Customer reviews for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M

Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M

Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
4.406 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 155 reviews
5 Stars
103
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
7
1 Star
6
4.4
 / 
5
(155 reviews) 151
137 out of 15588%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Review 1 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Teni
(Markham, Ontario)
Title:

U2412M is a competent IPS contender

PostedAugust 2, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had this monitor for approximately a week. So far my impressions have been very favorable
Pros:
1) LED back-lighting has huge range of brightness and is instantly at full brightness from sleep or off. From over 300 cdm/2 down to the 40 cdm/2 range!
2) Exactly sRGB gamut and fairly accurate colors
3) Low input lag and decent responsiveness makes a winner for gamers
4) Very good stand that goes up to 6" from desk to bottom of bezel and down to about 1.5"
5) Contrast ratio of over 1000:1 (at least my unit)
6) Two USB ports
7) Not overly intrusive anti-glare coating typical of most IPS screens
8) Excellent IPS viewing angles
9) 1920x1200 16:10 ratio better for web pages than 16:9 1920x1080 monitors
10) Very good color and brightness uniformity
11) Low power usage for IPS because of LED backlighting
Cons:
1) Limited aspect ratio support of 16:10, 5:4, and 3:2, not useful for PS3 console players, though fine for Xbox 360
2) "Only sRGB" for those who need wider gamut. If so the U2410 is a better choice for the small number of Adobe RGB users
3) IPS white glow on blacks (can be mitigated by turning down brightness)
4) Contrast set at 75 causes gamma to be around 2.0, but slightly lower setting fixes this
I was happy to hear Dell was offering an sRGB gamut, IPS business screen. I had a great experience with the 2209WA years ago and was happy to purchase this screen from Dell Canada. So far it's been great. It is a low lag screen with sharp text and pretty good colors out of the box. The panel is very even in brightness and color uniformity as well, free of tinting and color changes across the screen. I am very happy with this fairly low-cost, IPS panel based monitor. Highly recommended for office and home users alike.
+231points
235of 239voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GregMW
(Toronto, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Monitor

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am very pleased with the U2412m. This monitor looks great and is truly unbeatable at it's price-point. The image/color quality is fantastic, far better than your standard Best Buy display.
PROS:
- Large screen and high resolution give you lots screen space.
- The ease of positioning. This monitor can tilt, twist, and be height adjusted with literally two fingers.
- The portrait orientation. In this orientation I can have a web-browser, MS Word and MS Excel open and usable concurrently. This option gives you a LOT of vertical screen space.
- Preset modes for multimedia, movie, game, text, etc. (very easy to toggle on the monitor itself)
- Overall image quality.
CONS:
- None really, it would be nice if the monitor had a portrait/landscape toggle (currently you must toggle in Control Panel/Display/Screen Resolution)... other than that I have absolutely no complaints. This is a great monitor!
Pros:software development, image editing, Gaming, office productivity
+161points
176of 191voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DirectorMr
Title:

A great display for the price

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
Nice normal color gamut monitor. If you get a wide color gamut monitor, movie colors look a bit odd and you need to compensate by creating color profiles (one of the cases where more is not better). This is perfect for video and photo editing in Adobe RGB colorspace. Also the 1920x1200 resolution gives you a better view of web pages or photos you are editing (compared to 1920x1080).
The display has excellent contrast and shows colors far superior and more accurate than any TN (cheap) screen can, or any HD tvs you may have.
The stand is very versatile, and it is very easy to adjust height, swing left and right and tilt. Feels very high quality.
Very low input lag, and quick response. No noticeable lag or slow reaction that I could see while I played games or watched movies.
The screen has an amazing field of view, and colors are consistent whether you look directly in front or move to the sides of the screen. Great for watching Blue Ray movies!
Cons:
The monitor is so big, when I sit close to it I feel dizzy when I game, or if the video isn't high quality (like youtube) you can see the individual frames of video when the scene has motion. You'll want to put a little distance between you and the monitor if you are going to watch moving pictures on it.
Basically, the monitor is so good it reveals the flaws in your computer and media (bad video card, bad picture, low quality video, etc, you will notice them because the monitor makes them obvious).
Conclusion:
A very high quality monitor that stays in Adobe RGB colorspace so you don't need to mess with profiles if you video edit or do photo editing for the web. I'm very pleased with it.
Pros:photo editing, Video Editing, Gaming, movie watching
+61points
72of 83voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JohnFL
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dead Pixels

PostedJune 13, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
My new U2412M had 3 dead pixels, so I call Dell support and they send me a refurbished U2412M with a burnt out left side. After emailing pics, Dell support sent me a brand new U2412M and it has 1 dead pixel. After the hassle of returning 2 U2412M monitors and getting a third with a dead pixel, I can't rate this monitor more than 1 star.
+50points
59of 68voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NotASatisfiedCustomer
(Idaho)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great colors. Terrible Backlight Bleed

