Customer reviews for 90 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery for Dell XPS 14 (L401X)/ 15 (L501X)/ 15 (L502x)/ 17 (L701X)/ L702X Laptops

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

90 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery for Dell XPS 14 (L401X)/ 15 (L501X)/ 15 (L502x)/ 17 (L701X)/ L702X Laptops

90 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery for Dell XPS 14 (L401X)/ 15 (L501X)/ 15 (L502x)/ 17 (L701X)/ L702X Laptops
3.788 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
5
1 Star
2
3.8
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
25 out of 3376%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for 90 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery for Dell XPS 14 (L401X)/ 15 (L501X)/ 15 (L502x)/ 17 (L701X)/ L702X Laptops
Review 1 for 90 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery for Dell XPS 14 (L401X)/ 15 (L501X)/ 15 (L502x)/ 17 (L701X)/ L702X Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pebbles89
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Glad I Purchased

PostedMay 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased the same battery with my computer. After 3 years, it was not keeping a charge long. But this was after 3 years of almost daily use. I had no problem having to purchase another because of the good use. Wow what a difference. Long battery life is back again. Only issue I had was with the shipping. Needed to actually sign for a laptop battery - really?????
Pros:long life
Cons:shipping
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 90 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery for Dell XPS 14 (L401X)/ 15 (L501X)/ 15 (L502x)/ 17 (L701X)/ L702X Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ATDM
(Texas, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

THE BATTERY IS OUTLIVING THE LAPTOP

PostedApril 23, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I ordered this battery with my XPS17 about 2 years ago. I use my laptop constantly for work and occasionally for personal purposes. I keep the computer on about 18 hours a day every day.
The laptop itself is showing signs of wear and slowing down, but the BATTERY FUNCTIONS AS NEW! I have owned dozens of laptops over the years, and this is the first time, when I need a new computer, and the battery is still good.
I don't know, if I got lucky with my particular battery, or if all of the batteries (this model) are this good, but I don't regret for a minute that I spent extra money to get this extended use battery.
I am definitely going to order it with my next computer and will continue to use my current battery on the new computer until it dies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 90 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery for Dell XPS 14 (L401X)/ 15 (L501X)/ 15 (L502x)/ 17 (L701X)/ L702X Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Hookchief47C
(Madison, AL)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Decent battery

PostedApril 12, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Ordering process was easy and was shipped quickly.
Pros:decent charge duration, angles laptop for cooling and typing comfort
Cons:overall battery life only about two years, expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 90 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery for Dell XPS 14 (L401X)/ 15 (L501X)/ 15 (L502x)/ 17 (L701X)/ L702X Laptops
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dobid
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

I would not recommend this at all

PostedMarch 23, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not sure what Dell was up to here. My last Dell lasted quite a bit and hence gave another shot with Dell with XPS. Within 18 months the battery was at about 2 hours and after that the battery error started showing up and battery lasts at most 1 hour. I have lost faith in Dell and it's capability to produce great products.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 90 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery for Dell XPS 14 (L401X)/ 15 (L501X)/ 15 (L502x)/ 17 (L701X)/ L702X Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rabbs
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

The only place to get battery replacements is from Dell

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Shipping only took a week, however the price is still expensive. There are no discounts for batteries, I recommend using paypal for purchasing.
Cons:price of battery, replacement not part of any warranty
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 90 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery for Dell XPS 14 (L401X)/ 15 (L501X)/ 15 (L502x)/ 17 (L701X)/ L702X Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Maverick2
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Back-Up Battery

