Customer reviews for Dell - UltraSharp U2212HM 21.5-inch Widescreen Monitor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Dell - UltraSharp U2212HM 21.5-inch Widescreen Monitor

Dell - UltraSharp U2212HM 21.5-inch Widescreen Monitor
4.533 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
4.5
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
28 out of 3093%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell - UltraSharp U2212HM 21.5-inch Widescreen Monitor
Review 1 for Dell - UltraSharp U2212HM 21.5-inch Widescreen Monitor
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Danielbeak
(United States)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Bright dot

PostedJuly 1, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this monitor for few months, some bright pixel always appear clear, they told me its partial dot and within spec but I really don't like it. I don't satisfy it quality.
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 5, 2013
Hey Danielbeak,

Sorry to hear about your issue with the U2212HM monitor.

Please, use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/15zzg95
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thank you. JGB
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell - UltraSharp U2212HM 21.5-inch Widescreen Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Joey613
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

ULTRA SHARP - lives up to its name ... WOW !

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
ULTRA SHARP lives up to its name.
Astonishing picture. I had returned three other competitor
monitors before ordering this Dell. My search for an amazing
picture quality ended here.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell - UltraSharp U2212HM 21.5-inch Widescreen Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tbva
Title:

outstanding features

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This arrived today, such a great monitor. I wanted this monitor for the tilt, swivel, landscape and height adjustment features. Hard to find a rival for features and quality. Great picture right out of the box but easy controls will make it a breeze to customize.
The old Dell flat screen was still chugging along since 2005 but it was time for the big screen. Monitor is the perfect size for my desk.
Pros:browsing, word processing
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell - UltraSharp U2212HM 21.5-inch Widescreen Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Heinz57
Title:

Sharp Monitor

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very good monitor. Sharp clear image with a high resolution. Very good adjustable stand. Good price for the quality. I also like the extra USB ports on the back of the monitor. The way I have the monitor placed I can not use the USB ports on the side but the two on the back are very usable and the cables can be run along with the power and video cable. Makes for a clean install without cables hanging out the side. I recommend this monitor to anyone.
Pros:i use it at home for photography
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell - UltraSharp U2212HM 21.5-inch Widescreen Monitor
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:87Labs
Title:

Excellent Monitor & Support, Decent Price..

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought this monitor a couple weeks back, so far an excellent monitor, the LED IPS Display is a lot brighter then a traditional LCD, since It's using LED's the advantage apart from lower power consumption is that it reaches full brightness instantly, no more waiting..
Also Dell Support is awesome, the first monitor I received had blue tinting at the bottom and a dead pixel. Dell sent me a brand new replacement with no fuss & received it in the promised 4 days. The replacement has no dead pixels, and little to no tinting issues. Also didn't have to pay anything for shipping, they send you the replacement first, so you can still use your Monitor until you receive a replacement..
While I love this monitor, I wouldn't say that it's 100% perfect, but that is to be expected with all IPS displays regardless of where you buy it from.. It's just something to expect and realize..
Overall excellent monitor, would not hesitate to buy it again, be sure to buy it when it's on sale from the website, the support and warranty is excellent, so If anything does go wrong contact Dell through the Phone and they will take care of you..
Pros:web design, Gaming, movies & videos
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell - UltraSharp U2212HM 21.5-inch Widescreen Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Pixelz
(Louisville, KY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent picture & ergonomics

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great monitor -
excellent picture
fully adjustable stand
energy efficient
great customer service
Worth the extra money vs. the lower end models
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell - UltraSharp U2212HM 21.5-inch Widescreen Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ssmaro00
Title:

Love it!!!

PostedJune 29, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Got this monitor when I ordered my new computer and love it!! It has a great picture
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell - UltraSharp U2212HM 21.5-inch Widescreen Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dowsonm
(Virginia USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent monitor for home or office use

PostedJune 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this monitor to replace a 17" Dell Ultrasharp display which died after many years of use, and am extremely satisfied. I have three displays in my home office (the others - company provided - are a new HP 23" wide screen, and an older Dell 19" Ultrasharp) so can directly compare quality. This U2212HM is noticeably the best of the three.
Setup was trouble-free, height/tilt adjustment is easy, and the ability to rotate to portrait format useful.
Overall, an excellent monitor at remarkably good price.
Pros:desktop monitor for inspiron 14z laptop
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell - UltraSharp U2212HM 21.5-inch Widescreen Monitor
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Cohn
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Monitor - Pros and Cons

PostedJune 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this monitor as part of my setup for my project of building a Computer. Love this monitor. The vertical rotation display is amazing for coding and I would recommend any developers of any kind to take a serious look into this monitor. Display is amazing and I have a good feeling about it being backed up for 3 years. Also I am a coder, a web developer, and a gamer I have already used this monitor in every which way and it has not failed me yet after a month and a half of use.
Pros
-Got full HD resolution(1920x1080) just from VGA Cable over the analog connection. Any one who cant get this resolution and complained about it doesn't know what they are talking about.
-DVI-D port for digital connection is great for graphics card compatibility and it works great so far on high end cards.
-Also used it with my Intel Integrated Graphics 3000 on my laptop and got full HD as well. Very surprised at that.
-Rotation is absolutely amazing. cant get enough of it
- comes with all the cables for right of the bat use.
-USB Ports are a nice convenience
Cons
=When rotating the monitor if it is not up all the way, you will bang the corner of the monitor on the stand which will give you a heart attack.
-Gets very dirty very fast
- No HDMI port for consoles, but you can get a HDMI adapter to hook up to the DVI port and still enjoy HD gaming. However you will not get sound when going from HDMI to DVI D.
-The Drivers that Dell supplied on the disc need to be set up better, but after going to this web site and getting if figured out had no Problem.
OVERALL
I would get this monitor. I stressed for days if I picked the right one and so far it is a great buy and no problems with it yet.
Pros:software/coding, web development, Gaming
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell - UltraSharp U2212HM 21.5-inch Widescreen Monitor
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KatF
Title:

