Customer reviews for Dell - AY511 SoundBar with Virtual Surround

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Dell - AY511 SoundBar with Virtual Surround

Dell - AY511 SoundBar with Virtual Surround
3.82 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 61 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
10
1 Star
3
3.8
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 60
49 out of 6180%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell - AY511 SoundBar with Virtual Surround
Review 1 for Dell - AY511 SoundBar with Virtual Surround
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DeaneG
(CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Works well; nice sound quality for its size

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am using this with a U3011 monitor and am very happy with it. The sound quality is quite good for such a slim speaker, and it looks nice.
Wish it had some indication of the volume setting (illuminated bar, etc). But it does keep its volume setting through on/off cycles, so I just leave it.
Pros:desktop music and video
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell - AY511 SoundBar with Virtual Surround
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lasjfoinmovino
Title:

Soundbar - Convenient but not great sound

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Love the convenience but this is not a high-quality sound product. Sound is ok for casual computer use but I wouldn't use it to listen to music or something else with expectation of high quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell - AY511 SoundBar with Virtual Surround
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MickeLindberg
Title:

Does Not remember Last Volume level!

PostedJuly 5, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pro's:
1. Great sound.
2. Great look.
Con's:
1. Does NOT remember the Last used Volume level. If you turn it off (the power), then you has to first turn it on, and then raise the volume (it starts at mute!), because it does not remember.
2. You can't see wich button to press, when it is a little dark.
3. There's no monitor-power-cable included, like the old A501 have. With this speaker you get a power-brick! What was they thinking???
I have the DELL UltraSharp U2312HM who have it's own power port (I bought it with these speakers) but these speakers (wich was recomended at time of purchase to use with the monitor) can't use it!
If I knew this, I would never have bought this speaker. The old model (A501) is soooo mcuh better.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell - AY511 SoundBar with Virtual Surround
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:IAMWALTERIAM
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very Impressive for It's size

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Quality sound and I like the way it tucks under monitor right outta the way,very happy with my choice on this soundbar
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell - AY511 SoundBar with Virtual Surround
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SamT2565393
(Madison, AL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Sound

PostedMay 30, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was blown away at the sound this tiny sound bar put out. It sounds better then my $1000 3D tv speakers and has a good amount of non distorted base for its size
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell - AY511 SoundBar with Virtual Surround
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AlaninAtlanta
Title:

Does not ship with the required power cable

PostedMay 27, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This soundbar provides plenty of sound if you aren't looking for hifi. However, if you've paid for a display like the Dell U2410 that contains a power-out to power the sound bar, neither the display nor the soundbar ships with the required cable.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell - AY511 SoundBar with Virtual Surround
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:soundbar
Title:

Happy with this Sound Bar

PostedMay 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Good sound come from the sound bar. I am very happy with it and would suggest anyone to purchase it.
Pros:home use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell - AY511 SoundBar with Virtual Surround
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:llunaro
Title:

Flat Panel Display SoundBar with Virtual Surround

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The virtual surround sound totally confuses my dog! It is much more clear and realistic than my previous old speakers, very impressive for movies on Netflix. The sounds seem to be coming from the environment rather than the speakers. It's amazing to me that such a small speaker array can actually deliver that.
Pros:streaming video
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell - AY511 SoundBar with Virtual Surround
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JoeUser7
Title:

Great Desktop Addition!

PostedMarch 1, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great product! Simple ordering on the Dell.com site and delivery two days less than anticipated. Simple installation that a five year old could handle.
Love the the work area space saving design of mounting on the bottom panel of my monitor. Looks aesthetically great paired with my ST2421L Display.
Excellent sound quality for such a small device with very convenient illuminated touch controls. Not quite theater quality sound but, with Virtual Surround, it sure gets close for such a small and convenient accessory. Should suit the needs of any everyday user unless you're an audiophile.
Pros:personal (home) use.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell - AY511 SoundBar with Virtual Surround
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MichaelZ55
Title:

Sound bar with too many of the same ports

PostedMarch 1, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Sound bar is fine once you figure out which port to input your cable from your laptop. Who would have thought it to be the one that said 12V, sounds like a car battery. There are two other ports with the same size connections so it is confusing. Being all black does not help in a dimly lit room either.
Pros:videos, facebook links
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell - AY511 SoundBar with Virtual Surround
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PrudentReviewer
Title:

Overall Good

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
1) Speaker Bar design fits seamlessly onto the monitor.
2) Closest thing to wireless with only 2 wires
3) Audio quality is crisp and clear and powerful enough for most applications
Cons:
1) The touch panel is not entirely lit. The volume up/down and mute do not light up; can't see in low light
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell - AY511 SoundBar with Virtual Surround
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:James1954
(Quebec, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Super sound for a Soundbar with virtual surrond!