PostedOctober 13, 2012
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Display has great colors. Gets very bright. Great price for a "professional" level IPS display. I got it on sale for $285 after shipping. Overnight shipping of the replacement.
Cons: Unacceptable backlight bleed in the top right corner and moderate bleed in the bottom right corner. I have a friend who purchased the same monitor and does not have this issue at all. I called Dell, and the replacement they sent me had backlight bleeding that was even worse than the original!!! Not sure if I received two lemons or if my buddy got lucky and got a good one, but the amount of backlight bleed is completely unacceptable for a monitor like this. Maybe LG (they actually make the panel) had a batch of bad displays etc.
Backlight bleed is not terribly noticeable during productivity type tasks, but manifests during darker scenes in games and movies.
Dell tech support was decent. Very helpful in getting me the first replacement, but still hasn't responded to my emails or called me back after I informed her that the replacement monitor was worse. I even emailed her pictures of the issue. She also informed me that this is "normal for this type of monitor". THIS is not normal.
Bottom Line: Overall, a poor experience with Dell. I was thinking about purchasing a Dell U3011 in the next year or two, but now I'm really not sure that's a good idea after experiencing such poor quality control. I would strongly recommend against purchasing one of these units until Dell improves their quality control.
Attached are pictures of the backlight bleed of both monitors. Left is replacement. Right is original monitor. Brightness is set to 35. Contrast is at 75. Both monitors have excessive levels of backlight bleed, especially in the top right corners. Very obvious when images are enlarged.
Pros:general computing, movies/games, programming
Response from Dell.comBy SilangchiSforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 1, 2012
Hi NotASatisfiedCustomer,

Sorry for all the inconvenience caused to you and sorry about the bad experience with the support. I'm not sure with this issue however, we value your feedback and see that we will work on it .

As per as the Back light Bleed is concerns , i have found one of the articles for you from our Dell community forum. Here is what it says :-

Uneven Backlight
Dell monitors do not have 100% backlight uniformity specification. As long as the center 2" circle meets our manufacturer specifications, it is acceptable. If the Brightness and Contrast are maxed to 100 and you measure the brightness difference of any two points on the monitor, the difference will never be greater than 25%.

Uneven Color
Dell monitors do not have 100% color uniformity specification. As long as the exact center 2" circle meets x=0.313 and y=0.329 (6500K), it meets our specifications to the manufacturer. So, the center point may be 6500K, but the sides and corners may not which is why you may see that one side or corner is different than the others.

So, if you'd like us to look into this issue , we will be glad to help and see what best we can do to help you . You can reach in Facebook -
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
Twitter@Dellacares-
http://bitly.com/P5W1OT or join the conversation with Dell experts in Dell community forum - http://dell.to/GY65Xz



I hope this was helpful . Thank you for choosing Dell !
+25points
29of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Spivey
(MD)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Perfect development Monitor

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Love this monitor! Been using it for about 6 months now (actually have 2 of them side by side for one huge desktop). I do software development, so I work with a mix of text and graphics, general business apps, plenty of web site reading, and an occasional game. I waited forever for a decent affordable 1920x1200 monitor instead of the usual 1080 "HD" junk. This has a matte screen which I like so much better than glossy screens. There is no color or backlight variation across the screen like on several other monitors I tested.
Pros:software development
+24points
28of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Shiboe
(San Mateo, Ca)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

good, but dependent on use

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
- great viewing angles, very little vertical shift from standard front-on view, very important for me and a failing with cheaper/tn monitors
- seems to have a good display range, viewing media is enjoyable and vibrant
- stand and construction are great
Cons:
- anti-glare coating is terrible. Especially noticeable on lighter color values and especially white. Reminds me of an lcd with a water smudge on it; looks crystallized / dirty. Also mutes everything slightly. Biggest issue and con for me, as I work a lot on white. Would be a deal-breaker, but I'm not willing to spend double the $$$ for a decent 1200 vertical res monitor sans AG.
- input selection is terrible. as a person who uses multiple inputs and swaps between them often, it takes no fewer than SEVEN button clicks to do so. Not having a dedicated "source" button is a pretty big con for me.
- no hdmi. seriously, I don't need 4 USB hookups. If real-estate is the issue, drop one of the usb ports for an hdmi.
Pros:programming, Gaming, browsing
+21points
23of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:spunkae
(Califorinia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good monitor, poor user interface

PostedApril 20, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overall the monitor is quite good but its user interface is slow and difficult to use. The four buttons on the side drive the on-screen menu. Each button changes it function depending on the menu. This makes it slow and cumbersome to perform a simple function. For example, to switch between video inputs requires 6 button presses using 3 of the 4 buttons. The older Dell monitors had a dedicated input toggle button that would cycle through video inputs - you could switch between inputs with as little as one button press.
Pros:software development
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ripskin
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Monitor

