Customer reviews for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Studio 1735/ 1737 Laptops

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Studio 1735/ 1737 Laptops

85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Studio 1735/ 1737 Laptops
3.364 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
3.4
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
18 out of 2282%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Studio 1735/ 1737 Laptops
Review 1 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Studio 1735/ 1737 Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Stefansdad
(Yorktown Virginia)
Title:

Replacement of the 9 Cell Lithium-Ion battery

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
After three years of use the orginal battery got a memory and would only hold a charge for a short time. I found that if I was using it a lot daily and not letting it drain fully, that it got a memory charge and wouldn't hold a full days charge. I now know how to properly us the replacement and couldn't be more happier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Studio 1735/ 1737 Laptops
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:nybx28
Title:

replacement battery

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
so after almost 3 years my battery died i ordered a new one and it wont charge i have been using a universal charger for a good 6 months now and never had a problem charging before i love my laptop i just wish it would charge
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Studio 1735/ 1737 Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KMom

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I inherited this computer from my son and the original battery was shot. I purchased this battery and the computer works like new. I would have given it an excellent rating but I would like to try it out longer. I have only had it for two weeks.
Pros:checking emails
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Studio 1735/ 1737 Laptops
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:skookumbar2002
Title:

Great service and product

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am so happy with my new battery! I ordered it and it was here in a couple of days! Fast service and easy to order from the web site. I also loved how easy it was to install myself. I love my Dell products!!!!!!
Pros:personal use
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Studio 1735/ 1737 Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:help44
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Laptop Battery

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The battery was extremely easy to install I received it quicker than when I was supposed to.
Pros:digitizing software
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Studio 1735/ 1737 Laptops
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rockerdan
(San Antonio)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

High-priced replacement battery

PostedJune 23, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Battery does what it's supposed to do--power a laptop. The battery doesn't offer the stream-lined fit of the original and prevents the laptop from laying flat against a table-top surface. In fact, the replacement battery causes the laptop to lay at any unsightly angle--forcing a modified typing position.
The replacement battery is somewhat over-priced, but then again--this is Dell.
Pros:personal computing
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Studio 1735/ 1737 Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tomdesgn
(Bay area, CA)
Title:

Works quite well

PostedJune 15, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
My OEM Battery gave out in about a year. As always plugged in, not a real problem. I had to work with my son's wedding with a lot of photos, so got the new nine cell. Worked great and lasted several hours and more with heavy duty graphic apps. Lots o time left too after the event. I'm very happy with it.
Pros:graphic programs, photo reworking
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Studio 1735/ 1737 Laptops
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Wizer
(Wisconsin)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Bad Battery Worse Customer Service

PostedJune 2, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Charger wouldn't charge original battery. Sent to Dell to fix motherboard. Charger still didn't work. Got a new one but it didn't charge the old battery. Dell told me to buy a new battery. New Dell AC adapter doesn't charge new battery. Called Dell and was told to pay $250 to extend my warranty so they could "help me" with fixing it. Just an expensive paperweight. No more Dell for me! Sure it would be great if I could get it to charge.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Studio 1735/ 1737 Laptops
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:OKLAHOMARN
(Oklahoma)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Took several weeks

PostedJune 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The product seems to work if you can get the charger to charge it. I tried three chargers before one would actually charge it. The main problem was it took several weeks to get. Every time I was given a date I would get an email asking me if I wanted to cancel the order because the product wasn't available. Where did Dell think I was going to get this battery, WalMart?
Pros:home computer
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Studio 1735/ 1737 Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Meyrle

PostedJune 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The battery is great. Just wish the new cord had been recomended with it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Studio 1735/ 1737 Laptops
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JaclynN
(Tennessee)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

uncomfortable battery

PostedMarch 15, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
My laptop is no longer a LAPtop, thanks to this battery!! It is very uncomfortable, and even hurts after awhile to have my computer sit on my lap, because the battery now has the extra protruding peice. I will never buy another dell laptop, just for that reason. I don't understand the concept of having that peice stick out!!
Pros:home use
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Studio 1735/ 1737 Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Leonard7
Title:

good battery

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
no problems with this battery, doubled my life of my old battery
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Studio 1735/ 1737 Laptops
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Hurt
(Home Office)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

