Customer reviews for Dell - SWITCH by Design Studio - Fire Red Lid for Dell Inspiron 15 (N5110)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Dell - SWITCH by Design Studio - Fire Red Lid for Dell Inspiron 15 (N5110)

Dell - SWITCH by Design Studio - Fire Red Lid for Dell Inspiron 15 (N5110)
4.5 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 80 reviews
5 Stars
57
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
4.5
 / 
5
(80 reviews) 74
74 out of 8092%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell - SWITCH by Design Studio - Fire Red Lid for Dell Inspiron 15 (N5110)
Review 1 for Dell - SWITCH by Design Studio - Fire Red Lid for Dell Inspiron 15 (N5110)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:allsports6
Title:

Switch-fire unsatisfactory

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Switch fire lid will not stay on the new laptop and I have had family try an affix it who are computer science majors and very familiar with the equipment to no avail.I wish to get credit towaadr my Dell Credit Card toward the value of this item and will resip back to Dell at whatever address I am given.The rest of my purchases are more than satisfactory as always.
Pros:my wif'e personal laptop
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell - SWITCH by Design Studio - Fire Red Lid for Dell Inspiron 15 (N5110)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mcd25
(Swisher, IA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

double dip

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I recently purchased a 2nd generation Inspiron 15R from Dell and ordered an additional red switchable lid at the same time. I was pleased with the rich, vibrant color of the red lid. However,exchanging the lids was not as easy as indicated by Dell, After several attempts I was able to get the red lid locked in place.
Dell should either offer the option to purchase their switchable lid computers without any cover (with a corresponding discount) if they insist on charging extra for any other basic color lid. Better yet, it would be much easier, less expensive and more eco friendly if they would just allow buyers to choose the color they want when purchasing a new computer. I only need one lid for my computer. The black lid that came with the computer is only going to be stored or taken to the landfill. What a waste of money and resources to force new computer buyers to pay for two switchable lids just to get the color they want!
Pros:work, planning, games, social networking
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell - SWITCH by Design Studio - Fire Red Lid for Dell Inspiron 15 (N5110)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PJRamirez
Title:

Interchangeable lid

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I love the color, it matches my new Nikon camera! However, I can't get the thing to lock into position. The directions are useless and who can we call for support on this? I don't want to press to hard, as I don't want to break the fragile plastic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell - SWITCH by Design Studio - Fire Red Lid for Dell Inspiron 15 (N5110)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:aleycat53
(ILLINOIS)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Stick with black.

PostedAugust 27, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought a red cover & it came with the worst directions I have ever seen. Come on, people! What ever happened to WORDS??? I am mechanically inclined so still thought it wouldn't be a problem. Looked easy. It was not. None of the three people in my household, one being an engineer, could get it to fit right. I ordered my computer and cover all together, so the size was automatically sent. I may end up glueing it. LOL I really wanted red. What a disappointment!!! And I spent $$ on it. : (
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell - SWITCH by Design Studio - Fire Red Lid for Dell Inspiron 15 (N5110)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ky1der
(Lexington ,Kentucky)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

lap top lids

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
the laptop lids are to easy to break and for the price of them they should be more durable.
Pros:personal
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell - SWITCH by Design Studio - Fire Red Lid for Dell Inspiron 15 (N5110)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Elbucko
Title:

Color vs Upgrade

PostedDecember 15, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great if You like Color while the lid is "CLOSED"
When you use the laptop you don't see the color.
Next time I would use the money on an upgrade of hardware/memory/software....
It's whats inside that counts....
Pros:internet, banking/accounting, home entertainment
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell - SWITCH by Design Studio - Fire Red Lid for Dell Inspiron 15 (N5110)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tmzm
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

fun but not sound

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought two inspiron 15R for my sons. One with a red and one with a blue cover. The colors are good and vibrant. Exchanging covers is easy. However, the 15R should include a cover of your choice. The black cover it came with is only going to be landfill. This is a lame, myopic revenue pitch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell - SWITCH by Design Studio - Fire Red Lid for Dell Inspiron 15 (N5110)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Command1
Title:

Ok Computer

PostedJuly 13, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pro
Decent Price
Cons
Slow computer with the I3 2310 processor. Have not added any softare. Shipping from Dell was a nightmare.
Pros:Travel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell - SWITCH by Design Studio - Fire Red Lid for Dell Inspiron 15 (N5110)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Shair
Title:

Love my cover!

