Customer reviews for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Latitude D820 Laptop / Precision M65 Mobile Workstations

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Latitude D820 Laptop / Precision M65 Mobile Workstations

85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Latitude D820 Laptop / Precision M65 Mobile Workstations
1.721 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 61 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
5
1 Star
44
1.7
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 61
13 out of 6121%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Latitude D820 Laptop / Precision M65 Mobile Workstations
Review 1 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Latitude D820 Laptop / Precision M65 Mobile Workstations
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Chuddie

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Quick return, and it was what I needed.
Pros:lap top
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Latitude D820 Laptop / Precision M65 Mobile Workstations
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ameubius
(Norway)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Poor battery

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this battery between 1-2 years ago, and since last Nov it has been completely dead.
Curiously, the BIOS states it is almost fully charged, but that I may expect a reduced durability compared to a brand new battery. When I press the button on the battery, the indicators all light up, as to say it is fully charged, but if the powercord is accidently pulled out the system dies immediately.
I noticed that antoher reviewer stated basically the same story, and I am interested in knowing whether the problem people are experiencing could be caused by som other hardware failure rather than the battery itself?
Pros:home: internet e-mail office etc
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Latitude D820 Laptop / Precision M65 Mobile Workstations
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mdouglas
(sparta, nc)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

original battery lasts 6 years

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
My Dell 820 laptop is still running strong, purchased in 2005. The original battery is failing now, won't hold a charge over 20 minutes. But it has lasted for 6 years! Same specs as this replacement battery.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Latitude D820 Laptop / Precision M65 Mobile Workstations
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Merl
(Rochester NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert

PostedJune 9, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Easy to order, showed up on time, works like a champ
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Latitude D820 Laptop / Precision M65 Mobile Workstations
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Triumph1
(Whately, MA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Buy Original Equipment!

PostedJune 2, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I needed a battery for my all too important laptop and have used a "replacement" type which didn't provide enough power to last a work session. I replaced it with a Dell battery made for my equipment and have had no issues! You get what you pay for....
Pros:custom av system design
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Latitude D820 Laptop / Precision M65 Mobile Workstations
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Pastorrickyp
(Jacksonville, FL)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very satisfied with Dell's delivery and product

PostedApril 7, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The battery arrived sooner than expected. It works for hours under extreme use before having to recharge.
Pros:streaming video, internet, word processing, Travel
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Latitude D820 Laptop / Precision M65 Mobile Workstations
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dan510
Title:

Dell battery

PostedDecember 29, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
The battery works great.
Pros:work and school
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Latitude D820 Laptop / Precision M65 Mobile Workstations
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:shrtcrct5
(WI)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Original lasted 4 years...

PostedDecember 22, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
It seems most people here have had terrible luck with D820 batteries. We have several Dell's in my office however I'm the only one with a D820 and the 85 watt battery. This laptop gets a lot of travel time and like a couple others who had good luck, it gets used a lot on battery-only use (I'm not one to tether to AC wherever I go right away...).
I too took the initiative when this computer was new to deep cycle and drain the battery at least a couple times and I make a habit of running this computer purposely on battery at every location I visit and wait till it's depleted before plugging in AC power. Other laptop users in our office constantly forget this important routine and end up with batteries that are junk within the first year of ownership.
So to spend $155 on a new one in 2010 for a laptop that had the original in 2006 to me is a good life cycle....hopefully others can have the same fate using the routine above...
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Latitude D820 Laptop / Precision M65 Mobile Workstations
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:H2Osphere
(Calgary, Alberta, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good Battery

PostedOctober 7, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
My D820 has run for more than three years on it's original 6 cell battery. By following industry best management practices related to initial use of Lithium-Ion batteries during the first month of life they will work properly for years.
Pros:business use, extensive travel
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Latitude D820 Laptop / Precision M65 Mobile Workstations
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cda1
(Orlando)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Replacement battery

PostedApril 24, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
This battery has so little life that the screen is virtually unreadable unless the computer is plugged in. It is too dark to read the screen with just the battery. The only reason I even need the battery at this point is so that I don't lose all my work if the cord falls out from the back of the computer.
Dell has a lock on this market since this is the only battery that works in this computer and they are the only ones that sell it.
Pros:email news
-2points
11of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Latitude D820 Laptop / Precision M65 Mobile Workstations
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SBJohnson
(Fairport NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Mine works

PostedFebruary 4, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have read many negative reviews on these batteries. My experience is not so bad. My first 6 cell battery lasted almost 3 years which is reasonable. I hope this new 9 cell battery lastS the remainder of my D820's useful life.
My only complaint about Dell is you cannot even talk to the support line w/o a charge once your warranty has expired.
Pros:home and business
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Latitude D820 Laptop / Precision M65 Mobile Workstations
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:carzz
(CO)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

junk batteries

PostedOctober 9, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have run through three batteries in four years on the D820. Only use is CPU and HD, never DVD. Typically charge starts to drop off in 9-12 month time frame to the point that unit will not run on battery for even 1 minute. This is totally unacceptable; by comparison original Mac batty still going strong after several years. Bye, bye Dell - you have ignored this user-expensive issue for years.
+43points
45of 47voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Latitude D820 Laptop / Precision M65 Mobile Workstations
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tomek
(New York, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Worst Battery

