Customer reviews for Dell AX210 USB Stereo Speaker System

Dell AX210 USB Stereo Speaker System

Dell AX210 USB Stereo Speaker System
4 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 62 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
3
1 Star
6
4
 / 
5
(62 reviews) 53
51 out of 6282%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell AX210 USB Stereo Speaker System
Review 1 for Dell AX210 USB Stereo Speaker System
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Zeraph
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good Buy!

PostedJune 17, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I must admit that when I got these for sale ($6.99), I was almost certain there had to be something wrong with them. However, I was quite surprised.
The quality of these speakers (for their price; $200 Bose speakers will almost always be better than a $23.99 set from Dell) is superb. If you are buying a laptop, these speakers are simply a must. They are portable, a LOT better in quality than the laptop's integrated speakers, and very well-constructed.
The volume control switch subtly blends into the speaker, but in the very small instruction manual (there aren't that many instructions; you basically just plug the thing in) there is a diagram showing you where the volume control is and, furthermore, how to operate it.
The actual speakers are just under 7 inches (17.78 cm) tall. The base is approximately 3 inches by 3 inches (7.62x7.62 cm). Considering that these speakers run solely off of USB power, their size makes them extremely portable. The cylindrical design makes it easy to wrap the cables around the speakers for a no-tangle transportation. The wires themselves are long enough to comfortably fit any laptop or desktop setup.
The speakers are quite durable and are compact enough that you won't have to worry about breaking them. The lack of any protruding switches or knobs ensures that nothing can break off when you store these speakers. I estimate these speakers have the combined weight of less than half a pound (maybe .2 kg), so they're definitely light.
I have only had one problem with the speakers. They have a noticeable lack of good bass support. However, I am still able to do sound editing and gaming without many problems. Other than the lack of bass, the sound quality is very good, crisp, and clear. As with many speakers, the sound may "crack" if the volume is set at maximum (this only happens in certain situations, however).
Overall, I would wait until these go on sale again (they seem to be on sale quite often, actually, even on other shopping sites). But for $6.99, even for $23.99, you'll be getting a reliable set of speakers. Since they fit perfectly in laptop bags the size of a Belkin Messenger or larger, I cannot overstress what a great replacement they make for laptop speakers. I know I'll be enjoying these speakers for quite a while.
Pros:laptop speaker replacement, sound editing, musical composition, Gaming
+31points
31of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell AX210 USB Stereo Speaker System
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GrampaJim
Title:

Very Good Speakers at Proper Scale

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
High fidelity computer speakers these are not; however, they are very good speakers when used at their proper scale: with a netbook or notebook computer in a small listenting situation, such as an 8X10 office or on a table over which a presentation is being viewed by 4-6 people on a laptop screen.
The real beauty of these speakers, aside from their modest price, is that their sound quality is as good as it is for their small size and considering no need to plug an adapter into an ac power outlet. Their power comes from a USB port on the laptop. Volume can be controlled with the laptop volume setting and with the speakers' own volume control.
Indeed, they are a little too light weight and subject to falling over too easily on the desktop. One also needs a carry case for them, which I've yet to find.
Pros:enhancment to laptop audio in small settings
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell AX210 USB Stereo Speaker System
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bcarr
Title:

OK for the price

PostedAugust 9, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm really sure what I expecting for the price, but perhaps a little more than what I got. As others have pointed out, they are very sensible speakers for general computer sounds and such, but not so great for listening to music.
But my biggest complaint is the form factor of the speakers. More to the point, it has to do with the way the speakers are connected to each other. I have two 22" monitors side-by-side. The cable connecting the two speakers together is not long enough to allow the speakers to sit 'outside' the two monitors. So the speakers are partially obscured by the monitors. Which could lend to the less-than-stellar sound quality.
Nothing really wrong with the speakers, as long as you don't expect too much.
+17points
22of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell AX210 USB Stereo Speaker System
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:babydoll43571
(Whitehouse, Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Speakers

PostedJune 10, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
I was looking for speakers that didn't cost
a lot, yet had good sound. I also wanted slimline speakers, because my computer table is small. I hooked them up, but had a hard time figuring out where to turn them on at. Finally I figured out,
it was on top of the left speaker, which looks
like part of the speaker itself. The sound is pretty good, for the price.
Cons
Even though the sound is pretty good, The volumn
isn't all that great. I would like something just a bit louder, then what these provide, even
though it's good.
Review
I would say for the price, these are a great set
of speakers.
Pros:sound
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell AX210 USB Stereo Speaker System
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tombonica
(Miami, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

The price says it all...