PostedJune 15, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
A great way to customize your PC. Got the red cover and like it. Easy to install or change covers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell - SWITCH by Design Studio - Fire Red Lid for Dell Inspiron 15 (N5110)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MikeinTopeka
(Topeka, KS)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Fire Red Lid for Dell Inspiron 15

PostedMay 16, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overall it's a decent product. I'm not too interested in switching lids as I'd just have rather had the laptop come in the color I chose. But it works fine and gives me options in the event I decide to change later on.
Pros:video, music, games
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell - SWITCH by Design Studio - Fire Red Lid for Dell Inspiron 15 (N5110)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Snowdave
Title:

Looks great

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Easy to install and seems pretty firmly in place once you put it there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell - SWITCH by Design Studio - Fire Red Lid for Dell Inspiron 15 (N5110)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Annieschot
(Petersburg, IL)
Title:

Great lid

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
After I figured out how to install the lid, it has been durable and helps to differentiate the laptop from the other one in the house.
Pros:home use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell - SWITCH by Design Studio - Fire Red Lid for Dell Inspiron 15 (N5110)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Diann71
Title:

I love the Red - Looks Sharp!

PostedDecember 10, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought the Red Cover for my Inspiron 15R-2nd Gen and it looks sharp! The cover is the same plastic quality as the original cover, was easy to change and fits perfectly. Although it seems pricey for what it is, I give the cover itself 5 stars.
I only gave four stars because there should be a choice of one basic colored cover at the time of purchase, for no additional cost. I only need one cover. It is foolish (to me) to pay for a second cover in a basic color. The artistic design covers are a different story ...
Anyway, I bought the basic red and I like it. Now I have two basic covers for one laptop!
Pros:personal use, pictures, web browsing, documents
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell - SWITCH by Design Studio - Fire Red Lid for Dell Inspiron 15 (N5110)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:StevieWilson
Title:

Loving the New Look of a Switch Laptop Cover

PostedJuly 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
1) great product add-on
2) a bit pricy but if you want your laptop to stand out-- do it. It makes it more identifiable
3)wish they had more colors (yellow or orange would be nice)
4) easy to install and fast. DO NOT THROW AWAY THE BOX!! You need it to keep the other top that you are removing.
5) I used a stick design over mine to keep it from being scratched and further id it in case of theft
Pros:work, Travel, personal statement, needs more color options
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell - SWITCH by Design Studio - Fire Red Lid for Dell Inspiron 15 (N5110)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Catherg
(Largo, Florida)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

An Awsome way to show versatility!

PostedJuly 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
I think it a great way to change yor laptop look out with ease. The snap on and off design is wonderful and easy.
Cons:
The only issue i have with the lid is that you have to wipe it off all the time due to picking up every finger print.
Pros:college, movies, Travel, projects
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell - SWITCH by Design Studio - Fire Red Lid for Dell Inspiron 15 (N5110)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Loretta2011
(Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Bought two Switch Inspiron 15R's for my boys

PostedJuly 7, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought two of these - added the switch plate to both which they really like. My main issue is that the computers will both shut off and have boot up errors (right out of the box) but we have long waits to try and get through to customer service. The issue is intermittent but annoying. I have a similar issue with my Inspiron Duo and had to switch the "battery optimization" settings because in Hibernate or Standby the computer would lock up and not allow me to turn on (even with power button lit). Very frustrating but seems better now that I am no at factory settings. Overall - my kids are very happy with their new computers and for the price and features I don't think they can be beat. Just a few details to work out to get a better more reliable product.
Pros:school personal travel work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell - SWITCH by Design Studio - Fire Red Lid for Dell Inspiron 15 (N5110)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jlaster
(Greensboro, North Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Switch is Great

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
High quality product. Great concept to change the color or design at will. Love the red top!
Pros:work laptop
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell - SWITCH by Design Studio - Fire Red Lid for Dell Inspiron 15 (N5110)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MichelleS
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Great little entertainer

PostedJune 30, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this for my son to use on our commute. It's great to keep him entertained on the drive and he now has his own computer to play on-line games with his cousins. They all love the fire red!
Pros:entertainment, household use, Travel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell - SWITCH by Design Studio - Fire Red Lid for Dell Inspiron 15 (N5110)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:popcornbuddy
(South Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great idea but not a perfect fit

PostedJune 15, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love my new computer and love the idea that I can switch lids. Although switching lids is easy, one of the corners does not fit snuggly.
Pros:home enjoyment
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell - SWITCH by Design Studio - Fire Red Lid for Dell Inspiron 15 (N5110)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CelesteO
Title:

Rather well done

PostedMay 18, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've only had this product for a week or so, but I'm pleased so far. The laptop itself looks appealing. I've had no problems running programs and the display is well done. I can't say anything on how it handles wear-and-tear, but I can say I like how it is set up; I'm not a computer person and I've had no real issues with working with this piece of equipment.
Pros:streaming video, communications, document usage
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4