PostedOctober 7, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had this on my D820 and it lasted less than two years. While Dell (and others) give warranty just for first year, that doesn't mean it MUST fail shortly after. Just because of that I looked for laptops elsewhere. Can't risk dying batteries, and they're EXPENSIVE. Don't know about current models, but this left bad stain on Dell
Pros:power laptop
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Latitude D820 Laptop / Precision M65 Mobile Workstations
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:chicky
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Batteries are a rip-off

PostedAugust 30, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had my Latitude D820 for 3 years and now need a 3rd battery. This one will cost me over $200. I am definitely not happy.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Latitude D820 Laptop / Precision M65 Mobile Workstations
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:unhappyjoe
Title:

Dell's incredibly bad batteries

PostedAugust 11, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ditto to all the other reviews on the short life of Dell's primary batteries. This is my second Dell Latop and it will be my last because of their lousy batteries.
Pros:busines
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Latitude D820 Laptop / Precision M65 Mobile Workstations
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PowerfullySad
(Atlanta)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Horrible E-Waste generator

PostedAugust 7, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Our company uses quite a few D820's. Almost every single one of them has had a battery failure not long after one year. It seems like it must be model specific since the D5XX and D6XX series are perfectly fine. The D8XX are outright battery killers! (Or, the battery manufacturer's are complete garbage?)
Pros:providing power to the laptop
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Latitude D820 Laptop / Precision M65 Mobile Workstations
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mchance47
Title:

Dell foolishly ignoring unacceptable batt. quality

PostedAugust 6, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
PROS
Everything other than the battery works as expected or better.
CONS
Same as so many others: Battery life is unacceptably short and far too expensive per usable hour. Inexplicably, Dell seems to have chosen to ignore the problem.
REVIEW
I've been a loyal Dell user for years. However, the next laptop I or anyone in my family or circle of friends buys is most likely going to be something other than a Dell. Why? Because if Dell consciously ignores this abundantly-documented battery life problem, who knows what self-serving obsolescence might be built in to newer Dell laptops? This battery fiasco is one of the easiest ways for Dell to lose loyal customers who consistently seek out high-end products because of their requirements for quality and reasonable product life cycles.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Finances, work site/travel, children's college, home office
+20points
21of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Latitude D820 Laptop / Precision M65 Mobile Workstations
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:poorcollegekid
(Raleigh, NC)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

horrible battery

PostedAugust 2, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have gone through 2 of these batteries within 3 years. I bought my laptop from Dell representatives at my college. I was told that the extended warranty covered absolutely everything, INCLUDING THE BATTERY! Then when the battery died and I contacted Dell, I was told that I was given incorrect information at the time of my purchase and that I would have to buy a new battery. I'm in college and can't afford to keep buying an expensive battery every year that doesn't even last long.
Pros:School
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Latitude D820 Laptop / Precision M65 Mobile Workstations
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dixiepilot
(Utah)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedJuly 18, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Title: Just the same.... Date: July 12, 2009
Pros: it matches the color of the laptop case, it fits where it's supposed to go
ReviewI had been very happy with my extended warranty on my Latitude D820, they fixed it quickly and without trouble. The battery on the other hand is quite disappointing. 1 1/2 years and it won't charge. After an hour on the phone with technical support they told me that it's only 39 reviews out of thousands of batteries people are using and they are not looking into the problem with these. I am VERY reluctant to buy a product with such a low rating and obvious issue with quality. There are other batteries for other Dell laptops with acceptable reviews, one would think all the poor reviews of this battery would cause Dell to look into it; not the case! My modular bay battery still works well, it's only my 9-cell battery that is the issue.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 85 WHr 9-Cell Lithium-Ion Primary Battery for Dell Latitude D820 Laptop / Precision M65 Mobile Workstations
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TomfromIllinois
(Naperville, Illinois)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Tips for prolonging battery life

PostedJuly 14, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
No doubt about it - these are expensive batteries. But my experience has been that they are very good batteries. Here are some tips on prolonging the life of these batteries:
1) Their greatest enemy is heat. Do not leave in a hot car. If you intend to use your laptop as a desktop (on Ac Power) for a long time, then remove the battery to prevent heat buildup from the computer. Alternatively use a cooling pad to help keep things cool.
2) I found that when the battery is new, it helps to "deep cycle" the battery a couple of times in the first two weeks. Run on battery and let it discharge down to 30% or so, then recharge. This seems to get the chemical process going inside the battery. After the first two weeks, you should not need to do this - in fact, deep cycling is not recommended for Li-ion batteries.
Pros:Connecting with Friends
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4