Customer reviews for Dell - UltraSharp U2412M 24 Monitor with LED

Dell - UltraSharp U2412M 24 Monitor with LED

Dell - UltraSharp U2412M 24 Monitor with LED
4.3 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
4.3
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
8 out of 1080%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell - UltraSharp U2412M 24 Monitor with LED
Review 1 for Dell - UltraSharp U2412M 24 Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tyrotex
(Hobart TAS, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Limited input frequencies

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unfortunately, the so-called detailed tech specs omit the fact that this monitor will not accept vertical scan rates above 61Hz. My bad mistake was that I did not download and go over the User's Guide before purchase. Even then, the manual is contradictory ,as it claims to support VESA 720x400 31.5KHz@70Hz, which cannot be correct.
Some of the servers I want to use this monitor with put out a lot of their booting messages at 68Hz, 72Hz & 75Hz and this monitor refuses to display them, whereas my ancient CRT has no problem. So, I am blind to what my servers are doing until the boot reaches a stage where it puts out a frequency the U2412M accepts.
Why can't a supposedly superior monitor display a more normal vertical scan range, e.g. 50-75Hz?
Pros:lovely display when it works
Cons:verical scan range is very limited (50-61hz).
-19points
7of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell - UltraSharp U2412M 24 Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GalacticBacon
(Whyalla, South Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great monitors

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought 2 of these monitors, getting a 3rd soon
I was getting a little worried about the 8ms pixel refresh time as I was coming from 2x 5ms monitors. To be honest, the only times I've noticed the slower refresh rate is the shutting down screen and UAC pop up.
These monitors are much brighter and have better colour depth that ny previous Acer's (which were also LED IPS panels)
I can't wait to get my 3rd monitor and use it for eyefinity, and I love the stand. My monitors are pivoted 90 degrees. The boot up time from power off is almost instant which I love
Cons: They're a little bit on the chunky side and the OSD doesn't rotate with the monitor
Pros:gaming- 3 screen eyefinity, photo and video editing
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell - UltraSharp U2412M 24 Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:linepaper
(Perth)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great monitor!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I needed a step up from my BenQ G2420HD due to the terrible viewing angles from the TN panel so I thought I'd try this out. Was very impressed! The eIPS panel is a major step up from the TN especially when in portrait mode that usually causes colour/viewing angle distortion. Refresh rate is good, motion blur is minimal in movies/games although still present. Black levels are also pretty good. I'd recommend this to anyone who wants to do photography + games & movies
Pros:
- Excellent viewing angles from all directions
- Colours are accurate with minimal calibration
- Minimal ghosting
- Screen is easier on the eyes than LCD/LEDs
- Inky black levels
- Decent build quality
Cons:
- Logo is reflective which makes it distracting considering everything else is matte, should be a matte silver
- No HDMI port (though a HDMI>DVI adapter can be used)
- Doesn't scale to 16:9 if you want to use it for X360/PS3, this could've been easily fixed
- Display Port cable isn't provided
Pros:movies, internet, Gaming
+19points
21of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell - UltraSharp U2412M 24 Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Zengster
(Melbourne, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nothing to say...perfect!

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Received the U2412M in one day! Upon opening, the monitor oozed with quality. A thin bezel surrounded the screen and the ergonomical options were exemplary! I used a TFTCentral icc profile and now the monitor is absolutely perfect in all aspects! The only con I could remotely think of is a very slight backlight bleed in the lower right corner but it is only noticeable when the screen is powered on with no input. Cannot recommend enough! I do however, urge you to wait until another 30% off offer as these do happen occasionally!
+13points
18of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell - UltraSharp U2412M 24 Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:oiler
Title:

Great monitor

PostedJune 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
I bought this eIPS monitor for photo editing because I had enough of my old TN lcd monitor. It gives my fantastic range from black to white. I can see a lot more detail at both ends that I could not see before. Viewing angle is great. Colour and brightness will not change when I move position. 1920x1200 is better than 1929x1080. Though there are better monitors, this one is 100% enough for me. For AU$279, I have nothing to complain. Really love it. Thanks Dell.
Cons
If I really need to find any con, the out of box setting is not quite right. I had to do a bit calibration to get more accurate colour and gamma.
Pros:photo editing
+34points
34of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell - UltraSharp U2412M 24 Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Shagula
(Canberra)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great service and great product

