Customer reviews for Dell - 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Inspiron 1521 Laptop

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Dell - 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Inspiron 1521 Laptop

Dell - 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Inspiron 1521 Laptop
3.857 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
3.9
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 12
12 out of 1486%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell - 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Inspiron 1521 Laptop
Review 1 for Dell - 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Inspiron 1521 Laptop
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tsilvers
Title:

Works Fine and Quick Delivery

PostedJune 22, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I ordered a new battery after having my computer for about 3 years. The battery works and I got it delivered before the expected date. Everything I could ask for.
Pros:work, photoshop
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell - 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Inspiron 1521 Laptop
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:friedm96
Title:

Works well

PostedMay 4, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had my new battery for a few weeks now, and I have had no problems at all. The battery life is tremendous.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell - 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Inspiron 1521 Laptop
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Arriflex1
(Bronxville, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Battery Life Is Not Very Good Over Time

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I upgraged my battery to an "extended" one, to have longer run time, but after only a couple years, this battery runs my computer for only about 15 minutes, and now I have to keep it plugged in all the time. The battery is useless. The value for the money is not good and I regret buying this "extended" battery. Dell's computers are great, but their batteries are one notch above terrible.
Pros:personal
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell - 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Inspiron 1521 Laptop
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JasonTodd
(Hoover, AL)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedFebruary 10, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Rapid delivery, accurate order, battery performance/life as expected.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell - 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Inspiron 1521 Laptop
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mike19
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Extended Battery

PostedNovember 3, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Works good so far. I can surf the internet, play music/videos for about 4-5 hrs before recharging.
Pros:around the house, Travel
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell - 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Inspiron 1521 Laptop
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Scareball
(Brighton, CO)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Great battery

PostedJune 2, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very easy to install. The battery arrived quickly.
Pros:traveling
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell - 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Inspiron 1521 Laptop
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WATechie
(Washington)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

So far so good

PostedMarch 17, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
The problem with reviewing a new battery is that it takes more than a few weeks to see how it responds and reacts in specific situations. It seems to hold the charge much longer than OEM battery. I works fine.
Pros:in laptop - travel
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell - 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Inspiron 1521 Laptop
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LarryInTexas
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Battery started to fade in 1-2 years.

PostedAugust 14, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
With very moderate use on the battery, I was a bit surprised that the battery went from 2 hours of use when new, to less than 45 minutes on a full charge. My prior laptop has a utility program to condition a new battery that was helpful on older batteries as well. This 2 year old laptop, while under warranty does not cover the battery. This was buried in the materials sent and should be made clear upfront. Once the helpful technician told me the battery needs replacement every 12 months or so, he started trying to scare me into buying today and from DELL. I will do some reasearch and by an OEM battery as I know Dell does not make its own laptops or batteries anyway.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Finances
+26points
27of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell - 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Inspiron 1521 Laptop
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:poohba
(Homw)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

9-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery

PostedJuly 2, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
So far the battery is working to specs. I will see if it last longer than the 6-cell before I say I will recommend Dell highly. I can believe the 6-cell died after a year.
I know Dell's batteries aren't as reliable as Toshiba and HP.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell - 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Inspiron 1521 Laptop
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:farmboy555
(NC)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Battery Purchase

PostedMarch 26, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:The battery solved my issues with the computer locking up.
Cons:I could not believe that the old battery only lasted 1 year.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell - 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Inspiron 1521 Laptop
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jcksn6
(Georgia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedFebruary 8, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I wouldn't buy this battery before checking to see if it fits your laptop perfectly. Make sure you check the measurements of battery and laptop before purchasing.
Pros:Last longer than original battery that came with laptop.
Cons:Does not "fit" exaclty like original battery. Because it is 9 cells, it doesn't fit like the 6 cell battery. The back of the battery extends past the back of the laptop. Works great but visually it looks weird.
+36points
36of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell - 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Inspiron 1521 Laptop
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:reallydeadbattery
(Toronto, ON)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Worst Buy Ever

PostedJanuary 28, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons:Spent the extra money on the upgraded battery thinking it would be helpful as I am on the road often for work. Not the case - just over a year after purchase - the battery is already "at the end of life" - and it never gave me that many hours even when it was at the beginning of life! And - even though I have an extended two year warranty - the rude Dell Tech support people told me that the battery is only under a one year warranty - it is apparently separate warranty, like it is not a part of my computer! Do not buy a Dell, and do not buy this battery if you don't want to have to replace your system after a year.
+39points
42of 45voted this as helpful.
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Ratings-only reviews for Dell - 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Inspiron 1521 Laptop
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product