IT Manager

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the Lithium-Ion battery and installed it just as suggested. It was at half power when I installed it and it continued to decease in power without charging. I am very disappointed in this purchase.
Pros:on a notebook computer
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Studio 1735/ 1737 Laptops
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DL74
Title:

Battery

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The battery lasts a long time without a charge.
Pros:personall computer
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Studio 1735/ 1737 Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Wabich
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedJanuary 5, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Disappointed the battery doesn't last longer, even when on power saver. I did know the laptop doesn't lay flat with this particular battery and I like this feature. That's why I bought the first one.
Pros:home office use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Studio 1735/ 1737 Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jhcox11
(Illinois)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

battery

PostedDecember 8, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
The battery is good. It came within 4 days of being ordered.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Studio 1735/ 1737 Laptops
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jfscpa
Title:

85 WHr 9-cell Lithium Ion Primary Battery,

PostedAugust 5, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
The original battery lasted only one year which is totally unaceptable. The battery was the same as reordered and was supposed to allow me to run my compter for at least 3 hours. Within 3 months the battery life was down to less than 1/2 hour which in my mind is unacceptable. The computer is outstanding, but the battery does not come anywhere near close to the specifications. Dell needs to be more realistic in their times. I use the laptop only for remote access to my workstation and minimul internet access.
Pros:remote access while traveling, internet access
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Studio 1735/ 1737 Laptops
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pJarhead
Title:

1 year life - and don't forget it...

PostedJanuary 9, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This battery was the original with my purchase, and gave me 4 hours time, even watching DVDs (normal, not blu-ray) with power-saver settings. After a year, I'm lucky to get an hour of time on yahoo messenger with no backlit keyboard and the screen on the lowest brightness. Two days before the 1 year warranty expired, I get a pop-up that the battery is charging normally but nearing it's useful Life. This wonderful pop-up continues ever time I power up, but only hangs around for a minute or so.
I was in Baghdad, so mostly running on battery, then recharging overnight on 220 current, so I guess over 200 recharges, shouldn't complain. Beats the max of 50 recharges not so many years ago. I'll reorder soon, but the price seems a bit excessive...
I used mine on a picnic table in a wi-fi area, so the battery profile actually helps tilt the keyboard to a comfortable angle. With any battery, a 17" laptop will be a bit much in the lap, IMHO.
+20points
22of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Studio 1735/ 1737 Laptops
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kfm1
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Good Battery, but with issues

PostedJanuary 7, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this battery to replace a completely dead battery on a Studio 17. As other reviewers have said, it bumps out on the bottom so that the laptop can no longer lay flat. This is not a big issue for us as we usually use it on a table, but it is a consideration. Also, when it was first attached, the laptop would not recognize it as a Dell battery and thus would not charge it. I researched the problem without finding any solution except that Dell was aware of it. Finally, after shutting down and reattaching the battery several times, it finally was recognized. The battery must be attached while the computer is completely shut down so that the battery can be recognized during start up. Now that we have that problem solved, the battery works well.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Studio 1735/ 1737 Laptops
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Savergn
(Bakersfield, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Much needed battery life.

PostedJuly 21, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
@ Other reviews
Its a 9-cell, not 9 hour battery.
The bumps on the battery help keep the laptop above its normal position- Call it a laptop all you want, but its designed for Portable computing, Keeping it on your lap could cause overheating problems or some of your parts to die out.
If your concerned about the weight you should be aware 17" Notebooks are considered "Desktop Replacements."
I also have no idea why'd you expect such a large laptop to not require a hefty battery.
I have a Blu-Ray drive, ATI RADEON 3650 256MB Video Card and the back lit keyboard and I still barely reach about 3 and a half hours of battery life. Note that it still has superb performance and isn't buggy or slow.
When gaming with about half screen brightness I get about 2 and a half hours of battery life.
Overall, I'm only disappointed that theres no appropriate 12, or 15 cell battery for those who don't mind the weight.
+38points
39of 40voted this as helpful.
1 2