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
After looking over several configurations of new Dell laptops (new 7000 series), I compared what was available vs. my 2012 XPS15 and decided to upgrade my current laptop . . and purchase a new battery as well while they are still available. I decided on the full 9 cell battery with the 'raised' section to get the most for my $$'s. After several weeks of cycling through the full charging/discharging of the new battery I am happy with the 6 hrs or so performance. This is a back-up to the battery I have from the original laptop purchase which still works fine (I don't use the laptop as much as most individuals I am sure).
Pros:quality, battery meter (lights)
Cons:price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 90 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery for Dell XPS 14 (L401X)/ 15 (L501X)/ 15 (L502x)/ 17 (L701X)/ L702X Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Erick2014
(Conroe, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great battery, better flexibility!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The battery is easy to install and offers up to 6 hours of battery life. I don't have to carry my charger anymore to school. Also I don't have to worry about being around a power outlet to charge everywhere I go due to the longer battery life. The battery adds a little bulk to my computer but it is better than dealing with a charger.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 90 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery for Dell XPS 14 (L401X)/ 15 (L501X)/ 15 (L502x)/ 17 (L701X)/ L702X Laptops
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:soccerdog
(Hawaii, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Dell Batteries - Why do they die so soon

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
My less than 3 year old Dell XPS (my third XPS and the last Dell I'll ever buy) battery died completely. It started being a problem just after the warranty expired (go figure). I never was really able to use it unplugged. Hopefully this battery will hold up (the replacement on my previous XPS never really performed as it should). In any event, after buying Dells for more years than I can remember, I finally really mean it when I say NEVER AGAIN.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 90 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery for Dell XPS 14 (L401X)/ 15 (L501X)/ 15 (L502x)/ 17 (L701X)/ L702X Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GLOCK22
(CALIFORNIA, CA.)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Dell quality and reliability.

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had to replace the original 90 WHr 9-cell Lithium Ion battery on my XPS laptop, which is three years old. Had heard some horror stories about after market products, therefore decided to purchase Dell replacement. Very happy and satisfied with my purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 90 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery for Dell XPS 14 (L401X)/ 15 (L501X)/ 15 (L502x)/ 17 (L701X)/ L702X Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JaredMcWilly
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Long life, good quality

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Had an older 60whr battery, despite that this battery is only 30whr more it lasts more than twice the battery life of the old one. I am sure part of that is due to the lithium battery being used up some and not storing as much charge as when it was new, but regardless it the battery lasts 4-6 hours depending on what I am doing, and I am very pleased with the purchase.
Pros:long life
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 90 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery for Dell XPS 14 (L401X)/ 15 (L501X)/ 15 (L502x)/ 17 (L701X)/ L702X Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Steve1418
(Irvine, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

This product is good value.

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
It is good value as of the price comparing to the performance! Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 90 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery for Dell XPS 14 (L401X)/ 15 (L501X)/ 15 (L502x)/ 17 (L701X)/ L702X Laptops
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:disillusionedandmovingon
(greenville, sc)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Lasted 1 Year

PostedDecember 16, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought my computer January 2012 and the battery lasted a year. Now it only charges to 61%. For the money, that's unacceptable. I would have saved money buying generic batteries and just replacing them every year. Never again.
This has been the worst computer I've ever bought (xps 702x). No wonder Dell stopped making them.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 90 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery for Dell XPS 14 (L401X)/ 15 (L501X)/ 15 (L502x)/ 17 (L701X)/ L702X Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Vinkreig
(Texas, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

9cell battery

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Got this to replace the one in my XPS15. Does what it says. I used the battery properly discharging and charging only about 2yrs outta it.
Cons:battery life
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 90 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery for Dell XPS 14 (L401X)/ 15 (L501X)/ 15 (L502x)/ 17 (L701X)/ L702X Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:steinhouse1
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good Battery

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Battery works well. Solved my problem of yellow battery light flashing. I haven't put it to the test quite yet but much better than the old one.
I looked elsewhere for a battery but was concerned about compatibility so that's why I paid so much more with Dell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 90 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery for Dell XPS 14 (L401X)/ 15 (L501X)/ 15 (L502x)/ 17 (L701X)/ L702X Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Gearz
(Salem,NH)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Better Than Aftermarket