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I recently picked up 3 x U2412Ms for an Eyefinity/Surround gaming setup.
PROS
The screens look brilliant when used either in landscape or portrait modes. Viewing angles are great. The stands they come with are nothing but brilliant, I've never used a monitor that came with a stand that's so adjustable yet so sturdy. I love the stands so much i decided not to buy a triple stand like i had originally planned. The screens have all the inputs you could possible need (Good for both AMD/Nvidia GPUs). I have no issues with the screens at all. No dead pixels. Shipping was very fast!
Cons
There are no 120hz IPS screens (Make some so i can buy them!)... My con doesn't even relate to the product, just IPS screens in general. I was actually dreading going back to 60hz from a 120hz TN, the input lag on these screens is so low its been much easier than i was expecting.
I don't ever leave feedback or reviews on items i purchase. Buying from Dell has been a VERY good experience, so much so i'm leaving this review as thanks. Great service, Great product, fast delivery and no issues. Highly recommended.
Pros:games
+45points
47of 49voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell - UltraSharp U2412M 24 Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jugger
(Adelaide)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Easy on the Eyes

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
At a resolution of 1920 x 1200 the U2412M has the same aspect ratio as my laptop (1680 x 1050). Driving the U2412M from my laptop does not produce the sharpest image because I am using the VGA input at a resolution which is not native to the monitor. Even so, the image is reasonable and the colours are much better. My monitor does not have any edge leakage. At 30% intensity, the black is not the darkest black, but is typical of an LED screen. I find the U2412M to be very easy on the eyes. It beats staring at a 15.6" laptop screen for prolonged periods. I bought this monitor with the intention of upgrading to a higher resolution laptop or desktop in the future. I recommend this monitor to anyone who suffers from eye strain.
Pros:programming, writing, Gaming
+11points
16of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell - UltraSharp U2412M 24 Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:haydent
(Dural Sydney)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

So 16:10 Roomy, IPS so Vibrant, Lots To Like

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Living in outer Sydney I was happy to get this in 2 days.
Big relief to not get any Dead/Stuck Pixels, as after reading a previous review it made me worried.
16:10 is way better to work on than 16:9, love it !
The stand is excellent, and also very convenient to have the usb hub inside.
The colour vibrancy and clarity is so far ahead of my 3 year old acer TN 2ms 24inch, that i cant believe i put up with it for so long, i guess the only reason i did is i didnt know any better till my friend got the 30inch ultraclear model back a bit...
A pleasure to work on, and hope to get it colour callibrated with a meter some time, looks great with the sharpness setting cranked up too.
Only thing better would be if it was the 30 inch model on my desk instead ! ;p
Pros:web design, Gaming, programming, internet
+17points
20of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell - UltraSharp U2412M 24 Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:digitalaxon
(Melbourne Australia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Amazing performance

PostedNovember 21, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
The image quality on this monitor is the best I've seen for a LED based monitor. Colours are clean, crisp, clear. The monitor boasts a wonderful resolution (1920x1200), the controls are easy to use and the ergonomic stand is second to none.
Viewing angles are also of course very good, and you can easily sit in front of it for hours and still marvel at the picture quality.
The first monitor I ordered came with a dead subpixel. After contacting my account manager she lodged a support request on me behalf and told me it would be a few days until I would hear back. That was about 2 months ago and still waiting... In the meantime ordered another monitor, took it out of the box, turned it on, found another dead subpixel within 2 seconds... 2 monitors with dead pixels in a row? how unlucky can I get?
Unfortunately Dell will only replace the panel if there are 6 or more dead subpixels. This is rather unfortunate because while the monitor is fantastic, the panel warranty is not.
As the monitors don't come with a service tag number you cannot use the online support request tool as it won't let you proceed without a service tag...
Pros:web development, graphical work
+58points
61of 64voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell - UltraSharp U2412M 24 Monitor with LED
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HappyLarry
Title:

First time IPS owner.

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my First IPS panel monitor and i can say
that i am very impressed with the color quality
and finish of the U2412M 24inch monitor.
First impression when turned on was WOW, the out
of the box settings were very close to perfect.
Cons. The brightness and colour set too high
from factory and could be slightly lower.
All said no complaints here. Would recomend to
anyone.
Pros:home pc., photo editing
+43points
50of 57voted this as helpful.