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
I stewed over purchasing this monitor or the more expensive S-IPS U2410 for a long time. I upgraded from one 2005 and two 2007 S-IPS panels in a triple display setup. I love the quality of the IPS displays and doing video and photo editing rely on quality color reproduction. I do play games and work from home occasionally so I wanted a good all around screen for a good price.
I use three monitor's at work and had a great setup already at home. With my budget and other expenses the higher end 24" screens were affordable but I wanted to pick up and have money for other things so I was wary of purchasing them as an all arounder. I spent a long time reviewing and studying the differences between what I had, these monitors and the nicer version before apprehensively feeling that I would be happy with these.
Once I powered them on for the first time I knew I made the right choice. While the gamut and number of colors and other things are not as high end as a full S-IPS panel the E-IPS does not disappoint. All three screens have 0 dead or stuck pixels and look fantastic. The usual but of back light bleeding but viewing them as you normally would a PC monitor, head on they all look great.
They have the same number of colors as my old monitors so nothing lost, the higher resolution (5040 x 1050 to 5760 x 1200) is wonderful, I can cram a lot more on my screens and make full use of the real estate. It makes working on photos and video's much easier and pleasureful.
Gaming is of course amazing on 3 screens at the high resolution and with all the eye candy turned on these screens are great. The response time on the E-IPS is better than the S-IPS, however they are faster than my old S-IPS screens which I was easily able to game on only occasionally getting some ghosting. I was worried about some of the effects these screens apply to minimize blur and ghosting but I do not have any problem with it, they are better than my old monitors as expected. Text is crisp and sharp and the overall displays are much sharper.
Two of the screens looked great out of the box, one needed a bit of calibration to bring it in line.
The bezels are nice and even while not being too large. The simple layout and design of the interface, stand and entire package is functional while materialistic which I love. The touch buttons on the higher end monitor I have heard some complaints about (with no personal experience I cannot voice more information about it)
To anyone who wants a quality monitor that can kick a TN panels butt and still be great for a graphical artist or video professional who needs a good display on a bit of a budget will not be sorry with these displays, even if you can afford the more expensive one. Unless you are fully focused on high end production the all around 2412 display is not a downgrade. While it has fewer colors and connection options it makes up for it with LED back lights, being thinner & lighter, better response times and a cheaper price.
Pros:Gaming, photo editing, Video Editing
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gordong11
Title:

Great monitor, excellent value

PostedApril 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was looking for something special to with a new build that I was constructing, but couldn't decide between a 27" 16:9, or a 24" 16:9 1080p monitors. Someone on a message board suggested I look into this model. I had never even considered a dell monitor, for whatever reason.
In the end I am so glad I did, this monitor is special. Don't be afraid that there is no HDMI port. It turns out that my GTX680 has a display port, but even if it didn't, just goto monoprice and buy an adapter for 8 bucks. The richness of color, tilt/swivel/rotate, response time(realworld) is second to none IMHO.
This goes on special from time to time, and keep an eye out for Dell coupon codes.
In the end this was a great choice, and when you get it home, you will see for yourself. Superb quality!!!
PS. I am an owner even though I cant find a service tag#
Pros:Gaming, Video Editing, web browsing
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:briankb
(Lake City, Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Anti-Glare Coating makes screen look grainy/dirty

PostedNovember 23, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Anti-glare coating makes the screen look dirty and is very distracting. I'm a programmer and viewing text on a white background the AG coating is very clear and very distracting. Even with the brightness turned down to 45 it is still very noticeable.
It's a nice monitor but if your primary work will be viewing text on a white background. The anti-glare coating may be very noticeable and cause eye strain.
Pros:software development
+28points
39of 50voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NickNWW
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Something buyers need to know

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
In this review, I would like to mention the cons of this monitor.
1) There is only one HDMI port. If you want to use the same monitor for more than one computer, you've to think about other connector.
2) The build-in USB hub would stop function when the monitor (not the computer) gets into sleep mode.
3) This is a 24" monitor. And I'm sitting about 2' away from it. And I find that while viewing in landscape orientation, the two sides are a bit darker than the center. Since I'm editing photo, that's why my eyes are more sensitive to this brightness different.
4) I use huey to calibrate the color. And my monitor is greenish before calibration.
5) Color Gamut is only 82% (CIE 1976). (Other more expensive DELL IPS monitor can reach 100%.)
I listed out the cons such that any potential buyers could think about how to work around the limitation.
Don't get me wrong. I like this monitor so much that I even bought two of them!!
Pros:photo editing
+22points
29of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Flron
Title:

A good monitor

PostedAugust 27, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this monitor for graphics, CAD and 3d. It is amazing, I like. The test line is excellent, no ghost shadows, no false colors. Also the angle view is okay.
Pros:gra
+16points
18of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Los Angeles, CA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dell U2412M