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
My original battery died after a 1 1/2 so I bought a battery from a aftermarket supplier and it died in 3 month's so they pro rated the battery and I got some money back. I bought this battery from dell with a one year warranty. I asked a dell rep why the original only lasted 1 1/2 and they said it was because I use the computer so much. I guess my point is that the computer is large and has the best processor on the market at the time I made the purchase so the battery life is going to be poor. Buy Dell for the extra cost it's worth it.
Pros:home use
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 90 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery for Dell XPS 14 (L401X)/ 15 (L501X)/ 15 (L502x)/ 17 (L701X)/ L702X Laptops
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NateB
(Jacksonville, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Worst battery in any Dell I've ever owned.

PostedNovember 1, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've only had my XPS L702x for about a year and a half and I'm already receiving the "battery has experienced a permanent failure" message. This upsets me because I have a 5 year old Dell Vostro 1500 with the original extended battery still holding strong. On top of this failure, Dell now wants $156 for a replacement.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 90 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery for Dell XPS 14 (L401X)/ 15 (L501X)/ 15 (L502x)/ 17 (L701X)/ L702X Laptops
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TabascoMan
(Montreal)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great at the beginning, and then suddenly garbage

PostedOctober 18, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got the 9 cell battery when I bought my laptop a year and a half ago and it was fantastic! It could hold a charge for numerous hours, while doing energy draining activities.
However, about 3 weeks ago I woke up, turned on the laptop and suddenly the battery would not charge beyond 60%. Over the next 3 weeks that max charge limit slowly dropped to 52%. Fast forward to 10 minutes ago, I was in the middle of a movie and suddenly the laptop turns off. When I plug it back in, an error message came up saying "Your battery has experienced a permanent failure and needs to be replaced". I was doing absolutely nothing, and somehow in the course of a month, the battery just died on me. Dell's customer support was absolutely no help and they kept telling me that they could do nothing for me, except charge me another $156 for a new battery.
Complete trash, and it makes me think that this battery had built in obsolescence. Only worth your time if you're willing to shell out an extra $150 every year or two, to have the extra battery size/longevity.
Pros:School, personal entertainment
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 90 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery for Dell XPS 14 (L401X)/ 15 (L501X)/ 15 (L502x)/ 17 (L701X)/ L702X Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kl36
(United States)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

DON"T BUY 60 WHR BUY THE 90 WHR INSTEAD!

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Awesome product when I received it. Lifts the back bottom side of the laptop up and a little space for air circulation.
Pros: Much better than the 60. Long Battery Life.
Cons: Cost. Dell Agents couldn't give me a discount on this because it was replacement, spare parts.
Pros:Gaming, social, web browsing, email
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 90 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery for Dell XPS 14 (L401X)/ 15 (L501X)/ 15 (L502x)/ 17 (L701X)/ L702X Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PDX1THT
(Oregon)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

90 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery (Dell XPS L702X)

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The only "con" I have is the cost. My old battery was starting to fail, so I needed a new one. But...the replacement is so darn expensive. I'm beginning to think that these are being viewed as "consumables" like printer toner cartridges. Unfortunate if true.
Pros:work/home
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 90 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery for Dell XPS 14 (L401X)/ 15 (L501X)/ 15 (L502x)/ 17 (L701X)/ L702X Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Scott4free
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Laptop battery - 90 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery

PostedJune 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I recently purchased a replacement batter for my laptop (90 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery for Dell XPS 14 (L401X)/ 15 (L501X)/ 15 (L502x)/ 17 (L701X)/ L702X Laptops). I chose the slightly more expensive battery that has a longer life. I have had the laptop unplugged while using it for 3 hours at a time and haven't run out of battery life -- which is a welcome change! I recommend paying a little extra for the longer life. Nothing more annoying than running out of battery power and having to go back and plug in when you're in the middle of a project.
Pros:personal business, light website design, light graphic design
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2