that I have developed the issue in the left upper corner after about two months of use.
Pros:Elegant design, and a reasonably good image quality.
Cons:As also indicated on the Dell forum, after a short period of operating time tapes that are evidently present between the LCD panel and the backlight migrate in to the corners' viewing areas. The color of the tapes is yellow.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ComputerMike
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

There ARE WIN 7 drivers

PostedFebruary 17, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
many people have complained that there are no Win 7 drivers for this display. that is not true. I just got a refurb from Dell financial services on ebay and after connecting it to my computer it immediately found the monitor, installed the proper driver and set the resolution to 1600 by 1200.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RadXGe
(Montreal)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good monitor but outdated features

PostedMarch 11, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I own two 2007FPb A05 revision monitors, the first one uses Samsung's S-PVA panel and the other one uses LG's IPS panel.
The 2007FP was released a few years ago and the features are outdated. The displayport input is missing and DVI does not carry HDCP.
After calibration (65K, REC 709), the greyscale and the primaries/secondaries colors are surprisingly accurate.
There is no contrast and gamma controls in the monitor OSD but they can be adjusted trough the ATI video card drivers.
Both screens are free of defective pixels and input lag is acceptable.
The stand allows height adjustment which is important for comfort purposes.
Another positive feature is the picture size adjustment for non native resolutions.
The S-PVA unit shows better uniformity than the IPS but this issue may not be related to the panel technology being used.
The IPS unit shows a more constant gray scale and colors are slightly more accurate than its PVA brother.
In short, the 2007FP is still a good monitor if you do not mind the outdated features.
In my opinion, the 2007FP makes the perfect sidekick monitor.
Calibration settings (65K, Gamma target of 2.3)
- IPS Unit
Brightness: 15
Custom RGB: 96 100 98
ATI Drivers Gamma: 0.90
- S-PVA Unit
Brightness: 15
Custom RGB: 91 97 90
ATI Drivers Gamma: 0.85
Note: Add 0.05 to current gamma adjustment in order to achieve the more common Gamma target of 2.2.
Pros:work, gamin
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Image Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:eastwick
(Boston)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Driver issue, HELP! Won't rotate OS

PostedAugust 28, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell needs to address this DRIVER issue immediately.
Pros:Great 4:3, but the GRAPHIC DRIVER is messed up terribly and won't allow me to rotate the Operating System! I hooked up the monitor (to a Dell CPU) and loaded the CD that came with the monitor and in the User Guide on the CD it said to go to "support.dell.com" and download the latest driver for this monitor to be able to use the rotate feature. I did this and now the "latest" driver is totally screwed up and won;t allow me to rotate the OS no matter how many ways I tried. In the Intel Graphics Properties box, there's a section for "Display Settings" and a box for "Rotation" to enable rotation and I have it set to enable rotation but it is set at 0 degrees with a check mark and offers other degrees but won't allow me to change to 90 degrees or any other degree. Also, if I right click my desktop, in the Graphic Options if I choose "rotation" it only offer Normal and 180 degrees as option to rotate. There's NO option anywhere to rotate 90 degrees which is needed to use this monitor in portrait mode! Can anyone please help or is anyone having this same problem? Thanks!
Cons:UNABLE to ROTATE OPERATING SYSTEM to 90 Degrees to use Portriat Mode! Will NOT allow me to rotate OS by any method. Intel Graphics Driver won't work properly.
-14points
8of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Image Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pioneer
(Staten Island, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Best monitor in the market

PostedFebruary 28, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I recommend this monitor for anyone, for the price thou I would wait for it to lower.
Pros:Crisp sharp images from this monitor nice and bright, and does not hurt your eyes. Nice 1600X1200 Pixel Resolution (Using Digital DVI-D). Gaming is incredible with this picture, Played need for speed Carbon on it and it blew me out of the water.
Cons:Does not support HDCP, however, it does suppoed 476i 576p and 720p resolutions. You figure it out. haha
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Image Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:alaeh
(Redmond, WA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Monitor!!!

