Customer reviews for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M

Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M

Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
4.392 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 158 reviews
5 Stars
104
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
7
1 Star
6
4.4
 / 
5
(158 reviews) 154
139 out of 15888%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Review 1 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DellCustomer2014
(San Jose, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Tint or Yellowish issue

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I brought a U2412M in 2012 along with a XPS8500. I was very pleased and happy since. The monitor is great in terms of displaying real colors, handling well photo edits, games.... I never have any issue with it. Loving it, I recently decided to the order same exact one to have dual display on my XPS8500; however, I was not fortunate this time around. I ran into issue with the new ordered U2412M monitor: it has issue with displaying correctly "white" color; it displays "tint" every time for "white" color. Dell did do a good job in quickly replacing me with a different U2412M monitor, but the replacement shows the same issue of "tint" for "white" color. I knew the problem for sure since I have my old U2412M (order in 2012) displayed side-by-side (dual monitor). I have even tried on my laptop, but it had the same of displaying "tint for white color. I am aware of this issue in this monitor series during reading review and search, but thinking the issue must have low DPPM (defect rate) and what a chance for me to get one with the issue. But now, I got two for the same issue. I have to talk to Dell customer service about this issue. It's obvious to me that Dell should know the issue with monitor before shipping to customer, especially like many of you, I am a fan of Dell products. I don't have option other than returning both monitor and will not take a chance for a 3rd trial.
Pros:excellent and capable monitor if you get good one
Cons:tint/yellowish display for white color
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:henn
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Great replacement monitor

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The resolution is excellent and color reproduction very good. It was easy to set up and worked immediately.
Pros:easy to install
Cons:a bit awkward to handle when setting up
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Andris
(Latvia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Title:

Poor quality

PostedAugust 1, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Poor quality plastics and construction. In some places, even the nail had to remove the excess plastic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:morpho
(The sticks Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Oh BABY!

PostedJune 28, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I wasn't sure I was doing the right thing by ordering this monitor sight unseen and going only on peoples reviews. I am so glad I just did it. Super happy, and I am picky!
Pros:razor sharp at this price point
Cons:lots of cables but no minidp to dp
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Margeo1
(Atlanta, GA)
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Quick and Easy to Set Up

PostedJune 28, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The monitor was quick and easy to set up, requiring only a few minor tweaks for adjusting the brightness and contrast. After the adjustments, I have been quite pleased with the monitor.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DisappointedU2412muser
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Backlight died after 26 months

PostedMay 19, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Monitor worked fine for 24 months. It then developed a flicker in the backlight. Turn it off for 3 days and when I turned it on no backlight.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ouananichepoilue
(Montreal, QC, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Great photo monitor

PostedMay 14, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
First time Dell buyer,imprested with the fast shipping! (i'm from Canada) Super nice photo monitor, super well rated, i cant be happier. Excellent quality/price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kenrm
(Mississauga, ON, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent monitor

PostedMay 1, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very sharp picture on this monitor. The large size makes it very easy to use without having to move windows around too much.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Challenger
(Gates, OR)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Amazing

PostedApril 30, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
An amazing monitor that meets my needs in editing digital images.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:batsona
(Maryland)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent

PostedApril 19, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have a 24" UltraSharp at work, and a 23" at home. The brightness and contrast is great. Text is perfectly clear. The display is very even meaning that when a full white screen is displayed, the brightness is even, on every spot on the monitor. You won't go wrong with this monitor! -and I'm very picky!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ProGamerG26
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Nice job Dell

PostedApril 17, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
i had got 1 with my alienware and it was great. i had no issues and it is great. i not only use it to game but i also read large articles. i just turn it to portait mode and switch it in the settings. i really like this monitor and it is great i am soon getting a second 1 and 3 words......good job Dell.
Pros:Gaming, reading long articles, photo editing, video watching, entertainment, family
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MKM11
(New York, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Gorgeous, clear image

PostedApril 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This monitor is the best one I've ever had. It is not only beautiful, it is more adjustable than previous Dell monitors I've had.
Pros:adjustable
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Delabella
(Naples, FL, USA)
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Monitor

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was between this and a few other monitors, and decided to take a chance because of the high reviews and great price.
Everything works beautifully, and the screen gives plenty of room for multiple applications, etc.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rigorous
(SF Bay Area and Carson City, NV)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have a 24" U2413 for my main computer but need a 24" with a VGA connection for my laptop at my remote location. This U2412M appears to be just as high quality.
The 16:10 instead of 16:9 is extremely important to me for my stock market charts. It is hard to find this ratio any longer.
I am very pleased that Dell includes the USB cable for the monitor to the computer connection. And the packaging is good and it came very quickly.
As my laptop is failing I will consider ordering one from Dell directly as I never had a single problem with getting or the operation of my XPS 8700, U2413, or U2412M. Except Windows 8 but that isn't Dell's fault.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kjb23
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Awesome Monitor

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M is an awesome monitor that is crystal clear and has some really useful features. I really like the USB ports on the back of the monitor to connect all my devices. Great value!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Louis2014
(Kentucky, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Monitor!

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This was set up last week so I am still early in the process of using it but it has been flawless and excellent. I'd highly recommend it for personal and office usage!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ssebastianj
(Resistencia, Chaco Province, Argentina)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great monitor for the money

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Superb image quality for the price!! Solid stand and pivot/rotation options.
Pros:16:10 format
Cons:lack of hdmi input, pwm flicker, lack of usb 3.0
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:fastedy
(Bethesda, MD, USA)
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Great color

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
It gave new life to pictures that I had taken years ago and stored on my computer
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Lewisp
(Sacramento Executive Airport (SAC), 6151 Freeport Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95822, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I now have 3 of these monitors two of which are used for my every day work station and 1 for my personel business. They are outstanding in every way. While a bit more expensive, I believe you get what you pay for. Obviously if I have 3 of them and just purchased the 27 inch for home and gamming. Excellent product and am very happy. I am on my work station 12 hours a day so having a quality monitor is very important and I am glad I picked Dell.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell UltraSharp 24 Monitor - U2412M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rick101
(Athens, LA 71003, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

One word "SWEET"

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great monitor for video production. Sharp images, allows one to identify artifacts and blemishes within images and videos.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8