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
Price, color reproduction, 16:10 ratio
Cons:
None so far, but I wish I had two.
Review:
I am an avid web developer and graphic designer. I am mainly using this monitor for web development using Adobe Dreamweaver CS5 and Photoshop CS5. Color reproduction is lifelike when editing photos in Photoshop and RGB color in Dreamweaver is excellent when designing and coding using CSS stylesheets. Would highly recommend to others.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bunkgoats
Title:

Great monitor for accountants

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this monitor. I use it for tax accounting and research. It's 1920*1200 aspect ratio lets me have two 8.5*11 documents open right next to each other. Additionally it is capable of displaying massive excel worksheets.
The matte finish and high picture quality reduce glare and eye fatigue.
The stand is very well made and highly adjustable. It's great for those who work long hours and demand an ergonomic workspace.
While this is only an entry level IPS, it should make all but the photo and graphics professionals happy as it is such a large improvement over the cheap TFT monitors. It's a joy to look at pictures of loved ones one this which I use as background wallpaper.
Three year warranty is a plus.
Pricing is great for this quality product. Dell has hit a home run!
Pros:acccounting, legal research
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kidfixer
(Dallas, Texas)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

An IPS monitor at a great price point!!

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The U2412M is an great addition the the Dell lineup. As an E-IPS monitor its NOT going to replace the higher-end (S-IPS) U2410...but at this price point its not meant to. Color representation is excellent and text is sharp. I like the clean, simple design of this monitor, the bezel is thinner than some other monitors I've seen, and the corners are rounded which gives it a more modern look. I also really like the fact that they didn't use the touch-sensitive buttons which, although pleasing to the eye, can be very finicky. THE U2412M doesn't have all the connections my 2410's have, but it DOES include a DisplayPort connection, which is a requirement for Eyefinity (for all you folks running multiple monitors off a single GPU).
Overall this monitor is a great choice, and the price is hard to beat.
____________________________________________________
PROS: Higher quality IPS panel, 16:10 resolution, DisplayPort connectivity and a good price point.
CONS: No Component and Composite video connections. No second DVI port
+14points
17of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TomQA
(Arizona)
Title:

great monitor

PostedMay 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I use dual monitors and multiple applications open simultaneously. I wanted a monitor that accommodated two instances of Word in landscape view, displaying two full size pages. This monitor permits two Word pages at 90% magnification which is fine for me. The monitor has a very sharp display and I'm very picky. My other monitor is a Dell 20 inch 2001FP and the two monitors are well matched for vertical screen height. Both monitors pivot when I want to view two or more documents at 100% vertical. I'll probably replace the 20 inch with another U2412M. I use UltraMon and Pivot for controlling the monitors and how applications are displayed.
Pros:ms word access
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jim52403
Title:

Good Monitor and I am Picky

PostedApril 7, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very bright and bluish out-of-the-box, but I went to TFTcentral and downloaded and used their standard color profile and recommended brightness and contrast settings. It's worth learning how to do this if you don't know how. Finished off with the Microsoft clear-type tuner built into Windows 7. Monitor looks great now and I'm very pleased with it.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BigDawg
Title:

U2412M Falt Panel

PostedJune 1, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is an excellent product; I purchased 2-monitors that are side-by-side. The clarity is outstanding! I use these for routine office work, gaming, videos, and viewing high-resolution photographs.
Pros:video, high resolution photographs, Gaming
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:OregonBuyer
(Oregon)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

No dissapointments!

PostedApril 17, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
+ 24" eIPS panel
+ LED back light
+ Great viewing angle
+ Bright and Sharp
+ 21 Watts (measured with Kill A Watt)
+ Great stand, very adjustable
+ x1200 resolution, not x1080
+ Not 1 dead or stuck pixel
Cons:
- Wish it had HDMI
- Spendy for a 24"
Wishes:
It is a great monitor and it would be perfect (for me) if they had gone for a higher end IPS panel (rather than eIPS) and had included an HDMI port.
Energy Consumption:
The energy savings are fantastic. Set at 75% brightness and w/Energy Smart on, it is consuming around 21 watts. My old 20" ViewSonic LCD (with a pMVA panel and CFL back light) uses 45 watts, so with the same energy I can run two of the U2412M monitors.
AntiGlare Coating:
I've seen some reviews saying that the AG coating is too aggressive/rough/visible. I'm happy to say that those reports are completely off base. It is just as smooth as my old LCD (not glossy of course but frosty smooth) and no matter how close I am to it, there is nothing visible about the AG coasting even on a white background. Maybe they revised the coating? No idea but the current models are excellent in this regard.
Pros:internet, e-mail, document publishing, coding
+14points
18of 22voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8