PostedMay 24, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Price. Stylish; Good Design; It also accepts several inputs!
Cons:Buttons could be a liittle bigger.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Image Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NickA
(San Diego, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dell Flat Panel Monitors

PostedMay 22, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overall this is a great monitor and I love it. I would recommend this to someone who is looking for a nice, clean looking monitor to go in their office.
Pros:-Very sharp and crisp display -Very easy to connect and hook up -Bright and responsive display
Cons:-Having problems with the built in USB hub not being recognized -If there is not a device connected to that port than it takes a while to let you switch from DVI to Analog
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Image Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bobvin
(Seattle area)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

2007FP Monitor, Not bad, good for the price

PostedApril 9, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Clear, bright display with no apparent dead pixels. Better color control possibilities than 2001FP (model from a couple years back) and includes a brightness adjustment the prior model did not have. Overall, for the money, these are great monitors. Would prefer DELL to add an sRGB default color setting.
Cons:Flimsy stand that does not rise to the same height as the prior model's stand (the pipe design with semi-circular base.) This presents a challenge for a dual monitor setup as I now have to lower the previous monitor down to the level of the new monitor (I prefer the higher position). The new stand also does not appear to hold the monitor with as much stability... slight bumps or rapid typing can cause the monitor to shake a little.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Image Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JoelReviewer
(Cincinnati)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good buy!

PostedJanuary 21, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great monitor! You get a lot for your money, and it fits very nicely on any desk.
Pros:The monitor's screen has an extremely wide viewing angle. I can stand paralell to the screen and see nearly all of the full colors. The stand is very easy to use and well Engineered (a first for Dell). The spring loaded feature means I hardly have to touch it to move it. It's easy to use, too. I just plug it in and it works! it automatically fills the whole screen with vibrant colors.
Cons:Design isn't great, but it's ok for Dell. I would like to see an ultrasleek Dell monitor, this one is a little, just a little, clunky.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Image Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cost-Benefit 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Yali
(Tampa, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Mediocre
Title:

Good monitor

PostedDecember 11, 2006
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Great picture, great resolution for good eyesight. What I did not find before I made purchase is that it has a PIP feature. I use it every day working while mointoring through my security camera.
Cons:It seems it came with an opened box because the items inside the box was not orderly placed and the VGA cable was plugged in when it arrived. But I did not find anything wrong. Otherwise, I would return it
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CatLady999
(Michigan)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Classic aspect ratio

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
In this wide-screen world, it is hard to find the classic aspect ratio.
This is a great monitor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JJFresh
Title:

Awesome but not for the price

PostedApril 14, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a fantastic monitor but if you pay for it new from dell you're a fool. Buy it used from amazon, ebay, or craigslist for around 100. These monitors keep on kicking so there's no need to buy it new. I have three monitors I got used for less than 300 total and they're all in perfect condition. As far as quality though, really sharp, great viewing angles, great response time, no dead pixels on any of my monitors, just all around great monitors. No complaints except the new price.
Pros:software development, multimedia, Gaming
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:fhaddad78
Title:

Excellent monitors, however, they are NOT IPS.

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I ordered two Dell Ultrasharp 2007FP monitors to replace two LG 23" widescreen displays because they were too wide and it wasn't ergonomic. Side by side the monitors look great. Some manual color calibration through the onscreen display was necessary in order to get the colors to match. They are well built quality monitors and I am very happy with them. One note to keep in mind: The VESA mounting holes are recessed in about a 1/4" so that when you are using the included monitor stand it attaches flush to the back of the monitor. This may cause a problem if you are wall mounting the monitors and your mounting bracket is not perfectly square. The CotyTech dual monitor wall mount I am using had that problem. I had to buy longer screws and make some plastic spacers so I could attach these monitors to the wall mount. Also, I'm not sure, but Dell's website is not consistent with the specs listed for these monitors. Some areas of the website claim the monitors are IPS panels and other parts claim they are TFT. I can confirm these are not IPS panels. The sales reps at Dell also state they are IPS panels. See these links: http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/productdetail.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=dhs&cs=19&sku=320-4687&~ck=baynoteSearch&baynote_bnrank=0&baynote_irrank=0 and http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/productdetail.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=soho&cs=ussoho1&sku=320-4687
Pros:software development
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell UltraSharp 2007FP 20-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NileshR12
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Seems Expensive, But TOTALLY WORTH IT!!!

PostedDecember 10, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This monitor is AWESOME!!!! I loved this monitor when I had it with my Dell XPS 410 computer!!!! I wanna get it again!!! It seems expensive, but it's TOTALLY WORTH IT!!!! SO if u're thinking about getting a new monitor, go to dell.com & look for this one!!!!!!!
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6