PostedJune 2, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
If you want really good sound, don't get these speakers but if you just want to hear sound coming from sites and whatnot, then go ahead and buy these speakers.
Music lovers should avoid these speakers though.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell AX210 USB Stereo Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RichNewEngland
(Maine)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Very good speaker - very little money

PostedJanuary 17, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a speaker for modest requirements.
Light, compact, and convenient, they sound well balanced.
If you aren't looking for more amp power than you are going to get over a USB wire, and if you aren't looking for more bass than you could expect from a small speaker that weighs a couple of ounces, you'll be happy.
My only complaint is that the volume knob could be more convenient (it's recessed into the top of the right speaker).
Pros:streaming audio
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell AX210 USB Stereo Speaker System
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kl12
(Syracuse, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

This product is a great value

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I did not really expect much for the price of these speakers but was pleasantly surprised! They are a great sound improvement.
Pros:affordable, light weight easy to move, good sound quality, fast shipping
Cons:no volume adjuster could be louder
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell AX210 USB Stereo Speaker System
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tpro
Title:

Incomplete Tech Specs

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Tech Specs state:
Interface Type USB
Connections
Connector Type 1 x USB ( 4 pin USB Type A )
and make no mention of the second connection (3.5 mm audio) which is required for these speakers to work.
This might lead one to believe that these are true USB speakers (where both the power and audio signal come via the USB port), and not merely USB-powered.
(Yes, I see that the picture shows both cables, but that's not the point.)
Dell - please correct your specs to reflect reality.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell AX210 USB Stereo Speaker System
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mwm2
(west greenwich)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Newbie

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
speakers work just great but for a novice like me with a new set-up more directions would be helpful
Pros:home
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell AX210 USB Stereo Speaker System
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Proud2008Dad
(Maine)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

They do the Job.

PostedJune 22, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
These are alright speakers. You cant turn them up too loud or they will sound staticy and will probally blow after not too long. If your using them just for Office style work then they will do just fine. But if you want to watch movies or play games I would probally upgrade from these for some better ones.
Pros:computer
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell AX210 USB Stereo Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Scott125
Title:

Desk Top Speakers

PostedJune 9, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Speakers are compact and do not take up alot of space. Sound quality is good for office use. I am very happy with this purchase.
Pros:office enviorment
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell AX210 USB Stereo Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Michael304
Title:

Great speakers for light use.

PostedFebruary 15, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have several customers with these speakers. They are great for business use or for use with a laptop. They are small, portable, and best of all, USB powered. They use much less energy than traditional 'wall wart' versions.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell AX210 USB Stereo Speaker System
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gksc
Title:

No jack to connect headphones

PostedJuly 18, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
There is a volume control, but no jack to connect headphones.
I wanted to use mine to boost the volume on my laptop. I am a transcriptionist and use headphones to listen to dictation. Sometimes I need to max out the volume to hear what is being said. But I cannot use these for work because there is no where for me to plug the headphones in. I tried a splitter, but that just puts sound through the headphones and the speakers. Obviously, that will not work because people around me do not want to hear the dictation.
But it's great for just listening to the laptop otherwise and is a solution for poor speakers.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell AX210 USB Stereo Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PREFFEREDCUSTOMER
Title:

Axsome Speakers

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
THESE SPEAKERS WERE SO EASY TO BUY AND SETUP AND THEY SOUND OH, SOOOOOOO GOOD! I AM NOT ONE SECOND SORRY THAT I BOUGHT THEM!I REALLY, REALLY, LIKE THEM. AND AT THE AFFORDABLE PRICE, EVERYBODY CAN BUY THEM.
PROS:
GREAT SOUND
DO NOT NEED TO BE PLUGGED IN
LOOK GREAT
AFFORDABLE
CONS : NONE
I WOULD NEVER HAVE ANYTHIN THAT IS NOT DELL
Pros:music listening, system sounds
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell AX210 USB Stereo Speaker System
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:QueenMissy
Title:

Okay Speakers

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Okay sounding speakers for the price. Not extremely loud but worked for the kids computer.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell AX210 USB Stereo Speaker System
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Deb2014
(Massachusetts)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

TERRIBLE Speakers

PostedMarch 3, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Yes, I know these are inexpensive, but the last speakers I got actually came free with a previous Dell, so I decided to purchase these for my new computer. What a mistake! The speakers are hardwired together with a short wire, so they cannot be spaced apart very much at all. In addition, they were tinny sounding - absolutely NO bass - with no adjustments. I ended up returning them & using my old ones instead! (By the way, the old ones are about 12 years old but are FAR superior.)
Cons:sound, no adjustments, wire length
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell AX210 USB Stereo Speaker System
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Hawk5619
(Wellington, CO 80549, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

You Get What You Pay For

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
They're cheap. And they crackle all the time. Always one side and if the sound is turned up then on both sides. I would not buy these again and hope to buy some better speakers soon.
Pros:nice looking
Cons:crackle
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell AX210 USB Stereo Speaker System
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SamW619
Title:

No good after 1 year

PostedOctober 14, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
After 1 year of use, start having static sound when certain web pages are displayed (usually a lot of flash animation). Starting to become louder and louder. Finally plugged the USB power supply to another device and noises reduced.
Just like my XPS 8300, after 1 year of use, blue screen at least 3 times a week. Extremely disappointed in Dell products. Not like the ones I used to own.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell AX210 USB Stereo Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dellfan1
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

satisfied customer

PostedApril 12, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The speakers have good clear sound, were easily installed and I would recommend these to all.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell AX210 USB Stereo Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JimJCaz
(Cazenovia NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Easy to set up; sound great.

PostedApril 20, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
These little speakers have a sharp design, are easy to set up (one cord for USB provides the power, and another cord plugs into the speaker jack on a computer), and sound great. They aren't audiophile quality - just solid basic speakers that have enough range and power to provide the right environment of music or web playback in my small office. A smart deal for the price.
Pros:listening to music at work, webex conference sound, internet video sound playback
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3