Beautiful picture

PostedJune 14, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I ordered this monitor for my new PC and am very impressed with the picture quality. My only complaint is the default resolution - everything is too small for me to comfortably see. I played with settings until I got a combination of resolution and display size that works for me, but did lose some crispness in icons.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell - UltraSharp U2212HM 21.5-inch Widescreen Monitor
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nich911
(Massachusetts)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Getting Full 1920x1080 Resolution

PostedApril 12, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just received a U2211HM monitor. Set it up according to instructions and could only get 1366x768 resolution with VGA. Consulted Dell and told that I could only get 1920x1080 with HDMI but monitor didn't have an HDMI port and hence no cable supplied. Dell says that the only place to find this information is in their training manuals! So if you have only a VGA interface beware...you may have to put up with 1366x768.
Pros:software development, web development
-11points
22of 55voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell - UltraSharp U2212HM 21.5-inch Widescreen Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ajtatum
(Gainesville, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Amazing clarity

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I originally bought these for other people in my company, but I wanted to try them out first to see what the picture looked at. As soon as I plugged in the first monitor, I made the decision to purchase more of these suckers. I stare at code all day long in Visual Studio and the colors, the code, everything is just much easier to read. I'm frankly amazed how I used subpar monitors before.
Pros:software development, reading, streaming video
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell - UltraSharp U2212HM 21.5-inch Widescreen Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MJV51
Title:

Super Product!

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am general / generic computer user and was looking for a significant upgrade over my "old" monitor . . . WOW is all can say! Awesome performance vs. cost -- no question. The additional connections make the the choice of this monitor a "no-brainer" . . . I am very satisfied with this Dell product. Highly recomennded.
Pros:daily routine activity and some work from home.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell - UltraSharp U2212HM 21.5-inch Widescreen Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Cam74
Title:

Excellent quality for the price

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I also own the U2711 and the picture of the U2212 matches it very well. Since the U2212 is not my primary monitor it is off my normal viewing axis but the improved viewing angle of this IPS panel keeps it very accurate.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell - UltraSharp U2212HM 21.5-inch Widescreen Monitor
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:oscark
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Probably best value for 22" IPS DisplayPort

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
It's a nice monitor. No problems (no dead pixels, etc.). For the money it looks great. When I first got it I thought it was not as bright as I would like (expected an LED screen to be brighter) but after using it for a while it's better that way. I shopped around and couldn't find a better value.
That said I don't watch hi-def movies or do any heavy gaming on it (it's used as a second monitor for a laptop) so I can't speak to those uses.
PROS: Good value, good build quality, no issues out of box, lots of connectors (especially displayport - though it does not come with a displayport cable...), nice range of vertical adjustment
CONS: No displayport cable provided (not sure how much this affects the general public), brightness (especially compared to cinema displays - yes I know they are 4x as expensive), base/bezel could look a little more elegant
Pros:coding, streaming video
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell - UltraSharp U2212HM 21.5-inch Widescreen Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:U2212HM
Title:

Beautiful Display

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this Monitor to replace a much over aged CRT. I had purchased a new PC several years ago but I had this CRT that still worked fine. Well it finally died.
I wanted a new monitor with good color like the CRT. This Dell Ultrasharp fits the bill very nicely.
Really the only thing wrong is that it's way too bright out of the box. The Power Nap software is also a bit confusing because nothing happens for quite awhile as it's being installed. It leaves you wondering if it hung.
I was worried that text would be too small on a 1920 X 1080 21.5" Monitor. It is nice and sharp so it's no problem at all.
I did need to get a new Video card since my integrated video would only support 1600 X 900. I hesitated on this but it was well worth it and easy to install. If you need one too I would not compromise the monitor performance by going less than 1920 X 1080.
Pros:engineering cad, general office, photography, movies
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell - UltraSharp U2212HM 21.5-inch Widescreen Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SardinasA
(Miami, FL)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Matching LED Screens

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Energy efficient, Great screen size, replaced my old Dual screen, with these 3 screens.
Pros:triple display
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell - UltraSharp U2212HM 21.5-inch Widescreen Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Alex1234
Title:

Awesome

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
Ips LED -looks amazing, great viewing angles , colors, In direct sunlight light as little glare as I've ever seen basically you have to look to the glare it's amazing
Display port- Eyefinity works
Stand portrait mode- love it, it's getting hard to find now a days
Great build construction / no dead pixels
Cons-
Displayport- not 1.2 it would be nice to have for the future not being able to chain is holding me back from buying another one right now
also displayport doesn't quite sync with my 2 dvi monitors ie tearing so it's either put your 1. new monitor off to the side 2. main it and it and live with it ( my choice) 3. buy another one (or two) so you can have one to the side and one main
no real discounts for buying more than one
Pros:internet, movies/tv, Gaming
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell - UltraSharp U2212HM 21.5-inch Widescreen Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Yordano
(Hialeah)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excelent Monitor!!

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
Excelent IPS-Panel Led Monitor, Cheap.
Cons:
Don't have analog Input.
review:
Best in class for the money.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell - UltraSharp U2212HM 21.5-inch Widescreen Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Furn
(Wisconsin)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent value for a premium monitor

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Excellent picture quality - using it as part of a 3 monitor setup. Puts the others to shame in terms of color and crisp resolution
Pros:web design, Gaming
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2