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Easy to install. Nice touch controls in front. I have two working computers attached to the sound bar. Enough bass for me so I didn't attach a subwofer.
Pros:work and play!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell - AY511 SoundBar with Virtual Surround
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ErikJ
Title:

Works with alienware optx too

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got this sound bar because my wife didnt like the big speakers I had on my alienware. Since the alienware lcd doesnt have built in speakers I thought this should fit the bill just perfect.
The alienware lcd doesnt have mounts for this soundbar, but with a little automotive double sided tape I have it mounted just like all the other dell lcds would have it.
Sound is pretty good, I find my self turning off the bass and turning on the vocal enhancer thing. Sofar I like it alot.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell - AY511 SoundBar with Virtual Surround
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MJvN
Title:

Works Great

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Paired with a DELL 2420 LCD Monitor, and looks and sounds great.
Bought on sale, and a great value for the price.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell - AY511 SoundBar with Virtual Surround
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nickname1234
(Hillsboro, NH)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great For What It Was Designed For

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The speakers work fine and sound good. Speech is clear and music is ok. Don't expect big sound from small speakers. But they sound fine for what they were designed for. They fit the monitor perfectly (2408WFP) and look great. I like the gentle touch of turning it off and on (right in front). I wish it was able to plug into the back of my monitor, eliminating the power adapter. Another model I tried had a cord to plug directly into the monitor, but didn't sound quite as good to me as this one.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell - AY511 SoundBar with Virtual Surround
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Glenn956
Title:

Speaker's Great - Controls are Horrible

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I love that this tucks up under my monitor so the speakers don't take up any space on my desktop. The sound quality's fine for everything I need.
What I really hate is that the controls are all flush and not backlit, so they're impossible to see if the room is not brightly lit. I've taken to make my own paper label to hang on the bottom so I know where the controls are.
Backlighting the controls would make this a 10 for me. Without them, no more than a 5. I'd rather just have the volume on a knob than this configuration, just like the last one I had. This could be a great product, but given the controls, it's mediocre and very annoying.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell - AY511 SoundBar with Virtual Surround
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CharlieCJ
Title:

Outperforming Its Price Tag

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
For the price, the sound bar exceeds my expectation. The mid and high range sounds are clear, crisp, and well defined. Although it doesn't make some incredibly amount of bass, it's good enough for listening to some classical music and watching youtube video. I am thinking about buying another one for another Dell monitor.
Pros:home business, streaming video, classical music, youtube
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell - AY511 SoundBar with Virtual Surround
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Fredric
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Very nice speaker bar

PostedAugust 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I boughtfor my Dell U2410. Fits fine and the sound is excellent, much better than the standard speaker bars. The touch controls work great.
The only "con" is it has its own power supply instead of using the monitor power, but I can live with that.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell - AY511 SoundBar with Virtual Surround
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:U2310H
(Maryland)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

So-So Speaker Bar

PostedAugust 11, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The speaker bar has a zero footprint so I decided to buy one.
The audio jack or (receptacle at the computer)seems to have an intermittent open circuit so that I have to fiddle to ensure a solid connection to avoid a loud buzzing sound.
When it works, it work just fine.
Pros:home office
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell - AY511 SoundBar with Virtual Surround
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Steven87
(Austin TX)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

A very good alternative for small desks

PostedJuly 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I recently swapped down to a much smaller desk and found myself getting easily cluttered and my old bulky speakers were not helping anything. I took a dive on this speaker bar and found myself pleasantly surprised with its quality and flexibility.
I tend to use a headset for most of my multimedia work and when I do some gaming on my down time. So I was by no means seeking something to please the acoustically tuned ear of a hardened audiophile, merely something to put sound around me when wearing a headset becomes bothersome or when I can't afford to drown out the entire world.
Sound quality is good and the presets allow some decent flexibility in usage. Simply put it's as good as you expect for the money, and saves you a fair bit of space and hassle with wires.
If you're expecting the ultimate in home theatre or gaming experience then look elsewhere, but if you just want something to produce decent sound without resorting to anything bulky, complex, or expensive...then I don't see any better options!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4