Customer reviews for External Trayload Optical Multi-Format CD/DVD USB Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

External Trayload Optical Multi-Format CD/DVD USB Drive

External Trayload Optical Multi-Format CD/DVD USB Drive
4.462 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 93 reviews
5 Stars
61
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
4.5
 / 
5
(93 reviews) 86
88 out of 9395%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for External Trayload Optical Multi-Format CD/DVD USB Drive
Review 1 for External Trayload Optical Multi-Format CD/DVD USB Drive
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:borrachoso99
(Atlanta)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good Value

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Perfect for adding DVD to small laptop for loading software. Very reasonable price, small and lightweight.
Pros:software development
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for External Trayload Optical Multi-Format CD/DVD USB Drive
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Al1309
(Miami, Fl)
Title:

excellent item

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
easy to plug in to the computer and works really fast.
Pros:home, work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for External Trayload Optical Multi-Format CD/DVD USB Drive
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Student29
(Arkansas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Gets a little hot.

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The product is overall a great buy. The appearance of it is very sleek. The download of the software is simple. The instructions on how to hook up the usb cables to the computer are simple as well.
My only two complaints are that the extra usb cable is useless unless your computer actually has two usb ports on the same side of the computer. My other complaint is that it gets a little warm. As long as the unit doesn't get hot enough to damage anything it should be fine though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for External Trayload Optical Multi-Format CD/DVD USB Drive
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cnbmd
Title:

XPS13 CD/DVD external optical drive

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Easy to install the software and works great. Only real issue is there is no associated carrying case. This is a no brainer decision when you buy your XPS13 or similar ultrabook.
Pros:medical practice, photo editing
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for External Trayload Optical Multi-Format CD/DVD USB Drive
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LowTechTerry
(Cornville Arizona)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Truly plug & play external CD/DVD

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Not being much of a tech head I did not realize that my newly ordered Vostro 131 did not have an internal drive, so had to find and order this one. It is truly plug and play with no extra software needed. If you have the power sharing USB that comes on the Vostro it takes only one of the two USB plug ins, if not, beware it takes 2 (split cable included). So if you like simple this it, plug it in and go. So far working great
Pros:business
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for External Trayload Optical Multi-Format CD/DVD USB Drive
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:khrish
(Richmond, Virginia)
Title:

External CD/DVD Drive

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am quite pleased with this product. had never used an external CD/DVD drive before. Found this easy to use and am very pleased with playbacks.
Pros:audio/video
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for External Trayload Optical Multi-Format CD/DVD USB Drive
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nonfunctional
(Here)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Non-functional

PostedOctober 16, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Computer does not recognize
Continually searches CD, does not load
Requested RMA. Policy of return within 21 days is flawed. Do not receive laptop for at least 14 days.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for External Trayload Optical Multi-Format CD/DVD USB Drive
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ProfLloyd
(Homestead FL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Does What it Should

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
No complaints. Works as advertised.
Pros:personal
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for External Trayload Optical Multi-Format CD/DVD USB Drive
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Trumbull, CT)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Worth every cent.

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The drive is easy to install & use and makes a huge difference in the effectiveness of the mini laptop, which was already a very versatile and good computer.
Pros:installing software, watching dvds
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for External Trayload Optical Multi-Format CD/DVD USB Drive
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mdewease
Title:

Nice unit

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I like this device. I got it for use with my Inspiron Duo, and it is everything I wanted. It is light weight and travels well with the Duo. My only ding on it is it didn't come with a protective case.
Pros:School
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for External Trayload Optical Multi-Format CD/DVD USB Drive
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MWNCLN
Title:

Dell Order

PostedAugust 12, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
The purchase of this DVD drive was with a purchase of a Dell Duo. This was the worst customer service expeirence I have ever had!! As long as you do not have an issue with your product that your order Dell is very good at prompt delivery. But if you every have an issue like color of a computer it will be one of the most challenging expeirences that you ever have trying to deal with Dell Customer Service. My issue was never resolved, I got so tired of the scripted lines that I just accepted the product that was shipped to me. Be prepared to speak with multiple people that you cannot spell there names and explain your problem over and over and over again. I never found anyone who really cared about helping they just read the lines that they are told to read. Be very careful with what and how you order from Dell!
+16points
18of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for External Trayload Optical Multi-Format CD/DVD USB Drive
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hawaiianrsch
Title:

Great Drive

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love the ease of using this external drive, it's just plug and go. Makes having a smaller laptop or netbook and no brainer!!
Pros:traveling
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for External Trayload Optical Multi-Format CD/DVD USB Drive
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jaboy
Title:

Works great

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Slim and Light.. Has done everything I have asked of it... Great Buy!!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for External Trayload Optical Multi-Format CD/DVD USB Drive
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:trueterran
Title:

Fast and slim

PostedJuly 2, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
this product is very fast without making much noise and is slim and sleek looking
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for External Trayload Optical Multi-Format CD/DVD USB Drive
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kaagee
(Maryland)
Title:

Needed parts

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Works fine but had to buy USB extension to work with Inspiron. Software that came with it would not work with Insprion.
Pros:Travel
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for External Trayload Optical Multi-Format CD/DVD USB Drive
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:brandyscase
Title:

easy to use

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this thing, it was soo easy to use and everything just loaded on my mini with the greatest of ease. I bought this package because my daughter is home from college for the summer and didn't want to disassemble her regular computer to bring it home so I bought the mini so she had access to everything without borrowing one of ours.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for External Trayload Optical Multi-Format CD/DVD USB Drive
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dmchess
Title:

Ready to use out of the box

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros: We were able to use out of the box on both our Dell and Mac. It is little and light enough to carry when traveling.
Cons: The open button is a little hard to use.
Review: Two thumbs up!
Pros:software, music, movies
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for External Trayload Optical Multi-Format CD/DVD USB Drive
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:arrhizal
(Clearfield, Utah)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Lighting Fast

PostedJune 29, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Lighting fast and works hand in hand with my Alienware laptop
Pros:rocking the games
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for External Trayload Optical Multi-Format CD/DVD USB Drive
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kingofhill21
(Michigan)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Product performs well

PostedJune 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
If your looking for an external dvd reader look no further. This is a great bang for the buck deal.
Pros:games, music
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for External Trayload Optical Multi-Format CD/DVD USB Drive
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jeano
(Madison,WI)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Works as stated - but arrived late

PostedJune 17, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The product functions just fine. It arrived about a month later than first predicted, so that was disappointing as I didn't want to go online without first installing anti-virus.
Pros:home use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5